DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawal of Rejections
The response and amendments filed on 07/13/2026 are acknowledged. Any previously applied minor objections and/or minor rejections (i.e., formal matters), not explicitly restated here for brevity, have been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s formality correction and/or amendments. For the purposes of clarity of the record, the reasons for the Examiner’s withdrawal, and/or maintaining, if applicable, of the substantive or essential claim rejections are detailed directly below and/or in the Examiner’s Response to Arguments section.
Briefly, the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for indefiniteness have been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. The previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for written description have been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s amendments; however, new grounds of rejection are set forth below.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “recombinant methioninase-producing one or more bacterial strains” should instead read “one or more recombinant methioninase-producing bacterial strains”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “producing of recombinant methioninase” should instead read “production of recombinant methioninase”. Appropriate correction is required.
New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, New Matter
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-2 recite “one or more bacterial strains”; however, there is no support for more than one bacterial strain in the instant specification as originally filed. The instant specification only teaches E. coli JM109 as the bacterial strain within the administered composition, and does not teach an administered composition with more than one bacterial strain. Therefore, recitation of more than one bacterial strain is new matter and should be removed from the instant claims (see, e.g., MPEP 608.04).
Claim 3 recites “about 1010 colony-forming units (CFU)/100 µl twice daily”; however, there is no support for “about” in the instant specification as originally filed. The instant specification only teaches 1010 colony-forming units (CFU)/100 µl twice daily. Therefore, recitation of “about” is new matter and should be removed from the instant claims (see, e.g., MPEP 608.04).
Claims 3-6 are included in this rejection for depending on rejected claims 1-2 and failing to rectify the noted deficiency.
Examiner’s Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(a), written description rejections (remarks, pages 10-13), as stated above, all previous 112(a), written description rejections have been withdrawn; however, new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are set forth above.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a), Enablement
Claims 1-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
In re Wands (858 F2d, 721, 727, 8 USPQ 2d 1400, 1404 (Fed Cir. 1988)), the issue of
enablement in molecular biology was considered. It was held that the following factors should be considered to determine whether the claimed invention would require the skilled artisan undue
experimentation:
1) Amount of experimentation necessary;
2) Amount of direction or guidance presented;
3) Presence or absence of working examples;
4) Nature of the invention;
5) State of the prior art;
6) Relative skill of those in the art;
7) Predictability or unpredictability of the art; and
8) Breadth of the claims.
Nature of the invention: The invention is directed towards a method of treating cancer through administration of recombinant methioninase producing bacterial strains.
Breadth of the claims: As claimed, the method of treating cancer comprising orally administering any recombinant methioninase producing bacterial strains in an effective amount.
Amount of direction or guidance presented: The instant specification teaches “a method for treating cancer in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising administering, orally, to a subject, a composition comprising recombinant methioninase producing bacterial strains in an effective amount to release recombinant methioninase in a gut of the subject. The bacterial strains comprise E. coli bacteria having cloned rMETase gene from Pseudomonas putida using plasmid pATG3131. The E. coli bacteria comprise the E. coli JM109 strain. The recombinant methioninase enzyme is released at least in an amount sufficient for treating or controlling growth of a cancer in the subject. The cancer is colon cancer, breast cancer, or any other cancer. The effective amount of the composition is sufficient to allow gut colonization” (see, e.g., instant specification, [0009]). Moreover, the instant specification teaches “The use of E-Coli JM109 is only provided as an example and any such organism can be incorporated into the disclosed composition without departing from the scope of the present invention” (see, e.g., instant specification, [0023]). Therefore, the instant specifications teaches E. coli JM109 as the strain for production of recombinant methioninase, but goes on to state that theoretically the strain for production of recombinant methioninase can be any microorganism.
Moreover, the instant specification states “The disclosed composition may include the E. coli JM109 in safe amounts, or the amounts considered safe for administration to humans. Such an amount can be determined clinically and can be optimized through clinical studies. For example, a tolerability study demonstrated that up to 2×1010 CFU/day of E. coli JM109-rMETase is tolerable. In a separate study, it was found that E. coli JM109-rMETase (1011 CFU/ml), after exposure to Isopropyl β- d-1-thiogalactopyranoside (IPTG), had rMETase activity of 39.7 U/ml, which is about one-tenth of the rMETase usually used for mice (500 U/ml)” (see, e.g., instant specification, [0024]). Therefore, the instant specification does not actually contemplate what the effective amount(s) of the administered composition would be for humans and instead teaches and tests one dose of E. coli JM109-rMETase that was administered in a mouse model with additional testing needed to determine other effective amount(s) of the administered composition.
Presence or absence of working examples: The instant application provides teaches that E. coli JM109 is tolerable at concentrations up to 2x1010 CFU/day (see, e.g., instant specification, [0024]), and that E. coli JM109-rMETase is tolerable at 106, 108, and 1010 CFU/day (see, e.g., instant specification, [0038]). Furthermore, the instant specification teaches administration of “JM109-rMETase cells (1010/100 μl) orally by gavage twice daily (9 a.m. and 5 p.m.) for 14 days” (see, e.g., instant specification, [0033]) and that the E. coli JM109-rMETase significantly inhibits MC-38 tumor growth in C57BL6 mice at a concentration of 1010/100 µl (see, e.g., instant specification, [0039]). Additionally, the instant specification teaches that E. coli JM109-rMETase significantly suppressed the growth of 4T1 tumors compared to control treated mice (see, e.g., instant specification, [0043]), but does not provide a dose or amount of administered JM109-rMETase cells that exhibit anti-cancer properties against 4T1 tumors. Moreover, Applicant only provides these teachings in mice and only tests one amount of JM109-rMETase cells (i.e., 1010/100 μl) within these the mouse models specifically against MC-38 tumors. Effective amount(s) were not contemplated in the instant specification for treatment of cancer in humans.
