DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the nut having an internal surface having at least one cutting edge and at least one compression surface of claim 6, and wherein the internal surfaces includes a threaded surface that is located opposite to said cutting edge and said compression surface of claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 introduces “at least one washer”, “at least one cutting edge” and “at least one compression surface”. However, the claim includes further recitations to “said washer”, “said cutting edge” and “said compression surface”, which all lack antecedent basis. The further recitations should all be amended to refer to “the at least one” of the elements. Claims 2, 7, 8 and 9 have similar issues. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims end with a comma rather than a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites in part “a nut having an internal surface having at least one cutting edge and at least one compression surface”. The stated purpose of the subject invention is to cut the surface of the material cleanly and prevent shredding of the material surface in the process of securing materials together (page 14, first paragraph, of the subject application). It is not clear how an internal surface of a nut that has at least one cutting edge and at least one compression surface would be able to cut the surface of the material in the process of securing materials, because the internal surfaces of the nut would not be interacting with the materials to be secured, but would instead be interacting with the fastening mechanism that passes through the nut. The only nut shown in the subject specification is threaded nut 36 (See Figure 11 of the subject specification) which is threaded onto the second end of hardware element 20, and which is tightened against common lock washer 34 (See the paragraph spanning pages 21 and 22 of the subject specification). The threaded nut 36 is not shown to include an internal surface having at least one cutting edge and at least one compression surface, nor would there be any reason for threaded nut 36 to include an internal surface having at least one cutting edge and at least one compression surface. Accordingly, for examination purposes, and in accordance with Figure 11 of the subject specification, this limitation will be interpreted as a nut having an internal surface and a washer having at least one cutting edge and at least one compression surface.
Claim 7 is rejected by virtue of depending from rejected claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Clifton Butzer et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2007/0036630 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Clifton Butzer discloses a cut and compression device comprising at least one washer (1) (Figs 1 – 2; paragraphs [0018] and [0019]) having at least one cutting edge (4) (Fig 2; paragraph [0024]) and at least one compression surface (8) (Fig 2; paragraph [0024]) wherein said washer (1) has (a) a circular profile having a perimeter (Figs 1, 2 and 4) and wherein said washer (1) has a center opening (3) that is a void or a hole (Figs 1, 2 and 4; paragraph [0019]), and (b) wherein said cutting edge (4) of said washer (1) is located around or in juxtaposition to said perimeter of said washer (1) (Figs 1, 2 and 4), and wherein said compression surface (8) is located downstream of said cutting edge (4) (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 2, Clifton Butzer further discloses wherein said washer (1) has a receiving profile surface (the outer perimeter of hole 8) which is formed to match a hardware element (15) (Fig 4; paragraphs [0019] – [0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Clifton Butzer further discloses wherein said hardware element (15) is a fastening element (Fig 4; paragraphs [0019] – [0021], [0035] and [0036]).
Regarding claim 4, Clifton Butzer further discloses wherein said at least one cutting edge (4) and at least one compression surface (8) are placed in juxtaposition to a first end of said fastening element (15) (Fig 4; paragraphs [0019] – [0023].
Regarding claim 5, Clifton Butzer further discloses wherein said fastening element (15) has a head (20) attached to said first end of said fastening element (15) (Fig 4; paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 6, Clifton Butzer discloses a cut and compression device comprising a nut (24) having an internal surface (Fig 4; paragraph [0036] – the internal surface of the nut is where the threads are) and a washer (1) (Figs 1 – 2; paragraphs [0018] and [0019]) having at least one cutting edge (4) (Fig 2; paragraph [0024]) and at least one compression surface (8) (Fig 2; paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 7, Clifton Butzer further discloses wherein said internal surface includes a threaded surface that is located opposite to said cutting edge (4) and said compression surface (8) (Fig ; paragraph [0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 - 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clifton Butzer in view of Loi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2004/0170488 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Clifton Butzer discloses a cut and compression device comprising at least one washer (1) (Figs 1 – 2; paragraphs [0018] and [0019]) having at least one cutting edge (4) (Fig 2; paragraph [0024]) and at least one compression surface (8) (Fig 2; paragraph [0024]) wherein said washer (1) has (a) a circular profile having a perimeter (Figs 1, 2 and 4) and wherein said washer (1) has a center opening (3) that is a void or a hole (Figs 1, 2 and 4; paragraph [0019]), and (b) wherein said cutting edge (4) of said washer (1) is located around or in juxtaposition to said perimeter of said washer (1) (Figs 1, 2 and 4), and wherein said compression surface (8) is located downstream of said cutting edge (4) (Fig 2).
Clifton Butzer discloses the limitations of the claimed invention except for wherein said cutting edge of said washer has an external bevel which offsets said cutting edge of said washer to have a diameter that is less than the outermost edge of said washer.
Loi is directed to a cutting screw. Loi specifically discloses wherein said cutting edge (22) of said cutting member (20) has an external bevel (at 21) which offsets said cutting edge (22) of said cutting member (20) to have a diameter that is less than the outermost edge (21) of said cutting member (20) (See Fig 1 below, See also Figs 2 – 4; paragraph [0023]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Clifton Butzer to such that said cutting edge of said washer has an external bevel which offsets said cutting edge of said washer to have a diameter that is less than the outermost edge of said washer as taught by Loi, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to fastening mechanism with cutting edges. As disclosed by Loi, it is well known for the cutting edge of a fastener to have an external bevel which offsets said cutting edge of the fastener to have a diameter that is less than the outermost edge of the fastener. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Clifton Butzer such that said cutting edge of said washer has an external bevel which offsets said cutting edge of said washer to have a diameter that is less than the outermost edge of said washer as taught by Loi, as such a modification would allow the cutting edge of the washer to more efficiently cut through the surface of a material to be secured.
Regarding claim 9, Clifton Butzer further discloses wherein said washer (1) has a receiving profile surface (the outer perimeter of hole 8) which is formed to match a hardware element (15) (Fig 4; paragraphs [0019] – [0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Clifton Butzer further discloses wherein said hardware element (15) is a fastening element (Fig 4; paragraphs [0019] – [0021], [0035] and [0036]).
Regarding claim 11, Clifton Butzer further discloses wherein said at least one cutting edge (4) and at least one compression surface (8) are placed in juxtaposition to a first end of said fastening element (15) (Fig 4; paragraphs [0019] – [0023].
Regarding claim 12, Clifton Butzer further discloses wherein said fastening element (15) has a head (20) attached to said first end of said fastening element (15) (Fig 4; paragraph [0036]).
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614