DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 17, “first fresh air intake vent” and “second air intake vent” lack clear antecedent basis. It is thought that –first air supply vent—and –second air supply vent—were intended. The claim has been treated as such based upon prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 6-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 10-14, respectively, (as indicated in the table below) of copending Application No. 19/039,928
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3 and 6-10 are a broader recitation of the subject matter of claims 1-3 and 10-14, respectively, of copending Application No. 19/039,928. The mentioned claims of copending Application No. 19/039,928 are more specific in that they recite “removable barrier walls”. Thus, the invention of the more specific claims of copending Application No. 19/039,928 is in effect a “species” of the invention of claims 1-3 and 6-10 of the instant application. Since it has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, claims 1-3 and 6-10 are not patentably distinct from the respective mentioned claims of copending Application No. 19/039,928. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed Cir. 1993.)
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 18/482,104
Copending Application 19/039,928
Claim 1. A trailer comprising:
a trailer body defining an interior space;
a bunk bed assembly within the interior space, wherein the bunk bed assembly comprises a lower bed and an upper bed; a plurality of barrier walls defining a first individual space that includes the lower bed and a second individual space that includes the upper bed; a first door movably attached to the trailer body to access the first individual space; a second door movably attached to the trailer body to access the second individual space; a first return vent within the first individual space to expel air out of the first individual space and a second return vent within the second individual space to expel air out of the second individual space; a first air supply vent within the first individual space to supply conditioned air to the first individual space and a second air supply vent within the second individual space to supply conditioned air to the second individual space, wherein the first air supply vent and the second air supply vent are positioned remote from the first return vent and the second return vent to prevent introduction of air expelled out the first return vent and the second return vent from being introduced into either the first fresh air intake vent or the second fresh air intake vent; a HVAC unit configured to supply conditioned air to the first air supply vent and the second air supply vent, wherein the first air supply vent and the second air supply vent are fluidly connected with ducting so that conditioned air supplied by the HVAC unit supplies conditioned air into both the first individual space and the second individual space; and wherein the plurality of barrier walls prevent air flow between the first individual space and the second individual space, thereby isolating the first individual space and the second individual space from each other.
Claim 1. A trailer comprising: a trailer body defining an interior space; a bunk bed assembly within the interior space, wherein the bunk bed assembly comprises a lower bed and an upper bed; a plurality of removable barrier walls defining a first individual space that includes the lower bed and a second individual space that includes the upper bed; a first door movably attached to the trailer body to access the first individual space; a second door movably attached to the trailer body to access the second individual space; a first return vent within the first individual space to expel air out of the first individual space and a second return vent within the second individual space to expel air out of the second individual space; a first air supply vent within the first individual space to supply conditioned air to the first individual space and a second air supply vent within the second individual space to supply conditioned air to the second individual space, wherein the first air supply vent and the second air supply vent are positioned remote from the first return vent and the second return vent to prevent introduction of air expelled out the first return vent and the second return vent from being introduced into either the first fresh air intake vent or the second fresh air intake vent; a HVAC unit configured to supply conditioned air to the first air supply vent and the second air supply vent, wherein the first air supply vent and the second air supply vent are fluidly connected with ducting so that conditioned air supplied by the HVAC unit supplies conditioned air into both the first individual space and the second individual space; wherein the plurality of removable barrier walls prevent air flow between the first individual space and the second individual space, thereby isolating the first individual space and the second individual space from each other; and wherein the plurality of removable barrier walls can be selectively removed.
Claim 2. The trailer of claim 1, wherein the trailer body includes a first exterior wall and a second exterior wall, wherein the first door is attached to the first exterior wall of the trailer body and the second door is attached to the second exterior wall.
Claim 2. The trailer of claim 1, wherein the trailer body includes a first exterior wall and a second exterior wall, wherein the first door is attached to the first exterior wall of the trailer body and the second door is attached to the second exterior wall.
