DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The current application claims benefit of provisional application 18/482227, filed on October 7th, 2022. Examiner acknowledges the applicant’s claim for priority.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-6, 9, 11, 12, 14-18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
Step 1
The claims recite subject matter within a statutory category as a process, machine, and/or article of manufacture. However, it will be shown in the following steps, that claims 1, 3-6, 9, 11, 12, 14-18, and 20-23 are nonetheless unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Step 2A Prong One
Claim 1 states:
A mobile device, comprising: a network circuit structured to communicate data over a network, wherein the network is provided by a mobile response unit different than the mobile device;
a processor;
and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having a mobile disaster relief application stored thereon, the mobile disaster relief application including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
display, via a graphical user interface on the mobile device, at least one record associated with a resident of a displacing facility;
receive, via one or more interactions with the graphical user interface, a first request to provide information associated with a receiving facility, wherein the information includes a number of available beds at the receiving facility;
establish, responsive to receipt of the first request, a communication session with at least one device associated with the receiving facility via the network provided by the mobile response unit;
transmit, via the communication session, one or more signals to cause the at least one device to display a first prompt to provide the information associated with the receiving facility;
receive, via the communication session, responsive to acceptance of the first prompt by the at least one device via one or more interactions with the first prompt displayed by the at least one device, the information associated with the receiving facility
update the graphical user interface to display the information associated with the receiving facility;
receive, via the graphical user interface, a second request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility;
provide, via the communication session, to the at least one device, a second prompt to accept a transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility;
and receive, via the communication session, from the at least one device, an indication of acceptance of the transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility;
and provide, via the communication session, responsive to the acceptance of the transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility, the at least one record associated with the resident to the at least one device.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of these steps includes mental processes and/or organizing human activity because each bolded component can practically be performed by the human mind or with pen and paper. Other than reciting generic computer terms like “a mobile device”, “graphical user interface”, “a network circuit”, “memory”, “a mobile response unit”, or “a processor”, nothing in the claims precludes the bold-font portions from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “via a graphical user interface” language, “receive… a second request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility;” in the context of this claim encompasses the personal behavior of a healthcare worker informing colleagues of the resources available at their hospital. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” or “Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
These steps of:
a mobile disaster relief application… the mobile disaster relief application including instructions that,
display… at least one record associated with a resident of a displacing facility;
receive … a first request to provide information associated with a receiving facility, wherein the information includes a number of available beds at the receiving facility;
display a first prompt to provide the information associated with the receiving facility;
receive… the information associated with the receiving facility;
display the information associated with the receiving facility
receive… a second request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility;
provide… a second prompt to accept a transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility;
and receive… an indication of acceptance of the transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility;
as drafted, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, includes multiple abstract ideas that will be identified as a single abstract idea moving forward.
Independent claims 15 and 20 cover similar steps of displaying records, receiving various transfer information, and providing communication in response to the received information. In addition, these claims also cover establishing a connection to a mobile connection unit, receiving a record associated with a resident, displaying the record, and transmitting the record to the network. These claims fall under the same category of an abstract idea and follows the same rationale as claim 1.
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which further narrows or defines the abstract idea embodied in the claims (such as claim 6, reciting particular aspects of how “establish, via the network, a connection with the mobile response unit, wherein the mobile response unit is in communication with the at least one device via the network; provide, via the network, to the mobile response unit, the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility; and receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, a plurality of signals to display the information associated with the receiving facility without storing the information associated with the receiving facility in the memory of the mobile device.” may be performed in the mind but for recitation of generic computer components).
Dependent claims 3-6, 9, 11, 12, 14, 16-18, and 21-23 add additional elements to their parent claims which will be further inspected in the following steps for a practical application to their abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception includes mental processes and/or organizing human activity that are not integrated into a practical application. Independent claim 1’s mobile device recite additional elements such as “a mobile device”, “memory”, “graphical user interface”, “a network circuit”, “a processor”, and “a mobile response unit”. In addition to the generic components and additional elements listed above, Independent claim 15 and 20 also include a “user device”. The “network circuit”, “memory”, and “a processor” will be treated as generic computer components, while the “mobile device”, “graphical user interface”, and “a mobile response unit” are additional elements with conventionality will be that will be addressed in Step 2B. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional elements:
amount to mere instructions to apply an exception (such as recitation of “A mobile device, comprising: a network circuit structured to communicate data over a network, wherein the network is provided by a mobile response unit different than the mobile device; a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory … stored thereon… when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: [perform the listed abstract ideas]” and “a graphical user interface on the mobile device” and “via one or more interactions with the graphical user interface” and “via the graphical user interface” amounts to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea, see applicant’s specification “machine-executable instructions comprise, for example, instructions and data that cause a general-purpose computer, … to perform a certain function or group of functions”, see MPEP 2106.05(f))
add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea (such as recitation of “establish, responsive to receipt of the first request, a communication session with at least one device associated with the receiving facility via the network provided by the mobile response unit;” and “transmit, via the communication session, one or more signals to cause the at least one device” and “via the communication session, responsive to acceptance of the first prompt by the at least one device via one or more interactions with the first prompt displayed by the at least one device,” and “via the communication session, to the at least one device” amounts to mere data gathering, recitation of “update the graphical user interface” and “and provide, via the communication session, responsive to the acceptance of the transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility, the at least one record associated with the resident to the at least one device” and “via the communication session, from the at least one device” amounts to necessary data outputting, see MPEP 2106.05(g))
