DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the amendment filed on 09/16/2025.
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-13, 15-18 and 20 have been amended.
Claims 3 and 14 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 4-13 and 15-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 4-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1:
Claims 1-2, 4-13 and 15-20 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine). Accordingly, claims 1-2, 4-13 and 15-20 are all within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A - Prong One:
An “abstract idea” judicial exception is subject matter that falls within at least one of the following groupings: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Representative independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea. Note that independent claims 1, 13 and 20 are system claims.
Specifically, independent claim 1 recites:
A mobile response unit, comprising:
a processing circuit including a processor and memory, the memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
establish, using a network device of the mobile response unit, a connection with a network to connect a first user device with the network, the first user device associated with a displacing facility that is experiencing a power outage or network interruptions as a result of a weather event;
receive, responsive to establishment of the connection with the network, from the first user device, a first request to transfer a resident associated with the displacing facility, the first request to transfer the resident being the result of the weather event;
retrieve, from the memory, a record associated with the resident that is stored within the memory;
retrieve, from the memory, information associated with a plurality of receiving facilities that are unaffected by the weather event;
identify, based on the record associated with the resident and the information associated with the plurality of receiving facilities, a receiving facility of the plurality of receiving facilities to receive the resident;
establish, using the network device of the mobile response unit and via the network, a connection with a second user device, the second user device associated with the receiving facility;
transmit, via the network, to the second user device, one or more first signals to cause the second user device to display a user interface including a prompt to accept the first request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility and to the receiving facility as the result of the weather event;
receive, via the connection with the second user device, one or more second signal which provide an indication of acceptance of the first request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility and to the receiving facility as the result of the weather event;
transmit, to the first user device, one or more third signals to cause the first user device to display a second user interface including a notice that the receiving facility accepted the first request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility as the result of the weather event.
receive, from the first user device, a second request for directions to the receiving facility that account for the weather event;
generate a route (i) from the displacing facility and (ii) to the receiving facility that accounts for the weather event;
transmit, to the first user device, one or more fourth signals to cause the first user device to display the route (i) from the displacing facility and (ii) to the receiving facility; and
transmit, to the second user device, one or more fifth signals to cause the second user device to display, via the user interface, an indication that the resident is in route from the displacing facility and to the receiving facility as the result of the weather event.
The Examiner submits that the foregoing underlined limitations constitute: (a) “certain methods of organizing human activity” because establishing a connection with a displacing facility, retrieving records, identifying resident facilities based on the retrieved records, requesting a transfer and transmitting a prompt to accept the transfer requested, transferring a resident from a displacing facility as the result of a weather event, generating and transmitting a route to a facility are ways of managing human behavior/interactions between people, as forms of proving housing and healthcare services during a disaster. The foregoing underlined limitations also relate to claims 13 and 20 (similarly to claim 1).
Accordingly, the claim describes at least one abstract idea.
In relation to claims 2, 4-10, 12 and 15-19, these claims merely recite determining steps such as: claim 2 - to accept the request to transfer the resident, wherein the indication is received responsive to a selection of a selectable element included in the prompt to accept the request to transfer the resident; transmit, via the network, to the second user device, one or more second signals to cause the second user device to display, via the user interface, the record associated with the resident; wherein the record associated with the resident is displayed without the second user device storing the record associated with the resident, claims 4 and 15 - determine, based on the weather event, that the route is impacted by the weather event; and update, responsive to determination that the route is impacted by the weather event, the route to avoid the weather event, claim 5 - display an alert to indicate that the route has been updated, the alert including a prompt to accept the route; receive, via the network, from the first user device, a response to indicate acceptance of the route; and transmit, via the network, to the first user device, one or more seventh signals to cause the first user device to display the route, claims 6 and 16 - transmit, via the network, one or more third signals to the cause the third user device to display an alert that the resident will be transferred to the receiving facility, wherein the alert cause the third user device to display information associated with the receiving facility, claims 7 and 17 - reflect that the resident is being transferred to the receiving facility; and display, via a display on the mobile response unit, a third user interface to indicate that the record associated with the resident has been updated to reflect that the resident is being transferred to the receiving facility, claims 8 and 18 - provide, via the network, to the wearable record device, the record associated with the resident to cause the wearable record device to store, in memory of the wearable record device, the record associated with the resident; and receive, via the network, from the wearable record device, a confirmation to indicate that the resident is associated with the wearable record device and claims 9 and 19 - responsive to performance of the health check, information associated with the health check; and transmit, via the network, to the wearable record device, the information associated with the health check to cause the wearable record device to store, in the memory of the wearable record device, the information associated with the health check.
In relation to claim 11, the claim merely recites types of data such as: claim 11 - the information associated with the plurality of receiving facilities further includes at least one of a number of available beds for each receiving facility of the plurality of facilities; or a number of staff for each receiving facility of the plurality of facilities.