Based on the Applicant’s disclosure, the Applicant would not be enabled for any recombinant methioninase producing bacterial strains in an effective amount because Applicant only teaches E. coli JM109-rMETase as the recombinant methioninase producing bacterial strain that is administered to mice. Moreover, the instant specification only teaches one amount of E. coli JM109-rMETase (i.e., 1010/100 μl) that inhibits MC-38 tumor growth in C57BL6 mice and teaches that the E. coli JM109-rMETase has to be administered for 14 days for it to be effective (see, e.g., instant specification, [0033]) because the bacteria needs to colonize the GI tract for effective production of rMETase. Therefore, Applicant would only be enabled for administration of E. coli JM109-rMETase at 1010/100 μl for 14 days in mice against MC-38 tumors since the instant specification shows that in order for the administered E. coli JM109-rMETase to be effective against MC-38 tumors in mice, it must be administered for 14 days to allow for bacterial colonization. Moreover, Applicant only tests E. coli JM109-rMETase in mouse models with no extrapolation to human treatment besides stating “Such an amount can be determined clinically and can be optimized through clinical studies” (see, e.g., instant specification, [0024]).
State of the prior art: The prior art does not teach oral administration of E. coli JM109-rMETase for treatment of cancer; however, the prior art does teach production of rMETase by Han (US 2019/0153421; Date of Publication: May 23, 2019), wherein Han teaches “Recombinant L-methionine α-deamino-γ-mercaptopurine lyase (methioninase, METase) [EC 4.4.1.11] from Pseudomonas putida has been previously cloned and was produced in Escherichia coli (AntiCancer, Inc., San Diego, Calif.). The rMETase is a homotetrameric PLP enzyme of 172-kDa molecular mass” (see, e.g., Han, [0033]). Therefore, Han teaches the same method of producing an E. coli strain that expresses rMETase, but does not teach oral administration of the E. coli strain, and instead teaches administration of the rMETase produced by the E. coli strain for the treatment of cancer (see, e.g., Han, [0038]). Similarly, Akita (US Patent No. 6,475,767; Date of Publication: November 5, 2000) teaches methods of producing and cultivating and rMETase expression strain by cloning the rMETase gene into E. coli host strains (see, e.g., Akita, “Cultivation of rMETase Expression Strain”, col 2, lines 50-65). Therefore, like Han, Akita teaches producing rMETase by cloning the rMETase gene into E. coli. Moreover, Han teaches that recombinant methioninase can be orally administered as an anti-cancer agent (see, e.g., Han, claim 1, [0025]-[0026]), and that oral administration of recombinant methioninase is more effective as an anti-cancer agent than intraperitoneal administration (see, e.g., Han, [0025]); therefore, rMETase itself can survive the GI tract. Therefore, based on the teachings of Han, recombinant methioninase can be administered without any concentration of a bacterial strain expressing recombinant methioninase (i.e., recombinant methioninase is administered on its own), wherein the recombinant methioninase will survive the GI tract and enough will be administered to exhibit anti-cancer effects (see, e.g., Han, [0038] & claims 1-8). Therefore, based on the teachings of Han, administration of the E. coli expression strain is not necessary for recombinant methioninase to exhibit anti-cancer effects. Instead, anti-cancer effects can be observed when the rMETase is administered by itself (i.e., without the E. coli expression strain recombinantly producing rMETase).
Furthermore, Fretter teaches “The data show that wild-type E. coli strains and E. coli K-12 are excreted rapidly (98 to 100% within 18 h) in the feces without overall multiplication or death. E. coli X1776 and DP50supF, i.e., strains certified for recombinant DNA experiments underwent rapid death in vivo, such that their excretion in the feces was reduced to approximately 1.1 and 4.7% of the inoculum, respectively” (see, e.g., Fretter, abstract). Achatz teaches that E. coli JM109 is a K12 derived E. coli strain (see, e.g., Achatz, abstract – newly cited). Therefore, the prior art of Fretter, as evidenced by Achatz, supports that the administered E. coli JM109-rMETase will not have enough time to colonize the GI tract of a subject in order to subsequently release enough methioninase to exhibit anti-cancer effects because 98-100% of the administered E. coli strains are expelled in feces within 18 hours. Therefore, based on the prior art, it would not be effective to administer E. coli JM109 for expression of recombinant methioninase in the GI tract since this recombinant microorganism is quickly expelled from the GI tract without being able to colonize to produce rMETase for treatment of cancer.
Overall, the prior art does not teach orally administering an E. coli strain that expresses rMETase for cancer treatment; however, the art does teach generating an E. coli strain for expression of rMETase, wherein the rMETase itself is administered for cancer treatment. Therefore, the prior art shows that an E. coli strain for producing rMETase is not required for rMETase to exhibit anti-cancer properties when orally administered. Moreover, Fretter, as evidenced by Achatz, teaches that wild-type E. coli strains, E. coli K-12, and E. coli strains certified for recombinant DNA experiments, are rapidly excreted in the feces from the GI tract upon oral administration; therefore, the administered E. coli JM109-rMETase strain would be unable to colonize the GI tract of an individual upon oral administration since 98 to 100% of these E. coli strains are expelled in feces within 18 hours (see, e.g., Fretter, abstract). Therefore, based on the prior art, not only are the recombinant E. coli strains not required for effectively administering rMETase to the GI tract to exhibit anti-cancer properties, but the E. coli strain itself would be rapidly excreted from the GI tract without colonization for effective production of rMETase.
