DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species (ii), Fig.5, in the reply filed on 13 February 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 15-20 read on the elected species. Claims 1-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species (i), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05 October 2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Figures 1A-1C, 2A should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g).
Also, Fig.3 is unclear. It seems to show a “DC Motor” and “3 Phase Induction Motor”. But, ¶[0014] of the specification states the figure illustrates “a three-phase induction generator”. Fig.7 indicates a “3 Phase Induction Motor” and “Three-phase wound rotor generator” are the same part. Drawings are objected to as lines are blurry and some of the figures are copies of color photograph
Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 15, “a rotor; and a three-phase low frequency alternating current source in communication with the rotor” is vague and indefinite. It is unclear what “rotor” encompasses or in what sense the three-phase low frequency alternating current source is “in communication with the rotor.”
In claim 18, “an angle of an induced magnetomotive force is controlled independently from a mechanical angle of the rotor during a transient” is vague and indefinite. The phrases “controlled independently from a mechanical angle” and “transient” lack clear basis, nor is any specific structure claimed which performed the claimed functions.
In claim 19, “a magnetomotive force is produced that remains constant at a pre-fault angle” is vague and indefinite. The phrase “remains constant at a pre-fault angle” lacks clear basis, nor is any specific structure claimed which performed the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lehmann et al. (US Pat.Pub.2019/0190420).
Regarding claim 15, Lehmann teaches a synchronous generator comprising:
a rotor 6; and
a three-phase, low frequency alternating current (AC) source “in communication with the rotor” [sic] (i.e., the three-phase rotor winding is supplied with a 5kV/10 Hz three-phase system via a frequency converter 10 and brush system 14; ¶[0016]-¶[0017]; the rotor winding is supplied with a three-phase AC voltage having a frequency corresponding to a difference between a power supply system frequency of the power supply system (typically 60 Hz) and a rotational frequency of the generator rotor, e.g., 50 Hz; ¶[0019]; ¶[0024]). 1
Regarding claim 16, Lehmann’s rotor 6 is a “wound rotor” with three-phase windings (¶[0033]).
Regarding claim 17, Lehmann teaches a 10 Hz AC current supplied to the rotor windings.
Regarding claims 18-19, to the extent these indefinite functional recitations are given patentable weight, Lehmann reads on them since Lehmann discloses the same synchronous generator structure.
Claim 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) and 102(b) as being anticipated by Bando et al. (US 4,980,629).
Regarding claim 15, Bando teaches a synchronous generator comprising:
a rotor (with exciting winding 5b) and
a three-phase low frequency alternating current source (including frequency converter 6) in communication with the rotor (i.e., frequency converter 6 includes three units provided respectively to the three phases of the exciting winding 5b of the synchronous machine, each unit including an exciting transformer 7 connected to the low voltage side of the main transformer 3 for obtaining an AC voltage suitable for the AC excitation and thryistor power converter 8 which converts the output of the corresponding exciting transformer to a low-frequency AC power to be supplied to the exciting winding 5b; c.3:14-22; Fig.1).
Regarding claim 16, the rotor is a wound rotor with three-phase windings (c.2:27-30; c.22:30-32).
Regarding claim 17, the three-phase low frequency alternating current source has a frequency in a range of 0-25 Hz (Fig.13). Per MPEP 2131.03(II), prior art which teaches a range overlapping or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity.
Regarding claims 18-19, to the extent these indefinite functional recitations are given patentable weight, Bando reads on them since Bando discloses the same synchronous generator structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann or Bando in view of Tanner (US 3,050,635).
Neither Lehmann or Bando teach a DC motor coupled with the rotor.
But, Tanner teaches a DC motor 14 coupled with the rotor of an AC motor-generator 12 to provide uninterrupted power source in the case of failure or reduction or change in voltage or frequency from the usual power lines. The DC motor continues to rotate the AC motor-generator for a relatively brief period of time during which time the transition to auxiliary power is made (c.1:9-17; c.1:50-59; Fig.1).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Lehmann or Bando with a DC motor coupled with the rotor since Tanner teaches the DC motor would have enabled an uninterrupted supply of power.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834
1 Per MPEP 2131.03(I), a specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range. Thus, Lehmann’s teaching of a three-phase 10 Hz AC current supplied to the rotor windings anticipates the claimed “low frequency” range of 1 Hz to 50 Hz as defined, e.g., in ¶[0095] & claim 17.