D1 WO 2022/205023 A1 (HUAWEI TECH CO LTD [CN} 6 October 2022 (2022-10-06)
System information: see [0169]
Scheduling info: the control information may schedule a transmission in a data channel [0624-0626]
First downlink signal: training signals [0699 -0700]
Target parameter : operating mode [0614] corresponds to system info.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 14, 19, 29, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1.
Regarding claims 1, 19, 29, and 32, D1 teaches (citations in parentheses referring to this document) a method of wireless communication by a user equipment (D1, par. fO220], "... network architectures are described in which an AI block or AI management module that is implemented by a network node ... interacts with an AI agent, also referred to herein as an AI execution module, that is implemented by another node such as a RAN node and/or optionally an end user device such as a UE ...", in combination with par. [O218]~[0219], in particular, *... the term AT is intended to encompass all forms of machine learning, including supervised and unsupervised machine learning, deep machine learning, ..."; see also par. [0164], "Each ED i10 represents any suitable end user device for wireless operation and may include ... a user equipment /device, UE , a wireless transmit/receive unit (WITRU) , a mobile station, ...") comprising:
receiving system information and scheduling information from a base station (DL, par. [0169], "The ED 110 further includes a processor 210 for performing operations including those related to preparing a transmission for uplink transmission ... , those related to processing downlink transmissions received from the NT-TRP 172 and/or T-TRP 170, ... , the processor 210 may perform operations ... operations relating to detecting a synchronization sequence, decoding and obtaining the system information, ...", and Fag. 3, in combination with par. [0173]-[0174], in particular, "A TRP ..., such as a base station... TRP may also ... perform processing operations, such as ... resource allocation, scheduling, ...", and par. [0624]~[0626], in particular, "A UE ... decodes the DCI to obtain the control information. The control information may schedule a transmission in a data channel. In a two stage DCI structure, ..., the second scheduling data transmission for a UE: ® scheduling information for one PDSCH in one carrier and/or BWP; ® scheduling information for multiple PDSCHs in one carrier and/or BWP; ...@ configuration and/or scheduling information related to an AI function ...");
receiving a first downlink signal from the base station based at least in part on the system information and the scheduling information (D1, [0695], "For downlink, a network service can use PDSCH or PDBCCH or DL signals, for example, to inform a UE of training data", in combination with above citations of par. [0626]);
managing a communication model based on a machine learning operation using data included in the first downlink signal (DL, par. [0699]-[0700], "... UE individual AI model determination with network assistance. According to this option, a network device such as a BS may send assistance information, such as a reference AI model, training signals, AI training feedback, distributed learning information, etc., to the UE, and the UE individually determines its Al model. For example, a BS may send training data ... to a UB, and/or indicate such information as input/output features and/or a performance metric of the AI model, and the UE trains its AI mode", in combination with par. [O501], "The UE 2504 also has the capability to support an Al-enabled air interface configuration ..., when implementing an Al-enabled air interface, UR 2504 operates in a different AI mode, referred to herein as “AI mode 2” . AT mode 2 refers to a mode in which the JE implements AI learning or training, e.g. the JE itself may directly implement a ML algorithm to optimize one or more air interface components"); and
transmitting, to the base station, a change request for changing a value of a target parameter, from among a first plurality of parameters corresponding to at least one of: the system information and the scheduling information, based on the managing of the communication model (D1, par. [0614], "Fig. 31D illustrates ... additional steps 3182 and 3184 ..., which allows for the UE to initiate a request to change its operation mode. Steps 3162 to 3172 are the same as Fig. sic. if during operation in a particular mode the UE determines mode switching criteria is met, in step 3182 , then at step 3184 the UE sends a mode change request message to the network, e.g. by sending the request to a TRP serving the UE. The mode change request may indicate the new mode of operation to which the UE wishes to switch ...", Fig. 31D, and par. [0618], "... the UE begins experiencing poor performance, e.g. due to a change in channel conditions. In response, the UE requests to switch to a more advanced mode, e.g., more sophisticated Al mode, to try to better optimize one or more air interface components. In another example, the UE must or desires to enter a power saving mode, e.g., because of a low battery, and so the UE requests to downgrade, e.g. switch to a non- AI mode, which consumes less power than an AI mode ... In another example, a service or traffic scenario or requirement for the UE changes, which is better suited to a different mode of operation", in combination with: par. [0592;, “Switching to the new mode of operation might or might not require configuration or reconfiguration of ... air interface components, ..."; par. [0588], "The component configuration may relate to a configuration of parameters for physical layer components, the configuration of a protocol, e.g. in the MAC layer, such as a retransmission protocol ...""; par. [0621], "When switching from one mode of operation to another, the air interface components are reconfigured appropriately. For example,... If the VE is instructed to switch, fall back, to conventional non-AT ..., then the UR adapts the MCS and retransmission air interface components weep &.GQ. «1.7 ... the retransmission returns to a conventional HARO retransmission protocol ..., a HAROQ process ID and/or redundancy version, RV, may need to be signaled in control information, e.g. in DCI"; and with above citations of par. [0626], in particular, "DCI may indicate at least one of the following for scheduling data transmission for a UE: ...configuration and/or scheduling information related to an AI function ...").