Claim 3. The trailer of claim 2, wherein the first exterior wall and the second exterior wall extend approximately parallel with respect to each other.
Claim 3. The trailer of claim 2, wherein the first exterior wall and the second exterior wall extend approximately parallel with respect to each other.
Claim 6. The trailer of claim 1, wherein the plurality of barrier walls includes a first barrier wall that extends transversely to a longitudinal axis of the lower bed and the upper bed.
Claim 10. The trailer of claim 1, wherein the plurality of removable barrier walls includes a first removable barrier wall that extends transversely to a longitudinal axis of the lower bed and the upper bed.
Claim 7. The trailer of claim 6, wherein the first barrier wall includes a first portion that extends between a floor and a ceiling of the first individual space and the second individual space.
Claim 11. The trailer of claim 10, wherein the first removable barrier wall includes a first portion that extends between a floor and a ceiling of the first individual space and the second individual space.
Claim 9. The trailer of claim 8, wherein the plurality of barrier walls includes a second barrier wall that extends approximately parallel to a longitudinal axis of the upper bed between a bottom of the upper bed and the ceiling.
Claim 13. The trailer of claim 12, wherein the plurality of removable barrier walls includes a second removable barrier wall that extends approximately parallel to a longitudinal axis of the upper bed between a bottom of the upper bed and the ceiling.
Claim 10. The trailer of claim 9, wherein the plurality of barrier walls includes a third barrier wall that extends approximately parallel to a longitudinal axis of the upper bed between the lower bed and the upper bed.
Claim 14. The trailer of claim 13, wherein the plurality of removable barrier walls includes a third removable barrier wall that extends approximately parallel to a longitudinal axis of the upper bed between the lower bed and the upper bed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell US 2022/0072990 in view of Hrejsa US 2014/0203089.
Regarding claim 1, Mitchell discloses:
A trailer (100; Fig. 6) for people comprising:
a trailer body (Fig. 2) defining an interior space (defined by the roof, end walls, side walls and floor; See Fig. 2);
a bunk bed assembly within the interior space, wherein the bunk bed assembly comprises a lower bed (132; Fig. 10) and an upper bed (131; Fig. 7);
a plurality of barrier walls (three of which pointed out in annotated Fig. 10 below) defining a first individual space (see para. [0104]; each individual space is numbered 120 in Fig. 6) that includes the lower bed (132; Fig. 10) and a second individual space (see para. [0104]; each individual space is numbered 120 in Fig. 6) that includes the upper bed (131; Fig. 7);
a first door (where every door is numbered 121 in Fig. 6; the first door being on a first side of the trailer) movably attached to the trailer body to access the first individual space;
a second door (where every door is numbered 121 in Fig. 6; the second door being on a second side of the trailer opposite to the first side of the tailer with the first door) movably attached to the trailer body to access the second individual space.
Miller further discloses that the first and second individual spaces or “units” 20; Fig. 6, “maintains a separate air system” (para. [0104]), wherein the plurality of barrier walls prevent air flow between the first individual space and the second individual space, thereby isolating the first individual space and the second individual space from each other.
However, Mitchell does not disclose a first return vent within the first individual space to expel air out of the first individual space and a second return vent within the second individual space to expel air out of the second individual space;
a first air supply vent within the first individual space to supply conditioned air to the first individual space and a second air supply vent within the second individual space to supply conditioned air to the second individual space, wherein the first air supply vent and the second air supply vent are positioned remote from the first return vent and the second return vent to prevent introduction of air expelled out the first return vent and the second return vent from being introduced into either the first fresh air intake vent or the second fresh air intake vent;
a HVAC unit configured to supply conditioned air to the first air supply vent and the second air supply vent, wherein the first air supply vent and the second air supply vent are fluidly connected with ducting so that conditioned air supplied by the HVAC unit supplies conditioned air into both the first individual space and the second individual space.