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which amount to limitations consistent with the additional elements in the independent claims. Additionally, claim 3 “communicate, via the network, with the mobile response unit to retrieve the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility; and receive, via the network, a plurality of signals from the mobile response unit to display, via the graphical user interface on the mobile device, the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility; wherein the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is displayed responsive to continuous receipt to the plurality of signals such that the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is displayed without storing the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility in the memory of the mobile device.” and claim 4 “establish, via the network, a connection with the mobile response unit, the mobile response unit storing the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility; receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, a third prompt to provide identification information of a user; receive, via the graphical user interface, the identification information of the user; and provide, via the network, to the mobile response unit, the identification information of the user; wherein the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is provided by the mobile response unit responsive to authentication of the identification information of the user.” and claim 5 “wherein the identification information of the user is received responsive to displaying a request for the identification information via the graphical user interface on the mobile device.” and claim 6 “wherein the instructions cause the processor to: establish, via the network, a connection with the mobile response unit, wherein the mobile response unit is in communication with the at least one device via the network; provide, via the network, to the mobile response unit, the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility; and receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, a plurality of signals to display the information associated with the receiving facility without storing the information associated with the receiving facility in the memory of the mobile device.” and claim 9 “wherein the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility is received responsive to: displaying the at least one record associated with the resident; updating the graphical user interface on the mobile device to include a selectable element to indicate the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility; and detecting, via the graphical user interface on the mobile device, a selection of the selectable element to indicate the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility.” and claim 11 “wherein the instructions cause the processor to provide the second prompt to accept the transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility by: transmitting, via the network, to the mobile response unit in communication with the at least one device, the second request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility; wherein the mobile response unit provides the second prompt to accept the transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility responsive to receipt of the second request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility.” and claim 12 “establish, via the network, a connection with the mobile response unit, wherein the mobile response unit is in communication with the at least one device; transmit, via the network, to the mobile response unit, the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility to cause the mobile response unit to transmit the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility to the at least one device; and receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, the information associated with the receiving facility.” and claim 14 “wherein the mobile response unit provides the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility without causing the at least one device to store the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility.” and claim 16 “receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit: the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility by: receiving, via the network, a plurality of signals from the mobile response unit to display the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility; wherein the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is displayed responsive to the mobile device continuously receiving the plurality of signals such that the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is displayed without storing the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility in the memory of the mobile device.” and claim 17 “receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, a third prompt to provide identification information of a user; receive, via the graphical user interface, the identification information of the user; and provide, via the network, to the mobile response unit, the identification information of the user; wherein the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is provided by the mobile response unit responsive to authentication of the identification information of the user.” and claim 18 “wherein the mobile response unit is in communication with the at least one device via the network, and wherein the instructions cause the processor to: provide, via the network, to the mobile response unit, the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility; and receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, a plurality of signals to display the information associated with the receiving facility without storing the information associated with the receiving facility in the memory of the mobile device.” and claim 21 “identify, prior to receipt of the first request, one or more receiving facilities within a threshold distance of the mobile device that is different than a threshold distance of the displacing facility; and display, on the graphical user interface and responsive to identification of the one or more receiving facilities, one or more graphical elements to represent the one or more receiving facilities, wherein the one or more receiving facilities include the receiving facility; wherein the one or more interactions with the graphical user interface includes a selection of a graphical element of the one or more graphical elements which represents the receiving facility.” and claim 23 “wherein the mobile response unit is configured to operate as an intermediate device to facilitate an exchange of data between the mobile device and the at least one device during a power outage or a natural disaster proximate to the displacing facility” amount to additional limitations which add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea.
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Dependent claim 22 does not recite additional elements or activity but further narrow or define the abstract idea embodied in the claims and hence also does not integrate the aforementioned abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception, and add insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea. Additionally, the additional elements, amount to no more than limitations which amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
As previously noted, the claim recites an additional element of “a mobile device” and a “mobile response unit”. Poor (US20040263494) demonstrates “Conventional mobile devices for playing location-dependent pre-recorded messages are known” [0003, Poor] long before the priority data of the claimed invention. In this disclosure a mobile response unit may be understood to include a mobile device. As such, this additional element, individually and in combination with the prior additional elements, does not amount to significantly more.
As previously noted, the claim recites an additional element of “a graphical user interface”. Further, Parsons (US20040178312) demonstrates “Visual content may also include navigable menus and folders such as implemented in conventional graphical user interfaces of computing systems”[0065] that shows Graphical User Interfaces to display records were conventional long before the priority data of the claimed invention. As such, this additional element, individually and in combination with the prior additional elements, does not amount to significantly more.
As previously noted, the claim recites an additional element of “a user device”. Poor (US20040263494) demonstrates “Conventional mobile devices for playing location-dependent pre-recorded messages are known” [0003, Poor] long before the priority data of the claimed invention. In this disclosure a mobile response unit may be understood to include a mobile device. As such, this additional element, individually and in combination with the prior additional elements, does not amount to significantly more.
To elaborate:
“establish, responsive to receipt of the first request, a communication session with at least one device associated with the receiving facility via the network provided by the mobile response unit;” is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iii);
“transmit, via the communication session, one or more signals to cause the at least one device” , is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
“via the communication session, responsive to acceptance of the first prompt by the at least one device via one or more interactions with the first prompt displayed by the at least one device,” , is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
“via the communication session, to the at least one device”, is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
“update the graphical user interface”, is equivalently, a web browser's back and forward button functionality, Internet Patent Corp., MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(vi))
“and provide, via the communication session, responsive to the acceptance of the transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility, the at least one record associated with the resident to the at least one device”, is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
“via the communication session, from the at least one device”, is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
Dependent claims recite additional subject matter which, as discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, amount to invoking computers as a tool to perform the abstract idea. These additional limitations amount to elements that have been recognized as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity in particular fields.
