DETAILED ACTION
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: create block, integrate block, select block, reordering block, depth pass module, color pass module in claim 1, 2, 4, 6, 7 and 9.
The Specification discloses:
In [0039], “... the information processing system 300 includes a hardware (HW) engine 310, a software (SW) module 320 and a main memory 330... the hardware engine includes a select block 340 and an integrate block 350... the software module 320 includes a create block 360.” In [0040], “... the integrate block 350 includes a depth pass module 351 and a color pass module 355.” The corresponding structure for the select block and the integrate block, which includes the depth pass module and the color pass module, is the hardware engine. And, the corresponding structure for the create block, which includes the reordering block, is the information processing system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1; 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thyagharajan et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0327396 in view of Correll et al. EP 1 054 384 A2 and Nguyen U.S. Patent No. 10,891,779.
Re: claim 1, Thyagharajan teaches
1. (Currently Amended) An apparatus comprising: a create block configured to receive a plurality of input block voxel indices and configured to generate a reordered list based on the plurality of input block voxel indices; (“Fig. 3 depicts a block diagram 300 illustrating reordering of input data elements. In this case the input date is for sparse voxels 302. The data for the sparse voxels 302 is subject to reordering 304 to produce a chunk 305... ”; Thyagharajan, [0033], Fig. 3)
Fig. 3 illustrates reordering 304 (create block) that receives plural sparse voxels and reorders the sparse voxels to produce a chunk (receive a plurality of input block voxel indices). Reordering 304 is coupled to processing logic 308.
(“The reordering may work with an input list of voxels Vin may be expressed as Vin=[vi], where vi is dimensional location/index of the ith voxel in Vin. An occupancy map M may be defined. The occupancy map M maps a tuple of indices of each occupied voxel to the index of the voxel in then list Vin and is undefined everywhere else.”; Thyagharajan, [0034])
The reordering works with an input list of voxels Vin, expressed as vi, which is a dimension/location index of the ith voxel in Vin. An occupancy map is defined which maps a tuple of indices of each occupied voxel to the index of the voxel in the list Vin. The input list of voxels is then reordered (generate a reordered list based on the plurality of input block voxel indices).
Thyagharajan is silent regarding the reordered list separates a neighborhood of input block voxel indices of the plurality of input block voxel indices into one of a plurality of grids and wherein the input block voxel indices are located within the neighborhood, however, Correll teaches this limitation.
wherein the reordered list separates a neighborhood of input block voxel indices of the plurality of input block voxel indices into one of a plurality of grids and wherein the input block voxel indices are located within the neighborhood; (“Referring now to Figure 13, the mini-blocks are further arranged in groups corresponding to banks of the DRAMs... Each group of 4×4×4 mini-blocks is labeled with a large numeral. Each numeral depicts the assignment of each mini-block of that group to the bank with the same numeral in its assigned DRAM module. For example, the group of mini-blocks 312 in the figure is labeled with numeral 0. This means that each mini-block within group 312 is stored in bank 0 of its respective memory module.”; Correll, [0082], Fig. 13)
Fig. 13 illustrates that the voxels have been divided into 4x4x4 mini-blocks (separates a neighborhood of input block voxel indices of the plurality of input block voxel indices into a plurality of grids). The mini-blocks are arranged in groups corresponding to banks of the DRAMs. Each group of mini-blocks is assigned a large numeral (index) that corresponds to its assigned bank in the DRAM. For example, the each mini-block in group 312 (the input block voxel indices are located within the neighborhood) is stored in bank 0. Correll is combined with Thyagharajan such that the indexed mini-blocks of Correll are the reordered lists of Thyagharajan. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of Thyagharajan by adding the feature of the reordered list separates a neighborhood of input block voxel indices of the plurality of input block voxel indices into one of a plurality of grids and wherein the input block voxel indices are located within the neighborhood, in order to maximize efficiency of the DRAM bandwidth by allowing access to consecutive mini-blocks within a bank such that they are not delayed by intervening idle cycles, as taught by Correll ([0084]-[0085]).