Relative skill of those in the art: Based on the state of the prior art, the relative skill of those in the art pertaining to generation of bacterial strains that are engineered to recombinantly express rMETase from Pseudomonas putida and wherein these engineered bacterial strains are orally administered for treatment of cancer is low.
Predictability or unpredictability of the art: The level of unpredictability within the art is high, as there are many types of bacterial strains that can be engineered to recombinantly express rMETase from Pseudomonas putida; however, it is unpredictable as to whether or not these engineered strains will actually result in treatment of cancer. Moreover, the prior art of Han and Akita, as discussed above, primarily centers around expression of rMETase from engineered E. coli strains; however, it is unpredictable as to whether or not other engineered bacterial strains will result in expression of rMETase, like E. coli. Furthermore, the prior art teaches administration of the produced rMETase enzyme to treat cancer (see, e.g., Han, abstract); however, the prior art does not teach administration of the E. coli strain that expresses rMETase; therefore, it is unpredictable how other bacterial strains that are engineered to express rMETase would be tolerated in vivo following oral administration.. Additionally, as discussed above, Fretter teaches “The data show that wild-type E. coli strains and E. coli K-12 are excreted rapidly (98 to 100% within 18 h) in the feces without overall multiplication or death. E. coli X1776 and DP50supF, i.e., strains certified for recombinant DNA experiments underwent rapid death in vivo, such that their excretion in the feces was reduced to approximately 1.1 and 4.7% of the inoculum, respectively” (see, e.g., Fretter, abstract). Therefore, it would be unpredictable if other bacterial strains can be retained within the GI tract to effectively produce rMETase in order to exhibit anti-cancer properties. Additionally, based on the teachings of Fretter, it is unpredictable if the claimed engineered E. coli JM109-rMETase strain would even be retained in the GI tract of a human in order to produce enough rMETase to treat cancer. Further, the specification does not contemplate how cancer(s) can be treated through administration of engineered bacteria expressing rMETase, wherein the engineered bacteria are bacteria other than E. coli. Moreover, the instant specification does not contemplate administration of engineered bacteria expressing rMETase in order to treat cancer(s) in humans; therefore, it is unpredictable if administration of engineered bacteria expressing rMETase would even be effective at producing enough rMETase following oral administration in order to treat cancer. Therefore, the level of unpredictability in within the art is high.
Amount of experimentation necessary: Since there are many bacterial species, in general and which can be genetically engineered to express rMETase, one of ordinary skill in the art would have undue experimentation in order to produce an engineered bacterial strain expressing rMETase that can be orally administered to treat cancer. Moreover, there would undue experimentation to determine if the bacterial strain is even retained within the GI tract upon oral administration, and, if retained, what concentration of the bacteria needs to be administered in order to produce enough methioninase to decrease methionine levels within the gut and inhibit cancer. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have undue experimentation in order to determine whether or not the engineered bacterial strain is tolerated in vivo following oral administration Furthermore, there would be undue experimentation to determine the mouse model teachings can be extrapolated for treatment in humans. Therefore, the amount of experimentation is high.
Examiner’s Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(a), enablement rejection (remarks, pages 13-15), these arguments are not persuasive because one of ordinary skill in the art would have undue experimentation to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention. The claimed invention pertains to any bacteria that can be engineered to recombinantly express rMETase; however, as discussed in the rejection above, the instant specification does not provide support for recombinant expression of rMETase in bacterial strains besides E. coli. The instant specification only provides support for recombinant expression of rMETase in E. coli, and the prior art only teaches E. coli as a host cell for expression of rMETase; therefore, there would be undue experimentation to determine if other bacterial host cells can be engineered to recombinantly express rMETase. Additionally, the prior art does not teach or provide any guidance for oral administration of any bacterial strains, including E. coli, that express rMETase in vivo. The prior art of Chiang does teach that E. coli can be used as a host cell for delivering “cargo” (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 1), but the prior art, in general, does not teach delivery of rMETase in vivo using bacterial host cells. Fretter teaches “The data show that wild-type E. coli strains and E. coli K-12 are excreted rapidly (98 to 100% within 18 h) in the feces without overall multiplication or death. E. coli X1776 and DP50supF, i.e., strains certified for recombinant DNA experiments underwent rapid death in vivo, such that their excretion in the feces was reduced to approximately 1.1 and 4.7% of the inoculum, respectively” (see, e.g., Fretter, abstract). Therefore, there is undue experimentation to determine if the claimed E. coli strain is even being retained within the GI tract in order to produce an effective amount of rMETase to treat cancer. Applicant states in their remarks that “biological systems can be unpredictable” (see, e.g., remarks, page 14), further supporting that there would be undue experimentation for determining if other bacterial strains can be engineered to recombinantly express rMETase, as well as be tolerated for oral administration in vivo without any toxic side effects. Moreover, just because the instant specification shows that E. coli can be engineered to express rMETase within mice does not mean that other bacterial strains can be engineered the same way, using the same methods to express rMETase in vivo; therefore, just because Applicant shows expression in E. coli does not mean this applies to other bacterial strains, which further exemplifies undue experimentation. Moreover, even if a bacterial strain, besides E. coli, can be engineered to express rMETase, there would be undue experimentation to determine the effective dosages for other bacterial strains in vivo for treatment of cancer and if these bacterial strains can colonize the GI tract in order to produce rMETase in an effective amount to treat cancer . Therefore, Applicant is claiming all bacterial host cells that are engineered to express rMETase in vivo; however, based on the guidance set forth in the instant specification pertaining to only E. coli and the prior art not teaching bacterial host cells engineered to express rMETase in vivo there would be undue experimentation to determine if there are other bacterial host cells that can be: i) engineered to effectively express rMETase; ii) administered without toxic side effects in vivo; and iii) engineered to colonize and effectively express rMETase within the gastrointestinal tract of a subject.
