Claim Objections
Claims 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 2, 4, 8 and 20, the phrase “a first pair of sides” should be replaced by --a first side--.
In claim 1, lines 2, 5 and, the phrase “a second pair of sides” should be replaced by --a second side--.
In claim 1, line 20, the term “both” should be replaced by --two--.
In claim 1, line 24 the phrase “pair of sides” should be replaced by --side--.
In claim 7, line 2, the phrase “first and second pair of to” should be replaced by --first and second sides--.
In claim 10, line 3, the phrase “pair of” should be deleted.
In claims 12 and 19, the term “whereas” should be replaced by --where as--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 1810. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 13 use the phrase first bottom portion and second bottom portion to refer to the bottom of the sides and the bottoms of the projections. It is unclear when each is being referenced. The language should be clarified.
Claims 1 and 13 describe wherein the projections move substantially independently from the first and second sides. However, claims 10 and 17 and the Specification describe wherein the projections have low degrees of springing and move substantially with the sides of the clip. It is unclear how these descriptions are consistent.
Regarding claim 6 it is unclear what structures constitute the stretch web. Paragraph 51 of the Specification appears to describe the web as a hole. However, the Specification and claim 6 describe wherein material from this hole is displaced for formation of the bends. It is unclear how a hole has material that is displaced in to bends.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the barbs" in lines 1 and 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 2002/0017009) in view of Boden et al. (US 1,965,520).
Regarding claim 1, Smith et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
a first pair of sides (14) and a second pair of sides (16) laterally offset from each other and joined at a head portion (20),
wherein the first pair of sides forms a first bottom portion (18) on a first opposite end of the head portion,
wherein the second pair of sides forms a second bottom portion (18) on a second opposite end of the head portion,
wherein the first pair of sides and the second pair of sides form a clip opening (Fig. 2 as shown) at an opposite end of the head portion;
a first projection (22) is coupled to the head portion,
a second projection (22) is coupled to the head portion,
wherein the first projection is between the first pair of sides and wherein the second projection is between the second pair of sides (Fig. 2 shows wherein the projection is within/between each side);
wherein the first projection and the second projection move substantially independently from the first pair of sides and the second pair of sides (the cutouts to form 22 allow for independent movement);
wherein the first bottom portion has a width more than a width of the first projection coupled to the head portion; and the second bottom portion has a width more than a width of the second projection coupled to the head portion (Fig. 2 as shown); and
wherein a first bend along the width of the first bottom portion of the first projection, and a second bend along the width of the second bottom portion of the second projection engage a slot in a chassis (Fig. 8 shows wherein the bent portion engages the edge of the slot 40).
Smith et al. fails to disclose wherein the first and second bottom portion are more than twice a width of the projections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a bottom portion more than twice a width of the projections to ensure the structural strength of the clip such that the cutouts for the projections do not significantly weaken the overall structure. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Smith et al. further fails to disclose wherein the first and second projection is coupled along a width of the first and second bottom portion, such that both ends of the first projection are affixed to the first pair of sides.
Boden et al. teaches a projection (12) affixed at opposed ends (Fig. 1 as shown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the projection of Smith is limited in its strength by the resilience of the material and anchoring it at both ends as taught by Boden et al. would result in a stiffer projection to more securely fit the clip to a slot.
Regarding claim 2, Smith et al. further disclose one or more pairs of barbs (34) coupled to the first and second pair of sides, wherein the barbs are configured to dig into a blade, wherein the blade is configured to be coupled to a panel, wherein the fastener clip is configured to be secured over the blade based at least upon the barbs being configured to dig into the blade upon the fastener clip being pushed over the blade (Fig. 5 as shown).
Regarding claims 3 and 21, Smith et al. further disclose wherein as the clip is inserted such that the first projection and the second projection engage the slot of the chassis (Fig. 8 as shown), the head portion and the barbs spring to allow the first and second pair of sides to compress toward each other (the device as shown in Fig. 8 performs in this manner); and as the first bend and the second bend passes into the slot the head portion springs the first and second pair of sides outwardly until the bottom portion of the first projection and a second bend along the width of the second bottom portion of the second projection engages the slot when the fastener clip is in an engaged position (Fig. 8 as shown).
