Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,5,8-10,12-13,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by InterDigital (CG - based SDT selection and configuration, 3GPP TSG RANWG2 #113bis - e R2 - 2103795, April 1st, 2021).
Regarding claims 1,12, InterDigital discloses:
A wireless communication method comprising:
receiving, by a wireless communication terminal, a first release message; (Page 1: The following is also for further study “FFS Discuss further in stage 3 how to specify the agreement that CG-SDT resources are only valid in one cell (i.e. cell in which RRCRelease is received)”; Observation 1: UE releases the CG SDT resource upon receiving an indication in an RRC release message or upon expiry of the TA timer.)
and releasing, by the wireless communication terminal, at least one small data transmission
(SDT) configuration stored in the wireless communication terminal according to a cell where the first release message is received or according to information of SDT configuration carried by the first release message. (Page 1-2: Therefore, the CG resource should be released deterministically upon changing serving cells. The UE can therefore initiate RRC Resume Request on another cell from the one from which the configuration was received, then the network can send the RRC release message that can release the CG configuration or re-configure it; Observation 1: UE releases the CG SDT resource upon receiving an indication in an RRC release message or upon expiry of the TA timer; Proposal 4: Upon mobility, the UE can release the CG configuration for SDT when it receives RRC Release message from another cell from the one from which the configuration was received.)
Regarding claims 2,13, InterDigital discloses:
wherein the at least one SDT configuration is transmitted to the wireless communication terminal via a second release message, and the wireless communication terminal is configured to release all of the at least one SDT configuration stored in the wireless communication terminal in response to the first release message and the second release message are received via different cells. (Page 1-2: The following is also for further study “FFS Discuss further in stage 3 how to specify the agreement that CG-SDT resources are only valid in one cell (i.e. cell in which RRCRelease is received)”… Therefore, the CG resource should be released deterministically upon changing serving cells. The UE can therefore initiate RRC Resume Request on another cell from the one from which the configuration was received, then the network can send the RRC release message that can release the CG configuration or re-configure it; Proposal 4: Upon mobility, the UE can release the CG configuration for SDT when it receives RRC Release message from another cell (e.g., first release message) from the one from which the configuration was received. (e.g., second release message))”)
Regarding claims 5,16, InterDigital discloses:
wherein the wireless communication terminal is configured to release all of the at least one SDT configuration stored in the wireless communication terminal in response to the first release message comprising a release indicator. (Observation 1: UE releases the CG SDT resource upon receiving an indication in an RRC release message)
Regarding claim 8, InterDigital discloses:
wherein the wireless communication terminal is configured to release the at least one SDT configuration in response to the first release message comprising a release indicator or a release list and not comprising any update SDT configuration. (Observation 1: UE releases the CG SDT resource upon receiving an indication in an RRC release message or upon expiry of the TA timer; Examiner’s Note: RRC release message in observation 1 does not comprise any update SDT configuration. It’s only to instruct the UE to release the CG configuration for SDT when the UE receives an indication in its message.).
Regarding claim 9, InterDigital discloses:
wherein the at least one SDT configuration is transmitted to the wireless communication terminal via a second release message, the wireless communication terminal is configured to release the at least one SDT configuration in response to the first release message and the second release message being received via different cells and the first release message not comprising a release indicator or a release list and any update SDT configuration. (Page 1-2: The following is also for further study “FFS Discuss further in stage 3 how to specify the agreement that CG-SDT resources are only valid in one cell (i.e. cell in which RRCRelease is received … Proposal 4: Upon mobility, the UE can release the CG configuration for SDT when it receives RRC Release message from another cell (e.g., first release message) from the one from which the configuration was received. (e.g., second release message))”; Examiner’s Note: RRC release message in proposal 4 does not comprise a release indicator or a release list and any update SDT configuration. It’s only to instruct the UE to release the CG configuration for SDT when it receives RRC Release message from another cell.).
Regarding claim 10, InterDigital discloses:
wherein the at least one SDT configuration is transmitted to the wireless communication terminal via a second release message (Page 1: The following is also for further study “FFS Discuss further in stage 3 how to specify the agreement that CG-SDT resources are only valid in one cell (i.e. cell in which RRCRelease is received (e.g., second )”.), the wireless communication terminal is configured to release the at least one SDT configuration in response to the first release message comprising a release indicator or a release list (Observation 1: UE releases the CG SDT resource upon receiving an indication in an RRC release message (e.g., first release message) or upon expiry of the TA timer. Those release methods are sufficient.) and the first release message and the second release message being received in an identical cell. (Examiner’s Note: CG configuration for SDT was received before UE receives an indication in an RRC release message. Both messages are inherently from the same cell because InterDigital will mention it “from another cell” if it’s not from the same cell as they did with Proposal 4)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4,11,14-15,19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over InterDigital (CG - based SDT selection and configuration, 3GPP TSG RANWG2 #113bis - e R2 - 2103795, April 1st, 2021) in view of Jeon et al. (US 20220046661; hereinafter “Jeon”).
