DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “reasonable” in claims 5 and 17 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “reasonable” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Appropriate action is required.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the mower" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the mower" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the persistent memory device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it is unclear whether persistent is used to describe the device or how it works. This renders the claim as vague and indefinite. Appropriate action is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Liu et al WO 2019174452 (English translation provided and referenced).
Regarding claim 1, Liu et al discloses a control system for a vehicle comprising a plurality of wheels (see FIG. 1), the control system comprising: a master control unit ECU; a plurality of traction systems, wherein each of the traction systems corresponds to one of the wheels (see page 15, paragraph 11); and a plurality of rolling radius offset values stored in a memory device accessible by the MCU, wherein each of the rolling radius offset values corresponds to one of the wheels (see page 26, paragraph 6); wherein the MCU determines for each one of the wheels a command speed based on the rolling radius offset value corresponding to the one of the wheels in combination with at least one of a tire diameter of the one of the wheels, a steered angle of the vehicle, a traction pedal command, and vehicle geometry information, and provides the determined command speed for the one of the wheels to the traction system corresponding to the one of the wheels (see page 4, paragraph 5); and wherein each of the traction systems controls a speed of the corresponding one of the wheels based on the determined command speed for the one of the wheels received from the MCU. See page 31, paragraph 7.
Regarding claim 2, Liu et al discloses wherein each of the traction systems comprises: a traction motor for providing rotational force to the corresponding one of the wheels, wherein the traction motor comprises an electric motor; and a traction control unit (TCU) for controlling a speed of the rotational force generated by the traction motor. See page 16, paragraphs 9-12.
Regarding claim 3, Liu et al discloses further comprising a traction pedal for indicating a desired speed for the vehicle. This is inherent as a vehicle typically, conventionally, and routinely includes a pedal for adjusting speed of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 10, Liu et al discloses vehicle comprising: a plurality of wheels (see FIG. 1); a master control unit ECU; a plurality of traction systems, wherein each of the traction systems corresponds to one of the wheels (see page 15, paragraph 11); and a plurality of rolling radius offset values stored in a memory device accessible by the MCU, wherein each of the rolling radius offset values corresponds to one of the wheels (see page 26, paragraph 6); wherein the MCU determines for each one of the wheels a command speed based on the rolling radius offset value corresponding to the one of the wheels in combination with at least one of a tire diameter of the one of the wheels, a steered angle of the vehicle, a traction pedal command, and vehicle geometry information, and provides the determined command speed for the one of the wheels to the traction system corresponding to the one of the wheels (see page 4, paragraph 5); and wherein each of the traction systems controls a speed of the corresponding one of the wheels based on the determined command speed for the one of the wheels received from the MCU. See page 31, paragraph 7.
Regarding claim 11, Liu et al discloses wherein each of the traction systems comprises: a traction motor for providing rotational force to the corresponding one of the wheels, wherein the traction motor comprises an electric motor; and a traction control unit (TCU) for controlling a speed of the rotational force generated by the traction motor. See page 16, paragraphs 9-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al, as applied above, in view of Joseph et al US 2020/0356788.
Regarding claim 4, Liu et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Joseph et al discloses wherein during operation of the vehicle, the MCU determines whether a set of calibration mode conditions has been met and if so, causes the vehicle to operate in a calibration mode. See paragraph [0020].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the calibration mode of Joseph et al in the system of Liu et al to optimize the system for smoother operation.
Regarding claim 5, Liu et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Joseph et al discloses wherein the set of calibration mode conditions includes at least one of: whether the mower is driving at a consistent command speed in excess of a minimum threshold speed; whether the vehicle is driving in a substantially straight line; whether the vehicle is driving on a substantially level surface; and whether traction motor currents are within a reasonable range for driving on a substantially level surface. See paragraph [0020].
Regarding claim 12, Liu et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Joseph et al discloses wherein the MCU determines whether a set of calibration mode conditions has been met and if so, causes the vehicle to operate in a calibration mode. See paragraph [0020].
Claims 6-9 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al and Joseph et al, as applied above, in view of Yang et al US 2023/0320266.
Regarding claim 6, Liu et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Yang et al discloses wherein operating in the calibration mode comprises: for each of the traction systems, comparing a traction motor current for the traction system with an average traction motor current for all of the traction systems; and based on results of the comparing, adjusting the command speed corresponding to the one of the wheels. See paragraphs [0003]-[0012].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the calibration mode of Yang et al in the system of Liu et al to even out the wheel speed for smoother operation.