Notwithstanding, Hrejsa discloses a structure for people including a plurality of separated (by a barrier wall pointed out in annotated Fig. 3 below) individual spaces (Zone A and Zone B; annotated Fig. 3 below; para. [0029], lines 3-5). The structure further including an HVAC system (300; annotated Fig. 3 below) comprising:
a first return vent (pointed out in annotated Fig. 3 below; para [0029], line 8) within the first individual space (Zone A; annotated Fig. 3 below) to expel air out of the first individual space (Zone A; annotated Fig. 3 below) and a second return vent (pointed out in annotated Fig. 3 below; para [0029], line 8) within the second individual space (Zone B; annotated Fig. 3 below) to expel air out of the second individual space (Zone B; annotated Fig. 3 below);
a first air supply, i.e., source, vent (pointed out in annotated Fig. 3 below; para [0029], lines 7-8) within the first individual space (Zone A; annotated Fig. 3 below) to supply conditioned air to the first individual space (Zone A; annotated Fig. 3 below) and a second air supply, i.e., source, vent (pointed out in annotated Fig. 3 below; para [0029], lines 7-8) within the second individual space (Zone B; annotated Fig. 3 below) to supply conditioned
air to the second individual space (Zone B; annotated Fig. 3 below), wherein the first air supply vent (pointed out in annotated Fig. 3 below; para [0029], lines 7-8) and the second air supply vent (pointed out in annotated Fig. 3 below; para [0029], lines 7-8) are positioned remote, i.e. spaced apart, from the first return vent (pointed out in annotated Fig. 3 below; para [0029], line 8) and the second return vent (pointed out in annotated Fig. 3 below; para [0029], line 8) to prevent introduction of air expelled out the first return vent (as pointed out on the left edge of annotated Fig. 3 below) and the second return vent (as pointed out on the right edge of annotated Fig. 3 below) from being introduced into either “the first fresh air intake vent” [interpreted as the first air supply vent as explained in paragraph 3 above] or “the second fresh air intake vent” [interpreted as the second air supply vent as explained in paragraph 3 above];
a HVAC unit (300; Fig. 3; para [0029], lines 1-2) with a blower (330; Fig. 3) configured to supply conditioned air to the first air supply vent (annotated Fig. 3 below) and the second air supply vent (annotated Fig. 3 below), wherein the first air supply vent and the second air supply vent are fluidly connected with ducting (as pointed out in the box in annotated Fig. 3 below) so that conditioned air supplied by the HVAC unit supplies conditioned air into both the first individual space (Zone A; annotated Fig. 3 below) and the second individual space (Zone B; annotated Fig. 3 below).
A person of ordinary skill in the art is someone presumed to have known the relevant art at the relevant time. The Hrejsa reference is considered to be relevant art in that the Hrejsa reference is in the same field of endeavor, namely that which pertains to indoor spaces for accommodating people and air supply systems associated with the indoor spaces, as the Mitchell reference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to construct the trailer and the first and second individual spaces which maintains a separate air system (para. [0104]) of Mitchell to include the HVAC features of Hrejsa including first and second return vents as well as first and second air supply vents with a reasonable expectation of success as the means for achieving the individual spaces having separate air systems as disclosed by Mitchell. The benefit of the specific construction of the HVAC system of Hrejsa is being able to provide the system with a controller (para. [0004]; lines 1-7 of Hrejsa) in order to avoid overblowing and over conditioning certain Zones (individual spaces) more than others. See Hrejsa para [0012], the last 5 lines).
Regarding claim 2, Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa, discloses
The trailer of claim 1, as explained above, wherein the trailer body (Fig. 6) includes a first exterior wall (annotated in Fig. 6 below) and a second exterior wall (annotated in Fig. 6 below), wherein the first door (annotated in Fig. 6 below) is attached to the first exterior wall of the trailer body and the second door (annotated in Fig. 6 below) is attached to the second exterior wall.