Regarding claims 3,14, InterDigital does not disclose:
wherein the wireless communication terminal is configured to release all of the at least one SDT configuration stored in the wireless communication terminal in response to the first release message comprising at least one update SDT configuration.
Jeon discloses:
wherein the wireless communication terminal is configured to release all of the at least one SDT configuration stored in the wireless communication terminal in response to the first release message comprising at least one update SDT configuration. ([0316] The RRC release message that may be sent/transmitted later may comprise updated configuration parameters, of the SDT, which may overwrite/override the previous configuration parameters of the SDT indicated by the RRC reconfiguration message, for example, if the RRC reconfiguration message comprises the configuration parameters of the SDT; [0320] The wireless device may receive (e.g., in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state) an RRC release message comprising configuration parameters for the SDT; [0320] Using the RRC release message instead of other message(s) (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message, broadcast message, multicast message, and/or system information) may provide additional benefits)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of InterDigital with the teachings of Jeon, to include the wireless communication terminal is configured to release all of the at least one SDT configuration stored in the wireless communication terminal in response to the first release message comprising at least one update SDT configuration. The motivation would have been to send and/or receive data using more suitable beam(s) and/or resource(s), which may provide advantages such as reduced communication failure, reduced signaling overhead, reduced power consumption, and/or reduced latency. (Jeon¶[0004])
Regarding claims 4,15, InterDigital does not disclose:
wherein the wireless communication terminal is configured to store at least one update SDT configuration in response to the first release message comprising the at least one update SDT configuration.
Jeon discloses:
wherein the wireless communication terminal is configured to store at least one update SDT configuration in response to the first release message comprising the at least one update SDT configuration. ([0316] The RRC release message that may be sent/transmitted later may comprise updated configuration parameters, of the SDT, which may overwrite/override the previous configuration parameters of the SDT indicated by the RRC reconfiguration message, for example, if the RRC reconfiguration message comprises the configuration parameters of the SDT; [0320] The wireless device may receive (e.g., in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state) an RRC release message comprising configuration parameters for the SDT; [0320] Using the RRC release message instead of other message(s) (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message, broadcast message, multicast message, and/or system information) may provide additional benefits))
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of InterDigital with the teachings of Jeon, to include the wireless communication terminal is configured to store at least one update SDT configuration in response to the first release message comprising the at least one update SDT configuration. The motivation would have been to send and/or receive data using more suitable beam(s) and/or resource(s), which may provide advantages such as reduced communication failure, reduced signaling overhead, reduced power consumption, and/or reduced latency. (Jeon¶[0004])
Regarding claim 11, InterDigital does not disclose:
wherein the at least one SDT configuration is transmitted to the wireless communication terminal via a second release message, the wireless communication terminal is configured to release the at least one SDT configuration in response to the first release message comprising at least one update SDT configuration, the first release message not comprising any release indicator or any release list, and the first release message and the second release message being received in an identical cell.
Jeon discloses:
wherein the at least one SDT configuration is transmitted to the wireless communication terminal via a second release message ([0320] The wireless device may receive (e.g., in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state) an RRC release message comprising configuration parameters for the SDT; [0320] Using the RRC release message instead of other message(s) (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message, broadcast message, multicast message, and/or system information) may provide additional benefits), the wireless communication terminal is configured to release the at least one SDT configuration in response to the first release message comprising at least one update SDT configuration, the first release message not comprising any release indicator or any release list, ([0316] The RRC release message that may be sent/transmitted later may comprise updated configuration parameters, of the SDT, which may overwrite/override the previous configuration parameters of the SDT indicated by the RRC reconfiguration message; [0320] The wireless device may receive (e.g., in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state) an RRC release message comprising configuration parameters for the SDT; [0320] Using the RRC release message instead of other message(s) (e.g., RRC reconfiguration message, broadcast message, multicast message, and/or system information) may provide additional benefits; Examiner’s Note: RRC release message comprises updated configuration parameters of the SDT and not comprise any release indicator or any release list.), and the first release message and the second release message being received in an identical cell. (Examiner’s Note: Based on ¶[0316], RRC release message and RRC reconfiguration message are from the same cell. It is obvious for to the person of ordinary skill in the art to modify RRC reconfiguration message to be RRC release message because RRC release message can be used instead of RRC reconfiguration message for additional benefits (¶[0320]))