Regarding claim 14, receiving, from the base station, at least one of: second system information changed by an updated target parameter and second scheduling information changed by the updated target parameter;
receiving a second downlink signal from the base station based at least in part on the at least one of: the second system information and the second scheduling information; and
managing the communication model based on a second machine learning operation using data included in the second downlink signal. This limitation is implicit given these functions were done a first time.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Guo US 20260020073.
D1 is silent on receiving the system information comprises receiving at least one of: a master information block (MIB) including the system information and a system information block (SIB) including the system information, and
the scheduling information comprises at least one of: downlink control information (DCI) and radio resource control (RRC) connected state information.
Guo teaches receiving the system information comprises receiving at least one of: a master information block (MIB) including the system information and a system information block (SIB) including the system information, and
the scheduling information comprises at least one of: downlink control information (DCI) and radio resource control (RRC) connected state information ([0103] The PBCH in the SSB 504 includes the MIB carrying various system information
(SI) including, for example, a cell barred indication, the subcarrier spacing, the system frame number, and scheduling information for a CORESET0. For example, the PBCH in the SSB 504 may include scheduling information indicating time-frequency resources allocated for the CORESET0. In some examples, the CORESET0 may be transmitted within the first four symbols (e.g., within a control region) of a slot. In addition, the CORESET0 carries a PDCCH with DCI that contains scheduling
Information).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of D1 by receiving the system information comprises receiving at least one of: a master information block (MIB) including the system information and a system information block (SIB) including the system information, and the scheduling information comprises at least one of: downlink control information (DCI) and radio resource control (RRC) connected state information, as shown by Guo. This modification would benefit the system by providing a proven, reliable method for providing system and scheduling information.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oteri US 20230354360.
Regarding claim 4, receiving an acceptance response to the change request from the base station; and
transmitting, to the base station, a desired change value corresponding to the target parameter based on the received acceptance response. The Examiner interprets this limitation to be parameter negotiation.
Oteri teaches parameter negotiation ([0079] The base station may exchange configuration information with the UE. For example, the base station may use radio resource control (RRC) and/or other higher layer signaling to negotiate parameters
and/or configure the UE.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of D1 by receiving an acceptance response to the change request from the base station; and transmitting, to the base station, a desired change value corresponding to the target parameter based on the received acceptance response, as suggested by Oteri. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the base station and UE to select optimal communication parameters.
Regarding claim 5, 6, the Examiner maintains the limitations are obvious in view of parameter negotiation (see claim 4).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yue US 20190274184.
Regarding claim 18, Chen makes obvious retransmitting, to the base station, a second change request for changing the value of the target parameter on based on the received response since the reference teaches the terminal transmitting a change request ([0060]).
The reference is silent on receiving a response indicating that the change request has been temporarily denied.
Yue teaches receiving a response indicating that the change request has been temporarily denied ([0055]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Chen by receiving a response indicating that the change request has been temporarily denied; and retransmitting, to the base station, a second change request for changing the value of the target parameter on based on the received response since the reference teaches the terminal transmitting a change request, as suggested by Yue. This modification would benefit the system by enabling the terminal to change parameters to an optimal configuration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends, “D1 does not teach or suggest the machine learning-based management of a communication model using the first downlink signal's data and the specific user equipment-originated change request targeting system information/scheduling parameter”. As shown above D1 teaches machine learning-based management of a communication model using the first downlink signal's data / (training signals [0699 -0700]) and the specific user equipment-originated change request (then at step 3184 the UE sends a mode change request message to the network, [0614]) targeting system information/scheduling parameter”. As shown above, the Examiner corresponds the applicant’s system information with the ‘mode’ of the reference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-13 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RONALD B ABELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476