O yDETAILED ACTION
Notices to Applicant
This communication is a Final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, 12-15, 17-18, and 20 as filed 09/15/2025, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The present application claims the benefit of and priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/414,290 filed on 10/07/2022.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes the following claim interpretations given their broadest reasonable interpretation in view of the present Application Specification:
Claim 1 recites the limitation: “during a power outage or a network interruption which is preventing connections between the one or more networks and one or more network devices of a displacing facility: … establish, using the router of the mobile response unit, the connection with at least one network of the one or more networks”. Examiner interprets the establishment of the connection between the mobile response unit to be on a network different than the network than the one between the one or more network devices of a displacing facility due to a network interruption or outage. See Application Specification at [0032], [0037], [0067].
Claim 13 recites the limitation: “establish, using a router of the mobile response unit, a connection with at least one network of one or more networks for which one or more network devices of the displacing facility are unable to connect to”. Examiner interprets the establishment of the connection between the mobile response unit to be on a network different than the network than the one between the one or more network devices of a displacing facility due to a network interruption or outage i.e. unable to connect. See Application Specification at [0032], [0037], [0067].
Claim 20 recites the limitation: “establish, responsive to identification of the receiving facility, using a router of the mobile response unit, a connection a network to connect with a user device of the receiving facility”. Examiner interprets the establishment of a network connection between devices.
Examiner Statement - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, 12-15, 17-18, and 20 recite patent eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101, as the claims are drawn a mobile response unit comprising processing circuitry including a processor and a memory (i.e. a machine). While the claims may recite an abstract idea under Step 2A, Prong One, the claims at least recite additional elements that, when viewed as a whole, are directed to a computer system architecture under Step 2A, Prong 2. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, 12-15, 17-18, and 20 recite patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, 12-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2021/0166808 A1 (hereinafter “Geis”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2015/0036485 A1 (hereinafter “Poulson et al.”).
RE: Claim 1 (Currently Amended) Geis teaches the claimed:
1. A mobile response unit, the mobile response unit comprising:
a router to establish a connection with one or more networks: ((Geis, [0164]) (Network backbone supports edge data routers; the data routers are equipped to provide sub-networks like a sub-network, a sub-network, and a sub-network connection to and access to the overall network));
a display device to present one or more user interfaces ((Geis, [0008]) (an Interactive User Interface (UI) accessible on a computer network through a connected computing device is provided)) and
a processing circuit including a processor and memory, the memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to ((Geis, [0008]) (an Interactive User Interface (UI) accessible on a computer network through a connected computing device is provided. The UI enables users to request for transfer and initiation of transfer of a resident in a source residential facility connected to the network to a destination residential facility connected to the network. The UI enabled by coded instruction residing on a non-transitory medium coupled to a server connected to the network; the server coupled to at least one data repository, and the coded instruction commanding the server to)); […]
receive, via a selection of at least one icon presented by a user interface being displayed by the display device of the mobile response unit, a request to transfer a resident associated with [[a]] the displacing facility ((Geis, [0008], [0211], [0213])) (an Interactive User Interface (UI) accessible on a computer network through a connected computing device is provided. The UI enables users to request for transfer and initiation of transfer of a resident in a source residential facility connected to the network to a destination residential facility connected to the network. The UI enabled by coded instruction residing on a non-transitory medium coupled to a server connected to the network; the server coupled to at least one data repository, and the coded instruction commanding the server to; the administrator may browse facilities by hovering a pointer (computer mouse, touch pad etc.) over the icons to get first level meta data about the facility. Selecting a facility may result in a network link to the facility wherein the dashboard data features are linked to the facility data held in a data repository hosted on the network; In the aspect where two plans are held side-by-side, the administrator may copy the representation of the resident (icon) from the source floor plan and paste the representation into the desired room of the destination facility at step 1908. In one aspect of the process, the administrator may also copy the resident's representation in the form of a hyperlink from a residents list. A transfer request of this nature is launched when the link is pasted into the desired room));
