DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 2 and 16 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 3-15, and 17-22 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-15, 17-19, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King et al (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0036591) in view of Rastegar-Panah (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0293911)
1. King et al disclose a method comprising:
rendering, by a television application executing on a smart television (Par. 0099),
receiving, by the television application, selected fitness goal criteria (124; Par. 0063-0064) for use in an initial setup of fitness goals for the user (e.g. when a user inputs information regarding their fitness goals to a user profile);
sending, by the television application, the selected fitness goal criteria to a server computer (108) communicatively coupled to the smart television for use by the server computer in generating a media content recommendation directed towards achieving the fitness goals of the user (Fig 11: 980);
receiving a sequence of selectable information items (“fitness resource(s)”) that correspond to media content items sourced by a plurality of different media content providers based on the media content recommendation (Par. 0189);
rendering, by the television application, a second user interface for display on the smart television, the second user interface including a selectable for you fitness option (“fitness prescription”);
receiving a selection of the for you fitness option (Par. 0012: “selecting a fitness resource from among a plurality of candidate fitness resources”); and
responsive to receiving the selection of the for you fitness option, rendering, by the television application, the sequence of selectable information items (Claim 1).
While King et al teach the use of a user’s profile which includes information and attributes related to fitness goals (Par. 0064) which are obtained through user input (Par. 0066) and retrieved by the system such that a user may elect a first workout video block from the collection based on the fitness goal (Abstract), King et al does not explicitly disclose the fitness goal setup option being included on the initial user interface such that a user selects this option to reach a first user interface which displays a list of fitness goal criteria which are selected by a user.
Rastegar-Panah discloses a similar adaptive workout program which takes productivity goal inputs from a user to create personalized content for a user for achieving a productivity objective More specifically Rastegar-Panah teaches a computing device having a display which has an initial user interface (Fig 8) on which a user selects a fitness goal setup option (“FitGoals” > ”Get Started”) which provides a first user interface with a list of fitness goal criteria (Fig 10; Par. 0145) which is selectable by a user to establish the desired productivity goals for the user. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of King et al to include an initial page on the display to allow a user to access a subsequent goals page at which a user can establish goals as taught by Rastergar-Panah to provide a singular interface in which a user can establish, access, and modify goals on a single device.
3. King et al disclose the method of claim 1, wherein information and data received by the server computer from at least one wellness device (Par. 0066) is used along with the selected fitness goal criteria in generating the media content recommendation directed towards achieving the fitness goals of the user (Par. 0069).
4. King et al disclose the method of claim 3, wherein updated information and data received by the server computer from the at least one wellness device is used; and along with the selected fitness goal criteria in generating an updated media content recommendation directed towards achieving the fitness goals of the user (Par. 0069).
5. King et al disclose the method of claim 1,
wherein the media content items are classified into at least one category based on the selected fitness goal criteria; and
wherein rendering the sequence of selectable information items comprises displaying the sequence of selectable information items in the second user interface for the media content recommendation classified into the at least one category in a cluster (Fig 9).
7. King et al disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that when executed by at least one processor of a server computer cause the at least one processor to execute operations, the operations comprising:
receiving, by the server computer (Par. 0099), fitness goal criteria associated with a user (“user profile”; Par. 0064);
receiving by the server computer and from a mobile computing device communicatively coupled to the server computer, information and data gathered by the mobile computing device that is indicative of at least one of a physical activity of the user or a wellness state of the user (Par. 0063-0064);
determining an initial setup of fitness goals for the user based on the data indicative of at least one of the physical activity of the user or the wellness state of the user, or a combination thereof, and the fitness goal criteria (Par. 0034 and 0189; Fig 11);
generating a media content recommendation directed towards achieving the fitness goals for the user (Abstract; “electing a first workout video block from the collection based on both the fitness goal or the exercise constraint and an intensity level or body-region grouping of the selected first workout video block”);
selecting media content items from a plurality of media content providers based on the media content recommendation (Par. 0112 and 0189; Fig 11); and
sending, by the server computer and to the smart television a sequence of selectable information items that correspond to the media content items for displaying in a user interface of the television application (980; Claim 1; Fig 11).
