DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 2013 March 16, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2023 October 06 was filed on the mailing date of 2023 October 06. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “250” has been used to designate both “the primary-side circuit” and “the secondary-side circuit”.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show secondary-side circuit 250 of FIG. 6 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: A title that states the inventive concept of this particular CAPACITIVE POWER TRANSFER SYSTEM FOR VEHICLE AND OPERATING METHOD THEREOF, which distinguishes it from other CAPACITIVE POWER TRANSFER SYSTEMS FOR VEHICLE AND OPERATING METHODS THEREOF.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9 – 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AFRIDI et al. (US 2018/0166915 A1).
In re claim 1, AFRIDI discloses a power transfer system comprising (Abstract: multi-module capacitive wireless power transfer (WPT) system):
an electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) for providing electric power to an electric vehicle (EV) and an electric power reception device mounted in the EV (¶¶ [0036], [0053]: primary-side CPT infrastructure — power source 12, inverter and matching network 16, primary coupling plates 10);
a first conductor plate electrically connected to a primary-side circuit of the EVSE (primary conducting plates 10 / first pair coupling plates 86);
a compensation circuit for transferring a power input signal of the EVSE to the first conductor plate (¶[0056]: first matching network 84 receives high-frequency ac voltage vs from inverter 82);
a second conductor plate disposed in the EV and connected to the electric power reception device (secondary conducting plates 20 / second pair coupling plates 88); and
a secondary-side circuit for transferring a power signal received by the second conductor plate to a load (¶¶[0055] - [0056]: second pair coupling plates 88 receives power signal capacitively; second matching network 96 and rectifier 92 transfers signal to load 94),
wherein the electric power is transferred from the EVSE to the EV by capacitive coupling between the first conductor plate and the second conductor plate (¶[0004]: power is transferred wirelessly via capacitive coupling between electrically coupled pairs of metal plates).
In re claims 9 – 10, AFRIDI discloses a power transfer device disposed in an EVSE for providing electric power to an EV (FIG. 18, ¶[0053]: vehicle battery charging WPT system), the power transfer device comprising:
a first conductor plate (primary conducting plates 10 / first pair coupling plates 86); and
a compensation circuit for transferring a power input signal of the EVSE to the first conductor plate (¶[0056]: first matching network 84 receives high-frequency ac voltage vs from inverter 82),
wherein the electric power is transferred from the EVSE to the EV by capacitive coupling between the first conductor plate and a second conductor plate ((¶[0004]: power is transferred wirelessly via capacitive coupling between electrically coupled pairs of metal plates)) electrically connected to a secondary-side circuit of the EV (¶[0055]: second pair coupling plates 88 connected to load 94 via second matching network 96).
As to claim 10, AFRIDI further discloses an electric vehicle (¶[0036]: EV/hybrid vehicle) comprising an electric power reception device for receiving electric power from the power transfer device (FIG. 18: On-board Plate, Rectifier, and Inverter).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 – 4, 6 – 7, 11 – 12, 14 – 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AFRIDI et al. (US 2018/0166915 A1), and further in view of WANG et al., (IEEE TCAS-I, Vol. 69, No. 8, Aug. 2022).
In re claims 2 – 4, 11 – 12, AFRIDI is silent to wherein the compensation circuit has parameters determined based on a tolerance range of a variation in the capacitive coupling; wherein the parameters of the compensation circuit are determined using an equivalent circuit analysis technique derived under a condition that a compensation operation corresponding to the tolerance range of the variation in the capacitive coupling is entirely performed by the primary-side circuit; and wherein the parameters of the compensation circuit are determined using a T-type 2-port equivalent circuit analysis technique for the compensation circuit.
WANG teaches the compensation circuit has parameters determined based on a tolerance range of a variation in the capacitive coupling (Sec. II. B; Table VI: Compensation parameters Ct1, Lt2 selected to maintain LI output and ZPA across range of HCC and VCC couplers).