Thyagharajan and Correll are silent regarding an integrate block coupled to the create block, the integrate block configured to use the reordered list to deliver integrate depth data for generating a plurality of output block voxel indices, however, Nguyen teaches
and an integrate block coupled to the create block, the integrate block configured to use the reordered list to deliver integrate depth data for generating a plurality of output block voxel indices. (“From experiments, we can well predict the number of reconstructed surface voxels for each use case. Given such a number, we can pre-allocate the array of reconstructed voxel blocks 201. Each voxel block consists of 8x8x8 voxels. This indexing mechanism is extremely efficient for creating, accessing and modifying the voxels; this indexing mechanism enables a fast preparation step before integrating the newly observed depth map into the reconstructed scene.”; Nguyen, col. 4, lines 58-65)
The indexing mechanism creates, accesses and modifies voxels and enables a fast preparation step before integrating the depth map into the reconstructed scene. Fig. 1 illustrates a preparation block (create block) coupled to the integration block (integrate block).
(“The preparation step will result in a list of existing voxels and non-existing voxels which are close to the observed depth map. This prepared list makes it efficient for later integration of the depth map to the reconstructed scene.”; Nguyen, col. 5, lines 29-31)
The preparation step results in, for example, a list of existing voxels, which is used for integration of the depth map to the reconstructed scene. Nguyen is combined with Thyagharajan and Correll such that the indexed voxels of Nguyen are the reordered indexed voxels of Thyagharajan and the reordered indexed voxels of Thyagharajan are used as the prepared list of for integration of the depth map to the reconstructed scene of Nguyen and the preparation block of Nguyen includes the reordering of Thyagharajan. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of Thyagharajan by adding the feature of an integrate block coupled to the create block, the integrate block configured to use the reordered list to deliver integrate depth data for generating a plurality of output block voxel indices, in order to quickly and efficiently create, access and modify voxels before integrating the newly observed depth map into the reconstructed scene, as taught by Nguyen (col. 4, lines 62-65).
Re: claim 2, Thyagharajan, Correll and Nguyen teach
2. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a select block coupled to the create block, the select block configured to send the plurality of input block voxel indices to the create block. (“Fig. 3 depicts a block diagram 300 illustrating reordering of input data elements. In this case the input data is for sparse voxels 302. The data for the sparse voxels 302 is subject to reordering 304 to produce a chunk 306...”; Thyagharajan, [0033], Fig. 3)
Fig. 3 illustrates sparse voxels block 302 (select block) coupled to reordering block 304 (create block), where the sparse voxels block sends the input voxels to the reordering block (send the plurality of input block voxel indices to the create block).
Re: claim 3, Thyagharajan, Correll and Nguyen teach
3. (Original) The apparatus of claim 2, further comprising a memory coupled to the create block, the memory configured for storing the plurality of input block voxel indices. (“The data for the sparse voxels 302 is subject to reordering 304 to produce a chunk 306... The chunk 306 is then passed to the processing logic 308 and stored in a memory 310 used by the processing logic for processing... The reordering may work with an input list of voxels Vin may be expressed as Vin=[vi], where vi is dimensional location/index of the ith voxel in Vin. An occupancy map M may be defined. The occupancy map M maps a tuple of indices of each occupied voxel to the index of the voxel in then list Vin and is undefined everywhere else”; Thyagharajan, [0033], [0034])
Fig. 3 illustrates that the sparse voxels block 302 sends sparse voxels to the reordering block to produce a chunk, which is stored in the memory of the processing logic (a memory coupled to the create block, the memory configured for storing the plurality of input block voxel indices).