New and/or Maintained Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103, Obviousness
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 2019/0153421; Date of Publication: May 23, 2019 – previously cited) in view of Chiang (Metabolic engineering of probiotic Escherichia coli for cytolytic therapy of tumors; 2021 – previously cited) and Martinson (Escherichia coli Residency in the Gut of Healthy Human Adults; 2020 – previously cited).
Han’s general disclosure relates to “A composition and method for lowing serum and plasma levels of methionine by oral administration” (see, e.g., Han, abstract), and “methods for treatment of cancer, including malignant melanoma, by oral administration of the methioninase composition” (see, e.g., Han, abstract). Moreover, Han discloses methods of producing recombinant methioninase (rMETase) from Pseudomonas putida in Escherichia coli (see, e.g., Han, [0033]). Additionally, Han discloses that “Administration of rMETase by intra-peritoneal injection (“ip-rMETase”) inhibits tumor growth in a patient-derived orthotopic xenograft (“PDOX”) model of a BRAF-V600E mutant melanoma. When the efficacy of rMETase in combination with a first-line melanoma drug, temozolomide (TEM), combination therapy of TEM, first line therapy, and rMETase is significantly more efficacious than any of these monotherapies. Additionally, rMETase is efficacious against Ewing's sarcoma in a PDOX model, wherein rMETase effectively reduced tumor growth compared to untreated control mice. Serum and tumor MET levels were lower in the rMETase group, versus controls” (see, e.g., Han, [0021]).
Regarding claims 1 and 7 pertaining to the recombinant methioninase producing bacterial strain, Han teaches “Recombinant L-methionine α-deamino-γ-mercaptopurine lyase (methioninase, METase) [EC 4.4.1.11] from Pseudomonas putida has been previously cloned and was produced in Escherichia coli (AntiCancer, Inc., San Diego, Calif.). The rMETase is a homotetrameric PLP enzyme of 172-kDa molecular mass” (see, e.g., Han, [0033]).
Regarding claim 1 pertaining to treating cancer in a subject in need thereof, Han teaches that “An excessive requirement for methionine appears to be a metabolic defect in cancer, and the only known such metabolic defect shared by cells across most types of cancer cells. This elevated methionine (“MET”) use by cancer cells is termed “methionine dependence (“MET dependence”). It has been previously shown that growth of cancer cells can be selectively arrested by methionine deprivation, such as with recombinant methioninase (“r-METase”)” (see, e.g., Han, [0004]). Moreover, Han teaches “Targeting MET by administration of recombinant methioninase (“rMETase”) can arrest the growth of cancer cells in vitro and in vivo, presumably by decreasing MEI concentration in the tumor interstitial microenvironment” (see, e.g., Han, [0006]). Additionally, Han teaches that “Orally administered rMETase is significantly more effective at inhibiting melanoma tumor growth than intraperitoneal rMETase” (see, e.g., Han, [0038]).
However, Han does not teach: orally administering one or more bacterial strains producing recombinant methioninase in a gastrointestinal tract of the subject (claims 1 and 7).
Chiang’s general disclosure relates to bacteria-mediated delivery of therapeutic proteins to tumors for cancer treatment (see, e.g., Chiang, abstract). Moreover, Chiang discloses that E. coli can be genetically engineered to deliver “a variety of bioactive payloads, notably involving prodrugs-concerted enzymes, short hairpin RNA, cytokines, antigens, antibodies, and bacterial toxins” to cancerous sites for treatment (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 1). Furthermore, Chiang teaches that these engineered bacteria “target tumors where they reside, replicate, and continuously produce the payloads on site. It enables in situ delivery of the produced bioactive molecules to tumor site, which improves the therapeutic efficacy” (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 1). Additionally, Chiang discloses multiple examples of engineered E. coli strains that have been developed to deliver recombinantly expressed proteins to tumor microenvironments in order to eradicate cancer cells (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pgs. 1-2).
Regarding claims 1 and 7 pertaining to administration of a bacterial strain for recombinant expression of proteins, Chiang teaches that tumor-seeking bacteria, such as E. coli, can be engineered to synthesize a variety of therapeutic agents, wherein the engineered bacteria “target tumors where they reside, replicate, and continuously produce the payloads on site. It enables in situ delivery of the produced bioactive molecules to tumor site, which improves the therapeutic efficacy” (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 1). Moreover, Chiang teaches that tumor-targeting bacteria have been genetically instructed to deliver a variety of bioactive payloads, such as prodrug-converted enzymes (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 1). Furthermore, Chiang teaches engineering E. coli Nissle for expression of azurin, a cytotoxic protein that induces cancer cell apoptosis, for treatment of colorectal cancer (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 2). Chiang also teaches engineering E. coli Nissle for expression of hemolysin E for treatment of colorectal cancer (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 2). Overall, Chiang’s teachings show that bacteria, such as E. coli, can engineered as carriers to express and deliver different “bioactive payloads” to tumor sites for cancer treatment.
Martinson’s general disclosure relates to colonization of E. coli within the gut and that repeated exposure to E. coli may promote colonization of E. coli within the gut (see, e.g., Martinson, “Exposure Versus Colonization”, pg. 2). Moreover, Martinson teaches that “E. coli is a species of almost exclusively nonpathogenic bacteria. In cross-sectional studies of human adults, E. coli is a member of the intestinal microbiome of over 90% of individuals” (see, e.g., Martinson, Introduction, pg. 2). Additionally, Martinson discloses at some E. coli serotypes more stably colonize the gut than others (see, e.g., Martinson, “Temporal E. coli Dynamics in the Pre-PCR Era”, pg. 3).