Regarding claim 7, Liu et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Yang et al discloses wherein operating in calibration mode further comprises, based on results of the comparing, updating the rolling radius offset value corresponding to the one of the wheels. See paragraphs [0141] and [0142].
Regarding claim 8, Liu et al discloses wherein the MCU determines for each one of the wheels an updated command speed based on the updated rolling radius offset value corresponding to the one of the wheels in combination with at least one of a tire diameter of the one of the wheels, a steered angle of the vehicle, a traction pedal command, and vehicle geometry information, and provides the determined updated command speed for the one of the wheels to the traction system corresponding to the one of the wheels. See page 4, paragraph 5 and page 31, paragraph 7.
Regarding claim 9, Liu et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Yang et al discloses wherein the plurality of rolling radius offset values stored in the memory device are replaced with the updated rolling radius offset values when the vehicle ceases operation. See paragraphs [0141] and [0142].
Regarding claim 13, Liu et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Yang et al discloses wherein the operating in the calibration mode comprises: for each of the traction systems, comparing a traction motor current for the traction system with an average traction motor current for all of the traction systems; and based on results of the comparing: adjusting the command speed corresponding to the one of the wheels; and updating the rolling radius offset value corresponding to the one of the wheels. See paragraphs [0003]-[0012].
Regarding claim 14, Liu et al discloses wherein the MCU determines for each one of the wheels an updated command speed based on the updated rolling radius offset value corresponding to the one of the wheels in combination with at least one of a tire diameter of the one of the wheels, a steered angle of the vehicle, a traction pedal command, and vehicle geometry information, and provides the determined updated command speed for the one of the wheels to the traction system corresponding to the one of the wheels. See page 4, paragraph 5 and page 31, paragraph 7.
Regarding claim 15, Liu et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Yang et al discloses wherein the vehicle comprises a riding lawn mower.
Regarding claim 16, Liu et al discloses computer-implemented method comprising: determining for each of a plurality of wheels of a vehicle a command speed based on a rolling radius offset value corresponding to the wheel in combination with at least one of a tire diameter of the one of the wheels, a steered angle of the vehicle, a traction pedal command, and vehicle geometry information, wherein the rolling radius offset values are stored in a non-volatile memory device (see page 4, paragraph 5);
Yang et al discloses for each of the determined command speeds, providing the determined command speed to a traction system for the corresponding wheel, wherein the traction system controls a speed of the corresponding wheel in accordance with the received command speed for the corresponding the wheel (See paragraphs [0003]-[0012]);
Joseph et al discloses determining whether a set of calibration mode conditions has been met; and if the set of calibration mode conditions has been met, causing the vehicle to operate in a calibration mode. See paragraph [0020].
Regarding claim 17, Liu et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Joseph et al discloses wherein the set of calibration mode conditions includes at least one of: the mower driving at a consistent command speed in excess of a minimum threshold speed; the vehicle driving in a substantially straight line; the vehicle driving on a substantially level surface; and traction motor currents are within a reasonable range for driving on a substantially level surface. See paragraph [0020].
Regarding claim 18, Liu et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Yang et al discloses wherein causing the vehicle to operate in the calibration mode comprises: for each of the traction systems, comparing a traction motor current for the traction system with an average traction motor current for all of the traction systems; based on results of the comparing, adjusting the command speed of the corresponding wheel; and based on results of the comparing, updating the rolling radius offset value of the corresponding wheel. See paragraphs [0003]-[0012].
Regarding claim 19, Liu et al discloses further comprising determining for each of the wheels an updated command speed based on the updated rolling radius offset value corresponding to the wheel in combination with at least one of a tire diameter of the wheel, a steered angle of the vehicle, a traction pedal command, and vehicle geometry information, and provides the determined updated command speed for the wheel to the traction system corresponding to the wheel. See page 4, paragraph 5 and page 31, paragraph 7.
Regarding claim 20, Liu et al fails to explicitly disclose, but Yang et al discloses further comprising replacing the plurality of rolling radius offset values stored in the persistent memory device with the updated rolling radius offset values. See paragraphs [0141] and [0142].
Conclusion
/JOSEPH J DALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747