While King et al teach the use of a user’s profile which includes information and attributes related to fitness goals (Par. 0064) which are obtained through user input (Par. 0066) and retrieved by the system such that a user may elect a first workout video block from the collection based on the fitness goal (Abstract), King et al does not explicitly disclose the fitness goal setup option being included on the initial user interface such that a user selects this option to reach a first user interface which displays a list of fitness goal criteria which are selected by a user.
Rastegar-Panah discloses a similar adaptive workout program which takes productivity goal inputs from a user to create personalized content for a user for achieving a productivity objective More specifically Rastegar-Panah teaches a computing device having a display which has an initial user interface (Fig 8) on which a user selects a fitness goal setup option (“FitGoals” > ”Get Started”) which provides a first user interface with a list of fitness goal criteria (Fig 10; Par. 0145) which is selectable by a user to establish the desired productivity goals for the user. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of King et al to include an initial page on the display to allow a user to access a subsequent goals page at which a user can establish goals as taught by Rastergar-Panah to provide a singular interface in which a user can establish, access, and modify goals on a single device.
8. King et al disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 7, wherein the operations further comprise providing the information and data indicative of the at least one of the physical activity of the user or the wellness state of the user as training data to an artificial intelligence module (The machine learning module (Par. 163) may be trained to select workouts based on a user’s goal set by profiles/profile elements of the users (Par. 0123-0125) which includes current fitness levels of the user (Par. 142).
9. King et al disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, wherein generating the media content recommendation directed towards achieving the fitness goals for the user comprises utilizing the artificial intelligence module (Par. 0125).
10. King et al disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 7, wherein sending the sequence of selectable information items that correspond to the media content items for displaying in the user interface of the television application further comprises:
categorizing the media content items into a plurality of categories; and
for each category, sending a sequence of selectable information items that correspond to the media content items in a respective category for display in a respective cluster in the user interface of the television application (Par. 0069-0072).
11. King et al disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the plurality of categories are related to plans and activities for achieving the fitness goals for the user (Par. 0069-0072).
12. King et al disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 7,
wherein the information and data indicative of at least one of the physical activity of the user or the wellness state of the user are first information and data;
wherein the media content recommendation is a first media content recommendation;
wherein the media content items are first media content items;
wherein the sequence of selectable information items that correspond to the media content items are a first sequence of selectable information items that correspond to the first media content items (Figs 9-11); and
wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving second information and data indicative of at least one of the physical activity of the user or the wellness state of the user;
generating a second media content recommendation directed towards achieving the fitness goals for the user based on the second information and data indicative of at least one of the physical activity of the user or the wellness state of the user;
selecting second media content items from the plurality of media content providers based on the second media content recommendation; and
providing a second sequence of selectable information items that correspond to the second media content items for displaying in the user interface of the television application (Figs 9-11; 0087-0092).
13. King et al disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 12, wherein the operations further comprise determining whether the second information and data indicative of at least one of the physical activity of the user or the wellness state of the user indicates an improvement in achieving the fitness goals for the user (Par. 0087-0092).
14. King et al disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 13, wherein the operations further comprise based on determining that the second information and data indicative of at least one of the physical activity of the user or the wellness state of the user indicates an improvement in achieving the fitness goals for the user, providing the second information and data indicative of the at least one of the physical activity of the user or the wellness state of the user and the second media content items as training data to an artificial intelligence module (Par. 0087-0092 and 0163).