As to claims 3, 11, WANG further teaches the parameters of the compensation circuit are determined using an equivalent circuit analysis technique (Sec. III. A; Fig. 11: compensation tanks modeled as two-port networks analyzed via inverse ABCD parameters) derived under a condition that a compensation operation corresponding to the tolerance range of the variation in the capacitive coupling is entirely performed by the primary-side circuit (Sec. II. C; Fig. 6, 17: Tank TX design absorbs all coupling-variation accommodation).
As to claim 4, 12, WANG further teaches wherein the parameters of the compensation circuit are determined using a T-type 2-port equivalent circuit analysis technique for the compensation circuit (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) to apply WANG's misalignment-insensitive resonance design methodology to AFRIDI's capacitive power transfer system for EV charging to achieve load-independent output and zero phase angle operation across a defined range of coupling variation due to gap and misalignment, thereby improving system efficiency and power transfer capability across dynamic EV charging conditions.
In re claims 6 – 7, 14 – 15, AFRIDI is silent to wherein the tolerance range of the variation in the capacitive coupling is determined based on at least one of a tolerance range of a variation in a gap and a tolerance range of a misalignment between the first conductor plate and the second conductor plate; is determined based on assumption for at least one of: a maximum allowable voltage between the first conductor plate and the second conductor plate; an allowable range of a capacitance formed by the capacitive coupling; a size of the first conductor plate and the second conductor plate; a tolerance range of a variation in a gap between the first conductor plate and the second conductor plate; or a tolerance range of a misalignment between the first conductor plate and the second conductor plate.
WANG teaches the tolerance range of the variation in the capacitive coupling is determined based on at least one of a tolerance range of a variation in a gap and a tolerance range of a misalignment between the first conductor plate and the second conductor plate (Fig. 4, 5, 16, 17; Sec. II. B, IV. A: HCC horizontal misalignment tolerance range and VCC vertical air gap range defined as compensation parameter design inputs).
As to claims 7, 15, WANG further teaches the tolerance range of the variation in the capacitive coupling is determined based on assumption of:
a maximum allowable voltage between the first conductor plate and the second conductor plate (FIG. 16; Sec. III.B, IV.A; Table IV: ZPA requirements constraining compensation network parameters including maximum allowable voltage across Ctx);
an allowable range of a capacitance formed by the capacitive coupling (FIG. 16, 17; Sec. IV.A: Ctx variation range across X-axis misalignment plotted as allowable capacitance range for compensation parameter design);
a size of the first conductor plate and the second conductor plate (Sec. II.B, IV.A, Table VII: coupler dimensions l1 = 320 mm, l2 = 240 mm);
a tolerance range of a variation in a gap between the first conductor plate and the second conductor plate (Fig. 4, 5); or
a tolerance range of a misalignment between the first conductor plate and the second conductor plate (Fig. 4, 5).
It would have been obvious for PHOSITA to apply WANG's misalignment-insensitive resonance design methodology to AFRIDI's capacitive power transfer system for EV charging to improving system efficiency and power transfer capability across dynamic EV charging conditions.
Claim(s) 5, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AFRIDI et al. (US 2018/0166915 A1), WANG et al., (IEEE TCAS-I, Vol. 69, No. 8, Aug. 2022), and further in view of DONG et al. (Energies 2022, 15(4), 1523).
In re claims 5, 13, AFRIDI is silent to wherein the parameters of the compensation circuit are determined using an equivalent circuit analysis technique assuming a plurality of operating frequency candidate group for the compensation circuit.
DONG teaches the parameters of the compensation circuit are determined using an equivalent circuit analysis technique assuming a plurality of operating frequency candidate group for the compensation circuit (FIG. 19; Table 1; Sec. 2.1, 3: CC frequency ωc, CV frequency ωv2 derived from analysis of Lx-PS CPT circuit).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to further incorporate DONG's multi-frequency equivalent circuit analysis approach into AFRIDI's CPT EV charging framework to realize desired constant current and constant voltage output, and fulfill the charging profile of lithium-ion batteries while maintaining input zero phase angle at both CC and CV operating modes.
Claim(s) 8, 16 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AFRIDI et al. (US 2018/0166915 A1), and further in view of PERETZ (US 2020/0287413 A1).