Regarding claims 1 and 7 pertaining to oral administration of an effective amount of E. coli and E. coli gut colonization, Martinson teaches that oral ingestion of E. coli at a concentration of 109 to 1010 CFU twice daily was capable of colonizing the gut of some volunteers (see, e.g., Martinson, “Exposure Versus Colonization”, pg. 2). Therefore, Martinson teaches that E. coli can be orally administered and colonize the gut of humans.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Han’s recombinant methioninase producing E. coli strain, wherein the E. coli strain can be administered orally for recombinant production of anti-cancer proteins within subjects with cancer, as taught by Chiang. One would have been motivated to do so because Chiang teaches tumor-seeking bacteria, such as E. coli, can be engineered to synthesize a variety of therapeutic agents, wherein the engineered bacteria “target tumors where they reside, replicate, and continuously produce the payloads on site. It enables in situ delivery of the produced bioactive molecules to tumor site, which improves the therapeutic efficacy” (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 1). Additionally, Chiang teaches that tumor-targeting bacteria have been genetically instructed to deliver a variety of bioactive payloads, such as prodrug-converted enzymes (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 1). Therefore, Chiang teaches that the E. coli bacteria that are administered can replicate in order to continuously produce bioactive molecules on site. Furthermore, Martinson teaches that E. coli can be orally ingested at a concentration of 109 to 1010 CFU twice daily and that this concentration of E. coli is capable of gut colonization in some individuals (see, e.g., Martinson, “Exposure Versus Colonization”, pg. 2). Moreover, Han teaches cloning rMETase from Pseudomonas putida in E. coli in order to recombinantly express rMETase (see, e.g., Han, [0033]), wherein rMETase can be used to arrest the growth of cancer cells through methionine deprivation (see, e.g., Han, [0004]). Additionally, Han teaches “When compared with ip-rMETase, oral rMETase (“o-rMETase”) is significantly more effective as an anticancer agent than ip-rMETase, provided administration of the o-rMETase is accompanied by pyridoxal-L-phosphate (“PLP”) in drinking water” (see, e.g., Han, [0025]). Therefore, based on these teachings, it would have been obvious to orally administer an engineered E. coli strain recombinantly expressing rMETase from Pseudomonas putida in the gut of a subject because this would allow for the E. coli to colonize and replicate within the gut to continuously produce rMETase for the treatment of cancer. One would have expected success because Han and Chiang both teach methods of treating cancers through expression of recombinant proteins produced by engineered E. coli strains, and Martinson teaches colonization of E. coli strains.
Claims 2-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, Chiang, and Martinson as applied to claims 1, 6-7, and 11 above, and further in view of Akita (US Patent No. 6,475,767; Date of Publication: November 5, 2002 – previously cited).
The references of Han, Chiang, and Martinson are discussed above as it pertains to orally administering recombinant methioninase producing E. coli to treat cancer in subjects in need thereof.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 8 pertaining to administration of the E. coli bacterial strain, Han teaches “Recombinant L-methionine α-deamino-γ-mercaptopurine lyase (methioninase, METase) [EC 4.4.1.11] from Pseudomonas putida has been previously cloned and was produced in Escherichia coli (AntiCancer, Inc., San Diego, Calif.). The rMETase is a homotetrameric PLP enzyme of 172-kDa molecular mass” (see, e.g., Han, [0033]). Martinson teaches that oral ingestion of E. coli at a concentration of 109 to 1010 CFU twice daily was capable of colonizing the gut of some volunteers (see, e.g., Martinson, “Exposure Versus Colonization”, pg. 2).
However, the references do not teach: plasmid pATG3131 (claims 2 and 8); or an E. coli JM109 strain (claims 2 and 8).
Akita’s general disclosure relates to a process of producing L-methionine γ-lyase crystals (see, e.g., Akita, abstract). Moreover, Akita discloses “Recently, it was found that L-methionine .gamma.-lyase has an antitumor activity (WO94/11535). In the past, L-methionine .gamma.-lyase could be obtained in very small quantity from Pseudomonas. putida. However, recent development of recombinant DNA technology provides a possibility of its large quantity production (Inoue, H. et al., J. Biochem. 117, 1120-1125 (1995))” (see, e.g., Akita, “Background Art”, col 1, lines 25-31). Additionally, Akita discloses methods of producing and cultivating and rMETase expression strain by cloning the rMETase gene into E. coli host strains (see, e.g., Akita, “Cultivation of rMETase Expression Strain”, col 2, lines 50-65).
Regarding claims 2 and 8 pertaining to plasmid pATG3131, Akita teaches “rMETase(-ATG) of LMGL/T-vector was inserted in downstream of the initiation codon of plasmid pATG3131 which contained trc promoter, SD sequence, initiation codon (ATG), 5SrrnBT.sub.1 T.sub.2 terminator and tetracycline resistant gene” (see, e.g., Akita, col 8, lines 13-17).
