DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/02/2023 has been considered.
Status of Application/Claims
Claims 1-20, filed 10/06/2023, are pending. Claims 1-20 are the subject of the present Official action.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 8, 14, and 17 objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “an PSEN1 protein” should read “a PSEN1 protein”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jakobsen et al. (Journal of Alzheimer’s Disease, 2016; hereinafter Jakobsen). Jakobsen teaches genetically modified swine with Alzheimer’s disease-associated mutations APP695sw and PSEN1M146I resulting in PSEN1 and APP protein that does not function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jakobsen in further view of Cohen et al. (The Journal of Neuroscience, 2013; hereinafter Cohen), Chen Shi et al. (CN106282118A; hereinafter Chen Shi), Fuqiang Chen et al. (US20140273233A1; hereinafter Fuqiang Chen), and Whitworth et al. (Biology of Reproduction, 2014; hereinafter Whitworth).
With regard to Claims 1, 4-6, 8-9, and 11, Jakobsen teaches genetically modified swine with Alzheimer’s disease-associated mutations APP695sw and PSEN1M146I resulting in PSEN1 and APP protein that does not function, for use as a more representative model for Alzheimer’s disease due to the higher anatomical, physiological, and genetic similarities of porcine models to humans compared to rodent models.
With regard to Claims 2 and 3, Jakobsen does not teach genetically modified swine with deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 and a deletion in exon 1 of APP.
Cohen teaches a genetically modified rat with the APPsw mutation and deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 resulting in a PSEN1 protein that does not function, which Cohen teaches are both independent causes of Alzheimer’s disease.
Madsen teaches a high degree of conservation of the porcine PSEN1 primary sequence and expression patterns during embryonic brain development compared to those observed in humans and rodents. There was 92% sequence identity between the porcine and human PSEN1 primary sequence, and 11 of the 34 amino acid changes were conservative substitutions. There was 89% sequence identity between porcine and mouse PSEN1 primary sequence, and 16 of the 50 amino acid changes were conservative. None of the amino acid changes between pig and human were located in positions known to cause Alzheimer’s disease. Madsen teaches that the porcine model shows promise for studying the biological functions of PSEN proteins due to the higher physiological and anatomic similarities between pigs and humans.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 of Cohen and the porcine model of Jakobsen additionally supported by the sequence alignment of Madsen to develop a porcine model of Alzheimer’s disease with deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because Cohen teaches that deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 is known in the art as a cause of Alzheimer’s disease and Cohen introduces the deletion to develop a rat model of Alzheimer’s disease. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 in a porcine model would provide for more representative modeling of how Alzheimer’s disease manifests in humans due to the higher anatomical, physiological, and genetic similarities to humans compared to rodent models. One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered there to be a reasonable expectation of success because of the sequence alignment provided by Madsen and the methodologies detailed in Jakobsen and Cohen.
Chen Shi teaches the use of CRISPR to knock out APP expression in a mammalian cell strain for the purpose of modeling Alzheimer’s disease.
Fuqiang Chen teaches CRISPR-based methods for modifying chromosomal sequences near desired locations such as disease SNPs, small exons, start codons, stop codons, and other locations using RNA-guided endonucleases. See paragraph 0010 of Fuqiang Chen.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the use of CRISPR to knock out APP of Chen Shi, the desired target locations of Fuqiang Chen, and the porcine model of Jakobsen to develop a porcine model of Alzheimer’s disease with loss of function of APP through a deletion in exon 1 of APP. Based on the teachings of Jakobsen and the secondary references, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to develop a porcine model of Alzheimer’s disease with loss of function of APP. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to target exon 1 of APP to achieve knock-out of APP expression given that there are a finite number of exons of APP to select from that contain desired target locations. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a deletion in exon 1 of APP leading to loss of function of APP in a porcine model would provide for more representative modeling of how Alzheimer’s disease manifests in humans due to the higher anatomical, physiological, and genetic similarities to humans compared to rodent models. One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered there to be a reasonable expectation of success because the methodologies were detailed in Jakobsen and the secondary references.
Additionally, MPEP 2144.06 states, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have developed a porcine model with both a deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 and a deletion in exon 1 of APP for the purpose of more representative modeling of Alzheimer’s disease.
With regard to Claim 7, Jakobsen does not teach genetically modified swine with deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1.
As stated above, Cohen teaches a genetically modified rat with the APPsw mutation and deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 resulting in a PSEN1 protein that does not function, which Cohen teaches are both independent causes of Alzheimer’s disease.
