DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement (PTO-1449) filed 10/05/2023. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "said movable element" in lines 12-15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes "said movable element" is being interpreted as the “mechanically movable element”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the movable element" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes "the movable element" is being interpreted as the “mechanically movable element”.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the movable element" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes "the movable element" is being interpreted as the “mechanically movable element”.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the movable element" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes "the movable element" is being interpreted as the “mechanically movable element”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the movable element" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes "the movable element" is being interpreted as the “mechanically movable element”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the movable element" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes "the movable element" is being interpreted as the “mechanically movable element”.
Claims 2 and 8-13 are rejected for their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kataoka (US 20020005918) (fig. 1) in view of Kataoka (US 20020005918) (fig. 2).
Regrading claim 1, Kataoka discloses in at least figures 1-2, An opto-mechanical structure (Fabry-Perot optical tuner paragraph [0031]) including:
a substrate (substrate plate 2B fig. 1) extending along (substrate plate 2B extends in an xy plane as shown below in fig. 1) a plane (xy plane as shown below in fig. 1);
a support element (screws 5A and 5b fig. 1) arranged on (the screws 5a and 5b are arranged on the substrate plate 2B fig. 1) the substrate (substrate plate 2B fig. 1);
at least one conductive element (reflector plates 3A and 3B are conductive paragraph [0048]) adapted to create an electric field (when an electric voltage V is applied across the terminals 4A and 4B, an electric field of V/d is produced between the reflector plates 3A and 3B paragraph [0048]) oriented perpendicularly (the electric field is applied over d and is perpendicular to the xy plane of the substrate plates 2A and 2B along the z direction as shown below in fig. 1) to the plane (xy plane as shown below in fig. 1) of the substrate (substrate plate 2B fig. 1).
an opto-mechanical resonator (the optical tuner uses mechanical principles as a distance changing unit paragraph [0056]);
a mechanically movable element (gears 7A and 7B rotate paragraph [0034]) arranged on the support the support element (the gears 7A and 7B are arranged on the screws 5A and 5B fig. 1);
said at least one conductive element (conductive reflector plates 3A and 3B fig. 1) being located above or below (conductive reflector plates 3A and 3B are below the substrate plate 2A fig. 1) said movable element (gears 7A and 7B rotate paragraph [0034]), at a non-zero distance (conductive reflector plates 3A and 3B are a non-zero distance from gears 7A and 7B fig. 1) from said movable element (gears 7A and 7B rotate paragraph [0034]), said conductive element (conductive reflector plates 3A and 3B fig. 1) and said movable element (gears 7A and 7B rotate paragraph [0034]) having at least one surface facing each other (conductive reflector plates 3A and 3B face gears 7A and 7B fig. 1);
an optical resonator (Fabry-Perot optical cavity 1 has a resonant condition paragraph [0035]) coupled to (the cavity distance d is controlled by the movement of the gears 7A and 7B and screws 5A and 5B paragraph [0034] ) the movable element (gears 7A and 7B fig. 1).
Kataoka does not discloses in figure 1, Including:
a mechanically movable element made of a piezoelectric material, the piezoelectric material being chosen so that the electric field created by the conductive element when the same is subjected to an electric potential causes a displacement of said movable element.