transmit, via the connection established using the router of the mobile response unit, one or more first signals to a computing device associated with a receiving facility to provide, ((Geis, [0008], [0009]) (serve notification of transfer request, transfer schedule, and required documents to one or more destination authorities for review and response));
receive, via the connection established using the router of the mobile response unit, one or more second signals from the computing device associated with the receiving facility[[,]] that provide an indication to accept the request ((Geis, [0008], [0009]) (provide destination authority(s) acceptance as a response; the network is the Internet network and any connected sub networks. In a preferred embodiment, the received data is uploaded from the facilities over the Internet));
associate, responsive to receiving the indication, the resident with the receiving facility ((Geis, [0008]) (confirm via server notification to the requesting authority or authorities, process successful transfer of the one or more residents or (upon authority)));
retrieve, based at least on acceptance of the request, at least one record associated with the resident, wherein the at least one record is electronically stored within the memory of the mobile response unit ((Geis, [0008], [0045]) (a server connected to the network; the server coupled to at least one data repository, and the coded instruction commanding the server to (a) receive data from residential facilities connected to the network, to (b) store the data received in (a) in updated state in the at least one data repository; As residents move in and move out, electronic records will be maintained for audit purposes. The resident module contains five sections, new resident, resident listing, resident timeline. required documents and form templates as following: New resident new resident information, this section contains four tabs, Identification, and info, Appraisal, Physician report, and accommodation and fees));
updatethe at least one record associated with the resident to reflect association of the resident with the receiving facility; transmit, via the connection established by the router of the mobile response unit, one or more third signals the computing device associated with the receiving facility[[,]] to provide the at least one record associated with the resident ((Geis, [0009], [0206], [0219]) (confirmation of a transfer triggers an automated system process of records transfer and update, notification to transportation services of required transfer of the resident at a certain date of transfer; After the successful transfer of Joann, the source facility may update the change in data to the system server; the network is the Internet network and any connected sub networks. In a preferred embodiment, the received data is uploaded from the facilities over the Internet)); and
transmit, via the connection established by the router of the mobile response unit, one or more fourth signals to provide an alert that the resident will be transferred to the receiving facility, wherein the alert includes information associated with at least one of the receiving facility or the resident((Geis, [0208], [0217]) (In the case of a successful transfer, a confirmation message may be sent to the administrator in the form of a notification, text message, on screen pop-up message or confirmation, email message, or a combination of those; ))
wherein the alert causes the user device to display, via a user interface, the information associated with at least one of the receiving facility or the resident ((Geis, [0219]) (confirmation of a transfer triggers an automated system process of records transfer and update, notification to transportation services of required transfer of the resident at a certain date of transfer. The facility objects dressed as icons in the map overlay are updated to show the new residency numbers)).
Geis fails to explicitly teach, but Poulson et al. teaches the claimed:
during a power outage or a network interruption which is preventing connections between the one or more networks and one or more network devices of a displacing facility: […] establish, using the router of the mobile response unit, the connection with at least one network of the one or more networks ((Poulson et al., [0033], [0049], ) (A recovery network 140 may provide communication recovery services to the organization 110. The recovery services may be activated during a fault condition or other disruption of service between the organization and the PCN; The recovery network may immediately communicate with and identify the gateway at the new location ( e.g., IP address), and resume incoming and outgoing communications with the organization utilizing the new pathway)).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the recovery network for processing incoming and outgoing communications during an interruption across entities and organizations such as hospitals as taught by Poulson et al. within the method and system for enabling request for transfer and initiation thereof of a resident in a source residential facility connected to a network to a destination residential facility connected to the network as taught by Geis with the motivation of providing critical communication in emergency conditions (Poulson et al. [0025]).