Regarding claims 2 and 8 pertaining to E. coli JM109, Akita teaches E. coli JM109 as a suitable host cell for expression of rMETase (see, e.g., Akita, col 4, “Reference Example 1”, lines 46-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Han, Chiang, and Martinson’s recombinant methioninase producing bacterial strain, wherein the bacterial strain contains the plasmid pATG3131 and is expressed within E. coli JM109, as taught by Akita. One would have been motivated to do so because Akita teaches that the JM109 E. coli strain is a suitable host cell for rMETase expression (see, e.g., Akita, col 2, lines 60-65 & Reference Example 1). Moreover, Akita teaches that the pATG3131 plasmid contains a trc promoter, SD sequence, at ATG initiation codon, 5SrrnBT1T2 terminator, and tetracycline resistant gene (see, e.g., Akita, Example 4, col 8, lines 13-16), wherein the rMETase gene can be inserted into this plasmid, and that this plasmid can be cloned into E. coli JM109 for expression of rMETase (see, e.g., Akita, Example 4, col 8, lines 25-27). Moreover, Han teaches “Recombinant L-methionine α-deamino-γ-mercaptopurine lyase (methioninase, METase) [EC 4.4.1.11] from Pseudomonas putida has been previously cloned and was produced in Escherichia coli (AntiCancer, Inc., San Diego, Calif.)” (see, e.g., Han, [0033]). Therefore, based on the teachings of Han, Chiang, Martinson and Akita, one would have been motivated to use the E. coli JM109 strain and pATG3131 plasmid to produce rMETase. One would have expected success because Han, Chiang, Martinson and Akita all teach E. coli and/or recombinant E. coli strains. Additionally, Han and Akita both teach E. coli production of rMETase.
Claims 4-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, Chiang, and Martinson as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Park (Efficacy of oral recombinant methioninase combined with oxaliplatinum and 5-fluorouracil on primary colon cancer in a patient-derived orthotopic xenograft mouse model; 2019 – previously cited).
The references of Han, Chiang, and Martinson are discussed above as it pertains to orally administering recombinant methioninase producing E. coli to treat cancer in subjects in need thereof.
Regarding claims 4 and 10 pertaining to the recombinant methioninase, Han teaches “Recombinant L-methionine α-deamino-γ-mercaptopurine lyase (methioninase, METase) [EC 4.4.1.11] from Pseudomonas putida has been previously cloned and was produced in Escherichia coli (AntiCancer, Inc., San Diego, Calif.). The rMETase is a homotetrameric PLP enzyme of 172-kDa molecular mass” (see, e.g., Han, [0033]). Chiang teaches that tumor-seeking bacteria, such as E. coli, can be engineered to synthesize a variety of therapeutic agents, wherein the engineered bacteria “target tumors where they reside, replicate, and continuously produce the payloads on site. It enables in situ delivery of the produced bioactive molecules to tumor site, which improves the therapeutic efficacy” (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 1). Moreover, Chiang teaches that tumor-targeting bacteria have been genetically instructed to deliver a variety of bioactive payloads, such as prodrug-converted enzymes (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 1). Furthermore, Chiang teaches engineering E. coli Nissle for expression of azurin, a cytotoxic protein that induces cancer cell apoptosis, for treatment of colorectal cancer (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 2). Chiang also teaches engineering E. coli Nissle for expression of hemolysin E for treatment of colorectal cancer (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 2). Overall, Chiang’s teachings show that bacteria, such as E. coli, can engineered as carriers to express and deliver different “bioactive payloads” to tumor sites for cancer treatment. Furthermore, Martinson teaches that E. coli can be orally administered to humans and that E. coli at a concentration of 109 to 1010 CFU twice daily was capable of colonizing the gut of some volunteers (see, e.g., Martinson, “Exposure Versus Colonization”, pg. 2). Therefore, Martinson teaches that E. coli can be orally administered and colonize the gut of humans.
However, the references do not teach: production of recombinant methioninase by the bacteria in the gastrointestinal tract in an amount sufficient for treating growth of a cancer in the subject (claims 4 and 10); or wherein the cancer is colon cancer (claim 5);
Park’s general disclosure relates to determining “the efficacy of oral recombinant methioninase (o-rMETase) on a colon cancer primary tumor using a patient-derived orthotopic xenograft (PDOX) nude mouse model” (see, e.g., Park, abstract). Moreover, Park discloses that rMETase “targets MET-dependence/addiction of cancer and can inhibit the growth of cancer cells in vitro and in vivo” (see, e.g., Park, Introduction, pg. 306) and that oral rMETase is significantly more effective than intraperitoneal injection of rMETase (see, e.g., Park, Introduction, pg. 307). Furthermore, Park discloses that oral rMETase is effective at inhibiting colon cancer tumor growth in a colon cancer PDOX model, compared to the untreated control group (see, e.g., Park, Section 3.2, pg. 308).
Regarding claims 4 and 10 pertaining to the amount of methioninase to treat growth of a cancer in the subject, Park teaches that oral methioninase (o-rMETase) was administered to a subject wherein “100 units/day of o-rMETase by gavage for 2 weeks” (see, e.g., Park, Section 2.5, pg. 307). Furthermore, Park teaches that o-METase at this concentration is effective at inhibiting tumor growth and reducing tumor volume compared to untreated controls (see, e.g., Park, Section 3.2, pg. 308 & Figure 3, pg. 309).
Regarding claim 5 pertaining to the cancer type, Park teaches that rMETase is effective at treating colon cancer (see, e.g., Park, Abstract & Section 3.2, pg. 308 & Figure 3, pg. 309).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to administer Han, Chiang, and Martinson’s recombinant methioninase producing bacterial strain, wherein the methioninase is produced in an amount for treatment of colon cancer, as taught by Park. One would have been motivated to do so because Park teaches that o-rMETase treatment at 100 units/day results is effective at inhibiting colon cancer tumor growth and reducing tumor volume in a colon cancer PDOX model, compared to untreated controls (see, e.g., Park, Section 3.2, pg. 308). Moreover, Han teaches methods of producing recombinant methioninase (rMETase) from Pseudomonas putida in Escherichia coli (see, e.g., Han, [0033]). Additionally, Han teaches that orally administered rMETase is more effective as an anticancer agent than intraperitoneal administered rMETase (see, e.g., Han, [0025). Chiang teaches that tumor-targeting bacteria have been genetically instructed to deliver a variety of bioactive payloads, such as prodrug-converted enzymes (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 1). Martinson teaches that E. coli can be orally administered to humans and that E. coli at a concentration of 109 to 1010 CFU twice daily was capable of colonizing the gut of some volunteers (see, e.g., Martinson, “Exposure Versus Colonization”, pg. 2). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that if engineered E. coli expressing rMETase is administered at a concentration of 109 to 1010 CFU twice daily, as taught by modified-Han-Chiang-Martinson, that the amount of rMETase produced can be measured, and that if this amount is at or above 100 units of rMETase then it can be used to treat colon cancer, as taught by Park. Therefore, based on the teachings of modified-Han-Chiang-Martinson and Park, it would be obvious to administer an engineered E. coli strain expressing rMETase within the gut of a subject, wherein the amount of rMETase produced by the engineered E. coli strain is at or above 100 units/day, and wherein the rMETase is administered for colon cancer treatment. One would have expected success because Han, Chiang, and Martinson all teach E. coli and/or recombinant E. coli strains. Additionally, Han and Park both teach rMETase production and administration for tumor inhibition.
