DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/16/34 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Sato et. al. (WO 2020/022504 A1) (Examiner notes that Sato et. al. (US 2021/0149095 A1) is being utilized for the English translation and rejection)
Regarding claim 1 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element comprising:
an optically anisotropic layer (26) that is formed of a liquid crystal composition containing a liquid crystal compound (para. 0114),
where the optically anisotropic layer has a liquid crystal alignment pattern in which a direction of an optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound changes while continuously rotating along at least one in-plane direction (para. 0238),
and the optically anisotropic layer has at least a curved surface portion (para. 0128).
Regarding claim 2 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where in an image captured by observing a cross section of the optically anisotropic layer with a scanning electron microscope, the cross sections being cut in a thickness direction along the one in-plane direction, the optically anisotropic layer has bright portions and dark portions, which extend from one main surface to the other main surface, and has a region in which in the thickness direction, the dark portions are tilted with respect to the main surface (para. 0238).
Regarding claim 3 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where in an image captured by observing a cross section of the optically anisotropic layer with a scanning electron microscope, the cross sections being cut in a thickness direction along the one in-plane direction, the optically anisotropic layer has bright portions and dark portions, which extend from one main surface to the other main surface, and the dark portions have one or more inflection points of angle (para. 0238-0240).
Regarding claim 4 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where in an image captured by observing a cross section of the optically anisotropic layer with a scanning electron microscope, the cross sections being cut in a thickness direction along the one in-plane direction, the optically anisotropic layer has bright portions and dark portions, which extend from one main surface to the other main surface, and the dark portions have two or more inflection points of angle (para. 0238-0240).
Regarding claim 5 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where in a case where a length over which the direction of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound in the liquid crystal alignment pattern rotates by 180° in a plane is set as a single period, regions in which lengths of the single periods are different from each other are provided in a plane direction (para. 0153).
Regarding claim 6 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where a region in which the length of the single period in the liquid crystal alignment pattern gradually changes along the one in-plane direction is provided (para. 0153).
Regarding claim 7 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where in an image captured by observing a cross section of the optically anisotropic layer with a scanning electron microscope, the cross sections being cut in a thickness direction along the one in-plane direction, the optically anisotropic layer has bright portions and dark portions, which extend from one main surface to the other main surface, and has regions in which tilt directions of the dark portions of the optically anisotropic layer are different from each other in a plane direction (para. 0238-0240).
Regarding claim 8 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where a region in which an average tilt angle of the dark portion gradually changes along the one in-plane direction is provided (para. 0238-0240).
Regarding claim 9 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where in a case where a length over which the direction of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound in the liquid crystal alignment pattern rotates by 180° in a plane is set as a single period, a region in which an average tilt angle of the dark portion increases as the length of the single period decreases is provided in a plane direction (para. 0153).
Regarding claim 10 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where in the liquid crystal alignment pattern of the optically anisotropic layer, the one direction in which the direction of the optical axis derived from the liquid crystal compound changes while continuously rotating is provided in a radial shape directed from an inner side toward an outer side (para. 0062).
Regarding claim 11 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where in an image captured by observing a cross section of the optically anisotropic layer with a scanning electron microscope, the cross sections being cut in a thickness direction along the one in-plane direction, the optically anisotropic layer has bright portions and dark portions, which extend from one main surface to the other main surface, and in the optically anisotropic layer, shapes of the bright portions and the dark portions in a cross section of a radial center portion are symmetrical with respect to the center line of the optically anisotropic layer in the thickness direction, and shapes of the bright portions and the dark portions in a cross section of a radial end part are asymmetrical with respect to the center line of the optically anisotropic layer in the thickness direction (para. 0238-0240).
Regarding claim 12 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where in an image captured by observing a cross section of the optically anisotropic layer with a scanning electron microscope, the cross sections being cut in a thickness direction along the one in-plane direction, the optically anisotropic layer has bright portions and dark portions, which extend from one main surface to the other main surface, and in the optically anisotropic layer, shapes of the bright portions and the dark portions in a cross section of a radial center portion are asymmetrical with respect to the center line of the optically anisotropic layer in the thickness direction, and shapes of the bright portions and the dark portions in a cross section of a radial end part are asymmetrical with respect to the center line of the optically anisotropic layer in the thickness direction (para. 0238-0240).
Regarding claim 13 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where in the optically anisotropic layer, the liquid crystal compound is cholestericaly aligned in a thickness direction (para.0274).
Regarding claim 14 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where a refractive index difference
∆
n
550
associated with a refractive index anisotropy of the optically anisotropic layer is 0.2 or more (para. 0207-0208).
Regarding claim 15 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where at least a part of the optically anisotropic layer in a plane has the curved surface portion having a curvature radius of 20 mm to 2,500 mm (para. 0128).
Regarding claim 16 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where the liquid crystal diffraction element consists of a substrate having at least a curved surface portion and the optically anisotropic layer which is disposed on a substrate and has a curved surface portion along the curved surface portion of the substrate (para. 0128).
Regarding claim 17 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where the substrate, an alignment film, and the optically anisotropic layer are disposed in this order (para. 0182-0183).
Regarding claim 18 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where the substrate, an adhesive layer, and the optically anisotropic layer are disposed in this order (para. 0182-0183).
Regarding claim 19 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where an optical element comprising: the liquid crystal diffraction element according to claim 1; and a retardation layer having at least a curved surface portion (para. 0128, and 0182-0183).
Regarding claim 20 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where the retardation layer has a λ/4 phase difference (para. 0149-0150).
Regarding claim 21 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where an optical element comprising: a linear polarizer having at least a curved surface portion, and the liquid crystal diffraction element according to claim 1 (para. 0128, and 0182-0183).
Regarding claim 22 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where the optical element according to claim 21, comprising in the following order: the liquid crystal diffraction element; a retardation layer; and the linear polarizer (para. 0128, and 0182-0183).
Regarding claim 23 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where the optical element according to claim 21, comprising in the following order: the liquid crystal diffraction element; a first retardation layer; the linear polarizer; and a second retardation layer (para. 0128, and 0182-0183).
Regarding claim 24 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where the optical element according to claim 21, comprising in the following order: a first linear polarizer; a first retardation layer; the liquid crystal diffraction element; a second retardation layer; and a second linear polarizer (para. 0128, and 0182-0183).
Regarding claim 25 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where the optical element according to claim 21, comprising in the following order: a first linear polarizer; a first retardation layer; the liquid crystal diffraction element; a second retardation layer; a second linear layer; and a third retardation layer (para. 0128, and 0182-0183).
Regarding claim 26 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where an image display apparatus comprising: the liquid crystal diffraction element according to claim 1; and a display panel (para. 0388).
Regarding claim 27 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where the image display apparatus according to claim 26, wherein the display panel has at least a curved surface portion (para. 0128, 03889-0389).
Regarding claim 28 Sato teaches (figs. 1, 7, and 9-12) a liquid crystal diffraction element, where a head mounted display comprising: the image display apparatus according to claim 26 (para. 0388).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sharp et. al. (US 2019/0377184 A1), Osawa et. al. (US 2007/0182915 A1), and Shibata et. al. (US 2022/0283351 A1).
/Robert E. Tallman/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872