Step 2A - Prong Two:
Regarding Prong Two of Step 2A, it must be determined whether the claim as a whole integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
The limitations of claims 1, 13 and 20, as drafted is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations by humans but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a processing circuit including a processor and memory, instructions stored thereon that, executed by the processor, a network, a first user device, a second user device, a user interface, one or more signals and a display on the mobile response unit to perform the limitations, nothing in the claim elements precludes the steps from practically being performed by humans. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation within a health care environment by humans but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the processing circuit including a processor and memory, instructions stored thereon that, executed by the processor, the network, the first user device, the second user device, the user interface, the one or more signals and the display on the mobile response unit are recited at high levels of generality (i.e., as generic computer components performing generic computer functions of receiving data/inputs, determining and providing data) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using the generic computer components.
Regarding the additional limitation “receive, responsive to establishment of the network… a request to transfer a resident associated with the displacing facility” the Examiner submits that this additional limitation merely adds insignificant pre-solution activity (data gathering; selecting data to be manipulated) to the at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the above identified judicial exception (the abstract idea). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvements in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or us the above-noted implement/use to above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (see MPEP §2106.05). Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer component provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Step 2B:
Regarding Step 2B, in representative independent claim 1, regarding the additional limitations of the processing circuit including a processor and memory, instructions stored thereon that, executed by the processor, the network, the first user device, the second user device, the user interface, the one or more signals and the display on the mobile response unit, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using a computer to perform the at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Thus, representative independent claim 8 and analogous independent claims 13 and 20 do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The dependent claims no not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reason discussed above with respect to determining that the dependent claims do not integrate the at least abstract idea into a practical application.
Therefore, claims 1-2, 4-13 and 15-20 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 10-13, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLean (US 2021/0103939 A1) in view of Geis (US 2021/0166808 A1).
Claim 1:
McLean discloses A mobile response unit (See mobile app in P0014-0015 used to select care options in P0067-P0068.), comprising:
a processing circuit including a processor and memory, the memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor (See [Abstract] The Care Matching System establishes a connection between the electronic device and a server of a Care Matching System over a network. The server of the Care Matching System includes a processor and memory for storing patient care data.) to:
establish, using a network device of the mobile response unit, a connection with a network to connect a first user device, the first user device with the network associated with a displacing facility (See Fig. 1, P0037 the network in Abstract, and in P0004 numerous care agencies, nursing homes, rehabilitation centers, senior living facilities, and other types of care institutions.);
receive, responsive to establishment of the connection with the network, from the first user device, a first request to transfer a resident associated with the displacing facility (See P0078 request to relocate to a facility. Also, see Fig. 7, 701 and [P0178] the Care Matching System receives search criteria from a patient. The patient may be using a secure mobile application (APP) 210, 212 downloaded on their electronic device or the internet to connect with the Care Matching System and input their criteria.);
retrieve, from the memory, a record associated with the resident that is stored within the memory (See P0016 evaluation questions to build a profile and navigating the patient through a set of questions and take that into consideration when recommending a care facility in P0078.);
retrieve, from the memory, information associated with a plurality of receiving facilities that are unaffected by the weather event (See selectable options of care giving facilities in Abstract, P0080, P0085-P0088.);
identify, based on the record associated with the resident and the information associated with the plurality of receiving facilities, a receiving facility of the plurality of receiving facilities to receive the resident (See identifying types of care needed within a facility such as Memory Care, within Rehab Centers, Palliative Care, Assisted Living, Life Care Communities mentioned in P0078-P0090, shown in Fig. 5, see [P0106-P0107] The Care Matching System may also provide a care option for the patient to select their location….. and provide a location, such as a city or zip code, and a mile radius within which they prefer to find their care giving facility.);
establish, using the network device of the mobile response unit and via the network, a connection with a second user device, the second user device associated with the receiving facility (See [P0174] the Care Matching System communicates with the care facility in real-time to determine if a certain type of room, bed, or patient listed need and preference is available, the availability along with a schedule and future availability if currently booked.); and
transmit, via the network, to the second user device, one or more first signals to cause the second user device to display a user interface including a prompt to accept the first request to transfer the resident (See Fig. 7 Provide Paperwork to Sign 719 and Schedule Admission 721 mentioned in P0179-P0185.).