To elaborate:
claim 3 “communicate, via the network, with the mobile response unit to retrieve the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility; and receive, via the network, a plurality of signals from the mobile response unit to display, via the graphical user interface on the mobile device, the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility; wherein the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is displayed responsive to continuous receipt to the plurality of signals such that the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is displayed without storing the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility in the memory of the mobile device.” , is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
claim 4 “establish, via the network, a connection with the mobile response unit, the mobile response unit storing the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility; receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, a third prompt to provide identification information of a user; receive, via the graphical user interface, the identification information of the user; and provide, via the network, to the mobile response unit, the identification information of the user; wherein the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is provided by the mobile response unit responsive to authentication of the identification information of the user.” , is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
claim 5 “wherein the identification information of the user is received responsive to displaying a request for the identification information via the graphical user interface on the mobile device.” , is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
claim 6 “wherein the instructions cause the processor to: establish, via the network, a connection with the mobile response unit, wherein the mobile response unit is in communication with the at least one device via the network; provide, via the network, to the mobile response unit, the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility; and receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, a plurality of signals to display the information associated with the receiving facility without storing the information associated with the receiving facility in the memory of the mobile device.”, is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
claim 9 “wherein the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility is received responsive to: displaying the at least one record associated with the resident; updating the graphical user interface on the mobile device to include a selectable element to indicate the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility; and detecting, via the graphical user interface on the mobile device, a selection of the selectable element to indicate the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility.” , is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
claim 11 “wherein the instructions cause the processor to provide the second prompt to accept the transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility by: transmitting, via the network, to the mobile response unit in communication with the at least one device, the second request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility; wherein the mobile response unit provides the second prompt to accept the transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility responsive to receipt of the second request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility.” , is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
claim 12 “establish, via the network, a connection with the mobile response unit, wherein the mobile response unit is in communication with the at least one device; transmit, via the network, to the mobile response unit, the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility to cause the mobile response unit to transmit the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility to the at least one device; and receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, the information associated with the receiving facility.” , is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
claim 14 “wherein the mobile response unit provides the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility without causing the at least one device to store the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility.” , is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
claim 16 “receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit: the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility by: receiving, via the network, a plurality of signals from the mobile response unit to display the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility; wherein the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is displayed responsive to the mobile device continuously receiving the plurality of signals such that the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is displayed without storing the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility in the memory of the mobile device.” , is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
claim 17 “receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, a third prompt to provide identification information of a user; receive, via the graphical user interface, the identification information of the user; and provide, via the network, to the mobile response unit, the identification information of the user; wherein the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is provided by the mobile response unit responsive to authentication of the identification information of the user.” , is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
claim 18 “wherein the mobile response unit is in communication with the at least one device via the network, and wherein the instructions cause the processor to: provide, via the network, to the mobile response unit, the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility; and receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, a plurality of signals to display the information associated with the receiving facility without storing the information associated with the receiving facility in the memory of the mobile device.”, is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
claim 21 “identify, prior to receipt of the first request, one or more receiving facilities within a threshold distance of the mobile device that is different than a threshold distance of the displacing facility; and display, on the graphical user interface and responsive to identification of the one or more receiving facilities, one or more graphical elements to represent the one or more receiving facilities, wherein the one or more receiving facilities include the receiving facility; wherein the one or more interactions with the graphical user interface includes a selection of a graphical element of the one or more graphical elements which represents the receiving facility.”, is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
claim 23 “wherein the mobile response unit is configured to operate as an intermediate device to facilitate an exchange of data between the mobile device and the at least one device during a power outage or a natural disaster proximate to the displacing facility”, is equivalently, receiving or transmitting data over a network, Symantec, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i);
Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 9, 11, 12, 14-18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Glidewell (US20200296565).
Regarding claim 1, Glidewell teaches.
A mobile device, comprising ([Figure 2] “Mobile response unit” is a mobile device):
a network circuit structured to communicate data over a network, ([Figure 2] “processing circuit (140)” is a network circuit) wherein the network is provided by a mobile response unit different than the mobile device; ([0030] “mobile response unit 100 may provide a network connection (e.g., internet access, satellite connection, etc.)”)
a processor; ([Figure 2] “processor (142)”)
and a memory coupled to the processor, ([Figure 5] “memory (140)”) the memory having a mobile disaster relief application stored thereon, the mobile disaster relief application including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: ([Figure 5] “application circuit” hosts a mobile disaster application on the memory (140)
display, via a graphical user interface on the mobile device, ([Figure 3A] “display” has a graphical user interface; see also Figure 3A’s “user interface” incorporating the display) at least one record associated with a resident of a displacing facility; ([0006] “ In some embodiments, wherein the resident displacement manager facilitates editing of the one or more records and creation of new records” displays records from a resident associated with a displacing facility; see also “displaying the number of available beds includes displaying an indication of a receiving facility of the one or more receiving facilities associated with each of the available beds. In some embodiments, wherein displaying the number of available beds includes displaying characteristics associated with each of the available beds” where displaying a characteristic associated with each of the available beds attributes a record associated with the resident of a displacing facility)
receive, via one or more interactions with the graphical user interface,([0070]” resident displacement manager 664 includes a receiving user interface 800”) a first request to provide information associated with a receiving facility, wherein the information includes a number of available beds at the receiving facility; ([0029] “Mobile response unit 100 simplifies the resident transfer process by automating many tasks associated with resident transfer and improving the transfer process. For example, LTC facility staff may traditionally call each receiving facility individually to determine a number of available beds and/or request the transfer of residents”; see also [0074] “the first displacing facility may request that the second receiving facility indicate a number and type (e.g., male beds, female beds, life support system equipped beds, dementia ward beds, intensive care unit beds, etc.) of available beds.” where the mobile response unit teaches automating or manually inputting a request for the receiving facility to provide the number of available beds)
establish, responsive to receipt of the first request, a communication session with at least one device associated with the receiving facility via the network provided by the mobile response unit; ([0030] “mobile response unit 100 may provide a network connection (e.g., internet access, satellite connection, etc.). In some embodiments, the network connection facilitates uninterrupted access to electronic medical records (“EMR”)”; see also [0042] “external server 220 may be a receiving computing system of a LTC facility. In some embodiments, external server 220 includes external database 222. External database 222 may include emergency contacts, emergency procedures, EMRs, payroll data and/or any other data. For example, external database 222 may include electronic medication administration records (“eMAR”), electronic treatment authorization request records (“eTAR”), and/or activities of daily living records (“ADL”)” where the network connection allows a communication between a receiving facility and another facility in response to an information request)
transmit, via the communication session, one or more signals to cause the at least one device to display a first prompt to provide the information associated with the receiving facility; ([0074] “Receiving user interface … indicate the number of available beds the receiving facility has indicated they have available. In some embodiments, displacing facilities request an indication of a number of available beds from one or more receiving facilities” where a displacing facility requesting a number of available beds comprises transmitting a signal to cause a device to display a first prompt to provide the information associated with the receiving facility”)
receive, via the communication session, responsive to acceptance of the first prompt by the at least one device via one or more interactions with the first prompt displayed by the at least one device, the information associated with the receiving facility ([0078] “receiving user interface 800 notifies displacing facilities of the update to the number of available beds”)
update the graphical user interface to display the information associated with the receiving facility; ([0078] At step 930, receiving user interface 800 updates a number of available beds displayed to displacing facilities”)
receive, via the graphical user interface, ([0070]” resident displacement manager 664 includes a receiving user interface 800”) a second request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility ([0075] “Receiving facilities 810-830 lists the names and/or other information associated with each displacing facility that is transferring residents to the receiving facility.” Where listing the multiple names of transfers denotes the second request to transfer the residents from one facility to another; see optionally [0101] “a request is received to transfer a resident. In some embodiments, step 1410 includes a determination of priority (e.g., time, location, need, etc.). In some embodiments, the priority is user customizable. For example, a user may create a priority rule to reflect a term included in a mutual occupancy agreement between a displacing facility and a receiving facility. For further example, a first request for transfer from a first displacing facility located next to a severe weather event may have priority over a second request for transfer from a second displacing facility located remotely of a severe weather event. In various embodiments, the request includes information associated with the resident and the transfer” where the priority list denotes a continuous request system between facilities, prompting and completing transfers)
provide the information associated with the receiving facility; ([0005] “receive, from one or more receiving facilities, an indication of a number of available beds” is providing information associated with the receiving facility)
receive a first indication of a transfer of the resident to the receiving facility; ([0063] “The resident displacement manager enables other LTC facilities (e.g., receiving facilities, etc.) to indicate openings (e.g., available beds, etc.) and/or accept residents for transfer.” indicates receiving a first indication of a transfer)
provide, via the communication session, to the at least one device, a second prompt to accept a transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility (see [0063] “The resident displacement manager enables other LTC facilities (e.g., receiving facilities, etc.) to indicate openings (e.g., available beds, etc.) and/or accept residents for transfer.” Above for prompting the completion of a transfer; see also [0101] “a request is received to transfer a resident. In some embodiments, step 1410 includes a determination of priority (e.g., time, location, need, etc.). In some embodiments, the priority is user customizable. For example, a user may create a priority rule to reflect a term included in a mutual occupancy agreement between a displacing facility and a receiving facility. For further example, a first request for transfer from a first displacing facility located next to a severe weather event may have priority over a second request for transfer from a second displacing facility located remotely of a severe weather event. In various embodiments, the request includes information associated with the resident and the transfer” where the priority list denotes a continuous request system between facilities, prompting and completing transfers)
and receive, via the communication session, from the at least one device, an indication of acceptance of the transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility; ([0005] “receive, from one or more receiving facilities, an indication of a number of available beds, display, to the displacing facility, the number of available beds, receive, from the receiving facility, an indication of a transfer of a resident to one of the available beds, and electronically send one or more records associated with the resident to the receiving facility.”)