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of InterDigital with the teachings of Jeon, to include wherein the at least one SDT configuration is transmitted to the wireless communication terminal via a second release message, the wireless communication terminal is configured to release the at least one SDT configuration in response to the first release message comprising at least one update SDT configuration, the first release message not comprising any release indicator or any release list, and the first release message and the second release message being received in an identical cell. The motivation would have been to send and/or receive data using more suitable beam(s) and/or resource(s), which may provide advantages such as reduced communication failure, reduced signaling overhead, reduced power consumption, and/or reduced latency. (Jeon¶[0004])
Regarding claim 19 depending on claim 1, InterDigital does not disclose:
A wireless communication terminal, comprising:
a communication unit; and a processor
Jeon discloses:
A wireless communication terminal, comprising: ([0193] wireless device 1502)
a communication unit; (Fig. 15A: The transmission processing system 1520 and/or the reception processing system 1522)
and a processor ([0195] the processing system 1518 may comprise one or more controllers and/or one or more processors.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of InterDigital with the teachings of Jeon, to include a wireless communication terminal, comprising: a communication unit; and a processor. The motivation would have been to send and/or receive data using more suitable beam(s) and/or resource(s), which may provide advantages such as reduced communication failure, reduced signaling overhead, reduced power consumption, and/or reduced latency. (Jeon¶[0004])
Regarding claim 20 depending on claim 12, InterDigital does not disclose:
A wireless communication node, comprising:
a communication unit; and a processor
Jeon discloses:
A wireless communication node, comprising: ([0193] The base station 1504)
a communication unit; (Fig. 15A: The transmission processing system 1510 and/or the reception processing system 1512)
and a processor ([0195] The processing system 1508 may comprise one or more controllers and/or one or more processors.)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of InterDigital with the teachings of Jeon, to include a wireless communication node, comprising: a communication unit; and a processor. The motivation would have been to send and/or receive data using more suitable beam(s) and/or resource(s), which may provide advantages such as reduced communication failure, reduced signaling overhead, reduced power consumption, and/or reduced latency. (Jeon¶[0004])
Claims 7,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over InterDigital (CG - based SDT selection and configuration, 3GPP TSG RANWG2 #113bis - e R2 - 2103795, April 1st, 2021) in view of Lin et al. (US 20230397298; hereinafter “Lin”).
Regarding claims 7,18, InterDigital discloses:
and wherein the first release message is a radio resource control (RRC) release message. (Observation 1: UE releases the CG SDT resource upon receiving an indication in an RRC release message or upon expiry of the TA timer.)
InterDigital does not disclose:
wherein the wireless communication terminal is configured to release at least one timer for the at least one SDT configuration according to the first release message
However, Lin discloses:
wherein the wireless communication terminal is configured to release at least one timer for the at least one SDT configuration according to the first release message ([0140] Optionally, the above-mentioned terminal device further includes: [0141] a stopping module 570, configured to stop the first timer and release a CG resource and configuration in a case that at least one of the following scenarios occurs: [0142] the terminal device receives a CG resource release message from a network side)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify release message is a radio resource control (RRC) release message of the teachings of InterDigital with stop the first timer and release a CG resource and configuration in case that the terminal device receives a CG resource release message from a network side of the teachings of Lin, to include the wireless communication terminal is configured to release at least one timer for the at least one SDT configuration according to the first release message. The motivation would have been to provide a solution for the running mechanism of the timer for uplink small data transmission (SDT) and the method for maintaining the valid timing advance during running of the timer. (Lin¶[0004])
Claims 6,17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over InterDigital (CG - based SDT selection and configuration, 3GPP TSG RANWG2 #113bis - e R2 - 2103795, April 1st, 2021) in view of Tseng et al. (US 20220078697; hereinafter “Tseng”).
Regarding claims 6,17, InterDigital does not disclose:
wherein the first release message comprises a release list, and the wireless communication terminal is configured to release at least a portion of the at least one SDT configuration according to the release list.
Tseng discloses:
wherein the first release message comprises a release list, and the wireless communication terminal is configured to release at least a portion of the at least one SDT configuration according to the release list. ([0242] The UE may have stored an SDT configuration configured by the Cell #1. In this condition, the UE may still keep/suspend/retain (at least part of) the stored SDT configuration (e.g., a CG-SDT configuration, which includes the UL-CG configuration for SDT) configured by Cell #1 …. the UE may release/clear/remove (at least part of) the stored SDT configuration (e.g., CG-SDT configuration, which includes the UL-CG configuration for SDT) configured by Cell #1)
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of InterDigital with the teachings of Tseng, to the first release message comprises a release list, and the wireless communication terminal is configured to release at least a portion of the at least one SDT configuration according to the release list. The motivation would have been to improve different aspects of wireless communication for next-generation wireless communication system, such as fifth-generation (5G) New Radio (NR), by improving data rate, latency, reliability, and mobility. (Tseng¶[0003])
[0072] the UE may receive UL-TA information (e.g., a parameter/value of a TAT) with the SDT-configuration jointly in an RRC signal (e.g., RRCRelease message).
Conclusion
/NHU PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479