However Kataoka discloses in at least figure 2, a mechanically movable element made of a piezoelectric material (Piezo-electric element 13A and 13B elements elongate or shrink paragraph [0042]), the piezoelectric material (Piezo-electric element 13A and 13B fig. 2) being chosen so that the electric field created by the conductive element (the reflector plates 3A, 3B are conductive, so these can be electrodes as well, when an electric voltage V is applied across the terminals 4A and 4B, an electric field of V/d is produced paragraph [0048]) when the same is subjected to an electric potential causes a displacement of said movable element (upon application of a voltage to the piezo-electric elements 13A, 13B, the sizes of the piezo-electric elements elongate or shrink paragraph [0042]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a piezoelectric material for the movable element as taught by Kataoka fig. 2 in the Fabry-Perot optical tuner of fig. 1. The second embodiment shows a Fabry-Perot optical tuner using where piezo-electric elements are used as distance changing unit to create large variation in the tuning wavelength (paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 2, The combination of Kataoka fig. 1 and fig. 2 discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Kataoka fig. 1 further discloses, wherein the conductive element (reflector plates 3A and 3B fig. 1) is a microwave resonator or an electrode (the reflector plates 3A, 3B are conductive, so these can be electrodes as well paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, The combination of Kataoka fig. 1 and fig. 2 discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Kataoka fig. 1 further discloses, comprising at least two conductive elements (conductive reflector plates 3A and 3B fig. 1), a first conductive element (conductive reflector plate 3A fig. 1) located below (the conductive reflector plate 3A is located below the gears 7A and 7B fig. 1) the movable element (gears 7A and 7B rotate paragraph [0034]).
Kataoka fig. 1 does not disclose, a second conductive element located above the movable element.
Kataoka fig. 2 further discloses, a second conductive element (conductive reflector plate 3B fig. 2) located above (the conductive reflector plate 3B is located above the bottoms portions of the Piezo-electric element 13A and 13B fig. 2) the movable element (Piezo-electric element 13A and 13B elements elongate or shrink paragraph [0042]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a second conductive element above the movable element as taught by Kataoka fig. 2 in the Fabry-Perot optical tuner of fig. 1. The second embodiment shows a Fabry-Perot optical tuner using where piezo-electric elements placed between the substrates extending above and below the reflector plates used as distance changing unit to create large variation in the tuning wavelength (paragraph [0042]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kataoka (US 20020005918) (fig. 1) in view of Kataoka (US 20020005918) (fig. 2) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Dolfi et al. (US 20210058033 A1).
Regarding claim 4, The combination of Kataoka fig. 1 and fig. 2 discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Kataoka fig. 1 does not disclose, wherein the movable element and the optical resonator are formed by a phoxonic crystal.
However, Dolfi discloses in at least figure 2, wherein the optical resonator (optomechanical resonator 182 fig. 2) is formed by a phoxonic crystal (the membrane can be made of phoxonic crystal paragraph [0057]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a phoxonic crystal for the optical resonator as taught by Dolfi in the Fabry-Perot optical tuner of Kataoka fig. 1. Phoxonic material is used for optical and acoustic functions (paragraph [0057]).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the phoxonic crystal for the movable element, since it has been held to be within the ordinary skill in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. Sinclair and Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kataoka (US 20020005918) (fig. 1) in view of Kataoka (US 20020005918) (fig. 2) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Vollmer et al. (US 20150147756 A1).
Regarding claim 5, The combination of Kataoka fig. 1 and fig. 2 discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Kataoka fig. 1 further discloses, the movable element (gears 7A and 7B fig. 1) being integrated (the gears 7A and 7B are rotated to move the substrate 2A to change the distance d between the reflector plated 3A and 3B paragraph [0034] of the Fabry-Perot optical cavity 1 fig. 1) into the optical resonator (Fabry-Perot optical cavity 1 fig. 1).
Kataoka fig. 1 does not disclose, wherein the optical resonator is a gallery mode resonator.
However, Vollmer discloses in at least figure 1, wherein the optical resonator (WGM resonator 10 fig. 1) is a gallery mode resonator (optical whispering gallery mode (WGM) resonator paragraph [0017]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a WGM resonator as taught by Vollmer in the Fabry-Perot optical tuner of Kataoka. Using a WGM resonator surface results in a reduction of the effective resonator size, e.g. diameter, associated with an increasing resonance frequency (paragraph [0017]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kataoka (US 20020005918) (fig. 1) in view of Kataoka (US 20020005918) (fig. 2) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Hsu et al. (US 20040071395 A1).
Regarding claim 6, The combination of Kataoka fig. 1 and fig. 2 discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Kataoka fig. does not disclose, wherein the opto-mechanical resonator comprises a waveguide travelling along the periphery of a central structure, the waveguide being connected to the central structure through anchors, part of the waveguide forming the movable element.