RE: Claim 3 (Currently Amended) Geis and Poulson et al. teach the claimed:
3. The mobile response unit of claim 1 [[2]], wherein the instructions cause the processor to identify the receiving facility by: retrieving, from the memory, the at least one record associated with the resident; retrieving, from the memory, information pertaining to a plurality of receiving facilities; and identifying, from the plurality of receiving facilities, the receiving facility based on the at least one record associated with the resident and the information pertaining to the plurality of receiving facilities ((Geis, [0210], [0214]) (dashboard panel to a state or regional digital map or maps depicting at least one overlay of icons representing facilities that may be considered potential destination facilities. In one embodiment, the facilities represented in the overlay on the map may be facilities that have current vacancies; the request may include all required data and documents, and pathways to the resident's plan, procedures, medical state and requirements, and proposed data of actual arrival of the resident to the destination facility; transfers are approved if the needs and requirements of the resident are met by the destination facility)).
RE: Claim 4 (Original) Geis and Poulson et al. teach the claimed:
4. The mobile response unit of claim 3, wherein the information pertaining to the plurality of receiving facilities includes at least one of: a number of available beds for each receiving facility of the plurality of receiving facilities; a distance between each receiving facility of the plurality of receiving facilities and the resident; or a number of staff for each receiving facility of the plurality of receiving facilities ((Geis, [0010], [0011], [0187]) (data received in (a) includes a list of the number of current residents at each facility and the current and scheduled number of vacancies, if any, at each facility; data about each facility’s physical capabilities, staff, residents, emergency preparedness, and safety planning; An operator may, for example search facilities based on facility address, facility name, facility size, facility vacancy status, facility proximity to emergency response facilities or hospital or ambulance services, facilities having specific equipment and licensed staff, and so on)).
RE: Claim 6 (Currently Amended) Geis and Poulson et al. teach the claimed:
6. The mobile response unit of claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the processor to: transmit the one or more fourth signals to cause the user device to display the information associated with at least one of the resident or the receiving facility; wherein the user device displays the information associated with at least one of the resident or the receiving facility without storing the information associated with at least one of the resident or the receiving facility ((Geis, [0173], [0176]) (server is a function of a network cloud-based service storing and synchronizing data centrally for all facilities registered within the service authorized to access the server or authorized to access the server through an authorized agent that may be accessing remotely from an off-site facility; An operator may hand-pick facilities on a displayed map using a visual browsing technique to identify facilities on the map by icon (color or no color) and the initial generic meta-data that may be displayed by right-clicking, doubleclicking, or hovering a pointer on an icon where those data show one or more vacant units, rooms, beds, and spaces available. In one embodiment, the operator requesting transfer may browse meta-data on any facility by clicking on appropriate links displayed in the operator's browser window)).
RE: Claim 7 (Currently Amended) Geis and Poulson et al. teach the claimed:
7. The mobile response unit of claim 6, wherein the instructions cause the processor to: transmit, via the connection established by the router of the mobile response unit, fifth signals to cause the user device to display an indication that a subsequent receiving facility has been assigned to the resident; wherein the one or more fifth signals further cause the user device to display information associated with the subsequent receiving facility ((Geis, [0217], [0219]) (if the transfer is accepted, the administrator may receive notification of confirmation via a screen pop, or other methods such as notification, email, text message; confirmation of a transfer triggers an automated system process of records transfer and update, notification to transportation services of required transfer of the resident at a certain date of transfer. The facility objects dressed as icons in the map overlay are updated to show the new residency numbers)).