Although McLean discloses a mobile response unit for requesting to transfer a resident associated with a displacing facility during an emergency as mentioned above, with an ability to use a GPS mentioned in P0050, P0063, McLean does not explicitly teach when the displacing facility is experiencing a power outage or network interruptions as a result of a weather event, generating and transmitting a route directions to resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility as the result of the weather event. Geis further teaches:
displacing facility that is experiencing a power outage or network interruptions as a result of a weather event, the first request to transfer the resident being the result of the weather event (See [P0175] a transfer may be requested might be fire, storm, earthquake, power outage, contagion, or chemical emergency.);
from the displacing facility and to the receiving facility as the result of the weather event (See relocating persons existing in assistant living facilities based on evacuations due to weather events mentioned in P0005-P0007, and [P0175] a request to transfer one or more residents from a home facility that may be under an evacuation order due to an emergency, for example, multiple transfers may be transferred to multiple destinations. An emergency for which a transfer may be requested might be fire, storm, earthquake, power outage, contagion, or chemical emergency. See Fig. 18 where the source facility serves as the displacing facility and the destination facility serves as the receiving facility.);
receive, via the connection with the second user device, one or more second signal which provide an indication of acceptance of the first request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility and to the receiving facility as the result of the weather event (See notification transfer request in P0008 text message, on screen pop-up message or confirmation, email message and request for transfer in P0207-P0209. See Fig. 19, P0214-P0215 step 1909 where the transfer is approved to accept a resident.);
transmit, to the first user device, one or more third signals to cause the first user device to display a second user interface including a notice that the receiving facility accepted the first request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility as the result of the weather event (See notification transfer request in P0008 text message, on screen pop-up message or confirmation, email message and request for transfer in P0207-P0209. See Fig. 19, P0214-P0215 step 1909 where the transfer is approved to accept a resident.);
receive, from the first user device, a second request for directions to the receiving facility that account for the weather event (See [P0175] a request to transfer one or more residents from a home facility that may be under an evacuation order due to an emergency, for example, multiple transfers may be transferred to multiple destinations. An emergency for which a transfer may be requested might be fire, storm, earthquake, power outage, contagion, or chemical emergency.);
generate a route (i) from the displacing facility and (ii) to the receiving facility that accounts for the weather event (See [P0011-P0012] the interactive indicia geographically and texturally identifying the connected facilities in the digital map, P0170 and [P0187] An operator may, for example search facilities based on facility address, facility name, facility size, facility vacancy status, facility proximity to emergency response facilities or hospital or ambulance services, facilities having specific equipment and licensed staff, and so on, where a route could be generated.);
transmit, to the first user device, one or more fourth signals to cause the first user device to display the route (i) from the displacing facility and (ii) to the receiving facility (See [P0170] authorized agents working for a facility from any of the mapped facilities or from an unmapped remote location may access a Geo-representation (typically a digital map) of an area containing facilities, and may browse those facilities by interacting with interactive icons overlaid on the Geo-representations where those icons are associated with meta-data about that facility. Icons representing facilities may vary in visual depiction of the facility to reference facility type or category; for example, an apartment complex, a home, and a commercial building that houses residents may have separate icons for visual sorting purposes.); and
transmit, to the second user device, one or more fifth signals to cause the second user device to display, via the user interface, an indication that the resident is in route from the displacing facility and to the receiving facility as the result of the weather event (Taught in P0170 as accessing a digital map. Also, see [P0187] options for zooming, street views, satellite views, etc. are typically available to the navigator of the map or region of the map. For example, an administrator transferring a resident may command a street view of the facility and see the exact location and what it looks like from a perspective of one or more fronts on the ground.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art transferring residents in residential facilities before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McLean when the displacing facility is experiencing a power outage or network interruptions as a result of a weather event, generating and transmitting a route directions to resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility as the result of the weather event as taught by Geis for relocating a tenant with certain medical requirements from a home or facility under temporary or longer-term emergency evacuation orders mentioned in Geis’s P0006-P0007.
Regarding claim 2, McLean discloses the mobile response unit of claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the processor to: receive, via the network, from the second user device, the indication of acceptance of the first request to transfer the resident, wherein the indication of acceptance is received responsive to a selection of a selectable element included in the prompt to accept the request to transfer the resident; and transmit, via the network, to the second user device (Besides Fig. 7 Provide Paperwork to Sign 719 and Schedule Admission 721 mentioned in P0179-P0185, see Fig. 14 initial ping to verifying insurance as authorization mentioned in P0206-P0207.), one or more sixth signals to cause the second user device to display, via the user interface, the record associated with the resident; wherein the record associated with the resident is displayed without the second user device storing the record associated with the resident (See Fig. 8 interactive online wizard for selecting a facility mentioned in P0187-P0189. Also, see P0015, P0208 where HIPAA guidelines would allow not displaying records associated with the resident and [P0068] other options 311 may be added or deleted by the Care Matching System based on changing needs.).
Regarding claim 6, although McLean discloses the mobile response unit of claim 2, wherein the instructions cause the processor to: identify, based on the record associated with the resident, a third user device; establish, via the network, a connection with the third user device (See [Abstract] The Care Matching System establishes a connection between the electronic device and a server of a Care Matching System over a network. The server of the Care Matching System includes a processor and memory for storing patient care data.); and transmit, via the network, one or more seventh signals to cause the third user device to display an alert that the resident will be transferred from the displacing facility and to the receiving facility; wherein the alert cause the third user device to display information associated with the receiving facility (See [P0062-P0063] when a message is received by device 200 or another event occurs, the device may vibrate to alert the user.), Geis further teaches as a result of the weather event (See [P0175] a request to transfer one or more residents from a home facility that may be under an evacuation order due to an emergency, for example, multiple transfers may be transferred to multiple destinations. An emergency for which a transfer may be requested might be fire, storm, earthquake, power outage, contagion, or chemical emergency.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art transferring residents in residential facilities before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McLean when transferring a resident is a result of a weather event as taught by Geis for relocating a tenant with certain medical requirements from a home or facility under temporary or longer-term emergency evacuation orders mentioned in Geis’s P0006-P0007.
Regarding claim 7, McLean discloses the mobile response unit of claim 6, wherein the instructions cause the processor to: update, responsive to receipt of the indication of acceptance the first request to transfer the resident, the record associated with the resident to reflect that the resident is being transferred from the displacing facility and to the receiving facility; and display, via a display on the mobile response unit, a third user interface to indicate that the record associated with the resident has been updated to reflect that the resident is being transferred to the receiving facility (See Abstract, P0186 scheduling a admission date.).
