DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 10 July 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2 and 4-20 remain pending in the application. Claim 3 has been canceled. New claim 21 has been added. Applicant's amendments to the claims have overcome the 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 15 April 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05 October 2023 was considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 11, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2010060449A1 (machine translation) of Belte in view of DE102008056812 (machine translation) of Pillkahn.
Regarding claim 1, Belte teaches a method for recapturing metals or metal alloys from scrap materials in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Belte discloses a continuous process for recovering aluminium or aluminium alloys, the aluminium-containing scrap material is heated in a crucible until the aluminium or aluminium alloy melts. The higher melting points, such as other metals, e.g. Materials such as steel and copper, as well as ceramic parts, sink to the bottom of the crucible in the molten metal and remain there until the molten metal is removed, Para[0004]. Belte teaches scrap consisting of sprues made of aluminum alloy and iron sprue screens, Para[0019]. Belte also teaches heating the scrap to above the melting point of the aluminum alloy to a temperature of 750°C, Para[0020]. Belte does not teach conditioning the metal scrap material such that the second alloy is diffused into the coating to form a diffused coating.
Pillkahn teaches processing steel scrap, comprises introducing steel scrap in e.g. alkaline solution, separating solution, preheating steel scrap using waste gases, introducing steel scrap in melting furnace, and removing originating waste gases in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Pillkahn discloses that Galvanized steel scrap can also be heated to a relatively high temperature above the melting point of zinc of 419°C, for example to a temperature of at least 500 or 600°C, before being introduced into the alkaline solution. The period during which the scrap steel is held at this temperature should preferably be approximately 10 to 15 minutes. The heating causes the zinc to diffuse from the zinc coating into the steel and iron from the steel into the zinc coating, thereby increasing the electrical contact between the metals at the surface and thus increasing the galvanic corrosion resistance of the steel scrap, Para[0019]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to condition the scrap material, during the method taught by Belte, such that the second alloy is diffused into the coating, as taught by Pillkahn, in order to increase the galvanic corrosion resistance of the material. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Claim 2 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the first alloy comprises an aluminum alloy.
Belte teaches scrap consisting of sprues made of aluminum alloy and iron sprue screens, Para[0019]. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn teaches all limitations of claim 2.
Claim 5 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the coating comprises a zinc alloy.
Belte does not disclose a zinc coating.
Pillkahn discloses that Galvanized steel scrap can also be heated to a relatively high temperature above the melting point of zinc of 419°C, for example to a temperature of at least 500 or 600°C, before being introduced into the alkaline solution. The period during which the scrap steel is held at this temperature should preferably be approximately 10 to 15 minutes. The heating causes the zinc to diffuse from the zinc coating into the steel and iron from the steel into the zinc coating, thereby increasing the electrical contact between the metals at the surface and thus increasing the galvanic corrosion resistance of the steel scrap, Para[0019]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the zinc coating disclosed by Pillikahn in the scrap material disclosed by Belte in order to increase the galvanic corrosion resistance of the steel scrap. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn teaches all limitations of claim 5.
Claim 8 further limits claim 1 by claiming that conditioning the mixed-material vehicle scrap comprises heating the mixed-material vehicle scrap to a temperature between 450°C and 600°C for up to 60 minutes.
Belte teaches that it is advantageous that in the first stage of the process the temperature Tpw is 3 to 40°C, preferably 10 to 35°C, below the melting point Tmp of the metal or its alloy to be recovered. This melting point, for example, lies in the range of approximately 570 to 670 °C. It is 660 °C for aluminum and 650 °C for magnesium, Para[0009]. This range overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Belte does not disclose a specific time period for carrying out the heating.
