DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 and 18-20 in the reply filed on 8 September 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-10 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN111710845A1 (Deng), which is listed in Applicant’s information disclosure statement.
Regarding claims 1-5 and 7-10, Deng teaches a negative electrode active material comprises silicon oxide and lithium silicate Li4SiO4 ([0006] and [0021]), which meets the claimed metal silicate, and a hydrophobic coating layer comprising lauric acid or stearic acid([0015]-[0018]), which meets the claimed hydrocarbon coating layer and fatty acid.
Regarding the maximum absorbance peak Pa, Pb, the ratio of area value Sa/Sb, the area value Sa, Sb of FT-IR spectrum at the corresponding wave number of claims 1-5, Deng teaches the same silicon oxide of same metal silicate and the same coating layer of the same fatty acid, the claimed FT-IR characteristics, i.e., peak area, ratio, peak absorbance wave number effects and physical properties, would naturally arise and be achieved by Deng’s material. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2112.01.
Regarding claims 18 and 20, Deng teaches a lithium secondary battery comprises a negative electrode prepared from the active material comprising silicon oxide, lithium silicate and hydrocarbon coating ([0054] and [0105]).
Regarding claim 19, Deng teaches the negative electrode further comprises graphite ([0107]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng.
The teachings of Deng are set forth above.
While teaching the coating layer comprise stearic acid ([0018]), Deng does not teach the instantly claimed oleic acid, however, oleic acid has the same number of carbon atoms as that of stearic acid and is structurally sufficiently similar to oleic acid thus exhibiting similar hydrophobicity that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize oleic acid in the hydrophobic coating layer of Deng. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963). See MPEP2144.09 I and II. Consequently , the presence of Pc1 and Pc2 peaks derived from the carboxylic group of oleic acid.
Conclusion
/AIQUN LI/Ph.D., Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766