DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-24 are pending, claims 2 and 10 have been cancelled, and claims 1, 3-9, and 11-24 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Previous 35 USC 112 Rejections have been withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “first member is a net body, and the second member is a spiral tube” (in claim 21) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 21 recites “a first member, which is cylindrical, having an insulating property…the first member is a net body, and the second member is a spiral tube”. However, the specification describes the outer skin layer 18 has an insulating property ([0024]). The first member 14 is composed of a cylindrical-shaped net body and the second member 15 is composed of a spiral tube ([0025]). Claim 21 contains subject matter that is not described in the specification and therefore fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-9, 11-13, 15-17, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fukatsu (US 2022/0361733).
Regarding claim 1, Fukatsu discloses a processing device (20, figures 1-2) comprising: a processor (270, figure 2) configured to acquire a distance (312…obtain an analysis result…an insertion length of the insertion section [0078]) from a reference position (410, figure 2) on a movement path of an endoscope to a distal end of the endoscope that is moved along the movement path (insertion length…inserted into the intestinal tract [0078] | interpreted the length is determined relative to a proximal portion of an endoscope not in the intestinal tract), acquire an elapsed time from a start of an examination using the endoscope (time series information…[0141]), acquire event information that is information on an event related to the examination in a case where the event has occurred (endoscopic image analysis processing unit 311…evaluation indicator [0075] | operation situation analysis processing unit 314…evaluation indicators corresponding to an action…[0222] | and/or ADA or ADB, figure 12; ADA…temporal change of one evaluation indicator…ADB…dangerous operation or special operation [0142]), perform control to store the distance, the elapsed time, and the event information in association with each other (outputted from the procedure evaluating unit 274…[0140] | recording unit 273…an endoscopic examination information…and the like during the examination [0070]), and receive correction of at least one of the stored elapsed time or the stored event information (the evaluation processing unit 315…perform processing using an analysis…operation situation analysis processing unit 314 [0224] | generate procedure evaluation information…[0224]) and correct the at least one of the stored elapsed time or the stored event information with the correction of the at least one of the stored elapsed time or the stored event information (perform processing for outputting the generated procedure evaluation information to the display control unit 250 [0224] | interpreted “correct the…” to mean updating the information), wherein the event includes that the distal end of the endoscope reaches a specific site in a subject (evaluation indicator…distance between the tissue set as a sampling target…distal end portion [0075]).
Regarding claim 3, Fukatsu further discloses the event includes that a specific operation of the endoscope is performed (evaluation indicator…number of times of water feeding in the intestinal tract [0075]).
Regarding claim 5, Fukatsu further discloses the specific operation includes a rotation operation of the endoscope (evaluation indicator…a rotation amount of the insertion section [0075]).
Regarding claim 6, Fukatsu further discloses the event includes that a lesion region is detected (evaluation indicator…presence or absence of a lesion in the intestinal tract [0075]).
Regarding claim 7, Fukatsu further discloses the processor is configured to acquire a captured image captured by the endoscope (see 311, figure 17), and detect occurrence of the event based on the captured image (analysis processing based on the endoscopic image group…presence or absence of a lesion in the intestinal tract [0075]).
Regarding claim 8, Fukatsu further discloses the event includes that an operator of the endoscope performs a specific operation (evaluation indicator…number of times of water feeding in the intestinal tract …number of times of sampling of a tissue in the intestinal tract [0075]).
Regarding claim 9, Fukatsu further discloses the specific operation of the operator includes manual compression (time-period of attention information ADB…shaft retention and shortening method...[0143] | interpreted shaft shortening as compression performed by the operator).
Regarding claim 11, Fukatsu further discloses the processor is configured to acquire, from a memory (recording unit 273…an endoscopic examination information…and the like during the examination [0070]), reference data indicating at least a relationship between the elapsed time and the distance stored in the memory before a start of the examination (time series information [0142]; figure 12 | recording unit 273…an insertion length…[0078]), display the reference data on a display device (60, figure 12), and display the elapsed time and the distance acquired after the start of the examination in association with the reference data on the display device (figure 12 | temporal change of one evaluation indicator…[0142]; evaluation indicator…insertion length [0078]).
Regarding claim 12, Fukatsu further discloses the reference data is data indicating a relationship among the distance, the elapsed time, and the event information (see graph DGB in figure 12).