RE: Claim 9 (Currently Amended) Geis and Poulson et al. teach the claimed:
9. The mobile response unit of claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the processor to: display, via the user interface being displayed by the display device of the mobile response unit, a list including a plurality of residents associated with the displacing facility, the plurality of residents including the resident ((Geis, [0195]) (information boxes may provide additional data from interaction with option "resident" in the panel side bar like a full list of residents needing transfer, the portion who have special needs, the evacuation procedures that are to be followed, and details about the transportation needs or requirements to get the residents into the new facilities));
detect, via included within the user interface being displayed by the display device of the mobile response unit, wherein the selectable element is associated with the resident; and update, responsive to detection of the selection of the selectable element, the being displayed by the display device of the mobile response unit to include information associated with the resident((Geis, [0046], [0203]) (in this section a user can click the residents name and it will takes him back to the above page so he can alter resident information, the resident listing section 304 also shows a birth date, sex, and the admission date; the administrator may initiate a request to transfer Joan from her source facility by selecting and copying the icon or interactive text signifying Joan and then pasting the icon or copy of the text link into the desired available room, which in this case is on floor plan on the second level)).
RE: Claim 12 (Currently Amended) Geis and Poulson et al. teach the claimed:
12. The mobile response unit of claim 1, wherein the instructions cause the processor to associate the resident with the receiving facility by: at least one record associated with the resident, the record associated with the resident to remove information associated with the displacing facility and to include information associated with the receiving facility; and electronically storing, responsive to updating the at least one record associated with the resident, the at least one record associated with the resident in the memory ((Geis, [0008], [0219]) (to (b) store the data received in (a) in updated state in the at least one data repository; confirmation of a transfer triggers an automated system process of records transfer and update, notification to transportation services of required transfer of the resident at a certain date of transfer)).
RE: Claim 13 (Currently Amended) Geis teaches the claimed:
13. A mobile response unit, comprising: a processing circuit including a processor and memory, the memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to ((Geis, [0008]) (an Interactive User Interface (UI) accessible on a computer network through a connected computing device is provided. The UI enables users to request for transfer and initiation of transfer of a resident in a source residential facility connected to the network to a destination residential facility connected to the network. The UI enabled by coded instruction residing on a non-transitory medium coupled to a server connected to the network; the server coupled to at least one data repository, and the coded instruction commanding the server to));
display a graphical user interface via a display device of [[on]] the mobile response unit, the graphical user interface including a selectable element to provide a request to transfer a resident associated with a displacing facility; detect, via the graphical user interface displayed by the display device of the mobile response unit, a selection of the selectable element ((Geis, [0211], [0213]) (the administrator may browse facilities by hovering a pointer (computer mouse, touch pad etc.) over the icons to get first level meta data about the facility. Selecting a facility may result in a network link to the facility wherein the dashboard data features are linked to the facility data held in a data repository hosted on the network; In the aspect where two plans are held side-by-side, the administrator may copy the representation of the resident (icon) from the source floor plan and paste the representation into the desired room of the destination facility at step 1908. In one aspect of the process, the administrator may also copy the resident's representation in the form of a hyperlink from a residents list. A transfer request of this nature is launched when the link is pasted into the desired room));
receive, responsive to detection of the selection of the selectable element, the request to transfer the resident associated with the displacing facility ((Geis, [0008], [0213]) (receive a request for transfer of one or more residents from the one or more connected source facilities to one or more connected destination facilities; A transfer request of this nature is launched when the link is pasted into the desired room));
identify, responsive to detection of the selection of the selectable element, a receiving facility; transmit, via the connection established using the router of the mobile response unit, one or more first signals to a computing device associated with the receiving facility to provide((Geis, [0008], [0009], [0210], [0214])) (serve notification of transfer request, transfer schedule, and required documents to one or more destination authorities for review and response; In a preferred embodiment, the received data is uploaded from the facilities over the Internet; dashboard panel to a state or regional digital map or maps depicting at least one overlay of icons representing facilities that may be considered potential destination facilities. In one embodiment, the facilities represented in the overlay on the map may be facilities that have current vacancies; the request may include all required data and documents, and pathways to the resident's plan, procedures, medical state and requirements, and proposed data of actual arrival of the resident to the destination facility; transfers are approved if the needs and requirements of the resident are met by the destination facility));