Regarding claim 4, the combination device of Smith et al. and Boden et al. further disclose wherein the first projection and the second projection do not substantially bend (the projections anchored at both ends in Fig. 1 would not experience substantial bending).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Smith et al. further discloses wherein each of the first projection and the second projection are tapered from a narrow width at the head portion to a wide width at the first and second respective bottom portion (Fig. 9 as shows wherein the projections are narrow at the head most portion and extend widest in a mid-portion towards the bottom portion).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Smith et al. further discloses a stretch web (24) formed such that as the first bend and the second bend is formed, material from the stretch web is displaced to form the first bend and the second bend (The method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight.).
Regarding claim 7, Smith et al. further disclose wherein as the clip is inserted into the slot of the chassis, the head portion springs to allow the first and second pair of to compress toward each other (The clip shown in Fig. 2 can operate in this manner).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Smith et al. further discloses wherein the fastener clip is configured to couple the chassis to the panel based at least upon the fastener clip being configured to be secured to a blade and to the slot in the chassis (Fig. 8 as shown).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, the combination of Smith et al. and Boden et al. further disclose wherein a blade comprises one or more flanges that are configured to add rigidity to the blade, and wherein the flanges are configured to guide the clip onto the blade (the combination clip as claimed can be used with a blade as described herein).
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Smith et al. further disclose wherein the first projection and the second projection are configured to move substantially with the first and second pair of sides of the clip (Fig. 2 as shown).
Regarding claims 11 and 18, Smith et al. further disclose wherein the barbs (34) have bent tips such that as the projections engage the slot of the chassis, the bent barbs are configured to bend in response to the clip being inserted into the slot and to then bend back to original positions of the bent barbs (Figs. 1 and 2 show wherein the barbs are bent and are capable of bending in response to being inserted into a slot).
Regarding claims 12 and 19, Smith et al. further disclose wherein the head portion further comprising a channel whereas the channel engages the blade to engage a top portion of the blade to maintain spring engagement (Fig. 5 as shown).
Regarding claim 13, Smith et al. disclose an apparatus comprising:
a chassis (42) comprising a slot (40);
a panel comprising a blade (36);
a fastener clip comprising:
a first pair of sides (14) and a second pair of sides (16) laterally offset from each other and joined at a head portion (20),
wherein the first pair of sides forms a first bottom portion (18) on a first opposite end of the head portion,
wherein the second pair of sides forms a second bottom portion (18) on a second opposite end of the head portion,
wherein the first pair of sides and the second pair of sides form a clip opening (Fig. 2 as shown) at an opposite end of the head portion;
one or more pairs of barbs (34) coupled to the first and second pair of sides, wherein the barbs are configured to dig into the blade, wherein the blade is configured to be coupled to the panel, wherein the fastener clip is configured to be secured over the blade based at least upon the barbs being configured to dig into the blade upon the fastener clip being pushed over the blade (Fig. 5 as shown);
a first projection (22) is coupled to the head portion,
a second projection (22) is coupled to the head portion,
wherein the first projection is between the first pair of sides and wherein the second projection is between the second pair of sides (Fig. 2 shows wherein the projection is within or between each side),
wherein the first projection and the second projection move substantially independently from the first pair of sides and the second pair of sides (the cutouts to form 22 allow for independent movement);
wherein the first bottom portion has a width more than a width of first projection coupled to the head portion; and the second bottom portion has a width more than twice a width of the second projection coupled to the head portion (Fig. 2 as shown); and
wherein a first bend along the width of the first bottom portion portions of the first projection, projections and a second bend along the width of the second bottom portion of the second projection engage a slot in a the chassis to secure the clip to the slot (Fig. 8 shows wherein the bent portion engages the edge of the slot 40).
Smith et al. fails to disclose wherein the first and second projection are coupled along a width of the first and second bottom portion, such that both ends of the first and second projections are affixed to the first and second pair of sides.
Boden et al. teaches a projection (12) affixed at opposed ends (Fig. 1 as shown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize the projection of Smith is limited in its strength by the resilience of the material and anchoring it at both ends as taught by Boden et al. would result in a stiffer projection to more securely fit the clip to a slot.
Regarding claim 14, Smith et al. further disclose wherein as the clip is inserted such that first projection and the second projection projections engage the slot of the chassis, the head portion and the barbs spring to allow the first and second pair of sides to compress toward each other (the clip shown in Fig. 2 would operate in this manner).
Regarding claim 22, Smith et al. further discloses wherein the first projection and the second projection extend outwardly beyond the first and second pair of sides (Figs. 1 and 2 as shown.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 19 May 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3677