Regarding claim 13, Fukatsu further discloses the processor is configured to, in a case where a specific event (analysis result…evaluation indicators…action of the user [0222] | ADA and/or ADB, figure 12; ADA…temporal change of one evaluation indicator…ADB…dangerous operation or special operation [0142]) related to the examination occurs in the examination, start to display the distance with an occurrence timing (see presence or absence of shading for ADA and/or ADB, figure 12) of the event in the reference data as a starting point (broadly interpreted as a visual marker for ADA and/or ADB, figure 12).
Regarding claim 15, Fukatsu further discloses a magnetic pattern is formed on an insertion part of the endoscope along a longitudinal direction of the insertion part (see 18 along 11, figure 1), and the processor is configured to acquire the distance (insertion length [0078]) based on a magnetic field (magnetic field…[0034]) from the magnetic pattern, which is detected by a magnetic detector (410, figure 2; 40, figure 1) provided outside a subject to which the endoscope is inserted (see 40, figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, Fukatsu further discloses the reference position is a position of the magnetic detector (see 40, figure 2).
Regarding claim 17, Fukatsu discloses an endoscope device comprising: the processing device according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1 above); and the endoscope (10, figure 1).
Regarding claim 24, Fukatsu discloses a processing method comprising: acquiring a distance (312…obtain an analysis result…an insertion length of the insertion section [0078]) from a reference position (410, figure 2) on a movement path of an endoscope (10, figure 1) to a distal end of the endoscope that is moved along the movement path (insertion length…inserted into the intestinal tract [0078] | interpreted the length is determined relative to a proximal portion of an endoscope not in the intestinal tract); acquiring an elapsed time of an examination using the endoscope (time series information…[0141]); acquiring event information that is information on an event related to the examination in a case where the event has occurred (endoscopic image analysis processing unit 311…evaluation indicator [0075] | operation situation analysis processing unit 314…evaluation indicators corresponding to an action…[0222] | and/or ADA or ADB, figure 12; ADA…temporal change of one evaluation indicator…ADB…dangerous operation or special operation [0142]); and storing the distance, the elapsed time, and the event information in association with each other (outputted from the procedure evaluating unit 274…[0140] | recording unit 273…an endoscopic examination information…and the like during the examination [0070]), receiving correction of at least one of the stored elapsed time or the stored event information (the evaluation processing unit 315…perform processing using an analysis…operation situation analysis processing unit 314 [0224] | generate procedure evaluation information…[0224]) and correcting the at least one of the stored elapsed time or the stored event information with the correction of the at least one of the stored elapsed time or the stored event information (perform processing for outputting the generated procedure evaluation information to the display control unit 250 [0224] | interpreted “correcting the…” to mean updating the information), wherein the event includes that the distal end of the endoscope reaches a specific site in a subject (evaluation indicator…distance between the tissue set as a sampling target…distal end portion [0075]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukatsu (US 2022/0361733) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Makrinich (US 2021/0313052).
Regarding claim 4, Fukatsu discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown in claim 3 above. Fukatsu is silent regarding the specific operation includes an operation of a treatment tool of the endoscope.
Makrinich teaches an interface (1800, figure 18) having a timeline (1815, figure 18) with one or more markers (1811, 1813, and 1817, figure 18). The markers may correspond to surgical events, decision points, or other points of interest ([0281]). The surgical events may be identified using received video frames, such as through image recognition algorithms ([0052]). Further a surgical event may be related to surgical action ([0090]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the device to acquire/detect surgical events, decision points, or other points of interest as taught by Makrinich ([0281]). Doing so would identify features of one or more frames of the video footage ([0052]). The modified device would have the specific operation includes an operation of a treatment tool of the endoscope (surgical action…incision procedure [0090]; Makrinich).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukatsu (US 2022/0361733) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shelton (US 2019/0200844).
Regarding claim 14, Fukatsu discloses all of the features in the current invention as shown in claim 1 above. Fukatsu is silent regarding the processor is configured to generate information indicating statistical correspondence between the event information and the distance based on data of the distance and the event information for each elapsed time from a start of the examination using the endoscope acquired in each of a plurality of times of the examination.
Shelton teaches a control circuit that can aggregate data in comparison groups of types of data, where a first type of data can be stored in association with a second type (or third) of data ([0963]). This allows the data aggregated into comparison groups to be utilized for studies, stored into lookup tables/arrays ([0963]).