Geis further teaches as a result of the weather event (See [P0175] a request to transfer one or more residents from a home facility that may be under an evacuation order due to an emergency, for example, multiple transfers may be transferred to multiple destinations. An emergency for which a transfer may be requested might be fire, storm, earthquake, power outage, contagion, or chemical emergency.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art transferring residents in residential facilities before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McLean when transferring a resident is a result of a weather event as taught by Geis for relocating a tenant with certain medical requirements from a home or facility under temporary or longer-term emergency evacuation orders mentioned in Geis’s P0006-P0007.
Regarding claim 8, The mobile response unit of claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the processor to: receive from the first user device, a request to associate the resident with a wearable record device; establish, responsive to receipt of the request to associate the resident with the wearable record device, via the network, a connection with the wearable record device; provide, via the network, to the wearable record device, the record associated with the resident to cause the wearable record device to store, in memory of the wearable record device, the record associated with the resident; and receive, via the network, from the wearable record device, a confirmation to indicate that the resident is associated with the wearable record device (See networks in Fig. 1 include wearable computers in P0039.).
Regarding claim 10, McLean discloses the mobile response unit of claim 1, wherein the information associated with the plurality of receiving facilities includes a distance from each receiving facility of the plurality of receiving facilities to the displacing facility, and wherein the receiving facility is identified responsive to the distance from the receiving facility to the displacing facility being within a predetermined threshold (See a search query of care givers or care giving facilities within a predetermined distance from the patient location in Abstract, P0194 and GPS in P0063 for determining significantly greater distance.).
Regarding claim 11, McLean discloses the mobile response unit of claim 10, wherein the information associated with the plurality of receiving facilities further includes at least one of: a number of available beds for each receiving facility of the plurality of receiving facilities; or a number of staff for each receiving facility of the plurality of receiving facilities (See assigning available rooms in P0104 and in [P0174] the Care Matching System communicates with the care facility in real-time to determine if a certain type of room, bed, or patient listed need and preference is available.).
Regarding claim 12, McLean discloses the mobile response unit of claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the processor to receive, from the first user device, the first request to transfer the resident associated with the displacing facility by: transmitting, via the network, to the first user device, one or more sixth signals to cause the first user device to display a list including a plurality of residents associated with the displacing facility, the plurality of residents including the resident (See Fig. 8 interactive online wizard for selecting a facility mentioned in P0187-P0189. Also, see [P0068] other options 311 may be added or deleted by the Care Matching System based on changing needs.); receiving, via the network, from the first user device, an indication of a selection of a selectable element associated with the resident; transmitting, via the network, to the first user device, responsive to receipt of the indication of the selection of the selectable element (See selectable options of care giving facilities in Abstract, P0080, P0085-P0088. See identifying types of care needed within a facility such as Memory Care, within Rehab Centers, Palliative Care, Assisted Living, Life Care Communities mentioned in P0078-P0090, shown in Fig. 5, see [P0106-P0107] The Care Matching System may also provide a care option for the patient to select their location….. and provide a location, such as a city or zip code, and a mile radius within which they prefer to find their care giving facility.), one or more seventh signals to cause the first user device to display information associated with the resident; and receive, via the network, from the first user device the first request to transfer the resident (See Fig. 7 Provide Paperwork to Sign 719 and Schedule Admission 721 mentioned in P0179-P0185.).
Claim 13:
McLean discloses A mobile response unit (See mobile app in P0014-0015 used to select care options in P0067-P0068.), comprising:
a processing circuit including a processor and memory, the memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor (See [Abstract] The Care Matching System establishes a connection between the electronic device and a server of a Care Matching System over a network. The server of the Care Matching System includes a processor and memory for storing patient care data.) to:
establish, using a network device of the mobile response unit, a connection with a network to connect a first user device, the first user device with the network, the first user device associated with a displacing facility (See Fig. 1, P0037 the network in Abstract, and in P0004 numerous care agencies, nursing homes, rehabilitation centers, senior living facilities, and other types of care institutions.);
receive, responsive to establishment of the connection with the network, from the first user device, a first request to transfer a resident associated with the displacing facility (See P0078 request to relocate to a facility. Also, see Fig. 7, 701 and [P0178] the Care Matching System receives search criteria from a patient. The patient may be using a secure mobile application (APP) 210, 212 downloaded on their electronic device or the internet to connect with the Care Matching System and input their criteria.);
retrieve, from the memory, a record associated with the resident (See P0016 evaluation questions to build a profile and navigating the patient through a set of questions and take that into consideration when recommending a care facility in P0078.);
retrieve, from the memory, information associated with a plurality of receiving facilities that are unaffected by weather event (Besides selectable options of care giving facilities in Abstract, P0080, P0085-P0088, see identifying types of care needed within a facility such as Memory Care, within Rehab Centers, Palliative Care, Assisted Living, Life Care Communities mentioned in P0078-P0090.);
identify, based on the record associated with the resident and the information associated with the plurality of receiving facilities, a receiving facility of the plurality of receiving facilities to receive the resident (See Top 3 Matches in Fig. 13, also shown in Fig. 5, see [P0106-P0107] The Care Matching System may also provide a care option for the patient to select their location….. and provide a location, such as a city or zip code, and a mile radius within which they prefer to find their care giving facility.);
establish, using the network device of the mobile response unit and via the network, a connection with a second user device, the second user device associated with the receiving facility (See [P0174] the Care Matching System communicates with the care facility in real-time to determine if a certain type of room, bed, or patient listed need and preference is available, the availability along with a schedule and future availability if currently booked.); and
transmit, via the network, to the second user device, one or more first signals to cause the second user device to display a user interface including a prompt to accept the request to transfer the resident (See Fig. 7 Provide Paperwork to Sign 719 and Schedule Admission 721 mentioned in P0179-P0185.);
receive, via the network, from the second user device, an indication to accept the request to transfer the resident, wherein the indication is received responsive to a selection of a selectable element included in the prompt to accept the request to transfer the resident (Besides Fig. 7 Provide Paperwork to Sign 719 and Schedule Admission 721 mentioned in P0179-P0185, see Fig. 14 initial ping to verifying insurance as authorization mentioned in P0206-P0207 as part of the selection process.);
transmit, via the network, to the second user device, one or more third signals to cause the second user device to display, via the user interface, the record associated with the resident (See Fig. 8 interactive online wizard for selecting a facility mentioned in P0187-P0189.);
wherein the record associated with the resident is displayed without the second user device storing the record associated with the resident (See P0015, P0208 where HIPAA guidelines would allow not displaying records associated with the resident and [P0068] other options 311 may be added or deleted by the Care Matching System based on changing needs.).
