DETAILED ACTION
In response to the restriction requirement, Applicant elected claims 1, 4-7, 15-16, 17, and 20 for further examination. As a result, claims 2-3, 8-14, and 18-19 are withdrawn from further prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because:
Step 1 (MPEP 2106. 3, subsection II): The claims, after reviewing the entire application disclosure, considered as a whole, are determined to be directed to one of the statutory category (processes, machines, manufactures, and compositions of matter): A method/medium/device.
Step 2A (MPEP 2106. 4, subsection II):
Prong One: The claims recite the limitation of calculating an evaluation value from the signal of the sensor channels as an index of deterioration state of the line sensor. This limitation is analyzed including concepts directed to “mathematical concepts” that falls within at least one of the groupings of abstract idea (MPEP 2106.04(a) Abstract Ideas: The enumerated groupings of abstract ideas: Mathematical concepts, Certain methods of organizing human activity, Mental processes). As a result, the claims recite a judicial exception.
Prong Two: The additional steps/actions/elements recited in the claims:
- detecting an interference fringe using the line sensor – obtaining information (MPEP 2106.05(g));
- determining a deterioration state of the line sensor (Insignificant post solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g))
When viewed in combination of as a whole, the recited additional steps/actions/elements do no more than add insignificant extra-solution to the judicial exception. As a result, these additional steps/actions/elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. These claims are therefore directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B:
The additional steps/actions/elements recited in the claims, detecting an interference fringe by a line sensor and determining a deterioration state of the line sensor, are well known in the field as evidenced by the prior art cited in the rejection below, do not amount significant to add an inventive concept to the claims, because they do is no more than adding insignificant pre-solution and post-solution activities to the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto (US 2010 073863).
Matsumoto discloses a deterioration evaluation method of a line sensor, comprising:
detecting an interference fringe of pulse laser light using the line sensor (FIG. 6B shows the interference waveform and the line sensor CCD);
calculating, based on a signal value obtained from each of a plurality of sensor channels included in a sensor channel range being at least a part of the line sensor in accordance with light intensity of the interference fringe (FIG. 6B and FIGs. 7-8: The signal of the interference waveform), an evaluation value which is an index of deterioration for each of the sensor channels or each group of the sensor channels, and storing the evaluation value in a storage device; and determining a deterioration state of the line sensor based on the evaluation value (page 2, lines 26-28: Due to long time usage, the deterioration of the optical sensor array (CCD sensor) has occurred and caused the non-uniformity of the sensor sensitivity. Page 3, lines 27-31: The optical sensitivity of each channel is calculated to provide a correction value for each channel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (JP 2010 073863) in view of Moriya (US 2019/0107438).
Matsumoto discloses the claimed invention as discussed above except wherein the evaluation value is a light amount integration value obtained by integrating the signal value or a value calculated by performing non-linear conversion on the light amount integration value.
Moriya discloses a system comprising a line sensor having a plurality of sensor channels for detecting an interference fringe (FIG. 1, element 18d), wherein the data from the output of the line sensor is integrated by adding the current and new data of the intensity distribution profile to provide a accumulate intensity distribution profile (FIG. 17, steps S409-S410b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumoto’s system to include integrating the light intensity outputted from the line sensor to provide the accumulated intensity distribution profile of the line sensor as taught by Moriya (paragraph [0165]).
Regarding to claims 5, 15: wherein the light amount integration value is obtained by dividing an integration value of the signal value by a second constant, wherein a processor executes a process of calculating the evaluation value from data of the signal value for each of the sensor channels, a process of storing the evaluation value in the storage device, and a process of outputting a determination result as determining a deterioration state of the line sensor based on the evaluation value (Moriya: FIG. 19 shows the array data butter where the light amount of each channel of the line sensor is stored. The claim language does not specify the second constant; the claimed second constant thus can be broadly interpreted as “1”; As a result, the quantity of light stored in the array data buffer is as itself).
Regarding to claim 16: wherein the process of outputting the determination result includes at least one of a process of displaying the determination result on a display device, a process of performing notification based on the determination result, and a process of recording the determination result in a log (Moriya: FIG. 22, element 1010).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (JP 2010 073863) in view of Moriya (US 2019/0107438), and further in view of Kawatoko (JP 2005 156301).
Matsumoto, as modified, discloses the claimed invention as discussed above, except wherein the light amount integration value is obtained by integrating a value obtained by subtracting a
third constant from the signal value.
Kawatoko discloses a system comprising a line sensor for detecting an interference fringe to output a signal relating to the light amount of the interference fringe after removing/subtracting noise (third constant) to stabilize the signal (page 5, 2nd paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Matsumoto’s system, as modified, to include removing or subtracting noise from the signal to stabilize the signal as taught by Kawatoko (page 5, 2nd paragraph).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The primary reasons for the indication of the allowability of the claim is the inclusions therein, in combination as currently claimed, of the limitation that wherein the non-linear conversion is conversion reflecting a sensor deterioration characteristic indicating relationship between an irradiation energy integration amount of the pulse laser light and a decrease in sensor sensitivity is neither disclosed nor taught by the cited prior art of record, alone or in combination.
CONTACT INFORMATION
/LAM S NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853