Pillkahn discloses that Galvanized steel scrap can also be heated to a relatively high temperature above the melting point of zinc of 419°C, for example to a temperature of at least 500 or 600°C, before being introduced into the alkaline solution. The period during which the scrap steel is held at this temperature should preferably be approximately 10 to 15 minutes. The heating causes the zinc to diffuse from the zinc coating into the steel and iron from the steel into the zinc coating, thereby increasing the electrical contact between the metals at the surface and thus increasing the galvanic corrosion resistance of the steel scrap, Para[0019]. The values for temperature and time taught by Pillkahn overlap with the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to condition the scrap material, as taught by Belte, with time conditions taught by Pillkahn in order to increase the galvanic corrosion resistance of the material. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn covers all limitations of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Belte teaches a method for recapturing metals or metal alloys from scrap materials in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Belte discloses a continuous process for recovering aluminium or aluminium alloys, the aluminium-containing scrap material is heated in a crucible until the aluminium or aluminium alloy melts. The higher melting points, such as other metals, e.g. Materials such as steel and copper, as well as ceramic parts, sink to the bottom of the crucible in the molten metal and remain there until the molten metal is removed, Para[0004]. Belte teaches scrap consisting of sprues made of aluminum alloy and iron sprue screens, Para[0019]. Belte also teaches heating the scrap to above the melting point of the aluminum alloy to a temperature of 750°C, Para[0020]. Belte does not teach conditioning the metal scrap material such that the second alloy is diffused into the coating to form a diffused coating.
Pillkahn teaches processing steel scrap, comprises introducing steel scrap in e.g. alkaline solution, separating solution, preheating steel scrap using waste gases, introducing steel scrap in melting furnace, and removing originating waste gases in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Pillkahn discloses that Galvanized steel scrap can also be heated to a relatively high temperature above the melting point of zinc of 419°C, for example to a temperature of at least 500 or 600°C, before being introduced into the alkaline solution. The period during which the scrap steel is held at this temperature should preferably be approximately 10 to 15 minutes. The heating causes the zinc to diffuse from the zinc coating into the steel and iron from the steel into the zinc coating, thereby increasing the electrical contact between the metals at the surface and thus increasing the galvanic corrosion resistance of the steel scrap, Para[0019]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to condition the scrap material, during the method taught by Belte, such that the second alloy is diffused into the coating, as taught by Pillkahn, in order to increase the galvanic corrosion resistance of the material. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn teaches all limitations of claim 9.
Claim 11 further limits claim 9 by claiming that the coating comprises a zinc alloy.
Belte does not disclose a zinc coating.
Pillkahn discloses that Galvanized steel scrap can also be heated to a relatively high temperature above the melting point of zinc of 419°C, for example to a temperature of at least 500 or 600°C, before being introduced into the alkaline solution. The period during which the scrap steel is held at this temperature should preferably be approximately 10 to 15 minutes. The heating causes the zinc to diffuse from the zinc coating into the steel and iron from the steel into the zinc coating, thereby increasing the electrical contact between the metals at the surface and thus increasing the galvanic corrosion resistance of the steel scrap, Para[0019]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the zinc coating disclosed by Pillikahn in the scrap material disclosed by Belte in order to increase the galvanic corrosion resistance of the steel scrap. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn teaches all limitations of claim 11.
Claim 14 further limits claim 9 by claiming that conditioning the mixed-material vehicle scrap comprises heating the mixed-material vehicle scrap to a temperature between 450°C and 600°C for up to 60 minutes.
Belte teaches that it is advantageous that in the first stage of the process the temperature Tpw is 3 to 40°C, preferably 10 to 35°C, below the melting point Tmp of the metal or its alloy to be recovered. This melting point, for example, lies in the range of approximately 570 to 670 °C. It is 660 °C for aluminum and 650 °C for magnesium, Para[0009]. This range overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Belte does not disclose a specific time period for carrying out the heating.
Pillkahn discloses that Galvanized steel scrap can also be heated to a relatively high temperature above the melting point of zinc of 419°C, for example to a temperature of at least 500 or 600°C, before being introduced into the alkaline solution. The period during which the scrap steel is held at this temperature should preferably be approximately 10 to 15 minutes. The heating causes the zinc to diffuse from the zinc coating into the steel and iron from the steel into the zinc coating, thereby increasing the electrical contact between the metals at the surface and thus increasing the galvanic corrosion resistance of the steel scrap, Para[0019]. The values for temperature and time taught by Pillkahn overlap with the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to condition the scrap material, as taught by Belte, with time conditions taught by Pillkahn in order to increase the galvanic corrosion resistance of the material. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn covers all limitations of claim 14.
Claim 15 further limits claim 9 by claiming that the mixed-material vehicle scrap is heated to above 700°C and the aluminum alloy becomes molten.
Belte teaches heating the scrap to above the melting point of the aluminum alloy to a temperature of 750°C, Para[0020]. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn covers all limitations of claim 15.
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2010060449A1 (machine translation) of Belte in view of DE102008056812 (machine translation) of Pillkahn as applied to claim 1 and 9 above, and further in view of US2016145704A1 of Kawasaki.