Although McLean discloses a mobile response unit for requesting to transfer a resident associated with a displacing facility during an emergency as mentioned above, with an ability to use a GPS mentioned in P0050, P0063, McLean does not explicitly teach when the displacing facility is experiencing a power outage or network interruptions as a result of a weather event, generating and transmitting a route directions to resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility as the result of the weather event. Geis further teaches:
displacing facility that is experiencing a power outage or network interruptions as a result of a weather event, the first request to transfer the resident being the result of the weather event (See [P0175] a transfer may be requested might be fire, storm, earthquake, power outage, contagion, or chemical emergency.);
transmit, to the first user device, one or more fourth signals to cause the first user device to display a second user interface including a notice that the receiving facility accepted the first request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility as the result of the weather event (See notification transfer request in P0008 text message, on screen pop-up message or confirmation, email message and request for transfer in P0207-P0209. See Fig. 19, P0214-P0215 step 1909 where the transfer is approved to accept a resident.);
receive, from the first user device, a second request for directions to the receiving facility that account for the weather event (See [P0175] a request to transfer one or more residents from a home facility that may be under an evacuation order due to an emergency, for example, multiple transfers may be transferred to multiple destinations. An emergency for which a transfer may be requested might be fire, storm, earthquake, power outage, contagion, or chemical emergency.);
generate a route (i) from the displacing facility and (ii) to the receiving facility that accounts for the weather event (See [P0011-P0012] the interactive indicia geographically and texturally identifying the connected facilities in the digital map, P0170 and [P0187] An operator may, for example search facilities based on facility address, facility name, facility size, facility vacancy status, facility proximity to emergency response facilities or hospital or ambulance services, facilities having specific equipment and licensed staff, and so on, where a route could be generated.);
transmit, to the first user device, one or more fifth signals to cause the first user device to display the route (i) from the displacing facility and (ii) to the receiving facility (See [P0170] authorized agents working for a facility from any of the mapped facilities or from an unmapped remote location may access a Geo-representation (typically a digital map) of an area containing facilities, and may browse those facilities by interacting with interactive icons overlaid on the Geo-representations where those icons are associated with meta-data about that facility. Icons representing facilities may vary in visual depiction of the facility to reference facility type or category; for example, an apartment complex, a home, and a commercial building that houses residents may have separate icons for visual sorting purposes.); and
transmit, to the second user device, one or more sixth signals to cause the second user device to display, via the user interface, an indication that the resident is in route from the displacing facility and to the receiving facility as the result of the weather event (Taught in P0170 as accessing a digital map. Also, see [P0187] options for zooming, street views, satellite views, etc. are typically available to the navigator of the map or region of the map. For example, an administrator transferring a resident may command a street view of the facility and see the exact location and what it looks like from a perspective of one or more fronts on the ground.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art transferring residents in residential facilities before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McLean when the displacing facility is experiencing a power outage or network interruptions as a result of a weather event, generating and transmitting a route directions to resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility as the result of the weather event as taught by Geis for relocating a tenant with certain medical requirements from a home or facility under temporary or longer-term emergency evacuation orders mentioned in Geis’s P0006-P0007.
Regarding claim 16, McLean discloses the mobile response unit of claim 13, wherein the instructions cause the processor to: identify, based on the record associated with the resident, a third user device; establish, via the network, a connection with the user device (See [Abstract] The Care Matching System establishes a connection between the electronic device and a server of a Care Matching System over a network. The server of the Care Matching System includes a processor and memory for storing patient care data.); and transmit, via the network, one or more seventh signals to cause the third user device to display an alert that the resident will be transferred from the displacing facility and to the receiving facility as the result of the weather event; wherein the alert cause the third user device to display information associated with the receiving facility (See [P0062-P0063] when a message is received by device 200 or another event occurs, the device may vibrate to alert the user.).