Re: claim 4, Thyagharajan, Correll and Nguyen teach
4. (Original) The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the create block includes a reordering block, the reordering block configured to generate the reordered list. (“The reordering may work with an input list of voxels Vin may be expressed as Vin=[vi], where vi is dimensional location/index of the ith voxel in Vin. An occupancy map M may be defined. The occupancy map M maps a tuple of indices of each occupied voxel to the index of the voxel in then list Vin and is undefined everywhere else.”; Thyagharajan, [0034], Fig. 3)
The reordering works with an input list of voxels Vin, expressed as vi, which is a dimension/location index of the ith voxel in Vin. The input list of voxels is reordered (generate a reordered list based on the plurality of input block voxel indices). Fig. 3 illustrates a reordering block 304 (create block includes a reordering block) that reorders an input list of voxels (the reordering block configured to generate the reordered list).
Re: claim 5, Thyagharajan, Correll and Nguyen teach
5. (Original) The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the memory is configured to store one or more of the following: a depth image, one or more 3D voxels, a depth and voxel set, one or more voxels, a meta data buffer, an updated voxel, a color image, or an updated voxel with color. (“Fig. 3 depicts a block diagram 300 illustrating reordering of input data elements. In this case the input data is for sparse voxels 302. The data for the sparse voxels 302 is subject to reordering 304 to produce a chunk 306...The chunk 306 is then passed to the processing logic 308 and stored in a memory 310 used by the processing logic for processing.”; Thyagharajan, [0033], Fig. 3)
Fig. 3 illustrates a memory 310 that stores chunk 306, which includes reordered voxels. The memory stores chunk 306, which is considered to include, one or more 3D voxels, one or more voxels or an updated voxel.
Re: claim 6, Thyagharajan, Correll and Nguyen teach
6. (Original) The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the integrate block includes a depth pass module, the depth pass module configured to receive a depth image and one or more 3D voxels, (“... and an integration step, in which the collected and cached voxels of the preparation step are updated with a newly captured depth map frame (403);”; Nguyen, col. 3, lines 1-4)
The integration step (integrate block) receives the collected and cached voxels (one or more 3D voxels) and a newly captured depth map (depth image). Fig. 1 illustrates an integration block 106, which is considered to include a depth pass module, which receives the collected and cached voxels (one or more 3D voxels) and a newly captured depth map (depth image).
and the depth pass module further configured to generate a depth image data based on the depth image and the one or more 3D voxels. (“This indexing mechanism is extremely efficient for creating, accessing and modifying the voxels; this indexing mechanism enables a fast preparation step before integrating the newly observed depth map into the reconstructed scene.”; Nguyen, col. 4, lines 62-65)
(“The preparation step will result in a list of existing voxels and non-existing voxels which are close to the observed depth map. This prepared list makes it efficient for later integration of the depth map to the reconstructed scene.”; Nguyen, col. 5, lines 9-12)
The preparation step results in, for example, a list of existing voxels (one or more 3D voxels), which is used for integration of the depth map (depth image) into the reconstructed scene (generate a depth image data based on the depth image and the one or more 3D voxels). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of Thyagharajan by adding the feature of the integrate block includes a depth pass module, the depth pass module configured to receive a depth image and one or more 3D voxels, and the depth pass module further configured to generate a depth image data based on the depth image and the one or more 3D voxels, in order to quickly and efficiently create, access and modify voxels before integrating the newly observed depth map into the reconstructed scene, as taught by Nguyen (col. 4, lines 62-65).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thyagharajan in view of Correll and Nguyen as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Hasegawa et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0344815 and Chen et al. U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0175644.
Re: claim 7, Thyagharajan, Correll and Nguyen are silent regarding the depth pass module is further configured to deliver the depth image data to a meta data buffer, however Hasegawa and Chen teach
7. (Original) The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the depth pass module is further configured to deliver the depth image data to a meta data buffer. (“On receiving the depth map and the tracking data, the sensor information integration unit 11 integrates the depth map and the tracking data to transmit the integrated data to the reception unit 12, storing the data into the buffer 13 (step S11).”; Hasegawa, [0059], Figs. 2 and 7)
Fig. 2 illustrates an integration unit 11, which is considered to include the depth pass module, that integrates the depth map (depth image data) with tracking data and stores the integrated data in the buffer 13 via the reception unit 12. Thyagharajan, Nguyen and Hasegawa are silent regarding the buffer 13 being a metadata buffer, however, Chen teaches
(“... the RAM such as a DRAM 130 may comprise a color buffer 132 and a metadata buffer 134, where the color buffer 132 and the metadata buffer 134 may be implemented with different buffer regions in the RAM such as DRAM 130.”; Chen, [0025], Fig. 1)
Fig. 1 illustrates that the metadata buffer is included in the DRAM 130.