Claim 4 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the coating is applied with an electrocoating process.
Belte and Pillkahn do not teach the use of electrocoating.
Kawasaki teaches a hot-stamped part and method of manufacturing the same in a similar field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Kawasaki discloses that a steel sheet for hot stamping may be provided with a plating layer. The plating layer contributes to enhancement of corrosion resistance, for example. The plating layer may be an electroplating layer, Para[0165]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the electroplating layer taught by Kawasaki to the steel parts taught by Belte and Pillkahn in order to enhance corrosion resistance. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn further in view of Kawasaki covers all limitations of claim 4.
Claim 10 further limits claim 9 by claiming that the coating is applied with an electrocoating process.
Belte and Pillkahn do not teach the use of electrocoating.
Kawasaki teaches a hot-stamped part and method of manufacturing the same in a similar field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Kawasaki discloses that a steel sheet for hot stamping may be provided with a plating layer. The plating layer contributes to enhancement of corrosion resistance, for example. The plating layer may be an electroplating layer, Para[0165]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the electroplating layer taught by Kawasaki to the steel parts taught by Belte and Pillkahn in order to enhance corrosion resistance. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn further in view of Kawasaki covers all limitations of claim 10.
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2010060449A1 (machine translation) of Belte in view of DE102008056812 (machine translation) of Pillkahn as applied to claim 1 and 9 above, and further in view of DE602004002633T2 (machine translation) of Endo.
Claim 6 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the coating has a thickness between 2 microns and 10 microns.
Belte and Pillkahn do not teach a coating thickness.
Endo teaches chromium-free agent for the treatment of metal surfaces in a similar field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Endo discloses that when the chromium-free metal surface treatment agent of the present invention is combined with electroplating, a thin rust-inhibiting coating in a thickness including the thickness of plating of not more than 10 µm can achieve an excellent rust-inhibiting property, Para[0029]. This range overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce the zinc coating taught by Pillkahn with the thickness taught by Endo in order to achieve an excellent rust-inhibiting property. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn further in view of Endo covers all limitations of claim 6.
Claim 12 further limits claim 9 by claiming that the coating has a thickness between 2 microns and 10 microns.
Belte and Pillkahn do not teach a coating thickness.
Endo teaches chromium-free agent for the treatment of metal surfaces in a similar field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Endo discloses that when the chromium-free metal surface treatment agent of the present invention is combined with electroplating, a thin rust-inhibiting coating in a thickness including the thickness of plating of not more than 10 µm can achieve an excellent rust-inhibiting property, Para[0029]. This range overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce the zinc coating taught by Pillkahn with the thickness taught by Endo in order to achieve an excellent rust-inhibiting property. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn further in view of Endo covers all limitations of claim 12.
Claims 7, 13, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2010060449A1 (machine translation) of Belte in view of DE102008056812 (machine translation) of Pillkahn as applied to claim 1 and 9 above, and further in view of WO2022091351A1 (machine translation) of Sengoku.
Claim 7 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the diffused coating comprises gamma phase constituents.
Belte and Pillkahn do not teach gamma phase constituents.
Sengoku teaches a Zn-plated hot-stamped molded article in a similar field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Sengoku discloses that the gamma phase is a metal phase mainly composed of Fe3Zn10, which is a metal compound of Fe and Zn. By forming the upper layer on the surface layer side with a two-phase structure of the gamma phase and the Fe—Zn solid solution, the corrosion resistance after coating is improved, Para[0036]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a diffuse coating as taught by Sengoku in the scrap steel parts taught by Belte in view of Pillkahn in order to improve corrosion resistance. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn further in view of Sengoku covers all limitations of claim 7.
Claim 13 further limits claim 9 by claiming that the diffused coating comprises gamma phase constituents.
Belte and Pillkahn do not teach gamma phase constituents.
Sengoku teaches a Zn-plated hot-stamped molded article in a similar field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Sengoku discloses that the gamma phase is a metal phase mainly composed of Fe3Zn10, which is a metal compound of Fe and Zn. By forming the upper layer on the surface layer side with a two-phase structure of the gamma phase and the Fe—Zn solid solution, the corrosion resistance after coating is improved, Para[0036]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a diffuse coating as taught by Sengoku in the scrap steel parts taught by Belte in view of Pillkahn in order to improve corrosion resistance. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn further in view of Sengoku covers all limitations of claim 13.
