DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the submission of 9/24/2025 responding to the Restriction Requirement of 7/24/2025. Applicant has elected claims 1-10, and withdrawn claims 11-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rivera-Rodriguez, USPN 12,063,123 (hereinafter “Rivera-Rodriguez”).
Regarding claim 1, Rivera-Rodriguez discloses a computing system (Figs. 1, 2, 8, 9, and 11; Col. 2, lines 35-52; Col. 4, line 35 through Col.8, line 18; Col. 14, line 6 through Col. 17, line 19; Col.18, lines 47 through Col. 22, line34), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 11, 1110; Col. 19, lines20-40); and
computer storage memory having computer-executable instructions stored thereon which, when executed by the processor (Col. 19, lines 40-52), configure the computing system to perform operations comprising:
obtain text data associated with a video (As shown in Fig. 2, there are video streams and content being shared amongst the viewers/ participants. Col. 4, lines 35-45; Col. 5, line 1 through Col. 7, line 47);
generate a model prompt to be input into a large language model, the model prompt including the text data associated with the video (Col. 5, line 1 through Col. 7, line 47);
obtain, as output from the large language model, a text representation that represents the video in natural language based on the text data (Col. 5, line 1 through Col. 7, line 47); and
provide the text representation as input into a machine learning model to generate a video insight that indicates context of the video (Col. 2, lines 35-52; Col. 6, lines 30-32; Col. 8, lines 3-18).
Regarding claim 2, Rivera-Rodrigues discloses wherein the text data corresponds with a plurality of modalities of the video, the plurality of modalities including at least audio and images (Col. 5, line 1 through Col. 6, line 67).
Regarding claim 3, Rivera-Rodriguez discloses wherein the text data comprises video metadata (Col. 6, lines 33-49), a video description (Col. 6, lines 33-67), a video caption (Col. 6, lines 33-67), a video object (Col. 9, lines 25-30; Col. 11, lines 43-62), and a video transcription (Col. 6, lines 33-67). Further see Fig. 8 and corresponding descriptions.
Regarding claim 4, River-Rodriguez further discloses wherein the video description, the video caption, and the video object are identified in association with keyframes extracted from the video (Col. 9, lines 25-30; Col. 11, lines 43-62; Col. 14, lines 6-27).
Regarding claim 7, Rivera-Rodriguez discloses wherein the machine learning model that generates the video insight comprises a classifier (Col. 14, line 54 through Col. 15, line14) to identify an emotion class (Fig. 8, 814), a persuasion strategy class, or a topic class (Col. 23, line 64 through Col. 24, line 3).
Regarding claim 8, Rivera-Rodriguez discloses wherein the machine learning model that generates the video insight comprises a generator to generate an action or a reason associated with the video (Col. 5, line 61 through Col. 6, line 33).
Claim 9 recites similar recitations as claims 7 and 8, therefore, are rejected the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivera-Rodriguez, in view of Zhao et al., “Text from Corners: A Novel Approach to Detect Text and Captions in Videos”, IEEE Transactions on Image Processing, Vol. 2, No. 3, March 2011 (hereinafter “Zhao”).
Regarding claim 5, Rivera-Rodriguez is not explicit in wherein the video caption and the video object are identified using an optical flow-based approach or a sampling-based approach.
However, Zhao discloses a method wherein the video caption and the video object are identified using an optical flow-based approach (Abstract, Page 791, 1st Col., 4th paragraph) or a sampling-based approach
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Rivera-Rodriguez with Zhao’s teachings in order to provide a robust and flexible text detection system (See Zhao’s Abstract for motivation).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivera-Rodriguez, in view of Hawes et al., USPGPUB 2024/0403290 (hereinafter “Hawes”)
Regarding claim 6, Rivera-Rodrigues is not explicit in wherein the model prompt is generated by concatenating different types of text data.
However, Hawes discloses a method, system, and computer program product for Large Language Model (LLM) optimization (Abstract) wherein the model prompt is generated by concatenating different types of text data (¶ [61]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Rivera-Rodriguez with Hawes’ teachings in order to optimize and expedite system response times.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rivera-Rodriguez, in view of Xu et al., USPGPUB 2022/0237228 (hereinafter “Xu”).
Regarding claim 10, Rivera-Rodriguez discloses providing video insight (as analyzed for claim 1) and analysis of the video (Col. 5, line 1 through Col. 6, line 67), and generating tags for the video (Col. 13, lines 3-8). Rivera-Rodriguez is not explicit in providing the video insight for display in association with the video, for analysis of the video, or for a tag of the video.
However, Xu discloses a method, system, and computer program product for displaying content (video) to a viewer (Figs. 3 and 8 and corresponding descriptions) and providing the video insight for display in association with the video, for analysis of the video, or for a tag of the video (¶¶ [60], [123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Rivera-Rodriguez with Xu’s teachings in order to provide additional data/ information to a viewer/ user at the same time as the content for further enjoyment and understanding.
Contacts
/JAMES R MARANDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421