receive, via the connection established using the router of the mobile response unit, one or more second signals from the computing device associated with the receiving facility[[,]] that provide an indication to accept the request ((Geis, [0008], [0009]) (provide destination authority(s) acceptance as a response; In a preferred embodiment, the received data is uploaded from the facilities over the Internet));
associate, responsive to receiving the indication, the resident with the receiving facility ((Geis, [0008]) (confirm via server notification to the requesting authority or authorities, process successful transfer of the one or more residents or (upon authority)));
retrieve, based at least on acceptance of the request, at least one record associated with the resident, wherein the at least one record is electronically stored within the memory of the mobile response unit ((Geis, [0008], [0045]) (a server connected to the network; the server coupled to at least one data repository, and the coded instruction commanding the server to (a) receive data from residential facilities connected to the network, to (b) store the data received in (a) in updated state in the at least one data repository; As residents move in and move out, electronic records will be maintained for audit purposes. The resident module contains five sections, new resident, resident listing, resident timeline. required documents and form templates as following: New resident new resident information, this section contains four tabs, Identification, and info, Appraisal, Physician report, and accommodation and fees));
updatethe at least one record associated with the resident to reflect association of the resident with the receiving facility; transmit, via the connection established by the router of the mobile response unit, one or more third signals the computing device associated with the receiving facility[[,]] to provide the at least one record associated with the resident ((Geis, [0009], [0206], [0219]) (confirmation of a transfer triggers an automated system process of records transfer and update, notification to transportation services of required transfer of the resident at a certain date of transfer; After the successful transfer of Joann, the source facility may update the change in data to the system server; the network is the Internet network and any connected sub networks. In a preferred embodiment, the received data is uploaded from the facilities over the Internet)); and
and transmit, via the connection established by the router of the mobile response unit, one or more fourth signals to provide an alert that the resident will be transferred to the receiving facility, wherein the alert includes information associated with at least one of the receiving facility or the resident. ((Geis, [0208], [0217]) (In the case of a successful transfer, a confirmation message may be sent to the administrator in the form of a notification, text message, on screen pop-up message or confirmation, email message, or a combination of those));
Geis fails to explicitly teach, but Poulson et al. teaches the claimed:
establish, using a router of the mobile response unit, a connection with at least one network of one or more networks for which one or more network devices of the displacing facility are unable to connect to ((Poulson et al., [0033], [0049], ) (A recovery network 140 may provide communication recovery services to the organization 110. The recovery services may be activated during a fault condition or other disruption of service between the organization and the PCN; The recovery network may immediately communicate with and identify the gateway at the new location ( e.g., IP address), and resume incoming and outgoing communications with the organization utilizing the new pathway)).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the recovery network for processing incoming and outgoing communications during an interruption across entities and organizations such as hospitals as taught by Poulson et al. within the method and system for enabling request for transfer and initiation thereof of a resident in a source residential facility connected to a network to a destination residential facility connected to the network as taught by Geis with the motivation of providing critical communication in emergency conditions (Poulson et al. [0025]).
RE: Claim 14 (Currently Amended) Geis and Poulson et al. teach the claimed:
14. The mobile response unit of claim 13, wherein the instructions cause the processor to identify the receiving facility by: retrieving, from the memory, the at least one record associated with the resident; retrieving, from the memory, information pertaining to a plurality of receiving facilities; and identifying, from the plurality of receiving facilities, the receiving facility based on the at least one record associated with the resident and the information pertaining to the plurality of receiving facilities ((Geis, [0210], [0214]) (dashboard panel to a state or regional digital map or maps depicting at least one overlay of icons representing facilities that may be considered potential destination facilities. In one embodiment, the facilities represented in the overlay on the map may be facilities that have current vacancies; the request may include all required data and documents, and pathways to the resident's plan, procedures, medical state and requirements, and proposed data of actual arrival of the resident to the destination facility; transfers are approved if the needs and requirements of the resident are met by the destination facility)).
