DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 07/27/2026, which has
been entered and made of record. Claim 1, 3, 4, 6, 15-16, 18, 21, 23-24, 26 are amended. Claims 2, 17, 22 are canceled. Claims 1, 3-7, 15-16, 18-19 and 21, 23-27 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments regarding claim rejections under 103 are considered, but are moot in view of new ground of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-4, 6-7, 15-16, 18-19, 21, 23-24, 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skypnyk et al. (US 2024/0355064 A1) in view of Lim et al. (US 2009/0190852 A1) and further in view of Couleaud et al. (US 2025/0078347 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Skypnyk teaches:
A method for image generation, comprising:
obtaining a prompt and a noise input;([0147], “At operation 502, the interaction system 100 (alone or in combination with one or more elements of the personal AI agent 302) identifies a prompt of a user indicating a user's intent.” [0163], “The stable diffusion model generates populated image templates (such as images with color and depth information) by learning to reverse the process of adding noise to the input image template 612.”)
generating, by a diffusion model, an image and a depth map corresponding to the image by denoising the noise input based on the prompt.( [0162], “In the stable diffusion model, the user prompt 610 is converted into an embedding using a pre-trained language model, such as a transformer-based architecture (e.g., GPT or BERT). This embedding encodes the semantic information of the user prompt 610 and is used to condition the image/populated image template 612 generation process.” [0163], “The stable diffusion model is then conditioned on both the image template 612 and the text embedding by incorporating the text embedding into the stable diffusion model architecture or by conditioning the stable diffusion model's latent space on the textual information. The stable diffusion model generates populated image templates (such as images with color and depth information) by learning to reverse the process of adding noise to the input image template 612.”)
However, Skypnyk does not, but Lim teaches:
identifying an image occlusion area and a depth occlusion area based on the image and the depth map, respectively; and generating, …a modified image and a modified depth map by inpainting the image occlusion area and the depth occlusion area, respectively, wherein the modified image and the modified depth map correspond to a modified view of the image. ([0020], “In a case where a depth image and a color image after a change in viewpoint are to be inpainted by using a depth image and a color image obtained from a viewpoint, if a portion that is not shown before the viewpoint change is shown after the viewpoint change, depth information and color information on the portion are to be inpainted from the depth image and the color image before the viewpoint change. When a region of an object in an image is hidden by an object having a depth value lower than that of the former, the region may not be shown from a predetermined viewpoint. This region is referred to as an occlusion region. A size of the occlusion region is determined according to a degree of change in viewpoint and a difference between the depth values of the objects. By combining an image inpainted by inpainting a depth value and a color value of the occlusion region with a depth image and a color image seen from the viewpoint after the viewpoint change, an image after the viewpoint change can be obtained. More specifically, if the depth image and the color image after the viewpoint change are three-dimensionally modeled by using the depth image and the color image from the original viewpoint, depth information and color information on the occlusion region that is not shown from the original viewpoint do not exist. Therefore, for the perfect inpainting, the depth information and the color information are needed. Therefore, according to an embodiment of the present invention, by inpainting the depth information and the color information on the occlusion region and combining the inpainted information with the depth image and the color image after the viewpoint change which can be acquired from the depth image and the color image from the original viewpoint, a 3D image after the viewpoint change can be obtained. Hereinafter, an embodiment of an apparatus for inpainting the depth value and the color value of the occlusion region is described.”)
Skypnyk teaches generating an output color image and depth image based on prompt. Lim teaches how to generate better quality color image and depth image for a different viewpoint based on existing color image and depth image.
it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Skypnyk with the specific teachings of Lim to generate different viewpoint images based on exiting images. The benefit would be to provide a easy way to generate images with different viewpoints.
However, Skypnyk in view of Lim does not, but Couleaud teaches:
Generating image, by the diffusion model, by inpainting image occlusion area ([0066], “n some embodiments, as an alternative to the regeneration of such images (e.g., 216, 218, and 220 of FIG. 2) as images (e.g., 234, 236, and 238 of FIG. 2) based on a text prompt (e.g., one or more of text prompts 227-232 of FIG. 2), the image processing system may be configured to fill such holes or empty regions (e.g., 219, 221 in FIG. 2). As an example, the image processing system may perform completion (e.g., interpolation or extrapolation of image content) or inpainting 422 of such holes or empty regions in images 416, 418, and 420 to obtain updated images 434, 436, and 438. In some embodiments, such inpainting may be performed using one or more of the techniques described in Zheng et al., “Image Inpainting with Cascaded Modulation GAN and Object-Aware Training,” Computer Vision—ECCV 2022: 17th European Conference, Tel Aviv, Israel, Oct. 23-27, 2022, Proceedings, Part XVI, the contents of which is hereby incorporated by reference herein in its entirety.”)