Regarding claim 17, McLean discloses the mobile response unit of claim 16, wherein the instructions cause the processor to: update, responsive to receipt of the indication of acceptance of the first request to transfer the resident, the record associated with the resident to reflect that the resident is being transferred from the displacing facility and to the receiving facility as a result of the weather event; and display, a third user interface to indicate that the record associated with the resident has been updated to reflect that the resident is being transferred from the displacing facility and to the receiving facility (See Abstract, P0186 scheduling a admission date.).
Regarding claim 18, the mobile response unit of claim 13 wherein the instructions cause the processor to: receive, from the first user device, a request to associate the resident with a wearable record device; establish, responsive to receipt of the request to associate the resident with the wearable record device, via the network, a connection with the wearable record device; provide, via the network, to the wearable record device, the record associated with the resident to cause the wearable record device to store, in memory of the wearable record device, the record associated with the resident; and receive, via the network, from the wearable record device, a confirmation to indicate that the resident is associated with the wearable record device (See networks in Fig. 1 include wearable computers in P0039.).
Claim 20:
McLean discloses A mobile response unit (See mobile app in P0014-0015 used to select care options in P0067-P0068.), comprising:
a processing circuit including a processor and memory, the memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor (See [Abstract] The Care Matching System establishes a connection between the electronic device and a server of a Care Matching System over a network. The server of the Care Matching System includes a processor and memory for storing patient care data.) to:
establish, using a network device of the mobile response unit, a connection with a network to connect a first user device with the network, the first user device associated with a displacing facility (See Fig. 1, P0037 the network in Abstract, and in P0004 numerous care agencies, nursing homes, rehabilitation centers, senior living facilities, and other types of care institutions.);
receive, responsive to establishment of the connection with the network, from the first user device, a first request to transfer a resident associated with the displacing facility (See P0078 request to relocate to a facility. Also, see Fig. 7, 701 and [P0178] the Care Matching System receives search criteria from a patient. The patient may be using a secure mobile application (APP) 210, 212 downloaded on their electronic device or the internet to connect with the Care Matching System and input their criteria.);
retrieve, from the memory, a record associated with the resident (See P0016 evaluation questions to build a profile and navigating the patient through a set of questions and take that into consideration when recommending a care facility in P0078.);
retrieve, from the memory, information associated with a plurality of receiving facilities (See selectable options of care giving facilities in Abstract, P0080, P0085-P0088.);
identify, based on the record associated with the resident and the information associated with the plurality of receiving facilities, a receiving facility of the plurality of receiving facilities to receive the resident (See identifying types of care needed within a facility such as Memory Care, within Rehab Centers, Palliative Care, Assisted Living, Life Care Communities mentioned in P0078-P0090, shown in Fig. 5, see [P0106-P0107] The Care Matching System may also provide a care option for the patient to select their location….. and provide a location, such as a city or zip code, and a mile radius within which they prefer to find their care giving facility.);
establish, using the network device of the mobile response unit and via the network, a connection with a second user device, the second user device associated with the receiving facility (See [P0174] the Care Matching System communicates with the care facility in real-time to determine if a certain type of room, bed, or patient listed need and preference is available, the availability along with a schedule and future availability if currently booked.);
transmit, via the network, to the second user device, one or more first signals to cause the second user device to display a user interface including a prompt to accept the first request to transfer the resident (See Fig. 7 Provide Paperwork to Sign 719 and Schedule Admission 721 mentioned in P0179-P0185.);
receive, from the first user device, a request to associate the resident with a wearable record device (See wearable computers in P0039 and P0078 request to relocate to a facility.);
establish, responsive to receipt of the third request to associate the resident with the wearable record device, via the network, a connection with the wearable record device (see Fig. 7, 701 and [P0178] the Care Matching System receives search criteria from a patient. The patient may be using a secure mobile application (APP) 210, 212 downloaded on their electronic device or the internet to connect with the Care Matching System and input their criteria.);
provide, via the network, to the wearable record device, the record associated with the resident to cause the wearable record device to store, in memory of the wearable record device, the record associated with the resident (See Fig. 13, P0204-P0205 where match filters serve as information associated with the facilities.); and
receive, via the network, from the wearable record device, a confirmation to indicate that the resident is associated with the wearable record device (See Fig. 7 Provide Paperwork to Sign 719 and Schedule Admission 721 mentioned in P0179-P0185 as confirmation.).
