DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (CN 110792648) in view of Seetharaman et al. (US 5,571,248) and Weh (US 2013/0319562).
In Re claim 1, Bai et al. disclose a valve (fig. 1), comprising: a valve body having an output port (see line connecting to 1122); a pressure supply port (see line connected to pump 1111); and a tank port (see tank port of 1121); an electrohydraulic valve spool (see 1121) having a return spring (see spring on side of valve 1121) and feedback (see feedback lines on 1121); and a pressure reducing valve (1113) between the supply and the spool valve. Although Bai et al. disclose feedback lines for the electrohydraulic valve, Bai et al. fail to specifically disclose a feedback pin. Bai et al. also fail to disclose a monoblock valve housing.
Seetharaman et al. is related to the art of electrohydraulic valves, and teaches providing such a valve with a feedback pin (52), which mechanically converts the spool's mechanical displacement into a feedback force, allowing the valve to maintain precise position control proportional to an input signal by balancing forces. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrohydraulic valve of Bai et al. to include a feedback pin, as taught by Seetharaman et al., simply to allow for precise and accurate control of the valve.
Weh is related to the art of hydraulic valve systems, and teaches providing a monoblock valve housing (15), which are preferred in hydraulic systems primarily for their integrated, single-piece construction, which offers several distinct advantages over modular or sectional alternatives, including increased space and installation efficiency, reduced cost, increased structural robustness, and weight reduction. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hydraulic system of Bai et al. to employ a monoblock valve system housing design, as taught by Weh, as it provides the distinct advantages of increased space and installation efficiency, reduced cost, increased structural robustness, and weight reduction.
In Re claim 3, the solenoid is electronically controlled.
In Re claims 4 and 5, see electrohydraulic spool valve (1121) and it’s three ports, of Bai et al..
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-16 are hereby allowed.
Claims 2 and 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOMAS W IRVIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616