DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Canstantinou et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2004/0035328.
Regarding claim 1, Constantinou discloses a cementitious mixture comprising: about 15 wt% to about 75 wt% of calcium aluminate cement (paragraph 36), about 5 wt% to about 40 wt% of Portland cement (paragraph 35), about 10 wt% to about 50 wt% of gypsum (paragraph 37; paragraph 21), and about 1 wt% to about 8 wt% of slag (paragraph 39; 10% is about 8% on a 1-100% scale). Alternatively, should the applicant disagree that about 8% is disclosed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the weight can vary by up to 2% (to 10%) to allow for a margin of error on a user’s part as it is known in the art to include a safety factor, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Regarding claim 2, Constantinou discloses a cementitious mixture comprising about 30 wt% to about 60 wt% of calcium aluminate cement (paragraph 36).
Regarding claim 3, Constantinou discloses a cementitious mixture comprising about 10 wt% to about 30 wt% of Portland cement (paragraph 35).
Regarding claim 4, Constantinou discloses a cementitious mixture comprising about 25 wt% to about 50 wt% of gypsum (paragraph 37).
Regarding claim 5, Constantinou discloses a cementitious mixture comprising about 25 wt% to about 40 wt% of gypsum (paragraph 37).
Regarding claim 6, Constantinou discloses a cementitious mixture comprising about 2 wt% to about 20 wt% of slag (paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 7, Constantinou discloses a cementitious mixture comprising at least about 90 wt% of a total amount of the calcium aluminate cement, the Portland cement, the gypsum, and the slag (paragraphs 34-39).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Canstantinou et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2004/0035328 in view of Tsirigotis et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0018047.
Regarding claim 8, Canstantinou discloses a cementitious mixture but does not specifically disclose it is further comprising about 1 L/m3 to about 5 L/m3 of a superplasticizer. Tsirigotis teaches a mixture comprised of calcium aluminate cement, Portland cement, calcium sulfate/gypsum, and slag (paragraph 54) having a superplasticizer additive (paragraph 71). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to utilize a superplasticizer depending on the application of the concrete for a more durable concrete with increased strength. It would also have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the concrete with a superplasticizer additive within the given range depending on the strength desired and the application for which it is to be used, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s argument that about 8% is not disclosed by the prior art, the examiner contends that 10% is about 8% when looking at a 0-100 range. Further, no criticality to having the specific 8% slag weight has been established, as the applicant’s own disclosure describes the slag can be up to 16% (paragraph 23). See rejection as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GISELE D. FORD
Examiner
Art Unit 3633
/GISELE D FORD/Examiner, Art Unit 3633