Regarding claim 16, Belte teaches a method for recapturing metals or metal alloys from scrap materials in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Belte discloses a continuous process for recovering aluminium or aluminium alloys, the aluminium-containing scrap material is heated in a crucible until the aluminium or aluminium alloy melts. The higher melting points, such as other metals, e.g. Materials such as steel and copper, as well as ceramic parts, sink to the bottom of the crucible in the molten metal and remain there until the molten metal is removed, Para[0004]. Belte teaches scrap consisting of sprues made of aluminum alloy and iron sprue screens, Para[0019]. Belte also teaches heating the scrap to above the melting point of the aluminum alloy to a temperature of 750°C, Para[0020]. Belte does not teach conditioning the metal scrap material such that the second alloy is diffused into the coating to form a diffused coating.
Pillkahn discloses that Galvanized steel scrap can also be heated to a relatively high temperature above the melting point of zinc of 419°C, for example to a temperature of at least 500 or 600°C, before being introduced into the alkaline solution. The period during which the scrap steel is held at this temperature should preferably be approximately 10 to 15 minutes. The heating causes the zinc to diffuse from the zinc coating into the steel and iron from the steel into the zinc coating, thereby increasing the electrical contact between the metals at the surface and thus increasing the galvanic corrosion resistance of the steel scrap, Para[0019]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to condition the scrap material, during the method taught by Belte, such that the second alloy is diffused into the coating, as taught by Pillkahn, in order to increase the galvanic corrosion resistance of the material. Pillkahn does not teach gamma phase constituents.
Sengoku discloses that the gamma phase is a metal phase mainly composed of Fe3Zn10, which is a metal compound of Fe and Zn. By forming the upper layer on the surface layer side with a two-phase structure of the gamma phase and the Fe—Zn solid solution, the corrosion resistance after coating is improved, Para[0036]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a diffuse coating as taught by Sengoku in the scrap steel parts taught by Belte in view of Pillkahn in order to improve corrosion resistance.
Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn further in view of Sengoku covers all limitations of claim 16.
Claim 18 further limits claim 16 by claiming that the coating comprises a zinc alloy.
Belte does not disclose a zinc coating.
Pillkahn discloses that Galvanized steel scrap can also be heated to a relatively high temperature above the melting point of zinc of 419°C, for example to a temperature of at least 500 or 600°C, before being introduced into the alkaline solution. The period during which the scrap steel is held at this temperature should preferably be approximately 10 to 15 minutes. The heating causes the zinc to diffuse from the zinc coating into the steel and iron from the steel into the zinc coating, thereby increasing the electrical contact between the metals at the surface and thus increasing the galvanic corrosion resistance of the steel scrap, Para[0019]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the zinc coating disclosed by Pillikahn in the scrap material disclosed by Belte in order to increase the galvanic corrosion resistance of the steel scrap. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn further in view of Sengoku covers all limitations of claim 18.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2010060449A1 (machine translation) of Belte in view of DE102008056812 (machine translation) of Pillkahn and WO2022091351A1 (machine translation) of Sengoku as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of US2016145704A1 of Kawasaki.
Claim 17 further limits claim 16 by claiming that the coating is applied with an electrocoating process.
Belte, Pillkahn, and Sengoku do not teach electrocoating.
Kawasaki teaches a hot-stamped part and method of manufacturing the same in a similar field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Kawasaki discloses that a steel sheet for hot stamping may be provided with a plating layer. The plating layer contributes to enhancement of corrosion resistance, for example. The plating layer may be an electroplating layer, Para[0165]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the electroplating layer taught by Kawasaki to the steel parts taught by Belte and Pillkahn in order to enhance corrosion resistance. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn and Sengoku further in view of Kawasaki covers all limitations of claim 17.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2010060449A1 (machine translation) of Belte in view of DE102008056812 (machine translation) of Pillkahn and WO2022091351A1 (machine translation) of Sengoku as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of DE602004002633T2 of Endo.
Claim 19 further limits claim 16 by claiming that the coating has a thickness between 2 microns and 10 microns.
Belte and Pillkahn do not teach a coating thickness.