15. King et al disclose a system comprising:
at least one processor; and
a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions that execute a television application on a smart television (Par. 0099), the television application configured to:
receive a selection of a fitness goal setup option (Par. 0064);
receive fitness goal criteria from the list of fitness goal criteria for selection by the user for use in an initial set up of fitness goals for the user (124; Par. 0063-0064);
send the selected fitness goal criteria to a server computer (108) communicatively coupled to the smart television for use by the server computer in generating a media content recommendation directed towards achieving the fitness goals for the user (Fig 11: 980);
receive a sequence of selectable information items (“fitness resource(s)”) that correspond to media content items sourced by a plurality of different media content providers based on the media content recommendation (Par. 00189);
render a second user interface for display on the smart television, the second user interface including a selectable for you fitness option (“fitness prescription”);
receive a selection of the for you fitness option (Par. 0012: “selecting a fitness resource from among a plurality of candidate fitness resources”); and
responsive to receiving the selection of the for you fitness option, render the sequence of selectable information items in the second user interface (Claim 1).
While King et al teach the use of a user’s profile which includes information and attributes related to fitness goals (Par. 0064) which are obtained through user input (Par. 0066) and retrieved by the system such that a user may elect a first workout video block from the collection based on the fitness goal (Abstract), King et al does not explicitly disclose the fitness goal setup option being included on the initial user interface such that a user selects this option to reach a first user interface which displays a list of fitness goal criteria which are selected by a user.
Rastegar-Panah discloses a similar adaptive workout program which takes productivity goal inputs from a user to create personalized content for a user for achieving a productivity objective More specifically Rastegar-Panah teaches a computing device having a display which has an initial user interface (Fig 8) on which a user selects a fitness goal setup option (“FitGoals” > ”Get Started”) which provides a first user interface with a list of fitness goal criteria (Fig 10; Par. 0145) which is selectable by a user to establish the desired productivity goals for the user. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of King et al to include an initial page on the display to allow a user to access a subsequent goals page at which a user can establish goals as taught by Rastergar-Panah to provide a singular interface in which a user can establish, access, and modify goals on a single device.
17. King et al disclose the system of claim 15, wherein the information and data received by the server computer from at least one wellness device (Par. 0066) is used along with the selected fitness goal criteria in generating the media content recommendation directed towards achieving the fitness goals for the user (Par. 0069).
18. King et al disclose the system of claim 17, wherein updated information and data received by the server computer from the at least one wellness device is used along with the selected fitness goal criteria in generating an updated media content recommendation directed towards achieving the fitness goals for the user (Par. 0069).
19. King et al disclose the system of claim 15, wherein the media content items are classified into at least one category based on the selected fitness goal criteria; and
wherein rendering the sequence of selectable information items comprises displaying the sequence of selectable information items in the second user interface for the media content recommendation classified into the at least one category in a cluster (Figs 9-11; 0087-0092).
21. King et al disclose the system of claim 15, wherein the television application is further configured to:
maintain a record of interactions with the media content items; and
send, to the server computer, the record of the interactions for use with the selected fitness goal criteria in generating a media content recommendation directed towards achieving the fitness goals for the user (Par. 0183-0185).
22. King et al disclose the method of claim 5, further comprising:
receiving, from the server computer, description and information text related to an applicability of the media content recommendation towards achieving fitness goals for the user (Par. 0029); and
displaying, by the television application, the description and information text along with descriptive text for the at least one category in the second user interface (Par. 0147).
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over King et al in view of Schindler as applied to Claims 1, 3-5, 7-15, 17-19, 21, and 22 above and further in view of Asikainen et al (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0296966).
King et al in view of Schindler disclose the method and system significantly as claimed, but do not explicitly disclose wherein the television application includes a plurality of tabbed interfaces; and wherein the method further comprises: presenting the initial user interface in an initial tab of the plurality of tabbed interfaces; presenting the first user interface in a first tab of the plurality of tabbed interfaces; and presenting the second user interface in a second tab of the plurality of tabbed interfaces.
Asikainen et al teach a similar method and system which recommends exercises based on user goal inputs. The interface is presented as an initial user interface via a profile tab (top corner of Figs 5-6). The interface also presents a plurality of tabs including a first and second user interface (Figs 6-8 and 15) which organizes the display in an easy to navigate format. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the user interface of King et al and Schindler to include a plurality of tabs as taught by King et al to allow the personal training engine to cooperates with the user interface engine for displaying the selected workout program on the display.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA T KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784 2/20/2026