DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noda et al. (WO 2020/175488 A1, hereinafter Noda, cited by applicant, see US 2022/0140351 A1 for English translation).
Re Claim 1. Noda teaches an all-solid-state battery (para. 72) having a positive electrode layer (Fig. 1, item 12 & Fig. 6, item 51), a separator layer (item 11) and a negative electrode layer (Fig. 1, item 13 & item 52),
wherein the separator layer is disposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer (Fig. 1 & 5), and
wherein the all-solid-state battery satisfies relationships of Formulae (1) to (3):
Sa0/Sc0 =1 (1) (Fig. 1 & 5)
Sa1/Sa0 =1 (2) (Fig. 1 & 5, para. 38)
Sc1/Sc0 =1 (3) (Fig. 1 & 5, para. 36)
in Formulae (1) to (3),
Sc0 indicates an area of the positive electrode layer when the SOC is 0%,
Sc1 indicates an area of the positive electrode layer when the SOC is 100%,
Sa0 indicates an area of the negative electrode layer when the SOC is 0%, and
Sa1 indicates an area of the negative electrode layer when the SOC is 100%.
Re Claim 2. Noda teaches satisfying the relationship of Formula (3)’: Sc1/Sc0=1 (3)’ (Fig. 1 & 5, para. 36).
Re Claim 4. Noda teaches wherein the positive electrode layer contains at least one selected from the group consisting of a lithium-nickel-cobalt-manganese composite oxide (para. 37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Furuta et al. (JP 2020-107389 A, hereinafter Furuta, cited by applicant).
The teachings of Noda have been discussed above.
Noda fails to specifically teach that the negative electrode layer contains at least one selected from the group consisting of a lithium titanium composite oxide, a titanium niobium composite oxide, graphite and hard carbon.
The invention of Furuta encompasses all solid battery. Furuta teaches that the negative electrode layer contains graphite and hard carbon (para. 82-86).
In view of Furuta, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Noda to employ graphite and hard carbon in the negative electrode layer, since using a well-known negative electrode material is within purview of one skill in the art.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noda in view of Furuta.
Re Claim 5. Noda teaches an all-solid-state battery (para. 72) having a positive electrode layer (Fig. 1, item 12 & Fig. 6, item 51), a separator layer (item 11) and a negative electrode layer (Fig. 1, item 13 & item 52),
wherein the positive electrode layer contains at least one selected from the group consisting of a lithium-nickel-cobalt-manganese composite oxide (para. 37),
wherein the separator layer is disposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer (Fig. 1 & 5), and
wherein the all-solid-state battery satisfies relationships of Formulae (1) to (3):
Sa0/Sc0 =1 (1) (Fig. 1 & 5)
Sa1/Sa0 =1 (2) (Fig. 1 & 5, para. 38)
Sc1/Sc0 =1 (3) (Fig. 1 & 5, para. 36)
in Formulae (1) to (3),
Sc0 indicates an area of the positive electrode layer when the SOC is 0%,
Sc1 indicates an area of the positive electrode layer when the SOC is 100%,
Sa0 indicates an area of the negative electrode layer when the SOC is 0%, and
Sa1 indicates an area of the negative electrode layer when the SOC is 100%.
Noda fails to specifically teach that the negative electrode layer contains at least one selected from the group consisting of a lithium titanium composite oxide, a titanium niobium composite oxide, graphite and hard carbon.
The invention of Furuta encompasses all solid battery. Furuta teaches that the negative electrode layer contains graphite and hard carbon (para. 82-86).
In view of Furuta, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Noda to employ graphite and hard carbon in the negative electrode layer, since using a well-known negative electrode material is within purview of one skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
5/17/2026