and provide, via the communication session, responsive to the acceptance of the transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility, the at least one record associated with the resident to the at least one device([0063] “The resident displacement manager transfers the medical records associated with the transferred resident to the receiving facility.” See also [0071] “it should be understood that the systems and methods described herein may be and/or be implemented on and/or at least partially by one or more computing devices” where the records are received by multiple user devices
Regarding claim 3, Glidewell teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Glidewell also teaches
wherein the instructions cause the processor to: communicate, via the network, with the mobile response unit to retrieve the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility; ([0062] “record management circuit 550 may automatically retrieve EMR data associated with residents of a LTC facility from a third party EMR provider serve and store the EMR data in local database 144 and/or remote database” where the circuit [i.e., the processor] retrieves the Emergency Medical Record (EMR) data [i.e., a record of the resident] from the third-party [i.e., a displacing facility])
and receive, via the network, a plurality of signals from the mobile response unit (see “EMR data” above, where the resident record is received via a plurality of signals) to display, via the graphical user interface on the mobile device, the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility; ([0080] “Displacement user interface 1000 includes one or more resident profiles 1002, one or more staff profiles 1004, one or more receiving facilities 1006 and upload 1040”)
wherein the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is displayed responsive to continuous receipt to the plurality of signals such that the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is displayed ([0080] “displacement user interface 1000 may automatically populate at least some of resident profiles… upload 1040 causes automatic population of resident and staff data.” where automatically populating the resident profiles comprises displaying records responsive to continuous receipt”) without storing the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility in the memory of the mobile device. ([0099] “step 1320 includes storing the data in memory. In some embodiments, step 1320 is omitted and/or the data is only stored in the cloud” where retrieving local data is retrieving the resident records from a displacing facility and omitting locally storing the data is withholding the storage of the information from the mobile device)
Regarding claim 4, Glidewell teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Glidewell also teaches:
wherein the instructions cause the processor to: establish, via the network, a connection with the mobile response unit, the mobile response unit storing the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility; ([0062] “record management circuit 550 may automatically retrieve EMR data associated with residents of a LTC facility from a third party EMR provider serve and store the EMR data in local database 144 and/or remote database”, where the third-party connections occurs via a network and the mobile response unit and locally stores records for a resident)
receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, a third prompt to provide identification information of a user; ([0102] “step 1420 includes retrieving (e.g., downloading, acquiring a link to, etc.) resident data from a server or other location.” Where resident information comprises identification information received via a network in when prompted)
receive, via the graphical user interface, ([0070]” resident displacement manager 664 includes a receiving user interface 800”) the identification information of the user; ([0080] “In some embodiments, a user manually enters resident data (e.g., by interacting with upload 1040, etc.)” where the input [i.e., receiving identification information of the user] is into a user interface)
and provide, via the network, to the mobile response unit, the identification information of the user (see “resident data” above, where the identification information is resident data presented to the mobile response unit)
wherein the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is provided by the mobile response unit responsive to authentication of the identification information of the user. ([0102] “At step 1420, resident data is retrieved… In some embodiments, one or more authentication methods (e.g., passwords, keys, etc.) are included … to allow access to the data.” Identification information protects the associated resident record with authentication )
Regarding claim 5, Glidewell teaches all of the limitations of claim 4. Glidewell also teaches:
wherein the identification information of the user is received responsive to displaying a request for the identification information ([0100] “At step 1410, a request is received to transfer a resident.” where the request to transfer a resident encompasses a request for identification information; see also “step 1420 above” where authentications methods are the identification information) via the graphical user interface on the mobile device. ([0072] “receiving user interface 800 may be accessible from a website and/or a mobile device application”)
Regarding claim 6, Glidewell teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Glidewell also teaches:
wherein the instructions cause the processor to: establish, via the network, a connection with the mobile response unit, wherein the mobile response unit is in communication with at least one device via the network, ([0003] “the system including a router configured to connect to one or more wireless network connections a transmitter configured to connect one or more user devices to the one or more network connections” where the system comprises a mobile response unit in communication with user devices)
provide, via the network, to the mobile response unit, the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility; (([0100] “At step 1410, a request is received to transfer a resident.” where the request over the mobile response system includes information associated with the receiving facility)
and receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, a plurality of signals to display the information associated with the receiving facility without storing the information associated with the receiving facility in the memory of the mobile device. (see “request is received to transfer a resident” where the system’s [comprising the mobile response unit] request [i.e., a plurality of signals] occurs over a network; see also ([0099] “In some embodiments … the data is only stored in the cloud”)
Regarding claim 9, Glidewell teaches all of the limitations of claim 8. Glidewell also teaches:
wherein the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility is received responsive to: displaying the at least one record associated with the resident; ([0081] “once the resident is assigned to the receiving facility, displacement user interface 1000 may send information associated with the resident (e.g., medical records, resident profile, etc.) to the receiving facility.” Where assigning the resident [i.e., the request to provide receiving facility information] occurs after the user interface sends information [i.e., displaying at least one record])
updating the graphical user interface on the mobile device to include a selectable element to indicate the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility; ([Figure 10]; [0080] Depicts a selectable and updatable user interface that populates receiving facility information and resident profiles)
and detecting, via the graphical user interface on the mobile device, a selection of the selectable element to indicate the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility. ([0081] “a user may drag a resident profile 1002 to a receiving facility 1006 to assign the resident to the receiving facility.” where dragging a resident profile to assign a resident is detecting a selection to request the information with the receiving facility)
Regarding claim 11, Glidewell teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Glidewell also teaches:
wherein the instructions cause the processor to provide the second prompt to accept the transfer of the resident to the receiving facility by: transmitting, via the network, to the mobile response unit in communication with the at least one device, second request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility; ([0063] “The resident displacement manager enables other LTC facilities (e.g., receiving facilities, etc.) to indicate openings (e.g., available beds, etc.) and/or accept residents for transfer.” indicates a first indication of a transfer via a network to the mobile response unit; see also [0101] “a first request for transfer from a first displacing facility located next to a severe weather event may have priority over a second request for transfer from a second displacing facility” where the priority list denotes a continuous request system of requesting, accepting, modifying and notifying transfer between facilities [i.e., comprising a second prompt by providing a second request to transfer a resident from a displacing facility to the receiving facility]) wherein the mobile response unit provides the second prompt to accept the transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility responsive to receipt of the second request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility. ([0081] “displacement user interface 1000 sends the receiving facility a notification indicating that resident has been assigned” where the notification of resident reassignment is the second indication to accept the transfer from the displacing facility to the receiving facility; see also “a first request to transfer… may have priority over a second request above”)