However Hsu discloses in at least figure 12, wherein the opto-mechanical resonator (optical switching device paragraph [0091]) comprises a waveguide (movable waveguide 458 fig. 12) travelling along the periphery (the movable waveguide 458 is located on movable microstructure 543 which is a ring structure suspended above a substrate paragraph [00091]) of a central structure (substrate paragraph [0091]), the waveguide (movable waveguides 458 fig. 12) being connected to (the micro structure 543 with movable waveguides 458 is connected to the substrate by springs 553 and anchors 554 paragraph [0091]) the central structure (substrate paragraph [0091]) through anchors (anchors 554 fig. 12), part of the waveguide forming the movable element (movable waveguides 548 is moving with microstructure 543 fig. 12).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a movable waveguide as taught by Hsu in the Fabry-Perot optical tuner of Kataoka. The micro structure moves to align the input waveguide to the movable waveguide in order to route a second optical signal (paragraph [0093]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kataoka (US 20020005918) (fig. 1) in view of Kataoka (US 20020005918) (fig. 2) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Siekkinen et al. (US 20030107794 A1).
Regarding claim 7, The combination of Kataoka fig. 1 and fig. 2 discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Kataoka fig. 1 does not disclose, wherein the conductive element comprises a plurality of electrodes, said plurality of electrodes being at least partly situated facing the movable element.
However, Siekkinen discloses in at least figure 6, wherein the conductive element (lower wafer 66 may include a plurality of electrodes or conductive surfaces paragraph [0027]) comprises a plurality of electrodes (electrodes 70 and 72 fig. 6), said plurality of electrodes (electrodes 70 and 72 fig. 6) being at least partly situated facing (electrodes 70 and 72 face the movable portion 32 fig. 6) the movable element (movable portion 32 fig. 6).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a plurality of electrodes as taught by Siekkinen in the Fabry-Perot optical tuner of Kataoka. The mirror on the movable portion is controlled with a pair of actuating and a pair of adjustment electrodes (paragraph [0027]).
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Kataoka (US 20020005918) (fig. 1) in view of Kataoka (US 20020005918) (fig. 2) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Piehl (US 20040217919 A1).
Regarding claim 8, The combination of Kataoka fig. 1 and fig. 2 discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Kataoka fig. 1 further discloses, a method for manufacturing a structure (Fabry-Perot type optical cavity 1 fig. 1) according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above),
a step of depositing a layer of a first material onto (these reflector plates 3A, 3B may be deposited on the substrate plates 2A, 2B by vacuum evaporation paragraph [0031]) the substrate (substrate plates 2A and 2B fig. 1).
Kataoka fig. 1 does not disclose, comprising, from a semiconductor substrate:
a step of forming a movable element in a piezoelectric material;
a step of depositing a second material onto the layer of first material and onto the movable element;
a step of forming a conductive element in the layer of second material, and
a step of isotropically etching the layer of first material and the layer of second material so as to release the movable element.
However, Kataoka fig. 2 discloses a step of forming a movable element in a piezoelectric material (Piezo-electric element 13A and 13B elements elongate or shrink paragraph [0042]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a piezoelectric material for the movable element as taught by Kataoka fig. 2 in the Fabry-Perot optical tuner of fig. 1. The second embodiment shows a Fabry-Perot optical tuner using where piezo-electric elements are used as distance changing unit to create large variation in the tuning wavelength (paragraph [0042]).