It would have been obvious to modify the processor to be able to aggregate data in comparisons groups of types of data as taught by Shelton ([0963]). Doing so would provide data that can be queried and used for studies ([0963]). The modified device would have the processor is configured to generate information indicating statistical correspondence between the event information and the distance based on data of the distance and the event information for each elapsed time (first type of data….more than two different types of data can be aggregated [0963]; Shelton) from a start of the examination using the endoscope acquired in each of a plurality of times of the examination (automatically aggregating and storing the data…[0963]).
Claim(s) 18-21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukatsu (US 2022/0361733) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Kubokawa (US 5,035,231).
Regarding claim 18, Fukatsu further discloses a magnetic detector (410, figure 2) arranged on the movement path (the magnetic detector is interpreted to be on the movement path as it detects the magnetic fields from the source coils 18, which move; see figure 1), wherein an insertion part (11, figure 1) of the endoscope, which extends in a longitudinal direction of the insertion part and has a magnetic pattern integrally formed along the longitudinal direction (see 18 extends along 11, figure 1), the magnetic detector detects a magnetic field (magnetic field…[0034]), and the processor is configured to derive the distance based on the magnetic field detected by the magnetic detector (insertion length [0078]). Fukatsu is silent regarding the insertion part has a member containing metal, the magnetic detector detects the magnetic field from the member.
Kubokawa teaches an endoscope (1, figure 1) with a flexible part (8, figure 2). The flexible part has a net tube (16, figure 2) with a spiral tube (33, figure 2) formed of austenitic stainless steel to be paramagnetic to have operation unobstructed (Col. 10, lines 15-29). The flexible part is coated with an outer coating (15, figure 2), such as a synthetic resin. The endoscope has an antenna (65, figure 1) that is coated on the outer surface with an insulating material (Col. 9, lines 11-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the endoscope device of Fukatsu to have a flexible part (8, figure 2) with a net tube (16, figure 2) and spiral tube (33, figure 2) formed of austenitic stainless steel and an outer coating (15, figure 2) as taught by Kubokawa (Col. 10, lines 15-29). Doing so would provide a flexible part that is paramagnetic and not obstruct operation of the endoscope device (Col. 10, lines 15-29). Further, it would have been obvious to modify the outer coating (15, figure 2) to be made of insulating material (Col. 9, lines 11-12) as taught by Kubokawa. Doing so would insulate the endoscope device due to the magnetic field created from within the endoscope device (Col. 9, lines 11-12). The modified device would have the insertion part has a member (16 or 33, figure 2; Kubokawa) containing metal (stainless steel; Col. 10, lines 15-29), the magnetic detector detects the magnetic field (magnetic field…[0034]; Fukatsu) from the member (the modified device would have either 16 or 33, figure 2 of Kubokawa have the source coils 18, figure 1 of Fukatsu).
Regarding claim 19, Fukatsu and Kubokawa further disclose the insertion part includes a soft portion of the endoscope (see 14, figure 1; Fukatsu | 8, figure 2; Kubokawa).
Regarding claim 20, Kubokawa further teaches the soft portion has a cylindrical first member (15, figure 2; Kubokawa), which is cylindrical (figure 2), having an insulating property (modified device would have the cylindrical member be made of insulating material; Col. 9, lines 11-12; Kubokawa), a cylindrical second member (16, figure 2; Kubokawa), which is cylindrical (see figure 2), and is being inserted into the cylindrical first member (see figure 2), wherein the second member contains metal (Col. 10, lines 15-29), and a cylindrical third member (33, figure 2; Kubokawa), which is cylindrical (see figure 2), and is being inserted into the second member (see figure 2), wherein the third member contains metal (Col. 10, lines 15-29), and the first member includes at least one of the second member or the third member (Col. 10, lines 15-29).
Regarding claim 21, Fukatsu further discloses a magnetic detector (410, figure 2; Fukatsu) arranged on the movement path (the magnetic detector is interpreted to be on the movement path as it detects the magnetic fields from the source coils 18, which move; see figure 1), wherein an insertion part of the endoscope (11, figure 1), which extends in a longitudinal direction of the insertion part and has a magnetic pattern formed along the longitudinal direction (see 18 extends along 11, figure 1), the magnetic detector detects a magnetic field (magnetic field…[0034]), the processor is configured to derive the distance based on the magnetic field detected by the magnetic detector (insertion length [0078]). Fukatsu is silent regarding the insertion part of the endoscope has a member containing metal; the magnetic detector detects a magnetic field from the member; the insertion part has a first member, which is cylindrical, having an insulating property, a second member, which is cylindrical, containing metal and being inserted into the first member, and a third member, which is cylindrical, containing metal and being inserted into the second member, the first member containing metal includes at least one of the second member or the third member, the first member is a net body, and the second member is a spiral tube.