Skypnyk in view of Lim teaches handling occlusion in image generation, Couleaud teaches a specific method of handling occlusion.
It would have been obvious for ordinary skills in the art to have combined the teachings of Skypnyk in view of Lim with the specific teachings of Couleaud to produce high quality output images.
Regarding claim 3, Skrypnyk in view of Lim and Couleaud teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein identifying the occlusion area and the depth occlusion area comprises: computing a camera view of the image and the depth map; and shifting the camera view to obtain the modified view. (Lim [0020], “In a case where a depth image and a color image after a change in viewpoint are to be inpainted by using a depth image and a color image obtained from a viewpoint, if a portion that is not shown before the viewpoint change is shown after the viewpoint change, depth information and color information on the portion are to be inpainted from the depth image and the color image before the viewpoint change. When a region of an object in an image is hidden by an object having a depth value lower than that of the former, the region may not be shown from a predetermined viewpoint. This region is referred to as an occlusion region. A size of the occlusion region is determined according to a degree of change in viewpoint and a difference between the depth values of the objects. By combining an image inpainted by inpainting a depth value and a color value of the occlusion region with a depth image and a color image seen from the viewpoint after the viewpoint change, an image after the viewpoint change can be obtained. More specifically, if the depth image and the color image after the viewpoint change are three-dimensionally modeled by using the depth image and the color image from the original viewpoint, depth information and color information on the occlusion region that is not shown from the original viewpoint do not exist. Therefore, for the perfect inpainting, the depth information and the color information are needed. Therefore, according to an embodiment of the present invention, by inpainting the depth information and the color information on the occlusion region and combining the inpainted information with the depth image and the color image after the viewpoint change which can be acquired from the depth image and the color image from the original viewpoint, a 3D image after the viewpoint change can be obtained. Hereinafter, an embodiment of an apparatus for inpainting the depth value and the color value of the occlusion region is described.” The combination rationale of claim 1 is incorporated here.)
Regarding claim 4, Skrypnyk in view of Lim and Couleaud teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, by the diffusion model, an additional modified image based on the modified image. (Skypnyk [0191], “As such, the interaction system 100 applies the modified 3D mesh generated from a stable diffusion model to a live camera feed and create an augmented reality experience. This allows users to view and interact with the mesh in real-time, creating immersive and engaging experiences that combine the virtual and real worlds.” [0178]-[0191] teaches the details of generating modified images using a diffusion model.)
Regarding claim 5, Skrypnyk in view of Lim and Couleaud teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a video file based on the image and the modified image.( Skypnyk [0207], “FIG. 14 illustrates the content augmentation 1402 applied to the user when the user's head is centered, according to some examples. The generated augmentation content 1402 is applied to the user's face in the live camera feed when their head is centered and aligned. The camera feed shows the live video stream with the user's face centered, similar to FIG. 12, but with the applied augmentation. The user's face remains aligned and framed within the camera feed.” [0243], “The image display driver 1820 commands and controls the image display of optical assembly 1818. The image display driver 1820 may deliver image data directly to the image display of optical assembly 1818 for presentation or may convert the image data into a signal or data format suitable for delivery to the image display device. For example, the image data may be video data formatted according to compression formats, such as H.264 (MPEG-4 Part 10), HEVC, Theora, Dirac, RealVideo RV40, VP8, VP9, or the like, and still image data may be formatted according to compression formats such as Portable Network Group (PNG), Joint Photographic Experts Group (JPEG), Tagged Image File Format (TIFF) or exchangeable image file format (EXIF) or the like.”)
Regarding claim 7, Skrypnyk in view of Lim and Couleaud teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein: the prompt comprises a text prompt.( Skrypnyk [0147], “The user prompt includes a textual description or keyword(s) provided by the user, which defines the desired characteristics or subject of the generated image.”)
Regarding claim 15, Skrypnyk in view of Lim and Couleaud teaches:
A system for image generation, comprising: a memory component; and a processing device coupled to the memory component, the processing device configured to perform operations comprising: (Skrypnyk FIG. 19) the rest of claim 15 recites similar limitations of claim 1, thus are rejected accordingly.
