DETAILED ACTION
Note: The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8, 12, and 15-19 in the reply filed on January 12, 2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365 is acknowledged. The prior-filed applications (62/247778 filed on 10/29/15; 62/396240 filed on 9/19/16; 15/339870 filed on 10/31/16; and 16/235314 filed on 12/28/18) are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 12, 15, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cormier et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2015/0335267 A1) (hereinafter “Cormier”), Martino et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2013/0303929 A1) (hereinafter “Martino”), and Giron et al. (US PG Pub. No. 2005/0177056 A1) (hereinafter “Giron”).
With respect to claims 1 and 16, Cormier teaches a handheld breath analysis device and method, comprising: a breath input port comprising a mouthpiece that enables a user to exhale a breath sample into the handheld breath analysis device (user exhaled breath via mouthpiece 102, see Fig. 1); a valve fluidly coupled to the breath input port (4-way valve 105 coupled downstream of mouthpiece 102, see Fig. 1), the valve switchable between a first position in which the breath sample exhaled into the breath input port is vented from the handheld breath analysis device
However, Cormier does not teach a cartridge insertion port configured to receive a cartridge comprising a reaction chamber containing an interactant; a pressure sensor configured to detect an initiation of exhalation into the breath input port; and the controller further configured to control a timing with which the valve is switched from the first position to the second position based at least partly on an amount of time transpired since initiation of exhalation is detected using the pressure sensor.
Martino teaches a cartridge insertion port configured to receive a cartridge comprising a reaction chamber containing an interactant (abstract “Reactivity of the analytes with the array is increased by advance oxidizing and/or heating the analytes”; par.0016 “chemoresponsive colorants”; par.0019 “colorimetric sensor array cartridge 20… spectral response characteristic changed when exposed to bacteria-produced analytes in the exhaled mammalian breath”; par.0022 “oxidizer 31 and/or 34”; par.0028 “heaters 66… for heating the bacteria-produced analytes… thereby increasing the reactivity”).
Giron teaches a pressure sensor configured to detect an initiation of exhalation into the breath input port; and the controller further configured to control a timing with which the valve is switched from the first position to the second position based at least partly on an amount of time transpired since initiation of exhalation is detected using the pressure sensor (abstract “collects samples in separate switchable containers, either at predetermined time intervals, or in response to an automatic stimulus, which could be related to the breath content itself, or to another physiological signal”; par.0079 “the breath from the input tube is passed into a pressure sensor 34, whose output signal is processed by the controller 14, and which is operable to switch the solenoid valve 18 to collect or discard part of the breath sample”).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art (“PHOSITA”) when the invention was filed to modify Cormier to incorporate a cartridge comprising a reaction chamber containing an interactant for the purpose of increasing reactivity of bacteria-produced analytes in collected exhaled breath, as evidence by Martino (abstract; par.0016, 19, 28). Additionally, PHOSITA would have had predictable success modifying Cormier to incorporate a pressure sensor (in place of Cormier’s flow meter 103) for controlling a timing of Cormier’s valve 105 in an alternative manner that would allow for collecting part of the breath sample which arises from a pulmonary output pressure above a predetermined value, as evidence by Giron (par.0079). Lastly, PHOSITA would have had added motivation to combine Cormier, Martino, and Giron since all these teachings relate to the same narrow field of endeavor, i.e. utilizing valves to collect particular portions of exhaled breath (e.g. alveolar breath) for subsequent analyte analysis.
With respect to claim 2, Giron teaches further comprising a temperature sensor positioned along an influent flow path between the breath input port and the valve, the temperature sensor connected to the controller (par.0034-35 “Alternatively and preferably, the predetermined times may be determined by at least… temperature”). Therefore, PHOSITA would have had predictable success modifying Cormier to incorporate a temperature sensor as a means for directing samples of breath for collection prior to analysis, as evidence by Giron (par.0034-35).
With respect to claim 3, Cormier teaches further comprising a gas sensor positioned along an influent flow path between the breath input port and the valve, the gas sensor connected to the controller and configured to measure a particular type of gas in exhaled breath samples (par.0035 “capnometer 104 detects… CO2”).
With respect to claim 4, Martino teaches further comprising: a light emitting diode positioned to illuminate the reaction chamber of the cartridge through a transparent window of the cartridge; and a photodiode positioned to measure light from the light emitting diode that is reflected from the reaction chamber (par.0019, 29). Therefore, PHOSITA would have had predictable success modifying Cormier to incorporate a light emitting diode, photodiode, etc. in the manner recited in order to measure bacteria-produced analytes in exhaled mammalian breath, as evidence by Martino.
With respect to claims 6 and 18, Cormier teaches further comprising a status indicator that notifies a user that initiation of exhalation is detected (par.0030 “user interface display 207 for displaying Apparatus status information”). Although Cormier does not explicitly teach that the user is notified as to initiation of exhalation is detected, this would be obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed as it is widely known in capnograph devices to provide indication (e.g., via LED) to the user of initiation of collection breadth.
With respect to claim 7, Martino teaches the handheld breath analysis device of claim 1, in combination with the cartridge (abstract; par.0016, 19, 28). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed to modify Cormier to incorporate a cartridge comprising for the purpose of increasing reactivity of bacteria-produced analytes in collected exhaled breath, as evidence by Martino (abstract; par.0016, 19, 28)
With respect to claim 8, Cormier teaches wherein the cartridge is a multi-chamber cartridge that is slidable between multiple positions in the cartridge insertion port, each position placing a respective chamber of the multi-chamber cartridge in fluid communication with the breath input port (4-way valve 105, see Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 12, Giron teaches the pressure sensor is positioned along a flow path between the breath input port and the valve (pressure sensor 34 is positioned along a flow path between the breath input port and valve 18, see Fig. 2A). Therefore, PHOSITA would have had predictable success modifying Cormier to incorporate a pressure sensor (in place of Cormier’s flow meter 103) for controlling a timing of Cormier’s valve 105 in an alternative manner that would allow for collecting a part of the breath sample which arises from a pulmonary output pressure above a predetermined value, as evidence by Giron (par.0079).
With respect to claims 15 and 19, Cormier teaches wherein the controller is further configured to determine a volume of breath exhaled by the user based at least in part on the amount of time transpired since initiation of exhalation (par.0021, 23, 36).
Claims 5 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cormier, Martino, Giron, as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, in further view of Rigas (US PG Pub. No. 2015/0250407 A1) (hereinafter “Rigas”).
With respect to claims 5 and 17, Cormier, Martino, Giron teach a handheld breath analysis device and method, as established above.
However, Cormier, Martino, Giron do not teach the limitations further recited in claims 5 and 17.
Rigas teaches further comprising a wireless transceiver, wherein the handheld breath analysis device is configured to communicate with a smartphone using the wireless transceiver (par.0055).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to PHOSITA when the invention was filed to modify Cormier, Martino, Giron to incorporate a wireless transceiver in order to transmit data to an external computer (or smartphone), as evidence by Rigas (par.0055). Examiner also takes official notice that wirelessly transmitting physiological information (from a medical device, wearable monitor, etc.) to a user’s smartphone is widely known.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, 12, and 15-19 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,806,128. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are obvious variants of one another.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/PUYA AGAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791