(“For example, the set of metadata of the aforementioned at least one subsequent frame may comprise one or a combination of depth information regarding deferred shading... ”; Chen, [0029])
The metadata includes depth information regarding deferred shading (depth image data). Hasegawa and Chen are combined with Thyagharajan, Correll and Nguyen such that the buffer of Hasegawa is the metadata buffer of Chen, which is included in the method of Thyagharajan. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of Thyagharajan by adding the feature of the depth pass module is further configured to deliver the depth image data to a meta data buffer, in order to generate location information for each label without waiting until all pieces of location information are available thereby suppressing delay over the entire system as taught by Hasegawa ([0076) and in order to enhance overall display performance of an electronic device, as taught by Chen ([0003]).
Re: claim 8, Thyagharajan, Correll, Nguyen, Hasegawa and Chen teach
8. (Original) The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the meta data buffer is a component of the memory. (“... the RAM such as a DRAM 130 may comprise a color buffer 132 and a metadata buffer 134, where the color buffer 132 and the metadata buffer 134 may be implemented with different buffer regions in the RAM such as DRAM 130.”; Chen, [0025], Fig. 1)
Fig. 1 illustrates that the metadata buffer is included in the DRAM 130. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of Thyagharajan by adding the feature of - the meta data buffer is a component of the memory, in order to enhance overall display performance of an electronic device, as taught by Chen ([0003]).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thyagharajan, Correll, Nguyen, Hasegawa and Chen as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Gruber U.S. Patent No. 10,796,478.
Re: claim 9, Thyagharajan, Correll, Nguyen, Hasegawa and Chen are silent regarding integrate block includes a color pass module, the color pass module configured to receive the depth image data from the meta data buffer, and further configured to generate an updated voxels with color based on the depth image data, however, Gruber teaches
9. (Original) The apparatus of claim 7, wherein integrate block includes a color pass module, the color pass module configured to receive the depth image data from the meta data buffer, and further configured to generate an updated voxels with color based on the depth image data. (“The contents of the depth buffer or depth surface 308 may only be inputted into the GPU 302 during the color render pass, such that any non-visible pixels are culled and processing time and/or resources are not wasted on non-visible pixels.”; Gruber, col. 17, lines 41-46, Fig. 3B)
The GPU (integrate block includes a color pass module), receives the contents of the depth buffer (receive the depth image data from the meta data buffer), culls non-visible pixels and colors/shades visible pixels.
(“The first pass of the depth pre-pass may be able to identify the non-visible portion of triangles 404 and 406, such that the non-visible portions may be skipped and are not rendered, which saves processing resources. The first pass may identify the visible portions of triangles 404 and 406, which may in turn save processing resources during the second pass or the color render pass, because the non-visible portions of triangles 404 and 406 do not need to be colored.”; Gruber, col. 18, lines 8-16, Fig. 4)
The first pass or the depth pass identifies visible portions and the second pass or the color render pass colors the visible portions (generate updated voxels with color based on depth image data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of Thyagharajan by adding the feature of integrate block includes a color pass module, the color pass module configured to receive the depth image data from the meta data buffer, and further configured to generate an updated voxels with color based on the depth image data, in order to save color or shading resources on non-visible pixels by generating a complete depth buffer, as taught by Gruber (col. 16, line 66-col. 17, line 2).