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han, Chiang, Martinson, and Akita as applied to claims 1-2 and 7-8 above, and further in view of Fretter (Survival and Implantation of Escherichia coli in the Intestinal Tract; 1983 – newly cited).
The references of Han, Chiang, Martinson, and Akita are discussed above as it pertains to orally administering recombinant methioninase producing E. coli to treat cancer in subjects in need thereof.
Regarding claims 6 and 11 pertaining to an effective amount of E. coli JM109 for gut colonization, Akita teaches E. coli JM109 as a suitable host cell for expression of rMETase (see, e.g., Akita, col 4, “Reference Example 1”, lines 46-47). Furthermore, Martinson teaches that oral ingestion of E. coli at a concentration of 109 to 1010 CFU twice daily was capable of colonizing the gut of some volunteers (see, e.g., Martinson, “Exposure Versus Colonization”, pg. 2). Therefore, Martinson teaches that E. coli can be orally administered and colonize the gut of humans.
However, the references do not teach: wherein the bacteria are detectable in stool following oral administration, wherein detection of the Escherichia coli JM109 bacteria in stool indicates persistence of the Escherichia coli JM109 bacteria within the gastrointestinal tract (claims 6 and 11).
Freter’s general disclosure relates to introducing E. coli strains to a mouse gut in order to test passage and survival of the strains in the gut (see, e.g., Freter, abstract).
Regarding claims 6 and 11 pertaining to detection of E. coli in stool, Freter teaches the treatment of mice with wildtype E. coli and E. coli K12, wherein “The data show that wild-type E. coli strains and E. coli K-12 are excreted rapidly (98 to 100% within 18 h) in the feces without overall multiplication or death” (see, e.g., Freter, abstract). Freter teaches that 97-100% of E. coli strains administered to mice were isolated from feces 18 hours after inoculation (see, e.g., Freter, Table 1). Since Freter teaches detection of E. coli bacteria in stool, this would inherently result in the claimed E. coli bacteria within the gastrointestinal tract.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention orally administer E. coli JM109 bacteria for gut colonization, as taught by Han, Chiang, Martinson, and Akita, wherein the bacteria are detected in stool following oral administration, as taught by Freter. One would have been motivated to do so because Freter teaches that following oral administration of wildtype and K12 E.coli to mice, that these bacteria are found in the stools of the mice 18 hours after administration, and wherein 98-100% of the original inoculum is discovered in the stools (see, e.g., Freter, abstract). Therefore, Freter teaches that orally administered E. coli can colonize the gut for a certain amount of time, followed by excretion in stools. Furthermore, Martinson teaches that oral ingestion of E. coli at a concentration of 109 to 1010 CFU twice daily was capable of colonizing the gut of some volunteers (see, e.g., Martinson, “Exposure Versus Colonization”, pg. 2). Therefore, Martinson teaches that E. coli can be orally administered and colonize the gut of humans. Additionally, Akita teaches E. coli JM109 as a suitable host cell for expression of rMETase (see, e.g., Akita, col 4, “Reference Example 1”, lines 46-47), wherein E. coli can be engineered to deliver recombinant proteins to tumor sites for cancer treatment (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 2). Based on these teachings, it would be obvious to detect orally administered E. coli JM109 expressing rMETase in the stools of subjects because this would allow one to determine how much of the E. coli JM109 expressing rMETase has colonized the gut versus being excreted in the stool. One would have expected success because Han, Chiang, Martinson, Akita, and Freter all teach E. coli administration and/or recombinant E. coli strains. Han and Akita both teach rMETase expression by E. coli. Chiang, Martinson, and Freter all teach administration of E. coli strains to subjects.