RE: Claim 15 (Original) Geis and Poulson et al. teach the claimed:
15. The mobile response unit of claim 14, wherein the information pertaining to the plurality of receiving facilities includes at least one of: a number of available beds for each receiving facility of the plurality of receiving facilities; a distance between each receiving facility of the plurality of receiving facilities and the resident; or a number of staff for each receiving facility of the plurality of receiving facilities ((Geis, [0210], [0214]) (dashboard panel to a state or regional digital map or maps depicting at least one overlay of icons representing facilities that may be considered potential destination facilities. In one embodiment, the facilities represented in the overlay on the map may be facilities that have current vacancies; the request may include all required data and documents, and pathways to the resident's plan, procedures, medical state and requirements, and proposed data of actual arrival of the resident to the destination facility; transfers are approved if the needs and requirements of the resident are met by the destination facility)).
RE: Claim 17 (Currently Amended) Geis and Poulson et al. teach the claimed:
17. The mobile response unit of claim 13, wherein the instructions cause the processor to: transmit the one or more fourth signals to cause the user device to display the information associated with at least one of the resident or the receiving facility; wherein the user device displays the information associated with at least one of the resident or the receiving facility without storing the information associated with at least one of the resident or the receiving facility ((Geis, [0173], [0176]) (server is a function of a network cloud-based service storing and synchronizing data centrally for all facilities registered within the service authorized to access the server or authorized to access the server through an authorized agent that may be accessing remotely from an off-site facility; An operator may hand-pick facilities on a displayed map using a visual browsing technique to identify facilities on the map by icon (color or no color) and the initial generic meta-data that may be displayed by right-clicking, doubleclicking, or hovering a pointer on an icon where those data show one or more vacant units, rooms, beds, and spaces available. In one embodiment, the operator requesting transfer may browse meta-data on any facility by clicking on appropriate links displayed in the operator's browser window)).
RE: Claim 18 (Currently Amended) Geis and Poulson et al. teach the claimed:
18. The mobile response unit of claim 17, wherein the instructions cause the processor to: transmit, via the connection established by the router of the mobile response unit, fifth signals to cause the user device to display an indication that a subsequent receiving facility has been assigned to the resident; wherein the one or more fifth signals further cause the user device to display information associated with the subsequent receiving facility ((Geis, [0217], [0219]) (if the transfer is accepted, the administrator may receive notification of confirmation via a screen pop, or other methods such as notification, email, text message; confirmation of a transfer triggers an automated system process of records transfer and update, notification to transportation services of required transfer of the resident at a certain date of transfer. The facility objects dressed as icons in the map overlay are updated to show the new residency numbers)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2021/0166808 A1 (hereinafter “Geis”).