Re: claim 10, Thyagharajan, Correll, Nguyen, Hasegawa, Chen and Gruber teach
10. (Original) The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the color pass module includes a color cache memory, the color cache memory configured to receive a color image for the generation of the updated voxels with color. (“Fig. 3B provides an example hardware architecture 320 of the second pass of the depth pre-pass... The architecture 320 may include the GPU 320, a color command buffer 314, the vertex buffer 306, the depth surface 308, the color surface 310, and a texture surface 312.”; Gruber, col. 17, lines 33-39, Fig. 3B)
Fig. 3B illustrates the architecture of the second pass (color pass) of the depth pre-pass. The GPU is considered to include the color pass module and the color surface 310 is considered to be the color buffer (color cache) (the color pass module includes a color cache memory).
(“In a visibility pass, the GPU 502 may be configured to generate visibility information associated with the color. The output of the color visibility pass may include generating a final visibility stream that may include the results of any late occluders. The low res depth surface 508 may be read as input by the GPU 502 during the color visibility pass when the visibility streams are being generated. The final visibility streams are stored in the visibility streams 514.”; Gruber, col. 19, lines 17-25, Fig. 5B)
Fig. 5B illustrates a GPU 502 that generates visibility information associated with color. The GPU receives the low res depth surface during the color visibility pass and generates visibility streams, which are stored in the visibility streams buffer 514 (color cache memory configured to receive a color image for the generation of the updated voxels with color). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the method of Thyagharajan by adding the feature of the color pass module includes a color cache memory, the color cache memory configured to receive a color image for the generation of the updated voxels with color, in order to save color or shading resources on non-visible pixels by generating a complete depth buffer, as taught by Gruber (col. 16, line 66-col. 17, line 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant Argues regarding claim 1:
“As recited in the pending claims, the element of "wherein the reordered list separates a neighborhood of input block voxel indices of the plurality of input block voxel indices into one of a plurality of grids and wherein the input block voxel indices are located within the neighborhood" is not disclosed by Thyagharajan since Thyagharajan's reordering operation is based on a graph with active voxels represented as vertices of the graph and adjacency as shown by edges connecting the vertices (as represented visually in FIG. 7), which is different from the grid representation visually shown in FIG 5 of the present application and recited in the pending claims... Nguyen discloses generating a list of voxels near an observed depth map. However, the preparation step does not involve a reordering and specifically does not disclose the element of "wherein the reordered list separates a neighborhood of input block voxel indices of the plurality of input block voxel indices into one of a plurality of grids and wherein the input block voxel indices are located within the neighborhood" as recited in the pending claims, as amended.”
Examiner disagrees. Correll teaches this amended limitation of claim 1. Correll illustrates in Fig. 13 that the voxels have been divided into 4x4x4 mini-blocks (separates a neighborhood of input block voxel indices of the plurality of input block voxel indices into a plurality of grids). The mini-blocks are arranged in groups corresponding to banks of the DRAMs. Each group of mini-blocks is assigned a large numeral (index) that corresponds to its assigned bank in the DRAM. For example, the each mini-block in group 312 (the input block voxel indices are located within the neighborhood) is stored in bank 0.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant Argues regarding claims 7-8:
“Specifically, Hasegawa does not disclose the element of "wherein the reordered list separates a neighborhood of input block voxel indices of the plurality of input block voxel indices into one of a plurality of grids and wherein the input block voxel indices are located within the neighborhood" as recited in the pending claims, as amended. Instead, Hasegawa discloses synchronization of location information with a reference timestamp with no mention of a "reordered list"... Specifically, Chen does not disclose the element of "wherein the reordered list separates a neighborhood of input block voxel indices of the plurality of input block voxel indices into one of a plurality of grids and wherein the input block voxel indices are located within the neighborhood" as recited in the pending claims, as amended.”
Examiner disagrees. As discussed above, Correll teaches this amended limitation of claim 1
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant Argues regarding claims 9-10:
“Specifically, Gruber does not disclose the element of "wherein the reordered list separates a neighborhood of input block voxel indices of the plurality of input block voxel indices into one of a plurality of grids and wherein the input block voxel indices are located within the neighborhood" as recited in the pending claims, as amended.”
Examiner disagrees. As discussed above, Correll teaches this amended limitation of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Donna J. Ricks/Examiner, Art Unit 2618
/DEVONA E FAULK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2618