Kubokawa teaches an endoscope (1, figure 1) with a flexible part (8, figure 2). The flexible part has a net tube (16, figure 2) with a spiral tube (33, figure 2) formed of austenitic stainless steel to be paramagnetic to have operation unobstructed (Col. 10, lines 15-29). The flexible part is coated with an outer coating (15, figure 2), such as a synthetic resin. The endoscope has an antenna (65, figure 1) that is coated on the outer surface with an insulating material (Col. 9, lines 11-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the endoscope device of Fukatsu to have a flexible part (8, figure 2) with a net tube (16, figure 2) and spiral tube (33, figure 2) formed of austenitic stainless steel and an outer coating (15, figure 2) as taught by Kubokawa (Col. 10, lines 15-29). Doing so would provide a flexible part that is paramagnetic and not obstruct operation of the endoscope device (Col. 10, lines 15-29). Further, it would have been obvious to modify the outer coating (15, figure 2) to be made of insulating material (Col. 9, lines 11-12) as taught by Kubokawa. Doing so would insulate the endoscope device due to the magnetic field created from within the endoscope device (Col. 9, lines 11-12). The modified device would have the insertion part of the endoscope has a member (16 or 33, figure 2; Kubokawa) containing metal (stainless steel; Col. 10, lines 15-29); the magnetic detector detects a magnetic field (magnetic field…[0034]; Fukatsu) from the member (the modified device would have either 16 or 33, figure 2 of Kubokawa have the source coils 18, figure 1 of Fukatsu); the insertion part has a first member (15, figure 2; Kubokawa), which is cylindrical (see figure 2), having an insulating property (modified device would have the cylindrical member be made of insulating material; Col. 9, lines 11-12; Kubokawa), a second member (16, figure 2; Kubokawa), which is cylindrical (see figure 2), containing metal (stainless steel; Col. 10, lines 15-29) and being inserted into the first member (see figure 2), and a third member (33, figure 2; Kubokawa), which is cylindrical (see figure 2), containing metal (stainless steel; Col. 10, lines 15-29) and being inserted into the second member (see figure 2), the first member containing metal (stainless steel; Col. 10, lines 15-29) includes at least one of the second member or the third member (stainless steel; Col. 10, lines 15-29), the first member is a net body (see 112a rejection above | net tube 16, figure 2; Col. 10, line 16), and the second member is a spiral tube (spiral tube 33, figure 2; Col. 10, line 16).
Regarding claim 23, Fukatsu further discloses the magnetic detector detects a first magnetic flux density in a first direction and a second magnetic flux density in a second direction intersecting the first direction (three-dimensionally detecting magnetic fields emitting from the respective plurality of source coils [0083] | interpreted the source coils to produce magnetic fields in three dimensions, where there magnetic flux density can intersect in different directions), at a plurality of positions along the longitudinal direction of the member containing metal (the source coils 18, see figure 1; Fukatsu).
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukatsu (US 2022/0361733) and Kubokawa (US 5,035,231) as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Isaacson (US 2017/0347913).
Regarding claim 22, Kubokawa further teaches at least one of the second member or the third member is made from austenitic stainless steel (austenitic stainless steel; Col. 10, lines 15-29). Fukatsu and Kubokawa are silent regarding at least one of the second member or the third member is made from magnetizable austenitic stainless steel.
Isaacson teaches a medical device with a plurality of spaced magnetic regions (abstract). Austenitic stainless steel is a common material that is used to make invasive medical devices ([0054]). Austenitic stainless steel can be made to be magnetic by modifying a portion of its microstructure through martensitic stress induced transformation ([0055]). This can improve magnetic location sensing ([0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the device to use magnetizable austenitic stainless steel for the first or second member as taught by Isaacson ([0055]). Doing so would improve magnetic location sensing ([0061]).
Conclusion
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
October 29, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795