RE: Claim 20 (Currently Amended) Geis teaches the claimed:
20. A mobile response unit, the mobile response unit comprising: a processing circuit including a processor and memory, the memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to ((Geis, [0008]) (an Interactive User Interface (UI) accessible on a computer network through a connected computing device is provided. The UI enables users to request for transfer and initiation of transfer of a resident in a source residential facility connected to the network to a destination residential facility connected to the network. The UI enabled by coded instruction residing on a non-transitory medium coupled to a server connected to the network; the server coupled to at least one data repository, and the coded instruction commanding the server to));
receive, via a selection of at least one icon presented by a user interface, a request to transfer a resident associated with a displacing facility ((Geis, [0008], [0211], [0213])) (an Interactive User Interface (UI) accessible on a computer network through a connected computing device is provided. The UI enables users to request for transfer and initiation of transfer of a resident in a source residential facility connected to the network to a destination residential facility connected to the network. The UI enabled by coded instruction residing on a non-transitory medium coupled to a server connected to the network; the server coupled to at least one data repository, and the coded instruction commanding the server to; the administrator may browse facilities by hovering a pointer (computer mouse, touch pad etc.) over the icons to get first level meta data about the facility. Selecting a facility may result in a network link to the facility wherein the dashboard data features are linked to the facility data held in a data repository hosted on the network; In the aspect where two plans are held side-by-side, the administrator may copy the representation of the resident (icon) from the source floor plan and paste the representation into the desired room of the destination facility at step 1908. In one aspect of the process, the administrator may also copy the resident's representation in the form of a hyperlink from a residents list. A transfer request of this nature is launched when the link is pasted into the desired room));
retrieve, from the memory, information associated with a plurality of receiving facilities; identify, based on the information associated with the plurality of receiving facilities, a receiving facility of the plurality of receiving facilities ((Geis, [0008], [0210], [0214])) (serve notification of transfer request, transfer schedule, and required documents to one or more destination authorities for review and response; dashboard panel to a state or regional digital map or maps depicting at least one overlay of icons representing facilities that may be considered potential destination facilities. In one embodiment, the facilities represented in the overlay on the map may be facilities that have current vacancies; the request may include all required data and documents, and pathways to the resident's plan, procedures, medical state and requirements, and proposed data of actual arrival of the resident to the destination facility; transfers are approved if the needs and requirements of the resident are met by the destination facility)).
establish, responsive to identification of the receiving facility, using a router of the mobile response unit, a connection a network to connect with a user device of the receiving facility; transmit connection with the network established using the router of the mobile response unit, one or more first signals to the user device of the receiving facility[[,]] to provide the request to transfer the resident ((Geis, [0008], [0009], [0164]) (The UI enables users to request for transfer and initiation of transfer of a resident in a source residential facility connected to the network to a destination residential facility connected to the network; serve at least one digital instance of the UI to at least one authority having charge over at least one of the residential facilities upon request of the at least one authority; receive a request for transfer of one or more residents from the one or more connected source facilities to one or more connected destination facilities; In a preferred embodiment, the received data is uploaded from the facilities over the Internet; Network backbone supports edge data routers; the data routers are equipped to provide sub-networks like a sub-network, a sub-network, and a sub-network connection to and access to the overall network));
receive, via the connection with the network established using the router of the mobile response unit, one or more second signals, from the user device of the receiving facility[[,]] that provide an indication to accept the request ((Geis, [0008], [0164]) (provide destination authority(s) acceptance as a response; Network backbone supports edge data routers; the data routers are equipped to provide sub-networks like a sub-network, a sub-network, and a sub-network connection to and access to the overall network));
associate, responsive to receiving the indication, the resident with the receiving facility ((Geis, [0008]) (confirm via server notification to the requesting authority or authorities, process successful transfer of the one or more residents or (upon authority)));
retrieve, based at least on acceptance of the request, at least one record associated with the resident ((Geis, [0008], [0045]) (a server connected to the network; the server coupled to at least one data repository, and the coded instruction commanding the server to (a) receive data from residential facilities connected to the network, to (b) store the data received in (a) in updated state in the at least one data repository; As residents move in and move out, electronic records will be maintained for audit purposes. The resident module contains five sections, new resident, resident listing, resident timeline. required documents and form templates as following: New resident new resident information, this section contains four tabs, Identification, and info, Appraisal, Physician report, and accommodation and fees));