Regarding claim 12, Glidewell teaches all of the limitations of claim 8. Glidewell also teaches:
wherein the instructions cause the processor to: establish, via the network, a connection with the mobile response unit, wherein the mobile response unit is in communication with the at least one device; ([0003] “the system including a router configured to connect to one or more wireless network connections a transmitter configured to connect one or more user devices to the one or more network connections” where the system comprises a mobile response unit in communication with user devices)
transmit, via the network, to the mobile response unit, the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility ([0100] “At step 1410, a request is received to transfer a resident.” where the request to transfer a resident encompasses a first request for information associated with a receiving facility) to cause the mobile response unit to transmit the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility to the at least one device; ([0072] “receiving user interface 800 may be accessible from a website and/or a mobile device application... receiving user interface 800 may display and/or enable access to the medical records associated with the residents they are receiving” where the receiving user interface incorporates the at least one device for transmitting the provided information)
and receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, the information associated with the receiving facility. ([0029] “Mobile response unit 100 simplifies the resident transfer process by automating many tasks associated with resident transfer and improving the transfer process. For example, LTC facility staff may traditionally call each receiving facility individually to determine a number of available beds and/or request the transfer of residents” where the mobile response unit teaches automating a request for the receiving facility information, that is, providing the number of available beds)
Regarding claim 14, Glidewell teaches all of the limitations of claim 13. Glidewell also teaches:
wherein the mobile response unit provides the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility without causing at least one device to store the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility. ([0099] “step 1320 includes storing the data in memory. In some embodiments, step 1320 is omitted and/or the data is only stored in the cloud” where storing data in the cloud [i.e., without causing devices to store the record] provides at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility to at least one device)
Regarding claim 15, Glidewell teaches all of the limitations of claim 14. Glidewell also teaches:
A mobile device, ([Figure 2] “Mobile response unit” is a mobile device) comprising: a network circuit structured to communicate data over a network; ([Figure 2] “processing circuit (140)” is a network circuit)
a processor; ([Figure 2] “processor (142)”)
and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having a mobile disaster relief application stored thereon, the mobile disaster relief application including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: ([Figure 5] “application circuit” hosts a mobile disaster application on the memory (140)
establish, via the network, a connection with a mobile response unit, wherein the mobile response unit is providing the network; ([0003] “the system including a router configured to connect to one or more wireless network connections a transmitter configured to connect one or more user devices to the one or more network connections” where the system comprises a mobile response unit in communication with user devices)
receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, at least one record associated with a resident of a displacing facility; ([0062] “record management circuit 550 interfaces with any of the modules and/or components of mobile response unit 100… record management circuit 550 may automatically retrieve EMR data associated with residents of a LTC facility from a third party EMR provider serve and store the EMR data in local database 144 and/or remote database 210. In some embodiments, record management circuit 550 periodically (e.g., daily, hourly, etc.) backs up mobile response unit 100 to remote database 210. In various embodiments, a record management circuit” where the backed up EMR data from the mobile response unit are received records associated with a resident of a displacing facility)
display, via a graphical user interface on the mobile device, ([Figure 3A] “display” has a graphical user interface; see also Figure 3A’s “user interface” incorporating the display) the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility; ([0006] “In some embodiments, wherein the resident displacement manager facilitates editing of the one or more records and creation of new records” displays records from a resident associated with a displacing facility; see also “displaying the number of available beds includes displaying an indication of a receiving facility of the one or more receiving facilities associated with each of the available beds. In some embodiments, wherein displaying the number of available beds includes displaying characteristics associated with each of the available beds” where displaying a characteristic associated with each of the available beds attributes a record associated with the resident of a displacing facility)
receive, via one or more interactions with the graphical user interface,([0070]” resident displacement manager 664 includes a receiving user interface 800”) a first request to provide information associated with a receiving facility, wherein the information includes a number of available beds at the receiving facility; ([0029] “Mobile response unit 100 simplifies the resident transfer process by automating many tasks associated with resident transfer and improving the transfer process. For example, LTC facility staff may traditionally call each receiving facility individually to determine a number of available beds and/or request the transfer of residents” where the mobile response unit teaches automating a request for the receiving facility to provide the number of available beds; see also [0074] “the first displacing facility may request that the second receiving facility indicate a number and type (e.g., male beds, female beds, life support system equipped beds, dementia ward beds, intensive care unit beds, etc.) of available beds.” where the mobile response unit teaches automating or manually inputting a request for the receiving facility to provide the number of available beds via a graphical user interface)
establish, responsive to receipt of the first request, a communication session with at least one device associated with the receiving facility via the network provided by the mobile response unit; ([0030] “mobile response unit 100 may provide a network connection (e.g., internet access, satellite connection, etc.). In some embodiments, the network connection facilitates uninterrupted access to electronic medical records (“EMR”)”; see also [0042] “external server 220 may be a receiving computing system of a LTC facility. In some embodiments, external server 220 includes external database 222. External database 222 may include emergency contacts, emergency procedures, EMRs, payroll data and/or any other data. For example, external database 222 may include electronic medication administration records (“eMAR”), electronic treatment authorization request records (“eTAR”), and/or activities of daily living records (“ADL”)” where the network connection allows a communication between a receiving facility and another facility in response to an information request)
transmit, via the communication session, one or more signals to cause the at least one device to display a first prompt to provide the information associated with the receiving facility; ([0074] “Receiving user interface … indicate the number of available beds the receiving facility has indicated they have available. In some embodiments, displacing facilities request an indication of a number of available beds from one or more receiving facilities” where a displacing facility requesting a number of available beds comprises transmitting a signal to cause a device to display a first prompt to provide the information associated with the receiving facility”)