Examiner’s Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to Han, Chiang, and Martinson not teaching the central inventive concept (remarks, pages 16-17), this argument is not persuasive because Applicant is arguing against references individually and one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Han was relied upon to teach the recombinant methioninase producing bacterial strain, wherein Han teaches that the “Recombinant L-methionine α-deamino-γ-mercaptopurine lyase (methioninase, METase) [EC 4.4.1.11] from Pseudomonas putida has been previously cloned and was produced in Escherichia coli (AntiCancer, Inc., San Diego, Calif.)” (see, e.g., Han, [0033]). Therefore, Han teaches an E. coli strain expressing rMETase from Pseudomonas putida, which is also recited in the instantly claimed invention. Applicant argues that Han does not teach oral administration of a recombinant methioninase-producing bacteria, in vivo production of recombinant methioninase by the administered bacteria, persistence of the administered bacteria within the GI tract, or treatment of cancer using bacteria that continuously produce methioninase following oral administration. However, Han was not relied upon to teach these limitations, and as stated above, Applicant is arguing against references individually when the rejection was based on a combination of references. Chiang was relied upon to teach that E. coli can be engineered to express “payloads”, such as enzymes, to tumor sites (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 1), wherein this is advantageous because the engineered bacteria “target tumors where they reside, replicate, and continuously produce the payloads on site. It enables in situ delivery of the produced bioactive molecules to tumor site, which improves the therapeutic efficacy” (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 1). Martinson was relied upon to teach that oral ingestion of E. coli at a concentration of 109 to 1010 CFU twice daily was capable of colonizing the gut of volunteers (see, e.g., Martinson, “Exposure Versus Colonization”, pg. 2). Therefore, the combined teachings of Han, Chiang, and Martinson render the instantly claimed invention obvious because it would be obvious to administer a recombinant E. coli strain producing rMETase because this strain can colonize the GI tract, replicate, and continuously produce rMETase.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that the rejection relies upon selecting isolated teachings from three independent references and combining them based on knowledge of Applicant’s disclosure (remarks, pages 17-18), it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Moreover, Applicant’s instantly claimed invention pertains to administration of a recombinant E. coli strain expressing rMETase to a subject in need thereof, wherein upon administration, the E. coli strain produces rMETase in the GI tract to inhibit tumor growth. Han teaches the instantly claimed recombinant E. coli strain expressing rMETase (see, e.g., Han, [0033]), and Chiang teaches that E. coli can be engineered to express “payloads”, such as enzymes, to tumor sites (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 1), wherein this is advantageous because the engineered bacteria “target tumors where they reside, replicate, and continuously produce the payloads on site. It enables in situ delivery of the produced bioactive molecules to tumor site, which improves the therapeutic efficacy” (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 1). This provides motivation for orally administering Han’s recombinant E. coli strain expressing rMETase to a subject in need thereof and is taught by the prior art instead of gleamed from Applicant’s disclosure. Moreover, Martinson teaches that oral ingestion of E. coli at a concentration of 109 to 1010 CFU twice daily was capable of colonizing the gut of volunteers (see, e.g., Martinson, “Exposure Versus Colonization”, pg. 2), which goes along with the teachings of Han and Chiang because both teach E. coli strains and administration of E. coli to subjects in need thereof. Therefore, the recombinant E. coli rMETase strain can be administered orally to colonize the GI tract for continuous expression of rMETase within a subject in need thereof.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Han does not teach that living recombinant bacteria function as an in vivo production system that continuously generates recombinant methioninase following oral administration (remarks, page 18), this argument is not persuasive because Han was not relied upon to teach this limitation. Instead Chiang teaches this limitation, wherein Chiang states that E. coli can be engineered to express “payloads”, such as enzymes, to tumor sites (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 1), wherein this is advantageous because the engineered bacteria “target tumors where they reside, replicate, and continuously produce the payloads on site. It enables in situ delivery of the produced bioactive molecules to tumor site, which improves the therapeutic efficacy” (see, e.g., Chiang, Introduction, pg. 1). Therefore, recombinant E. coli can be administered to replicate in vivo, which allows for continuous production of “payloads”, which in this case is rMETase.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Akita does not teach an orally administered, gut-colonizing bacterial therapeutic for cancer (remarks, pages 21-23), this argument is not persuasive because, as discussed above, Applicant is arguing against references individually and one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. Akita was relied upon to teach E. coli JM109 as a suitable host cell for expression of rMETase (see, e.g., Akita, col 4, “Reference Example 1”, lines 46-47) and pATG3131 (see, e.g., Akita, col 8, lines 13-17). One would have been motivated to use an E. coli JM109 strain and pATG3131 plasmid because Akita teaches that the JM109 E. coli strain is a suitable host cell for rMETase expression (see, e.g., Akita, col 2, lines 60-65 & Reference Example 1). Moreover, Akita teaches that the pATG3131 plasmid contains a trc promoter, SD sequence, at ATG initiation codon, 5SrrnBT1T2 terminator, and tetracycline resistant gene (see, e.g., Akita, Example 4, col 8, lines 13-16), wherein the rMETase gene can be inserted into this plasmid, and that this plasmid can be cloned into E. coli JM109 for expression of rMETase (see, e.g., Akita, Example 4, col 8, lines 25-27). Moreover, as discussed above, the combination of Han, Chiang, and Martinson teaches an orally administered, gut-colonizing E. coli strain expressing rMETase for cancer treatment, and Akita was not relied upon to teach these limitations.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the teachings of Park (remarks, pages 23-24), Applicant argues that Park does not teach the delivery of rMETase via an engineered bacterial strain; however, as discussed above, Applicant is arguing against references individually and one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. Park was relied upon to teach the limitation of an effective amount of rMETase for cancer treatment, wherein Park teaches oral methioninase (o-rMETase) was administered to a subject wherein “100 units/day of o-rMETase by gavage for 2 weeks” (see, e.g., Park, Section 2.5, pg. 307). Furthermore, Park teaches that o-METase at this concentration is effective at inhibiting tumor growth and reducing tumor volume compared to untreated controls (see, e.g., Park, Section 3.2, pg. 308 & Figure 3, pg. 309). One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine the amount of recombinant E. coli that needs to be administered to express rMETase at 100 units/day in order to inhibit tumor growth and reduce tumor volume. Moreover, Martinson E. coli at a concentration of 109 to 1010 CFU twice daily was capable of colonizing the gut of volunteers (see, e.g., Martinson, “Exposure Versus Colonization”, pg. 2), which one of ordinary skill in the art could use as a starting point when determining how much recombinant rMETase-producing E. coli to administer to produce an effective amount of rMETase for treating or controlling growth of a cancer.
Conclusion
Claims 1-8 and 11 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence Information
/NATALIE IANNUZO/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653