Additionally, Piehl discloses in at least figures 7A-7CA method for manufacturing a structure according to claim 1, comprising, from a semiconductor substrate (MEMS are generally semiconductor chips paragraph [0087]):
a step of depositing a layer of a first material (layer 702 fig. 7A) onto the substrate (a layer 702 is deposited over and makes contact with this substrate at the locations indicated by the reference number 708 paragraph [0088]);
a step of depositing a second material onto (sacrificial material 704 fig. 7A) the layer of first material (layer 702 fig. 7A) and onto the movable element (a sacrificial material 704 is deposited over the movable components of the device 100, including the flexure 110, the reflective layers 102 and 104 that define the optical cavity 106, and the spring mechanism 112 paragraph [0088]);
a step of forming a conductive element (reflective layer 102 is conductive and a voltage is applied paragraph [0022]) in the layer (reflective layer 102 is formed sacrificial material 704 fig. 7A) of second material (sacrificial material 704 fig. 7A), and
a step of isotropically etching (openings 706 are patterned and etched in the layer 702 and isotropically etching away the sacrificial material 704 paragraph [0088]) the layer of first material (layer 702 fig. 7A) and the layer of second material (sacrificial material 704 fig. 7A) so as to release (the device 100 is released by isotropically etching paragraph [0088]) the movable element (the movable components of the device 100, including the flexure 110, the reflective layers 102 and 104 that define the optical cavity 106, and the spring mechanism 112 are part of the device 100 paragraph [0088]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use isotropically etching to release the movable elements as taught by Piehl in the Fabry-Perot optical tuner of fig. 1. The release operation occurs inside a protective cavity to increase yield and once the cavities are sealed, the die can be sawed off without damaging the device 100 (paragraph [0091]).
Regarding claim 9, The combination of Kataoka fig. 1, fig. 2 and Piehl discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Kataoka fig. 1 further discloses, wherein the structure (Fabry-Perot type optical cavity 1 fig. 1) includes a first conductive element (conductive reflector plate 3A fig. 1) and a second conductive element (conductive reflector plate 3B fig. 1).
Kataoka fig. 1 does not disclose, the method including, before the step of depositing a layer of a first material onto the substrate, a step of making a first conductive element at the substrate, the conductive element in the layer of second material forming the second conductive element.
However, Piehl further discloses, the method including, before the step of depositing a layer of a first material (layer 702 fig. 7A) onto the substrate (a layer 702 is deposited over and makes contact with this substrate at the locations indicated by the reference number 708 paragraph [0088]),
a step of making a first conductive element (reflective layer 104 is conductive and a voltage is applied paragraph [0022]) at the substrate (the bottom reflector 104 is a high-reflectance metallic substrate paragraph [0034]),
the conductive element (reflective layer 102 is conductive and a voltage is applied paragraph [0022]) in the layer of second material (sacrificial material 704 fig. 7A) forming the second conductive element (reflective layer 102 is conductive and a voltage is applied paragraph [0022]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use isotropically etching material to contain a conductive element as taught by Piehl in the Fabry-Perot optical tuner of fig. 1. The release operation occurs inside a protective cavity to increase yield and once the cavities are sealed, the die can be sawed off without damaging the device 100 (paragraph [0091]).
Regarding claim 10, The combination of Kataoka fig. 1, fig. 2 and Piehl discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Kataoka fig. 1 further discloses, wherein the optical resonator (Fabry-Perot optical cavity 1 fig. 1) is made using an element distinct from the movable element (substrate plate 2B is fixed while substrate plate 2A is moved by the gears 7A and 7B) paragraph [0034]) and the step of forming a movable element (gears 7A and 7B rotate to adjust the distance d paragraph [0034]) also comprises forming an optical resonator (Fabry-Perot optical cavity 1 fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, The combination of Kataoka fig. 1 and fig. 2 discloses all the limitations of claim 1, and Kataoka fig. 1 further discloses, a method for manufacturing a structure (Fabry-Perot type optical cavity 1 fig. 1) according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above),
a step of depositing a layer of a first material onto (these reflector plates 3A, 3B may be deposited on the substrate plates 2A, 2B by vacuum evaporation paragraph [0031]) the substrate (substrate plates 2A and 2B fig. 1).
Kataoka fig. 1 does not disclose, comprising, from a semiconductor substrate:
a step of forming a movable element in a piezoelectric material;
a step of depositing a second material onto the layer of first material and onto the movable element;
a step of forming a conductive element in the layer of second material, and
a step of isotropically etching the layer of first material and the layer of second material so as to release the movable element.