receive, via the communication session, responsive to acceptance of the first prompt by the at least one device via one or more interactions with the first prompt displayed by the at least one device, the information associated with the receiving facility; ([0078] “receiving user interface 800 notifies displacing facilities of the update to the number of available beds”)
update the graphical user interface to display the information associated with the receiving facility; ([0078] At step 930, receiving user interface 800 updates a number of available beds displayed to displacing facilities”)
receive, via the graphical user interface a second request to transfer the resident from the displacement facility to the receiving facility; ([0075] “Receiving facilities 810-830 lists the names and/or other information associated with each displacing facility that is transferring residents to the receiving facility.” Where listing the multiple names of transfers denotes the second request to transfer the residents from one facility to another; see optionally [0101] “a request is received to transfer a resident. In some embodiments, step 1410 includes a determination of priority (e.g., time, location, need, etc.). In some embodiments, the priority is user customizable. For example, a user may create a priority rule to reflect a term included in a mutual occupancy agreement between a displacing facility and a receiving facility. For further example, a first request for transfer from a first displacing facility located next to a severe weather event may have priority over a second request for transfer from a second displacing facility located remotely of a severe weather event. In various embodiments, the request includes information associated with the resident and the transfer” where the priority list denotes a continuous request system between facilities, prompting and completing transfers)
provide, via the communication session to the at least one devices, a second prompt to accept a transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility; (see [0063] “The resident displacement manager enables other LTC facilities (e.g., receiving facilities, etc.) to indicate openings (e.g., available beds, etc.) and/or accept residents for transfer.” Above for prompting the completion of a transfer; see also [0101] “a request is received to transfer a resident. In some embodiments, step 1410 includes a determination of priority (e.g., time, location, need, etc.). In some embodiments, the priority is user customizable. For example, a user may create a priority rule to reflect a term included in a mutual occupancy agreement between a displacing facility and a receiving facility. For further example, a first request for transfer from a first displacing facility located next to a severe weather event may have priority over a second request for transfer from a second displacing facility located remotely of a severe weather event. In various embodiments, the request includes information associated with the resident and the transfer” where the priority list denotes a continuous request system between facilities, prompting and completing transfers)
receive, via the communication session, from the at least one device, an indication of acceptance of the transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility; ([0005] “receive, from one or more receiving facilities, an indication of a number of available beds, display, to the displacing facility, the number of available beds, receive, from the receiving facility, an indication of a transfer of a resident to one of the available beds, and electronically send one or more records associated with the resident to the receiving facility.”; see optionally [0081] “a user may remove a health care professional and a resident assigned to a particular receiving facility and reassign them to a different receiving facility.” Is a second indication to reject or accept a transfer)
and transmit, via the network, responsive to the acceptance of the transfer of the resident from the displacing facility to receiving facility to the mobile response unit, a signal to cause to the mobile response unit to provide the at least one record associated with the resident to the at least one device. ([0005] “receive, from one or more receiving facilities, an indication of a number of available beds, display, to the displacing facility, the number of available beds, receive, from the receiving facility, an indication of a transfer of a resident to one of the available beds, and electronically send one or more records associated with the resident to the receiving facility.”)
Regarding claim 16, Glidewell teaches all of the limitations of claim 15. Glidewell also teaches:
wherein the instructions cause the processor to receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility by: ([0063] “The resident displacement manager transfers the medical records associated with the transferred resident to the receiving facility.” Where the resident displacement manager is executed on the mobile response unit)
receiving, via the network, a plurality of signals from the mobile response unit to display the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility; ([0080] “Displacement user interface 1000 includes one or more resident profiles 1002, one or more staff profiles 1004, one or more receiving facilities 1006 and upload 1040”) wherein the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is displayed responsive to the mobile device continuously receiving the plurality of signals such that the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is displayed without storing the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility in the memory of the mobile device ([0099] “step 1320 includes storing the data in memory. In some embodiments, step 1320 is omitted and/or the data is only stored in the cloud” and [0056] “a LTC facility or other institution capable of providing care for LTC residents may indicate a number of available beds and a user using resident displacement circuit 515 may assign, via an interface, one or more LTC residents to the available beds. For example, a first LTC facility in Fort Lauderdale may indicate via a website a number of available beds and a second LTC facility experiencing a natural disaster in Tampa may assign its residents to the available beds via resident displacement circuit 515.” where retrieving local data is retrieving the resident records from a displacing facility so as to display and omitting locally storing the data is withholding the storage of the information from the mobile device and can continuously display the records associated with a displacing facility)
Regarding claim 17, Glidewell teaches all of the limitations of claim 15. Glidewell also teaches:
wherein the instructions cause the processor to: receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, a third prompt to provide identification information of a user; ([0044] “Input device 320 facilitates a user to provide input to mobile response unit 100. Input device may be… any other input device known in the art.” Where input occurs via a network and the input is user information; see also [0101] “a request is received to transfer a resident. In some embodiments, step 1410 includes a determination of priority (e.g., time, location, need, etc.). In some embodiments, the priority is user customizable. For example, a user may create a priority rule to reflect a term included in a mutual occupancy agreement between a displacing facility and a receiving facility. For further example, a first request for transfer from a first displacing facility located next to a severe weather event may have priority over a second request for transfer from a second displacing facility located remotely of a severe weather event. In various embodiments, the request includes information associated with the resident and the transfer” where the priority list denotes a continuous request system between facilities, prompting and completing transfers of residents alongside their identification information))
receive, via the graphical user interface, the identification information of the user; ([0080] “In some embodiments, a user manually enters resident data (e.g., by interacting with upload 1040, etc.)” where the input [i.e., receiving identification information of the user] is into a user interface)
and provide, via the network, to the mobile response unit, the identification information of the user; wherein the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility is provided by the mobile response unit responsive to authentication of the identification information of the user. ([0102] “At step 1420, resident data is retrieved… In some embodiments, one or more authentication methods (e.g., passwords, keys, etc.) are included … to allow access to the data.” Identification information protects the associated resident record with authentication)
Regarding claim 18, Glidewell teaches all of the limitations of claim 15. Glidewell also teaches:
wherein the mobile response unit is in communication with the at least one device via the network, and wherein the instructions cause the processor to: ([0003] “the system including a router configured to connect to one or more wireless network connections a transmitter configured to connect one or more user devices to the one or more network connections” where the system comprises a mobile response unit in communication with user devices)
provide, via the network, to the mobile response unit, the first request to provide the information associated with the receiving facility; ([0100] “At step 1410, a request is received to transfer a resident.” where the request to transfer a resident encompasses a first request for information associated with a receiving facility)
and receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, a plurality of signals to display the information associated with the receiving facility without storing the information associated with the receiving facility in the memory of the mobile device. (see “a request to receive to transfer a resident” above, where the system’s [comprising the mobile response unit] request [i.e., a plurality of signal to display the information] occurs over a network)
Regarding claim 20, Glidewell teaches:
A system, comprising: a mobile response unit configured to provide a network, ([0072] “the systems and methods described herein may be and/or be implemented on and/or at least partially by one or more computing devices ( e.g., circuits, servers, databases, microprocessors, etc.)” where the computing devices includes the mobile computing unit) wherein the mobile response unit is in communication with at least one device associated with a receiving facility ([0056] “Resident displacement circuit 515 facilitates a user to track and manage a location of one or more individuals associated with a LTC facility” where tracking the location of an individual associated occurs via a device)
and a mobile device, comprising: ([Figure 2] “Mobile response unit” is a mobile device)
a network circuit structured to communicate data over the network; ([Figure 2] “processing circuit (140)” is a network circuit)
a processor; ([Figure 2] “processor (142)”)
and a memory coupled to the processor, the memory having a mobile disaster relief application stored thereon, the mobile disaster relief application including instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: ([Figure 5] “application circuit” hosts a mobile disaster application on the memory (140)
establish, via the network, a connection with the mobile response unit; ([0003] “the system including a router configured to connect to one or more wireless network connections a transmitter configured to connect one or more user devices to the one or more network connections” where the system comprises a mobile response unit in communication with user devices)
receive, via the network, from the mobile response unit, at least one record associated with a resident of a displacing facility; ([0062] “record management circuit 550 interfaces with any of the modules and/or components of mobile response unit 100… record management circuit 550 may automatically retrieve EMR data associated with residents of a LTC facility from a third party EMR provider serve and store the EMR data in local database 144 and/or remote database 210. In some embodiments, record management circuit 550 periodically (e.g., daily, hourly, etc.) backs up mobile response unit 100 to remote database 210. In various embodiments, a record management circuit” where the backed up EMR data from the mobile response unit are received records associated with a resident of a displacing facility)
display, via a graphical user interface on the mobile device, ([Figure 3A] “display” has a graphical user interface; see also Figure 3A’s “user interface” incorporating the display) the at least one record associated with the resident of the displacing facility; ([0006] “ In some embodiments, wherein the resident displacement manager facilitates editing of the one or more records and creation of new records” displays records from a resident associated with a displacing facility; see also “displaying the number of available beds includes displaying an indication of a receiving facility of the one or more receiving facilities associated with each of the available beds. In some embodiments, wherein displaying the number of available beds includes displaying characteristics associated with each of the available beds” where displaying a characteristic associated with each of the available beds attributes a record associated with the resident of a displacing facility)
receive, via one or more interactions with the graphical user interface, ([0070]” resident displacement manager 664 includes a receiving user interface 800”) a first request to provide information associated with the receiving facility, wherein the information includes a number of available beds at the receiving facility; ([0005] “receive, from one or more receiving facilities, an indication of a number of available beds, display, to the displacing facility, the number of available beds, receive, from the receiving facility, an indication of a transfer of a resident to one of the available beds, and electronically send one or more records associated with the resident to the receiving facility.”,
establish, responsive to receipt of the first request, a communication session with the at least one device via the network provided by the mobile response unit; ([0030] “mobile response unit 100 may provide a network connection (e.g., internet access, satellite connection, etc.). In some embodiments, the network connection facilitates uninterrupted access to electronic medical records (“EMR”)”; see also [0042] “external server 220 may be a receiving computing system of a LTC facility. In some embodiments, external server 220 includes external database 222. External database 222 may include emergency contacts, emergency procedures, EMRs, payroll data and/or any other data. For example, external database 222 may include electronic medication administration records (“eMAR”), electronic treatment authorization request records (“eTAR”), and/or activities of daily living records (“ADL”)” where the network connection allows a communication between a receiving facility and another facility in response to an information request)
transmit, via the communication session, one or more signals to cause the at least one device to display a first prompt to provide the information associated with the receiving facility; ([0074] “Receiving user interface … indicate the number of available beds the receiving facility has indicated they have available. In some embodiments, displacing facilities request an indication of a number of available beds from one or more receiving facilities” where a displacing facility requesting a number of available beds comprises transmitting a signal to cause a device to display a first prompt to provide the information associated with the receiving facility”)
receive, via the communication session, responsive to acceptance of the first prompt by the at least one device via one or more interactions with the first prompt displayed by the at least one device, the information associated with the receiving facility; ([0078] “receiving user interface 800 notifies displacing facilities of the update to the number of available beds”)
update the graphical user interface to display the information associated with the receiving facility; ([0078] At step 930, receiving user interface 800 updates a number of available beds displayed to displacing facilities”)
receive, via the graphical user interface, ([0070]” resident displacement manager 664 includes a receiving user interface 800”) a second request to transfer the resident from the displacing facility to the receiving facility; ([0075] “Receiving facilities 810-830 lists the names and/or other information associated with each displacing facility that is transferring residents to the receiving facility.” Where listing the multiple names of transfers denotes the second request to transfer the residents from one facility to another; see optionally [0101] “a request is received to transfer a resident. In some embodiments, step 1410 includes a determination of priority (e.g., time, location, need, etc.). In some embodiments, the priority is user customizable. For example, a user may create a priority rule to reflect a term included in a mutual occupancy agreement between a displacing facility and a receiving facility. For further example, a first request for transfer from a first displacing facility located next to a severe weather event may have priority over a second request for transfer from a second displacing facility located remotely of a severe weather event. In various embodiments, the request includes information associated with the resident and the transfer” where the priority list denotes a continuous request system between facilities, prompting and completing transfers)
