DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment was received on 2/2/26 and has been entered and made of record. Currently, claims 1-12 and 20-25 are pending, of which claims 20-25 are newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-11 of the remarks, filed 2/2/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 11, and 12 under 103(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art necessitated by the current amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 20-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Matysiak et al. (US 2021/0124539) in view of Park et al. (US 2014/0092233).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Matysiak discloses a method for controlling a system including a printing apparatus, a client terminal, and a server configured to provide a user with a metaverse via the client terminal, and a system comprising a printing apparatus and a client terminal, and a server configured to provide a user with a metaverse via the client terminal, wherein the system comprises:
a plurality of memories (see Fig. 9 and paras 42-48, MFP 800, VR system 135, and server 600 contain a plurality of memories); and
a plurality of processors (see Fig. 9 and paras 42-48, MFP 800, VR system 135, and server 600 contain a plurality of processors),
wherein the plurality of processors and the plurality of memories are configured to:
receive device information about the printing apparatus from the printing apparatus (see para 25, MFP 800 sends capability information to VR system 135); and
display, in the metaverse, a user interface screen on which one or more values are set based on a user instruction, wherein the one or more values correspond to one or more functions which are specified based on the information and which are provided by the printing apparatus (see Fig. 1 and paras 21, 26-27, and 36, VR UI 115 allows a user, via the metaverse, to select a printer for printing and then set options for printing),
if the device information is not received via the short-distance wireless communication, display a user interface screen for receiving a selection of a printing apparatus from registered printing apparatuses; and based on device information of the printing apparatus selected from the registered printing apparatuses, display, in the metaverse, a user interface screen on which one or more values are set based on a user instruction, wherein the one or more values correspond to one or more functions which are specified based on the device information of the selected printing apparatus and which are provided by the selected printing apparatus (see Fig. 1 and paras 21, 26-27, and 36, VR UI 115 allows a user, via the metaverse, to select a printer for printing and then set options for printing).
Matysiak does not disclose expressly short-distance wireless communication, display, in the metaverse, a user interface screen for receiving an operation to register the printing apparatus which transmits the device information; register the printing apparatus in association with user information of a user who is logged into the metaverse.
Park discloses short-distance wireless communication (see paras 1684-1700, short-distance wireless communication, such as Bluetooth or NFC, between a mobile terminal 15020 and an image forming apparatus 15030 can be established for communication),
based on the device information received via the short-distance wireless communication, display, in the metaverse, a user interface screen on which one or more values are set based on a user instruction, wherein the one or more values correspond to one or more functions which are specified based on the information and which are provided by the printing apparatus (see paras 1684-1700, short-distance wireless communication, such as Bluetooth or NFC, between a mobile terminal 15020 and an image forming apparatus 15030 can be established for communication and to perform a printing operation);
display, in the metaverse, a user interface screen for receiving an operation to register the printing apparatus which transmits the device information (see paras 1620-1627, 1631-1635, 1646-1647, 1684-1700, 1774, and 1920-1932, an image forming apparatus can be registered via an augmented reality application of a mobile terminal);
register the printing apparatus in association with user information of a user who is logged into the metaverse (see paras 559, 614, 693-694, 1007-1008, and 1531, a user logs in to the system).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 12, Matysiak discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing computer-executable instructions for causing a computer to execute a method for controlling a client terminal usable for enabling a user to access a metaverse provided by a server, a method for controlling a client terminal usable for enabling a user to access a metaverse provided by a server, and a client terminal usable for enabling a user to access a metaverse provided by a server, wherein the client terminal comprises:
one or more memories (see Fig. 9 and paras 42-48, MFP 800, VR system 135, and server 600 contain a plurality of memories); and
one or more processors (see Fig. 9 and paras 42-48, MFP 800, VR system 135, and server 600 contain a plurality of processor),
wherein the one or more processors and the one or more memories are configured to:
receive device information about the printing apparatus from the printing apparatus (see para 25, MFP 800 sends capability information to VR system 135); and
display, in the metaverse, a user interface screen on which one or more values are set based on a user instruction, wherein the one or more values correspond to one or more functions which are specified based on the information and which are provided by the printing apparatus (see Fig. 1 and paras 21, 26-27, and 36, VR UI 115 allows a user, via the metaverse, to select a printer for printing and then set options for printing);
if the device information is not received via the short-distance wireless communication, display a user interface screen for receiving a selection of a printing apparatus from registered printing apparatuses; and based on device information of the printing apparatus selected from the registered printing apparatuses, display, in the metaverse, a user interface screen on which one or more values are set based on a user instruction, wherein the one or more values correspond to one or more functions which are specified based on the device information of the selected printing apparatus and which are provided by the selected printing apparatus (see Fig. 1 and paras 21, 26-27, and 36, VR UI 115 allows a user, via the metaverse, to select a printer for printing and then set options for printing).