However, Kataoka fig. 2 discloses a step of forming a movable element in a piezoelectric material (Piezo-electric element 13A and 13B elements elongate or shrink paragraph [0042]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use a piezoelectric material for the movable element as taught by Kataoka fig. 2 in the Fabry-Perot optical tuner of fig. 1. The second embodiment shows a Fabry-Perot optical tuner using where piezo-electric elements are used as distance changing unit to create large variation in the tuning wavelength (paragraph [0042]).
Additionally, Piehl discloses in at least figures 7A-7CA method for manufacturing a structure according to claim 1, comprising, from a semiconductor substrate (MEMS are generally semiconductor chips paragraph [0087]):
a step of depositing a layer of a first material (layer 702 fig. 7A) onto the substrate (a layer 702 is deposited over and makes contact with this substrate at the locations indicated by the reference number 708 paragraph [0088]);
a step of depositing a second material onto (sacrificial material 704 fig. 7A) the layer of first material (layer 702 fig. 7A) and onto the movable element (a sacrificial material 704 is deposited over the movable components of the device 100, including the flexure 110, the reflective layers 102 and 104 that define the optical cavity 106, and the spring mechanism 112 paragraph [0088]);
a step of forming a conductive element (reflective layer 102 is conductive and a voltage is applied paragraph [0022]) in the layer (reflective layer 102 is formed sacrificial material 704 fig. 7A) of second material (sacrificial material 704 fig. 7A), and
a step of isotropically etching (openings 706 are patterned and etched in the layer 702 and isotropically etching away the sacrificial material 704 paragraph [0088]) the layer of first material (layer 702 fig. 7A) and the layer of second material (sacrificial material 704 fig. 7A) so as to release (the device 100 is released by isotropically etching paragraph [0088]) the movable element (the movable components of the device 100, including the flexure 110, the reflective layers 102 and 104 that define the optical cavity 106, and the spring mechanism 112 are part of the device 100 paragraph [0088]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use isotropically etching to release the movable elements as taught by Piehl in the Fabry-Perot optical tuner of fig. 1. The release operation occurs inside a protective cavity to increase yield and once the cavities are sealed, the die can be sawed off without damaging the device 100 (paragraph [0091]).
Regarding claim 12, The combination of Kataoka fig. 1, fig. 2 and Piehl discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Kataoka fig. 1 does not disclose, wherein, during the isotropic etching step, the layer of the first material is also etched so as to release the conductive element.
However, Piehl further discloses, during the isotropic etching step (openings 706 are patterned and etched in the layer 702 and isotropically etching away the sacrificial material 704 paragraph [0088]), the layer of the first material (layer 702 fig. 7A) is also etched so as to release (the device 100 is released by isotropically etching paragraph [0088]) the conductive element (the reflector 102 is part of the device 100 paragraph [0088]).
Therefore, it would be obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use isotropically etching to release the movable elements as taught by Piehl in the Fabry-Perot optical tuner of fig. 1. The release operation occurs inside a protective cavity to increase yield and once the cavities are sealed, the die can be sawed off without damaging the device 100 (paragraph [0091]).
Regarding claim 13, The combination of Kataoka fig. 1, fig. 2 and Piehl discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and Kataoka fig. 1 further discloses, wherein the optical resonator (Fabry-Perot optical cavity 1 fig. 1) is made using an element distinct from the movable element (substrate plate 2B is fixed while substrate plate 2A is moved by the gears 7A and 7B) paragraph [0034]) and the step of forming a movable element (gears 7A and 7B rotate to adjust the distance d paragraph [0034]) also comprises forming an optical resonator (Fabry-Perot optical cavity 1 fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Eckinger et al. (US 20180335359 A1) discloses a MEMS pressure sensor with a conductive membrane and two electrodes.
Leahy et al. (US 20220396470 A1) discloses a MEMS transducer with conductive layer and a plurality of electrodes that are moving and fixed electrodes.
Flagan et al. (US 8597577 B2) discloses a biomolecular sensor with a gallery resonator.
/ANDREW R WRIGHT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872