DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (JP 2021-197301 A, cited by applicant).
Re Claim 1. Sato teaches an all-solid-state battery (Fig. 1, para. 15) having a positive electrode layer (para. 15), a separator layer (a solid electrolyte layer, para. 15) and a negative electrode layer (para. 15),
wherein the separator layer is disposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer (para. 15),
wherein the negative electrode layer contains at least one selected from the group consisting of a lithium titanium composite oxide, graphite and hard carbon (para. 29), and
wherein the all-solid-state battery satisfies relationships of Formulae (1) to (3):
Sa0/Sc0 =1 (1) (Fig. 1)
1.00 ≤ Sa1/Sa0 ≤ 1.13 (2)
0.93 ≤ Sc1/Sc0 ≤ 1.02 (3)
in Formulae (1) to (3),
Sc0 indicates an area of the positive electrode layer when the SOC is 0%,
Sc1 indicates an area of the positive electrode layer when the SOC is 100%,
Sa0 indicates an area of the negative electrode layer when the SOC is 0%, and
Sa1 indicates an area of the negative electrode layer when the SOC is 100%.
Sato does not expressly disclose that the battery satisfies Formula (2) and (3).
However, since Sato and the claimed battery employ substantially similar components and materials, it is reasonable to believe that the claimed properties (the battery satisfying Formula (2) and (3)) would have naturally flowed following the teachings of Sato. See MPEP 2112.01 & In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2145 & Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In addition, Sato expressly teaches suppressing the positional fluctuations of the solid-state battery (para. 15), which indicates that Sa1/Sa0 =1 (2) and Sc1/Sc0 =1 (3).
Re Claim 2. Sato does not expressly disclose that the battery satisfies Formula (3)’. However, since Sato and the claimed battery employ substantially similar components and materials, it is reasonable to believe that the claimed properties (the battery satisfying Formula (3)’) would have naturally flowed following the teachings of Sato. See MPEP 2112.01 & In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2145 & Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
In addition, Sato expressly teaches suppressing the positional fluctuations of the solid-state battery (para. 15), which indicates that Sc1/Sc0 =1 (3)’.
Re Claim 4. Sato teaches wherein the positive electrode layer contains at least one selected from the group consisting of a lithium-nickel-cobalt-manganese composite oxide and a lithium iron phosphate (para. 18).
Re Claim 5. See rejections of claims 1 and 4, in combination.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yura et al. (US 2021/0043965 A1, hereinafter Yura, previously cited).
Re Claim 1. Yura teaches an all-solid-state battery (Fig. 1, para. 68) having a positive electrode layer (item 12), a separator layer (item 20) and a negative electrode layer (item 16),
wherein the separator layer is disposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer (Fig. 1),
wherein the negative electrode layer contains at least one selected from the group consisting of a lithium titanium composite oxide, a titanium niobium composite oxide (para. 52), and
wherein the all-solid-state battery satisfies relationships of Formulae (1) to (3):
Sa0/Sc0 =1 (1) (Fig. 1)
1.00 ≤ Sa1/Sa0 ≤ 1.13 (2)
0.93 ≤ Sc1/Sc0 ≤ 1.02 (3)
in Formulae (1) to (3),
Sc0 indicates an area of the positive electrode layer when the SOC is 0%,
Sc1 indicates an area of the positive electrode layer when the SOC is 100%,
Sa0 indicates an area of the negative electrode layer when the SOC is 0%, and
Sa1 indicates an area of the negative electrode layer when the SOC is 100%.
Yura does not expressly disclose that the battery satisfies Formula (2) and (3).
However, since Yura and the claimed battery employ substantially similar components and materials, it is reasonable to believe that the claimed properties (the battery satisfying Formula (2) and (3)) would have naturally flowed following the teachings of Sato. See MPEP 2112.01 & In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2145 & Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Re Claim 2. Yura does not expressly disclose that the battery satisfies Formula (3)’. However, since Yura and the claimed battery employ substantially similar components and materials, it is reasonable to believe that the claimed properties (the battery satisfying Formula (3)’) would have naturally flowed following the teachings of Yura. See MPEP 2112.01 & In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2145 & Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Re Claim 4. Yura teaches wherein the positive electrode layer contains at least one selected from the group consisting of a lithium-nickel-cobalt-manganese composite oxide (para. 42).
Re Claim 5. See rejections of claims 1 and 4, in combination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
9/3/2026