In re claims 8, 16, AFRIDI is silent to wherein an operating range of a frequency of the power input signal is controlled based on a result of detecting a variation in the capacitive coupling.
PERETZ teaches an operating range of a frequency of the power input signal is controlled based on a result of detecting a variation in the capacitive coupling (FIG. 7; ¶¶ [0090], [0110]: DPLL adjusts fsw based on phase deviation between VP and VCP).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate PERETZ's first control loop into AFRIDI's CPT system for EV charging to obtain the best power transfer conditions for any given combination of distance, displacement, misalignment, or component values between the coupling plates.
In re claim 17, AFRIDI discloses an operation method of a power transfer device (FIG. 8), the operation method comprising:
disposing the power transfer device in an EVSE for providing electrical power to an electric vehicle EV (FIG. 1, 18; ¶¶[0035], [0036], [0053]: CPT module installed at garage floor, wall, parking space roadway);
operating the power transfer device so that a secondary-side alternating current (AC) signal is induced on a second conductor plate of the power transfer device connected to the EV based on a variation in an electric field due to a primary-side AC signal applied to a first conductor plate of the power transfer device connected to the EVSE (FIG. 8; ¶¶ [0004], [0055], [0056]: primary-side AC signal applied to first conductor plate via inverter and matching network; secondary-side AC signal induced on second conductor plate via capacitive coupling);
AFRIDI is silent to detecting a variation in capacitive coupling between the first conductor plate and the second conductor plate; and controlling a frequency of the primary-side AC signal based on the variation in the capacitance coupling.
PERETZ teaches detecting a variation in capacitive coupling between the first conductor plate and the second conductor plate (FIG. 7; ¶¶[0085], [0090], [0110]: VP – VCP phase deviation measured via XOR+LPF circuit, consequential of CM change); and
controlling a frequency of the primary-side AC signal based on the variation in the capacitance coupling (Abstract; ¶[0017], ¶[0090]: fsw adjusted by first control loop in response to CM changes).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate PERETZ's first control loop into AFRIDI's CPT system for EV charging to obtain the best power transfer conditions for any given combination of distance, displacement, misalignment, or component values between the coupling plates.
In re claims 18 – 20, AFRIDI is silent to wherein in the controlling of the frequency of the primary-side AC signal, the frequency of the primary-side AC signal is controlled within a target range; the detecting of the variation in the capacitive coupling comprises: measuring state variable(s) of at least one of the primary- side AC signal and the secondary-side AC signal, wherein the state variable(s) includes at least one of voltage, current, frequency, phase, power, and efficiency; the variation in the capacitive coupling is formed by at least one of a variation in a gap or a misalignment between the first conductor plate and the second conductor plate.
As to claim 18, PERETZ teaches in the controlling of the frequency of the primary-side AC signal, the frequency of the primary-side AC signal is controlled within a target range (FIG. 12B, 12C; ¶[0117]: switching frequency increasing from 892 kHz to 1.2 MHz as controlled target range).
As to claim 19, PERETZ teaches the detecting of the variation in the capacitive coupling comprises: measuring state variable(s) of at least one of the primary- side AC signal and the secondary-side AC signal (FIG. 7, 9; ¶¶ [0110] – [0111]: VP and VCP measured via phase detection circuit; Ireg measured via current-sensing circuit), wherein the state variable(s) includes at least one of voltage, current, frequency, phase, power, and efficiency.
As to claim 20, PERETZ teaches the variation in the capacitive coupling is formed by at least one of a variation in a gap or a misalignment between the first conductor plate and the second conductor plate (FIG. 13B; ¶¶ [0085], [0118]: air-gap variation up to 100 mm translating to capacitance range of 5 pF – 25 pF; CM plates movement between primary and secondary circuits).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate PERETZ's first control loop into AFRIDI's CPT system for EV charging to obtain the best power transfer conditions for any given combination of distance, displacement, misalignment, or component values between the coupling plates.
Conclusion
/D. JOHANN DJANAL-MANN/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/NATHANIEL R PELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859