Sengoku teaches that the thickness of the Zn-based plating layer is about several to several tens of microns. This overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Sengoku teaches that the present inventors are excellent in controlling the ratio of the upper layer thickness to the lower layer thickness of the plating layer. It was found that both corrosion resistance after painting and excellent plating adhesion can be achieved, Para[0015].
Endo teaches chromium-free agent for the treatment of metal surfaces in a similar field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Endo discloses that when the chromium-free metal surface treatment agent of the present invention is combined with electroplating, a thin rust-inhibiting coating in a thickness including the thickness of plating of not more than 10 µm can achieve an excellent rust-inhibiting property, Para[0029]. This range overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, based on the teachings of Sengoku and Endo, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce the zinc coating taught by Pillkahn with the thickness taught by Sengokui and Endo in order to achieve an excellent rust-inhibiting property and corrosion resistance. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn and Sengoku further in view of Endo covers all limitations of claim 19.
Claim 20 further limits claim 16 by claiming that the diffusion layer has a thickness between 2 microns and 10 microns.
Belte and Pillkahn do not teach a thickness of the diffusion layer.
Sengoku teaches that the thickness of the Zn-based plating layer is about several to several tens of microns. This overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05. Sengoku teaches that the present inventors are excellent in controlling the ratio of the upper layer thickness to the lower layer thickness of the plating layer. It was found that both corrosion resistance after painting and excellent plating adhesion can be achieved, Para[0015].
Endo teaches chromium-free agent for the treatment of metal surfaces in a similar field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Endo discloses that when the chromium-free metal surface treatment agent of the present invention is combined with electroplating, a thin rust-inhibiting coating in a thickness including the thickness of plating of not more than 10 µm can achieve an excellent rust-inhibiting property, Para[0029]. This range overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, based on the teachings of Sengoku and Endo, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce the diffuse zinc coating taught by Pillkahn with the thickness taught by Sengokui and Endo in order to achieve an excellent rust-inhibiting property and corrosion resistance. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn and Sengoku further in view of Endo covers all limitations of claim 20.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2010060449A1 (machine translation) of Belte in view of DE102008056812 (machine translation) of Pillkahn as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US2003207037A1 of Liu.
Claim 21 further limits claim 1 by claiming that the first group of parts consists of aluminum panels and the second group of parts consists of steel fasteners.
Belte and Pillkahn do not teach aluminum panels or steel fasteners.
Liu teaches single-step heat treating and surface coating on self-piercing rivets in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Liu teaches that in an effort to improve fuel efficiency and reduce environment pollution, an increasing amount of aluminum has been used for structure and body panels in vehicles. In development of aluminum-intensive vehicles (AIV), self-piercing riveting has received increasing recognition as a potentially effective alternative to spot welding for joining aluminum body panels and structures. Currently, commercially available SPR used for AIV are made predominantly of steel, Para[0004]. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use aluminum panels and steel fasteners as the scrap parts in the method taught by Belte and Pillkahn since these are commonly used in the automotive industry. Thus, Belte in view of Pillkahn and Liu covers all limitations of claim 21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that (remarks, page 8 of 16) claim 1, as amended, is distinguished from primary reference Leon because claim 1 limits the first group of parts to the first alloy and the second group of parts to the second alloy. Applicant’s argument has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment relies upon primary reference Belte which does limit the scrap to a group of aluminum parts and a group of higher melting point metal parts.
Applicant argues that (remarks, pages 9-11 of 16) since primary reference Leon and secondary reference Pillkahn are directed towards different technical problems, there would be no motivation to incorporate the zinc coating of Pillkahn into the scrap of Leon. First of all, this argument is moot because the new ground of rejection relies upon Belte and not Leon. Second, Pillkahn provides clear motivation to apply the zinc coating to scrap parts. Pillkahn teaches that the heating causes the zinc to diffuse from the zinc coating into the steel and iron from the steel into the zinc coating, thereby increasing the electrical contact between the metals at the surface and thus increasing the galvanic corrosion resistance of the steel scrap, Para[0019]. Therefore, even though Pillkahn is generally directed toward the dezincification process, one of ordinary skill in the art would clearly be motivated to include Pillkahn’s coating on scrap parts in order to provide corrosion resistance before they are recycled.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has attached previously-cited foreign reference original documents that were inadvertently omitted in the non-final action. Reference Included herein: DE102008056812A1, DE602004002633T2, WO2022091351A1
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JACOB BENJAMIN STILES/Examiner, Art Unit 1733