provide, via the communication session, to the at least one device, a second prompt to accept a transfer of the resident to from the displacing facility the receiving facility, wherein the one or more user devices are associated with the receiving facility; (see [0063] “The resident displacement manager enables other LTC facilities (e.g., receiving facilities, etc.) to indicate openings (e.g., available beds, etc.) and/or accept residents for transfer.” Above for prompting the completion of a transfer; see also [0101] “a request is received to transfer a resident. In some embodiments, step 1410 includes a determination of priority (e.g., time, location, need, etc.). In some embodiments, the priority is user customizable. For example, a user may create a priority rule to reflect a term included in a mutual occupancy agreement between a displacing facility and a receiving facility. For further example, a first request for transfer from a first displacing facility located next to a severe weather event may have priority over a second request for transfer from a second displacing facility located remotely of a severe weather event. In various embodiments, the request includes information associated with the resident and the transfer” where the priority list denotes a continuous request system between facilities, prompting and completing transfers)
receive, via the communication session, from the at least one device, an indication to accept the transfer of the resident to the receiving facility; ([0005] “receive, from one or more receiving facilities, an indication of a number of available beds, display, to the displacing facility, the number of available beds, receive, from the receiving facility, an indication of a transfer of a resident to one of the available beds, and electronically send one or more records associated with the resident to the receiving facility.”)Is a second indication to reject or accept a transfer)
and transmit, via the network, to the mobile response unit, a signal to cause to the mobile response unit to provide the record associated with the resident of the displacing facility to the user device of the one or more user devices. (([0005] “receive, from one or more receiving facilities, an indication of a number of available beds, display, to the displacing facility, the number of available beds, receive, from the receiving facility, an indication of a transfer of a resident to one of the available beds, and electronically send one or more records associated with the resident to the receiving facility.”; see also [0072] “receiving user interface 800 may be accessible from a website and/or a mobile device application... receiving user interface 800 may display and/or enable access to the medical records associated with the residents they are receiving” where the receiving user interface [i.e., a component of the mobile response unit], in communication with the mobile device application [i.e., user device], provides the record of the resident of the displacing facility to the user device of one or more devices via a network signal)
Regarding claim 21, Glidewell teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Glidewell also teaches:
wherein the instructions cause the processor to: identify, prior to receipt of the first request, one or more receiving facilities within a threshold distance of the mobile device that is different than a threshold distance of the displacing facility; ([0073] “In some embodiments, the number of available beds is based on location. For example, the resident displacement manager may facilitate an indication, by displacing facilities and/or receiving facilities, of a distance threshold, and the resident displacement manager may calculate a number of available beds based on the distance threshold.” Where the number of beds is predetermined prior to receipt of the request and uses location from the resident displacement manager is calculated to determine a threshold of the receiving facility; see also ([0072] “receiving user interface 800 may be accessible from a website and/or a mobile device application”))
and display, on the graphical user interface and responsive to identification of the one or more receiving facilities, one or more graphical elements to represent the one or more receiving facilities, wherein the one or more receiving facilities include the receiving facility; wherein the one or more interactions with the graphical user interface includes a selection of a graphical element of the one or more graphical elements which represents the receiving facility. ([Figure 10] where the receiving facilities are displayed via graphical elements and includes a selection of graphical elements to include the receiving facilities)
Regarding claim 22, Glidewell teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Glidewell also teaches:
wherein the mobile device is positioned at one or more locations different than a location of the mobile response unit, a location of the receiving facility, and a location of the displacing facility. ([0056] “Resident displacement circuit 515 facilitates a user to track and manage a location of one or more individuals associated with a LTC facility. In various embodiments, resident displacement circuit 515 is configured to manage the relocation of LTC residents and/or staff during an emergency and/or natural disaster” where the resident displacement circuit [i.e., a mobile response unit] tracks the relocation of individuals during a natural disaster [i.e., one or more locations different than a location of the mobile response unit, a location of the receiving facility, and a location of the displacing facility] via a user device [i.e., a mobile device])
Regarding claim 23, Glidewell teaches all of the limitations of claim 1. Glidewell also teaches:
wherein the mobile response unit is configured to operate as an intermediate device ([0031] “In some embodiments, device interface 102 facilitates actions between mobile response unit 100 and external devices”) to facilitate an exchange of data between the mobile device and the at least one device ([0036] “communication interface 130 bonds multiple cellular networks together to provide a higher bandwidth signal. Additionally, or alternatively, communication interface 130 may be a redundant connection. For example, communication interface 130 may be bonded and/or failover wireless internet connection” where a failover wireless internet connection comprises connecting a mobile device with another network device with the ability to exchange data; during a power outage or a natural disaster proximate to the displacing facility. ([0034] “In some embodiments, power source 110 receives and stores electrical power from a power source for future use (e.g., in a remote location where electricity is not readily available, during a power outage, etc.). In some embodiments, power source 110 includes a solar panel system, a combustion generator (e.g., a gasoline-fueled generator, etc.), a power supply (e.g., a 120 Volt (“V”) AC wall charger, a 220V AC wall charger, a 240V AC wall charger, etc.), a 12V car adapter, a battery, and/or an external energy storage source (e.g., an energy tank, a battery, etc.). The stored electrical power may power mobile response unit 100 and/or a load device (e.g., a smartphone, a tablet, an E-reader, a computer, a laptop, a smartwatch, a portable and rechargeable battery pack, appliances, lights, display monitors, an electrical grid of a building, etc.) to at least one of charge and power the load device.” Where support occurs via a power outage; see optionally [0064] “the resident displacement manger may locally store medical records (e.g., retrieve and maintain an offline copy, facilitate live charting, etc.) to maintain access to the medical records even during a connectivity outage with the electronic medical record system (e.g., due to natural disaster, etc.” Where supporting the power and memory requirements necessary for exchanging data comprises facilitating an exchange of data between the mobile device)
Response to Arguments
Regarding page 11-12, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the claim is not directed to an abstract idea and further argues that, if it were directed to an abstract idea, that this abstract idea is practically applied by adding meaningful contributions to a judicial exception by adding particular elements to a technological environment. Examiner maintains that the material is directed towards ineligible subject matter, as described in the aforementioned rejection regarding 35 U.S.C. 101.
Regarding page 12, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of the amended claim language
Additional Considerations
The prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure can be found on PTO-892 of the prior office action dated May 5th, 2025. In addition, the following prior art is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Roscow et al. (US20080312975) describes a system for managing bed assignments for a healthcare facility.
Conroy (US20120088466) describes an emergency response communication system that provides patient information, location and methods of communicating with the user.
Cromp et al. (US20060211404) describes an incident command system for inputting incident data to provide a networked accessible database.
Mancine et al. (CA2913358) discloses a system that received prioritizes, and tracks referral information across departmental facilities.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.A.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3685
/KAMBIZ ABDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3685