Madsen teaches a high degree of conservation of the porcine PSEN1 primary sequence and expression patterns during embryonic brain development compared to those observed in humans and rodents. There was 92% sequence identity between the porcine and human PSEN1 primary sequence, and 11 of the 34 amino acid changes were conservative substitutions. There was 89% sequence identity between porcine and mouse PSEN1 primary sequence, and 16 of the 50 amino acid changes were conservative. None of the amino acid changes between pig and human were located in positions known to cause Alzheimer’s disease. Madsen teaches that the porcine model shows promise for studying the biological functions of PSEN proteins due to the higher physiological and anatomic similarities between pigs and humans.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 of Cohen and the porcine model of Jakobsen additionally supported by the sequence alignment of Madsen to develop a porcine model of Alzheimer’s disease with deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because Cohen teaches that deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 is known in the art as a cause of Alzheimer’s disease and Cohen introduces the deletion to develop a rat model of Alzheimer’s disease. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 in a porcine model would provide for more representative modeling of how Alzheimer’s disease manifests in humans due to the higher anatomical, physiological, and genetic similarities to humans compared to rodent models. One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered there to be a reasonable expectation of success because of the sequence alignment provided by Madsen and the methodologies detailed in Jakobsen and Cohen.
With regard to Claim 10, Jakobsen does not teach genetically modified swine with a deletion in exon 1 of APP.
Chen Shi teaches the use of CRISPR to knock out APP expression in a mammalian cell strain for the purpose of modeling Alzheimer’s disease.
Fuqiang Chen teaches CRISPR-based methods for modifying chromosomal sequences near desired locations such as disease SNPs, small exons, start codons, stop codons, and other locations using RNA-guided endonucleases. See paragraph 0010 of Fuqiang Chen.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the use of CRISPR to knock out APP of Chen Shi, the desired target locations of Fuqiang Chen, and the porcine model of Jakobsen to develop a porcine model of Alzheimer’s disease with loss of function of APP through a deletion in exon 1 of APP. Based on the teachings of Jakobsen and the secondary references, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to develop a porcine model of Alzheimer’s disease with loss of function of APP. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to target exon 1 of APP to achieve knock-out of APP expression given that there are a finite number of exons of APP to select from that contain desired target locations. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a deletion in exon 1 of APP leading to loss of function of APP in a porcine model would provide for more representative modeling of how Alzheimer’s disease manifests in humans due to the higher anatomical, physiological, and genetic similarities to humans compared to rodent models. One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered there to be a reasonable expectation of success because the methodologies were detailed in Jakobsen and the secondary references.
With regard to Claims 12-14, Jakobsen does not teach introducing a guide RNA targeting the PSEN1 gene or the APP gene to a zygote to result in a deletion in the PSEN1 and APP genes.
Whitworth teaches a method of generating genetically modified swine comprising introducing a guide RNA targeting a gene into a zygote to introduce double-strand breaks to result in deletion of the gene. Whitworth also teaches culturing the zygote and transferring the cultured zygote to a recipient female and allowing the zygote to develop in the recipient female to produce the genetically modified swine.
As stated above, Cohen teaches a genetically modified rat with the APPsw mutation and deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 resulting in a PSEN1 protein that does not function, which Cohen teaches are both independent causes of Alzheimer’s disease.
Madsen teaches a high degree of conservation of the porcine PSEN1 primary sequence and expression patterns during embryonic brain development compared to those observed in humans and rodents. There was 92% sequence identity between the porcine and human PSEN1 primary sequence, and 11 of the 34 amino acid changes were conservative substitutions. There was 89% sequence identity between porcine and mouse PSEN1 primary sequence, and 16 of the 50 amino acid changes were conservative. None of the amino acid changes between pig and human were located in positions known to cause Alzheimer’s disease. Madsen teaches that the porcine model shows promise for studying the biological functions of PSEN proteins due to the higher physiological and anatomic similarities between pigs and humans.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Jakobsen and the secondary references Cohen, Whitworth, and Madsen to develop a porcine model of Alzheimer’s disease with deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 in the method of Whitworth. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because Cohen teaches that deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 is known in the art as a cause of Alzheimer’s disease and Cohen introduces the deletion to develop a rat model of Alzheimer’s disease. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 in a porcine model would provide for more representative modeling of how Alzheimer’s disease manifests in humans due to the higher anatomical, physiological, and genetic similarities to humans compared to rodent models. One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered there to be a reasonable expectation of success because the methodology is detailed in the secondary reference Whitworth.
Chen Shi teaches the use of CRISPR to knock out APP expression in a mammalian cell strain for the purpose of modeling Alzheimer’s disease.
Fuqiang Chen teaches CRISPR-based methods for modifying chromosomal sequences near desired locations such as disease SNPs, small exons, start codons, stop codons, and other locations using RNA-guided endonucleases. See paragraph 0010 of Fuqiang Chen.