Matysiak does not disclose expressly short-distance wireless communication, display, in the metaverse, a user interface screen for receiving an operation to register the printing apparatus which transmits the device information; register the printing apparatus in association with user information of a user who is logged into the metaverse.
Park discloses short-distance wireless communication (see paras 1684-1700, short-distance wireless communication, such as Bluetooth or NFC, between a mobile terminal 15020 and an image forming apparatus 15030 can be established for communication),
based on the device information received via the short-distance wireless communication, display, in the metaverse, a user interface screen on which one or more values are set based on a user instruction, wherein the one or more values correspond to one or more functions which are specified based on the information and which are provided by the printing apparatus (see paras 1684-1700, short-distance wireless communication, such as Bluetooth or NFC, between a mobile terminal 15020 and an image forming apparatus 15030 can be established for communication and to perform a printing operation);
display, in the metaverse, a user interface screen for receiving an operation to register the printing apparatus which transmits the device information (see paras 1620-1627, 1631-1635, 1646-1647, 1684-1700, 1774, and 1920-1932, an image forming apparatus can be registered via an augmented reality application of a mobile terminal);
register the printing apparatus in association with user information of a user who is logged into the metaverse (see paras 559, 614, 693-694, 1007-1008, and 1531, a user logs in to the system).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the short-distance wireless communication, as described by Park, with the system of Matysiak. Matysiak discloses a VR headset, via a VR application, sending a discovery request to a printer via a network. Park discloses establishing communication between an external device and a printer via short range wireless communication, which is well known and commonly used in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use short range wireless communication to establish communication between the VR headset and printer set forth in Matysiak based on the teachings of Park.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to ensure a user knows the exact printing device they are communicating with or desire to communicate with thereby increasing user friendliness and system efficiency.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Park with Matysiak to obtain the invention as specified in claims 1-3, 11, and 12.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Matysiak further discloses wherein the information includes at least one of identification information of the printing apparatus and information about the one or more functions provided by the printing apparatus (see para 25, output setting information about a print function is transmitted from the MFP 800 to the VR system 135).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Matysiak further discloses wherein the one or more functions include at least one of a color print function and a stapling function (see para 26, a color/monochrome function can be selected).
Regarding claim 6, Matysiak further discloses wherein the client terminal is a network-connectable head mounted display (see Fig. 1 and paras 21 and 23, VR system 135 may be a VR headset).
Regarding claim 7, Matysiak further discloses wherein, the device information is received from the printing apparatus in response to reception of an operation for using a print service for a content in the metaverse by the user (see paras 24-27, user 130, via the VR system 135 initiates a print request and receives, in response a list of available printing devices to choose from).
Regarding claim 8, Matysiak further discloses wherein the one or more processors and the one or more memories are further configured to transmit the received device information to the server via a network (see Fig. 1 and paras 20 and 23, VR system 135 communicates with server 600).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Matysiak further discloses wherein at least one of an avatar corresponding to the printing apparatus and notification of a status of the printing apparatus is further displayed in the metaverse (see para 27, job progress and printer status information can be provided).
Regarding claim 10, Matysiak further discloses wherein print data corresponding to a content in the metaverse is printed by the printing apparatus in response to an additional operation by the user on the user interface screen displayed in the metaverse (see paras 21, 24-27, and 36, a user 130, via VR system 135, selects a document to be printed, an MFP to print the document, and print settings for printing).
Regarding claims 20 and 23, Park further discloses wherein the user interface screen for receiving the operation to register the printing apparatus is displayed based on a result of confirmation of whether the printing apparatus is registered (see paras 1620-1627, 1631-1635, 1646-1647, 1684-1700, 1774, and 1920-1932, an image forming apparatus can be registered via an augmented reality application of a mobile terminal).
Regarding claims 21 and 24, Park further discloses wherein if the device information is not received via the short-distance wireless communication, a user interface screen to input device information by a user is displayed and a printing apparatus indicated by the input device information is registered (see paras 1620-1627, 1631-1635, 1646-1647, 1684-1700, 1774, and 1920-1932, an image forming apparatus can be registered via an augmented reality application of a mobile terminal).
Regarding claims 22 and 25, Park further discloses wherein the user interface screen on which the one or more values are set is displayed in a case where the device information is registered in accordance with the user information of the user who is logged into the metaverse (see paras 559, 614, 693-694, 1007-1008, and 1531, a user logs in to the system).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK R MILIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681