Drawings
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I comprising Claims 1-2 in the reply filed on March 30, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3 and 4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 30, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: None of the reference characters are mentioned in the description. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 102352722 B1 (hereinafter “CHOI”).
Regarding Claim 1, CHOI discloses an improved road trailer (100), of the type having a pair of longitudinal members (130) forming part of a frame and a pair of rear wheels (141) carrying the frame, the improvement comprising: a pair of C-shaped channels (see the provided English translation: “A U-shaped support frame 130 with an open side higher than the support frame 120 so that both ends of the support frame 120 are inserted and coupled;” A U-shaped channel is the equivalent of a C-shaped channel) defining the pair of longitudinal members (130).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI in view of US 2022/0063742 A1 (hereinafter “SHOCKLEY”).
Regarding Claim 2, CHOI further discloses wherein the rear wheels (141) are mounted on an axle (140), the axle is coupled to the frame for easy removal (see the provided English translation: “the support frame 130 and the bolt fastening member 160 are coupled and installed. , the bolt fastening member 160 is an inner structure 161 disposed on the inner surface of the support frame 130 , and an outer structure 162 disposed on the outer surface of the support frame 130 and coupled to the wheel shaft 140 ).”).
CHOI does not disclose the frame is adapted to receive a pair of casters at its rear and the frame is narrow enough to pass through a conventional human entry door.
SHOCKLEY teaches a road trailer comprising: the frame (12) is adapted to receive a pair of casters (34) at its rear (see at least 26).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify CHOI wherein the frame is adapted to receive a pair of casters at its rear as taught and/or suggested by SHOCKLEY, since SHOCKLEY teaches at para. [0023]: “so that the trailer 10 may be tilted upwardly into a vertical orientation and may rest on the castor wheels 34 in that position, as shown in FIG. 2. This arrangement allows the trailer 10 to be easily stored and moved while in a vertical orientation, thus taking up much less floor space in a garage, shed, parking lot or other storage facility or building.”
With regard to wherein the frame is narrow enough to pass through a conventional human entry door. SHOCKLEY teaches at para. [0023]: “so that the trailer 10 may be tilted upwardly into a vertical orientation and may rest on the castor wheels 34 in that position, as shown in FIG. 2. This arrangement allows the trailer 10 to be easily stored and moved while in a vertical orientation, thus taking up much less floor space in a garage, shed, parking lot or other storage facility or building.” Moreover, In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify CHOI wherein the frame is narrow enough to pass through a conventional human entry door as taught and/or suggested by SHOCKLEY, since SHOCKLEY teaches at para. [0023]: “so that the trailer 10 may be tilted upwardly into a vertical orientation and may rest on the castor wheels 34 in that position, as shown in FIG. 2. This arrangement allows the trailer 10 to be easily stored and moved while in a vertical orientation, thus taking up much less floor space in a garage, shed, parking lot or other storage facility or building.” And furthermore because, the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (see In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because the references are either in the same field of endeavor or are reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned. Please see form PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited) attached to, or included with, this Office Action.
/JORGE A PEREIRO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799