updatethe at least one record associated with the resident; transmit connection with the network established using the router of the mobile response unit, one or more third signals to the user device of the receiving facility[[,]] to provide the at least one record associated with the resident ((Geis, [0009], [0206], [0219]) (In a preferred embodiment, the received data is uploaded from the facilities over the Internet; confirmation of a transfer triggers an automated system process of records transfer and update, notification to transportation services of required transfer of the resident at a certain date of transfer; After the successful transfer of Joann, the source facility may update the change in data to the system server; the network is the Internet network and any connected sub networks. In a preferred embodiment, the received data is uploaded from the facilities over the Internet)); and
transmit connection with the network established using the router of the mobile response unit, one or more fourth signals, to a second user device[[,]] to an alert that the resident will be transferred to the receiving facility, wherein the alert includes information associated with at least one of the receiving facility or the resident ((Geis, [0009], [0164], [0208], [0217]) (In the case of a successful transfer, a confirmation message may be sent to the administrator in the form of a notification, text message, on screen pop-up message or confirmation, email message, or a combination of those; In a preferred embodiment, the received data is uploaded from the facilities over the Internet; Network backbone supports edge data routers; the data routers are equipped to provide sub-networks like a sub-network, a sub-network, and a sub-network connection to and access to the overall network));));
wherein the alert causes the second user device to display((Geis, [0173],) [0219]) (confirmation of a transfer triggers an automated system process of records transfer and update, notification to transportation services of required transfer of the resident at a certain date of transfer. The facility objects dressed as icons in the map overlay are updated to show the new residency numbers; server is a function of a network cloud-based service storing and synchronizing data centrally for all facilities registered within the service authorized to access the server or authorized to access the server through an authorized agent that may be accessing remotely from an off-site facility)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments will be addressed herein below in the order in which they appear in the response filed on 09/15/2025.
In the remarks, Applicant argues in substance that:
Regarding the 101 rejection of claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, 12-15, 17-18, and 20, Applicant argues that the claims integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and is directed to establishment of a connection with a network; and
Regarding the 10 rejection of claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, 12-15, 17-18, and 20, Applicant argues that previously cited Geis does not teach each of the newly amended limitations of independent claim 1 such that the rejection of claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, 12-15, 17-18, and 20 should be withdrawn.
In response to Applicant’s argument that (a) regarding the 101 rejection of claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, 12-15, 17-18, and 20, Examiner is persuaded. While the claims may recite an abstract idea under Step 2A, Prong One, the claims at least recite additional elements that, when viewed as a whole, are directed to a computer system architecture under Step 2A, Prong 2. Accordingly, the 101 rejection of claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, 12-15, 17-18, and 20 has been withdrawn.
In response to Applicant’s argument (b) regarding the 102 rejection of claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, 12-15, 17-18, and 20, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, 12-15, and 17-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument in view of newly cited Poulson et al. as teaches the newly amended concept of establishing a network connection during a connectivity interruption as recited in independent claims 1 and 13. Examiner respectfully submits that the 102 rejection of independent claim 20 is maintained as the scope of this claim is broader and the establishment of the connection is merely between two computing devices, which Geis discloses at [0009] and [0164].
Examiner further notes that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, a “mobile response unit” can be a general purpose computer made up of general purpose computer components of a processing circuitry comprising a processor and a memory. Examiner respectfully submits that Geis teaches this claim element throughout the specification and its communication between devices over an established network.
Accordingly, the 102 rejection of claim 20 is maintained. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-7, 9, 12-15, and 17-18 are rejection under 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2021/0319886 A1 teaches dashboards that can be rendered as the GUIs, which allow healthcare administrators to make informed decisions about critical healthcare questions, such as when to transfer patients and where to transfer the patients, when to request new resources (e.g., from a state or national stockpile, or from other hospitals), and when to offer to share resources, thereby improving patient care ([0205]);
U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2020/0210868 teaches determining one or more appropriate treatment facilities for patient placement ([0005]);
U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2003/0074222 A1 teaches a user interface screen of the present invention bed management system for entering a transfer request for a patient ([0038]); and
U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2021/0103939 A1 teaches matching a patient to a care giving facility, wherein effectiveness of any match between a care receiver/patient and a caregiver or caregiving facility depends upon, at a minimum, the requirements defined by the patient, the crowdsourced data and their experiences, and real-time insight into the caregiver or caregiving facility's availability, their offerings and their skill set ([0163]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3682
/JORDAN L JACKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3682