Although McLean discloses a mobile response unit for requesting to transfer a resident associated with a displacing facility during an emergency as mentioned above, with an ability to use a GPS mentioned in P0050, P0063, McLean does not explicitly teach when the displacing facility is experiencing a power outage or network interruptions as a result of a weather event, generating and transmitting a route directions to resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility as the result of the weather event. Geis further teaches:
displacing facility that is experiencing a power outage or network interruptions as a result of a weather event, the first request to transfer the resident being the result of the weather event (See [P0175] a transfer may be requested might be fire, storm, earthquake, power outage, contagion, or chemical emergency.);
from the displacing facility and to the receiving facility (See relocating persons existing in assistant living facilities based on evacuations due to weather events mentioned in P0005-P0007, and [P0175] a request to transfer one or more residents from a home facility that may be under an evacuation order due to an emergency, for example, multiple transfers may be transferred to multiple destinations. An emergency for which a transfer may be requested might be fire, storm, earthquake, power outage, contagion, or chemical emergency. See Fig. 18 where the source facility serves as the displacing facility and the destination facility serves as the receiving facility.);
receive, via the connection with the second user device, one or more second signal which provide an indication of acceptance of the first request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility and to the receiving facility as the result of the weather event (See notification transfer request in P0008 text message, on screen pop-up message or confirmation, email message and request for transfer in P0207-P0209. See Fig. 19, P0214-P0215 step 1909 where the transfer is approved to accept a resident.);
transmit, to the first user device, one or more third signals to cause the first user device to display a second user interface including a notice that the receiving facility accepted the first request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility as the result of the weather event (See notification transfer request in P0008 text message, on screen pop-up message or confirmation, email message and request for transfer in P0207-P0209. See Fig. 19, P0214-P0215 step 1909 where the transfer is approved to accept a resident.);
receive, from the first user device, a second request for directions to the receiving facility that account for the weather event (See [P0175] a request to transfer one or more residents from a home facility that may be under an evacuation order due to an emergency, for example, multiple transfers may be transferred to multiple destinations. An emergency for which a transfer may be requested might be fire, storm, earthquake, power outage, contagion, or chemical emergency.);
generate a route (i) from the displacing facility and (ii) to the receiving facility that accounts for the weather event (See [P0011-P0012] the interactive indicia geographically and texturally identifying the connected facilities in the digital map, P0170 and [P0187] An operator may, for example search facilities based on facility address, facility name, facility size, facility vacancy status, facility proximity to emergency response facilities or hospital or ambulance services, facilities having specific equipment and licensed staff, and so on, where a route could be generated.);
transmit, to the first user device, one or more fourth signals to cause the first user device to display the route (i) from the displacing facility and (ii) to the receiving facility (See [P0170] authorized agents working for a facility from any of the mapped facilities or from an unmapped remote location may access a Geo-representation (typically a digital map) of an area containing facilities, and may browse those facilities by interacting with interactive icons overlaid on the Geo-representations where those icons are associated with meta-data about that facility. Icons representing facilities may vary in visual depiction of the facility to reference facility type or category; for example, an apartment complex, a home, and a commercial building that houses residents may have separate icons for visual sorting purposes.); and
transmit, to the second user device, one or more fifth signals to cause the second user device to display, via the user interface, an indication that the resident is in route from the displacing facility and to the receiving facility as the result of the weather event (Taught in P0170 as accessing a digital map. Also, see [P0187] options for zooming, street views, satellite views, etc. are typically available to the navigator of the map or region of the map. For example, an administrator transferring a resident may command a street view of the facility and see the exact location and what it looks like from a perspective of one or more fronts on the ground.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art transferring residents in residential facilities before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McLean when the displacing facility is experiencing a power outage or network interruptions as a result of a weather event, generating and transmitting a route directions to resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility as the result of the weather event as taught by Geis for relocating a tenant with certain medical requirements from a home or facility under temporary or longer-term emergency evacuation orders mentioned in Geis’s P0006-P0007.
Claims 4-5, 9, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLean (US 2021/0103939 A1) in view of Geis (US 2021/0166808 A1) further in view of Bjontegard (US 10,412,210 B2).
Regarding claim 4, although McLean and Geis teach the mobile response unit of claim 2 mentioned above, McLean and Geis do not explicitly teach receiving a weather alert that a route is impacted by. Bjontegard teaches wherein the instructions cause the processor to: receive, via the network, from a weather data source, a weather alert that includes information associated with a change to the weather event; determine, based on the weather event, that the route is impacted by the change to the weather event; and update, responsive to determination that the route is impacted by the weather event, the route to avoid the weather event (See column 38, line 66 to column 39, line 16, column 39, lines 29-44 and 50-54 investigating weather forecast current and future when planning a trip. Also, see Fig. 44A-44C.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of multi-user social communications before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McLean and Geis to include receiving a weather alert that a route is impacted by as taught by Bjontegard in order to determine whether to stop at a restaurant during the waiting time of a weather-delayed trip mentioned in Bjontegard’s column 46, lines 44-56.
Regarding claim 5, McLean, Geis and Bjontegard teach the mobile response unit of claim 4 mentioned above, McLean and Geis do not teach receiving a route impacted by a weather alert. Bjontegard teaches wherein the instructions cause the processor to: transmit, via the network, to the first user device, one or more seventh signals to cause the first user device to display the information associated with the change to the weather event and to display an alert to indicate that the route has been updated, the alert including a prompt to accept the route; receive, via the network, from the first user device, a response to indicate acceptance of the update to the route; and transmit, via the network, to the first user device, one or more eighth signals to cause the first user device to display the update to the route (See exemplary Transport Option of presenting a travel route mentioned in column 40, line 65 to column 41, line 20. See column 38, line 66 to column 39, line 16, column 39, lines 29-44 and 50-54 investigating weather forecast current and future when planning a trip. Also, see Fig. 75, Fig. 89.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of multi-user social communications before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McLean and Geis to include receiving a route impacted by a weather alert by as taught by Bjontegard in order to determine whether to stop at a restaurant during the waiting time of a weather-delayed trip mentioned in Bjontegard’s column 46, lines 44-56.