Based on the teachings of Jakobsen and the secondary references Cohen, Chen Shi, Fuqiang Chen, and Cohen, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to develop a porcine model of Alzheimer’s disease with loss of function of APP in the method of Whitworth. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to target exon 1 of APP to achieve knock-out of APP expression given that there are a finite number of exons of APP to select from that contain desired target locations such as a start codon. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a deletion in exon 1 of APP leading to loss of function of APP in a porcine model would provide for more representative modeling of how Alzheimer’s disease manifests in humans due to the higher anatomical, physiological, and genetic similarities to humans compared to rodent models. One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered there to be a reasonable expectation of success because the methodology is detailed in the secondary reference Whitworth.
Additionally, MPEP 2144.06 states, "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have developed a porcine model with both a deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 and a deletion in exon 1 of APP for the purpose of more representative modeling of Alzheimer’s disease.
With regard to Claims 15-17, Jakobsen does not teach introducing a guide RNA targeting the PSEN1 gene to a zygote to result in a deletion in the PSEN1 gene.
Whitworth teaches a method of generating genetically modified swine comprising introducing a guide RNA targeting a gene into a zygote to introduce double-strand breaks to result in deletion of the gene. Whitworth also teaches culturing the zygote and transferring the cultured zygote to a recipient female and allowing the zygote to develop in the recipient female to produce the genetically modified swine.
As stated above, Cohen teaches a genetically modified rat with the APPsw mutation and deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 resulting in a PSEN1 protein that does not function, which Cohen teaches are both independent causes of Alzheimer’s disease.
Madsen teaches a high degree of conservation of the porcine PSEN1 primary sequence and expression patterns during embryonic brain development compared to those observed in humans and rodents. There was 92% sequence identity between the porcine and human PSEN1 primary sequence, and 11 of the 34 amino acid changes were conservative substitutions. There was 89% sequence identity between porcine and mouse PSEN1 primary sequence, and 16 of the 50 amino acid changes were conservative. None of the amino acid changes between pig and human were located in positions known to cause Alzheimer’s disease. Madsen teaches that the porcine model shows promise for studying the biological functions of PSEN proteins due to the higher physiological and anatomic similarities between pigs and humans.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Jakobsen and the secondary references Cohen, Whitworth, and Madsen to develop a porcine model of Alzheimer’s disease with deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 in the method of Whitworth. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because Cohen teaches that deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 is known in the art as a cause of Alzheimer’s disease and Cohen introduces the deletion to develop a rat model of Alzheimer’s disease. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that deletion of exon 9 of PSEN1 in a porcine model would provide for more representative modeling of how Alzheimer’s disease manifests in humans due to the higher anatomical, physiological, and genetic similarities to humans compared to rodent models. One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered there to be a reasonable expectation of success because the methodology is detailed in the secondary reference Whitworth.
With regard to Claims 18-20, Jakobsen does not teach introducing a guide RNA targeting the PSEN1 gene or the APP gene to a zygote to result in a deletion in the PSEN1 and APP genes.
Whitworth teaches a method of generating genetically modified swine comprising introducing a guide RNA targeting a gene into a zygote to introduce double-strand breaks to result in deletion of the gene. Whitworth also teaches culturing the zygote and transferring the cultured zygote to a recipient female and allowing the zygote to develop in the recipient female to produce the genetically modified swine. Whitworth does not teach introducing a guide RNA targeting exon 9 of the PSEN1 gene or targeting the APP gene.
As stated above, Chen Shi teaches the use of CRISPR to knock out APP expression in a mammalian cell strain for the purpose of modeling Alzheimer’s disease.
Fuqiang Chen teaches CRISPR-based methods for modifying chromosomal sequences near desired locations such as disease SNPs, small exons, start codons, stop codons, and other locations using RNA-guided endonucleases. See paragraph 0010 of Fuqiang Chen.
Based on the teachings of Jakobsen and the secondary references Cohen, Chen Shi, Fuqiang Chen, and Cohen, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to develop a porcine model of Alzheimer’s disease with loss of function of APP in the method of Whitworth. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to target exon 1 of APP to achieve knock-out of APP expression given that there are a finite number of exons of APP to select from that contain desired target locations such as a start codon. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a deletion in exon 1 of APP leading to loss of function of APP in a porcine model would provide for more representative modeling of how Alzheimer’s disease manifests in humans due to the higher anatomical, physiological, and genetic similarities to humans compared to rodent models. One of ordinary skill in the art would have considered there to be a reasonable expectation of success because the methodology is detailed in the secondary reference Whitworth.
Conclusion
/H.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1631
/JAMES D SCHULTZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1631