Regarding claim 3, Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa, discloses
The trailer of claim 2, as explained above, wherein the first exterior wall (annotated in Fig. 6 above) and the second exterior wall (annotated in Fig. 6 above) extend approximately parallel (as can be seen in annotated Fig. 6 above) with respect to each other.
Regarding claim 6, Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa, discloses
The trailer of claim 1, as explained above, wherein, with reference to annotated Fig. 10 below, the plurality of barrier walls includes a first barrier wall that extends (see the top left edge of annotated Fig. 6 below) transversely to a longitudinal axis of the lower bed and the upper bed.
Regarding claim 7, Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa, discloses
The trailer of claim 6, as explained above, wherein, with reference to annotated Fig. 10 above, the first barrier wall includes a first portion (see the left edge of annotated Fig. 6 above) that extends between a floor and a ceiling of the first individual space and the second individual space.
Regarding claim 8, Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa, discloses
The trailer of claim 7, as explained above, wherein, with reference to annotated Fig. 10 above, the first barrier wall includes a second portion (see the bottom left corner of annotated Fig. 6 above) that extends between the floor of the first individual space and the second individual space and the lower bed (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 9, Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa, discloses
The trailer of claim 8, as explained above, wherein, with reference to annotated Fig. 10 above, the plurality of barrier walls includes a second barrier wall that extends approximately parallel to a longitudinal axis of the upper bed (hidden behind the “longitudinal second barrier wall” as pointed out in the top right corner of annotated Fig. 10 above) between a bottom of the upper bed and the ceiling.
Regarding claim 10, Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa, discloses
The trailer of claim 9, as explained above, wherein, with reference to annotated Fig. 10 above, the plurality of barrier walls includes a third barrier wall (see the right edge of annotated Fig. 10 above) that extends approximately parallel to a longitudinal axis of the upper bed (hidden behind the “longitudinal second barrier wall” as pointed out in the top right corner of annotated Fig. 10 above) between the lower bed (Fig. 10) and the upper bed (hidden behind the “longitudinal second barrier wall” as pointed out in the top right corner of annotated Fig. 10 above).
Regarding claim 11, Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa, discloses
The trailer of claim 10, as explained above, wherein, with reference to annotated Fig. 10 above, the second barrier wall and the third barrier wall combine to extend an entire length of the lower bed (Fig. 10) and the upper bed (which is hidden behind the “longitudinal second barrier wall” as pointed out in the top right corner of annotated Fig. 10 above)
Regarding claim 12, Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa, discloses
The trailer of claim 1, as explained above, further comprising a first step assembly (on the opposite side of the trailer from where the second step assembly (the right most number 157; Fig. 2) is located) movable between a retracted position (para. [0085], lines 3-5) within the trailer and an extended position (similar to the extended first step assembly (the right most number 157 shown in Fig. 2) that provides a transition between an egress surface and the first door (which is identified in annotated Fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 13, Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa, discloses
The trailer of claim 12, as explained above, further comprising a second (the right most number 157; Fig. 2) assembly movable between a retracted position (para. [0085], lines 3-5) within the trailer and an extended position (shown in Fig. 2) that provides a transition between an egress surface and the second door (which is identified in annotated Fig. 6 above).
Regarding claim 14, Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa, discloses
The trailer of claim 13, as explained above, wherein the first step assembly moves in a first direction when moving to an extended position and the second step assembly moves in a second direction when moving to the extended position, wherein the first direction is opposite the second direction. This is the case because the first and second step assemblies, as identified in the treatment of parent claims 14 and 13 above, are on opposite sides of the trailer and both extend outwardly to an extended position making the direction of extension of the first and second step assemblies opposite from one another.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell US 2022/0072990 in view of Hrejsa US 2014/0203089, as applied above to claim 3, and further in view of Alimanestiano US 3,118,187.
Regarding claim 4, Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa, disclose:
The trailer of claim 3, as explained above, except wherein the lower bed and the upper bed extend approximately transverse to a longitudinal axis of the first exterior wall and the second exterior wall.