Regarding claim 9, although McLean and Geis teach the mobile response unit of claim 8 mentioned above, McLean and Geis do not explicitly teach medical equipment and wearable record device to perform a health check. Bjontegard teaches wherein the instructions cause the processor to: control one or more pieces of medical equipment to perform a health check; receive, responsive to performance of the health check, information associated with the health check; and transmit, via the network, to the wearable record device, the information associated with the health check to cause the wearable record device to store, in the memory of the wearable record device, the information associated with the health check (See Fig. 51-52, column 48, line 65 to column 49, line 35 wearing a heart monitor. Also, see column 98, line 50-64 vital stats provide to medical staff.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of multi-user social communications before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McLean and Geis to include medical equipment and wearable record device to perform a health check as taught by Bjontegard before sensing an emergency alert and calling 911 mentioned in Bjontegard’s column 100, line 65 to column 101, line 48.
Regarding claim 15, although McLean and Geis teach the mobile response unit of claim 13 mentioned above, McLean and Geis do not explicitly teach receiving a weather alert that a route is impacted by and receiving a route impacted by a weather alert. Bjontegard teaches wherein the instructions cause the processor to: receive, via the network, from a weather data source, a weather alert that includes information associated with a change to the weather event; determine, based on the weather event, that the route is impacted by the weather event; update, responsive to determination that the route is impacted by the change to the weather event, the route to avoid the weather event (See column 38, line 66 to column 39, line 16, column 39, lines 29-44 and 50-54 investigating weather forecast current and future when planning a trip. Also, see Fig. 44A-44C.); transmit, via the network, to the first user device, one or more seventh signals to cause the first user device to display the information associated with the change to the weather event and to display an alert to indicate that the route has been updated, the alert including a prompt to accept the update to the route; receive, via the network, from the first user device, a response to indicate acceptance of the route; and transmit, via the network, to the first user device, one or more eighth signals to cause the first user device to display the update to the route (See exemplary Transport Option of presenting a travel route mentioned in column 40, line 65 to column 41, line 20. See column 38, line 66 to column 39, line 16, column 39, lines 29-44 and 50-54 investigating weather forecast current and future when planning a trip. Also, see Fig. 75, Fig. 89.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of multi-user social communications before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McLean and Geis to include receiving a weather alert that a route is impacted by and receiving a route impacted by a weather alert by as taught by Bjontegard in order to determine whether to stop at a restaurant during the waiting time of a weather-delayed trip mentioned in Bjontegard’s column 46, lines 44-56.
Regarding claim 19, although McLean and Geis teach the mobile response unit of claim 18 mentioned above, McLean and Geis do not explicitly teach medical equipment and wearable record device to perform a health check. Bjontegard teaches wherein the instructions cause the processor to: control one or more pieces of medical equipment to perform a health check; receive, responsive to performance of the health check, information associated with the health check; and transmit, via the network, to the wearable record device, the information associated with the health check to cause the wearable record device to store, in the memory of the wearable record device, the information associated with the health check (See Fig. 51-52, column 48, line 65 to column 49, line 35 wearing a heart monitor. Also, see column 98, line 50-64 vital stats provide to medical staff.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of multi-user social communications before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McLean and Geis to include medical equipment and wearable record device to perform a health check as taught by Bjontegard before sensing an emergency alert and calling 911 mentioned in Bjontegard’s column 100, line 65 to column 101, line 48.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12, filed 09/16/2025, with respect to the claim interpretation have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim interpretation of claims 1-2, 4-13 and 15-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant argues that claim 1 integrates any alleged abstract idea into a practical application, e.g. see pgs. 12-14 of Remarks – Examiner disagrees.
Besides no technological implementations or improvements being explained or claimed, the instant case is not solving a problem in assisting a displaced resident being routed from a receiving facility to a displacing facility. Requesting and accepting a transfer for the displaced resident, noticing that the resident is displaced due to a weather event and transmitting a route or directions from the receiving facility to the displacing facility do not need a computer to perform. However, the user devices in the instant case are used as generic computers and would be expected to perform, especially using basic a weather app, a request form and a mobile cellphone with GPS. Also, no technological implementations or improvements to the functioning of the computer itself have been genuinely set forth and are nonetheless directed towards improving the abstract idea and not the computer itself – that is, the recited invention may improve assisting displaced residents due to weather (i.e. the abstract idea), but there is no evidence to show that it improves the structural or functional properties of the computer itself, outside of improving the computer specifically for implementing the abstract idea.
Applicant argues that the subject matter of claim 1 is not directed to "managing human behavior/interactions between people, as forms of providing housing and healthcare services during a disaster", e.g. see pgs. 13-14 of Remarks – Examiner disagrees.
Requesting and accepting a transfer for the displaced resident, noticing that the resident is displaced due to a weather event and transmitting a route or directions from the receiving facility to displacing facility are activities that a human would be expected to perform, especially for those providing disaster relief services, managing available housing resources for displaced residents and/or services of a social worker.
Regarding the prior art rejections, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are now moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. The Examiner has entered a new rejection under 35 USC § 103(a) and applied new art and art already of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.S.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3687 01/02/2026
/MAMON OBEID/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3687