Regarding claim 16, Skrypnyk in view of Lim and Couleaud teaches:
The system of claim 15, the system further comprising: an occlusion component (FIG. 19, processor) configured to generate the image occlusion area and the depth occlusion area. (Lim ([0020], “In a case where a depth image and a color image after a change in viewpoint are to be inpainted by using a depth image and a color image obtained from a viewpoint, if a portion that is not shown before the viewpoint change is shown after the viewpoint change, depth information and color information on the portion are to be inpainted from the depth image and the color image before the viewpoint change. When a region of an object in an image is hidden by an object having a depth value lower than that of the former, the region may not be shown from a predetermined viewpoint. This region is referred to as an occlusion region. A size of the occlusion region is determined according to a degree of change in viewpoint and a difference between the depth values of the objects. By combining an image inpainted by inpainting a depth value and a color value of the occlusion region with a depth image and a color image seen from the viewpoint after the viewpoint change, an image after the viewpoint change can be obtained. More specifically, if the depth image and the color image after the viewpoint change are three-dimensionally modeled by using the depth image and the color image from the original viewpoint, depth information and color information on the occlusion region that is not shown from the original viewpoint do not exist. Therefore, for the perfect inpainting, the depth information and the color information are needed. Therefore, according to an embodiment of the present invention, by inpainting the depth information and the color information on the occlusion region and combining the inpainted information with the depth image and the color image after the viewpoint change which can be acquired from the depth image and the color image from the original viewpoint, a 3D image after the viewpoint change can be obtained. Hereinafter, an embodiment of an apparatus for inpainting the depth value and the color value of the occlusion region is described.” The combination rationale of claim 15 is incorporated here.)
Regarding claim 18, Skrypnyk in view of Lim and Couleaud teaches:
The system of claim 15, the system further comprising: an encoder configured to generate a guidance embedding based on the prompt, wherein the image and the depth map are generated based on the guidance embedding (Skrypnyk [0162], “In the stable diffusion model, the user prompt 610 is converted into an embedding using a pre-trained language model, such as a transformer-based architecture (e.g., GPT or BERT). This embedding encodes the semantic information of the user prompt 610 and is used to condition the image/populated image template 612 generation process.” [0163], “The stable diffusion model is then conditioned on both the image template 612 and the text embedding by incorporating the text embedding into the stable diffusion model architecture or by conditioning the stable diffusion model's latent space on the textual information. The stable diffusion model generates populated image templates (such as images with color and depth information) by learning to reverse the process of adding noise to the input image template 612.”)
Regarding claim 19, Skrypnyk in view of Lim and Couleaud teaches:
The system of claim 15, the system further comprising: a training component configured to train the diffusion model. (Skrypnyk [0161], “the interaction system 100 trains a stable diffusion model to receive image templates and prompts and output populated image template that form the characteristics of the template.”)
Regarding claim 21, Skrypnyk in view of Lim and Couleaud teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing code for image generation, the code comprising instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations (Skrypnyk FIG. 19) The rest of claims 21 recites similar limitations of claim 1, thus are rejected accordingly.
claims 23, 24, 26, 27 recites similar limitations of claim 3, 4, 6,7 thus are rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 5, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skrypnyk in view of Lim and Couleaud and in view of Liao et al. (US 2021/0374904 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Skrypnyk in view of Lim and Couleaud teaches:
The method of claim 4, wherein generating the additional modified image comprises:
However, Skrypnyk in view of Lim and Couleaud does not teach, but Liao teaches:
averaging pixel information of the image and the modified image to obtain average pixel information, wherein the additional modified image is based on the average pixel information. ([0036], “In one embodiment, for each target pixel within the target inpainting region of the first image frame, based on the corresponding depth map, the method may further map the target pixel within the target inpainting region of the first image frame to a candidate pixel in a second image frame included in the image frames. The method may further determine a candidate color to fill the target pixel. The method may further perform Poisson image editing on the first image frame to achieve color consistency between inside and outside of the target inpainting region of the first image frame. The method may further use video fusion inpainting to inpaint occluded areas within the target inpainting region. For each pixel in the target inpainting region of the first image frame, the method may trace the pixel into neighboring frames and replacing an original color of the pixel with an average of colors sampled from the neighboring frames.”)
Skrypnyk in view of Lim and Couleaud teaches inpainting occluded regions. Liao teaches a specific method of inpainting them.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Skrypnyk in view of Lim and Couleaud with the specific teachings of Liao to effectively and accurately inpainting occlusion areas.
Claim 25 recites similar limitations of claim 5, thus is rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YANNA WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615