Notwithstanding, Alimanestiano discloses a trailer mounted sleeping assembly comprising a plurality of individual cabins (Fig. 3) accessible through side access doors (74; Fig. 3) mounted on an exterior wall (32; Fig. 3) of the trailer. See Figures 1 and 3. The cabins include beds (94; Fig. 3) which are oriented transverse to a longitudinal axis of the parallel, longitudinally extending exterior walls (30, 32; Fig. 3) of the sleeping assembly, as can be seen in Fig. 3.
A person of ordinary skill in the art is someone presumed to have known the relevant art at the relevant time. The Alimanestiano reference is considered to be relevant art in that the Alimanestiano reference is in the same field of endeavor, namely that which pertains to portable occupant dwellings with sleeping accommodations, as the Mitchell reference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to orient the upper and lower beds of Mitchell to be transverse to a longitudinal axis of the exterior walls, as taught by Alimanestiano, with a reasonable expectation of success because such alternate orientation is functionally equivalent and would involve no new or unexpected results in this instance.
Regarding claim 5, Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa and Alimanestiano, disclose:
The trailer of claim 4, as explained above, wherein the first door is aligned on the first exterior wall approximately opposite the second door on the second exterior wall, as illustrated in annotated Fig. 6 above of Mitchell.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell US 2022/0072990 in view of Hrejsa US 2014/0203089, as applied above to claim 1, and further in view of Rutler et al. US 6,575,827.
Regarding claim 15, Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa, disclose:
The trailer of claim 1, as explained above, wherein the trailer body includes a ceiling and a floor (where the floor is hidden and the ceiling is below the roof in Fig. 2 of Mitchell).
However, Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa, does not disclose wherein the first return vent and the second return vent are configured to expel air out of the floor.
Notwithstanding, Rutler et al. disclose that HVAC systems may include floor mounted return vents. See col. 1, lines 15-20.
A person of ordinary skill in the art is someone presumed to have known the relevant art at the relevant time. The Rutler et al. reference is considered to be relevant art in that the Rutler et al. reference is in the same field of endeavor, namely that which pertains to indoor spaces for accommodating people and air supply systems associated with the indoor spaces, as the Mitchell reference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to locate the first and second return vents of Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa, on the floor of the trailer as taught by Rutler et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to create a circulation of air through the individual spaces, especially in the instance where the supply vents are located near the ceiling.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitchell US 2022/0072990 in view of Hrejsa US 2014/0203089 and Rutler et al. US 6,575,827, as applied above to claim 15, and further in view of Kopko US 6,185,943.
Regarding claim 16, Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa and Rutler et al., disclose:
The trailer of claim 15, as explained above, except wherein the first air supply vent and the second air supply vent are configured to supply conditioned air through the ceiling.
Notwithstanding, Kopko discloses an air circulation system for a building where the air supply vents (5; Fig. 1) are located in the ceiling (3; Fig. 1).
A person of ordinary skill in the art is someone presumed to have known the relevant art at the relevant time. The Kopko reference is considered to be relevant art in that the Kopko reference is in the same field of endeavor, namely that which pertains to indoor spaces for accommodating people and air supply systems associated with the indoor spaces, as the Mitchell, reference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to locate the first and second air supply vents of Mitchell, as modified by Hrejsa and Rutler et al., in the ceiling of the trailer as taught by Kopko with a reasonable expectation of success in order to create a circulation of air through the individual spaces which may generally flow from the ceiling towards the return vents in the floor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tully et al. US 2,364,595 disclose a railway sleeper car with overlapping sleeping surfaces.
Kutzner US 4,759,582 discloses a portable lodging configuration with a plurality of individual interior spaces.
Mills US 10,760,802 discloses an air source vent mounted in the ceiling of a dwelling. See front of patent.
/Joseph D. Pape/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612