DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the application filed on 10/06/2023.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received on 11/09/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/06/2023, 08/21/2024 and 07/09/2025 are compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US 2020/0221296 A1), in view of AHN et al. (US 2021/0385778 A1).
As to claims 1 and 7, Jiang discloses the invention as claimed, including an electronic device (Fig. 3C; Fig. 4, 400) comprising:
a communication module (Fig. 4, 418); and
at least one processor (Fig. 4, 404) functionally connected to the communication module (Fig. 4, 418), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from an external electronic device (Fig. 3C, 230A) through the communication module (Fig. 4, 418), a configuration request frame (i.e., configuration request message, bootstrapping information, configurable settings) comprising identification information identifying an enrollee access point (AP) to configure the external electronic device as the enrollee AP (Fig. 3C; ¶0013; ¶0021, “APs are also enrollees. IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 may each enter into DPP configuration mode by sending a DPP configuration request message to mobile device 100”; ¶0029, “a typical AP has a number of configurable settings that affect the way the AP functions and/or how a client or other network device interfaces with the AP…one setting of an access point may specify the channel on which the AP will communicate with client devices. Other settings may specify the type of encryption to be used in communicating with client devices, an encryption key to be used, and a SSID that identifies the network to which the AP provides access”; ¶0030, “the bootstrapping information reported by at least AP 230A may include a public bootstrap key. It should be noted that other information, such as information indicative of operating class and channel number lists may also be included in the bootstrapping information reported by AP 230A”; ¶0031, “the DPP authentication and DPP configuration/provisioning processes involve the exchange of various messages/information between an enrollee and configurator, in this case, between AP 230A and centralized configurator server 220”; ¶0033, “AP 230A enters into DPP configuration mode by sending a DPP configuration request message to centralized configurator server 220”),
transmit, to the external electronic device (Fig. 3C, 230A) through the communication module, a configuration response frame comprising first channel information (i.e., establishing secure access/communications with the network, the network discovery phase of DPP provisioning), based on the configuration request frame (Fig. 3C; ¶0013; ¶0019; ¶0020, “Mobile device 100 can validate the DPP response message and transmit a DPP authentication confirmation message to each of IoT device 102 and WLAN AP104”; ¶0021, “Mobile device 100 responds with a DPP configuration response message, which can be used to provision IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 with the requisite configuration information needed for IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 to establish secure access/communications with the network”; ¶0029, “AP has a number of configurable settings that affect the way the AP functions and/or how a client or other network device interfaces with the AP. For example, one setting of an access point may specify the channel on which the AP will communicate with client devices. Other settings may specify the type of encryption to be used in communicating with client devices, an encryption key to be used, and a SSID that identifies the network to which the AP provides access”; ¶0034, “This configuring may include configurator keys used by centralized configurator server 220 for generating a configuration object that carries the configuration of AP 230A and authorizes connectivity between AP 230A and another device, e.g., an IoT device…Once the configuration object is configured to AP 230A, the network discovery phase of DPP provisioning may commence, and AP 230A may begin beaconing its SSID to the network, i.e., network 200”; ¶0046),
acquire connection information of the external electronic device by performing scanning through the communication module, based on the first channel information and the identification information (Claim 10, “wherein the AP detects the at least one enrollee by at least one of WiFi scanning of the network, and receiving a Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) advertisement from the at least one enrollee”; ¶0013, “the centralized configurator service may provision APs in a WLAN as enrollees by engaging in DPP authentication and configuration, after which the APs become discoverable”; ¶0017, “The configurator typically configures each Enrollee with credential information, as well as information that allows each Enrollee to discover a network in which it is to operate”; ¶0029, “one setting of an access point may specify the channel on which the AP will communicate with client devices. Other settings may specify the type of encryption to be used in communicating with client devices, an encryption key to be used, and a SSID that identifies the network to which the AP provides access”; ¶0034, “Once the configuration object is configured to AP 230A, the network discovery phase of DPP provisioning may commence, and AP 230A may begin beaconing its SSID to the network”), and
connect to the external electronic device through the communication module, based on the connection information of the external electronic device (Fig. 3C; ¶0017,
“Accordingly, IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 should be able to communicate with each other”; ¶0021; ¶0033, “Centralized configurator server 220 responds with a DPP configuration response message, which can be used to provision AP 230A with the requisite configuration information needed for AP 230A to establish secure access/communications with network 200”; ¶0034, “centralized configurator server 220 may configure AP 230A for communication within network 200. This configuring may include configurator keys used by centralized configurator server 220 for generating a configuration object that carries the configuration of AP 230A and authorizes connectivity between AP 230A and another device, e.g., an IoT device or WiFi client”).
Although Jiang discloses transmitting, to the external electronic device (Fig. 3C, 230A) through the communication module, a configuration response frame comprising first channel information (i.e., establishing secure access/communications with the network, the network discovery phase of DPP provisioning), based on the configuration request frame (Fig. 3C; ¶0013; ¶0019; ¶0020, “Mobile device 100 can validate the DPP response message and transmit a DPP authentication confirmation message to each of IoT device 102 and WLAN AP104”; ¶0021, “Mobile device 100 responds with a DPP configuration response message, which can be used to provision IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 with the requisite configuration information needed for IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 to establish secure access/communications with the network”; ¶0029, “AP has a number of configurable settings that affect the way the AP functions and/or how a client or other network device interfaces with the AP. For example, one setting of an access point may specify the channel on which the AP will communicate with client devices. Other settings may specify the type of encryption to be used in communicating with client devices, an encryption key to be used, and a SSID that identifies the network to which the AP provides access”; ¶0034, “This configuring may include configurator keys used by centralized configurator server 220 for generating a configuration object that carries the configuration of AP 230A and authorizes connectivity between AP 230A and another device, e.g., an IoT device…Once the configuration object is configured to AP 230A, the network discovery phase of DPP provisioning may commence, and AP 230A may begin beaconing its SSID to the network, i.e., network 200”; ¶0046), Jiang does not specifically disclose first channel information indicating a channel used in scanning the external electronic device by the electronic device.
However, AHN discloses transmit, to the external electronic device through the communication module, a configuration response frame (i.e., a probe response frame including the Wi-Fi simple configuration (WSC) information element (IE)) comprising first channel information indicating a channel used in scanning the external electronic device by the electronic device, based on the configuration request frame (Fig. 1; ¶0080; ¶0083; ¶0084, “the enrollee nA may attempt to scan all channels. When the existing MAP agent eA receives a probe request frame including a WSC IE including a bit indicating that the PBC event is triggered, the existing MAP agent eA may configure a bit indicating that the PBC event is triggered in the WSC IE and transmit a probe response frame including the WSC IE”; ¶0100, “the enrollee nA may not scan all channels. Specifically, when the MAP agent eA transmits the DPP authentication request or the DPP authentication confirmation, the MAP agent eA may perform the transmission by inserting information on a backhaul primary channel into a frame including the DPP authentication request or DPP authentication confirmation. After the DPP configuration process, the enrollee may configure a channel to transmit the DPP peer discovery based on information on the backhaul primary channel, and transmit the DPP peer discovery request in the corresponding channel”; ¶0128, “the enrollee may first scan a channel indicated by the information on the channel of the backhaul BSS. The enrollee may obtain the SSID and the DPP of akm suite by receiving the frame on the scanned channel. In this case, the frame may be a beacon frame. When the obtained SSID and the DPP of akm suite match the connector of the enrollee, the connector may transmit the DPP peer discovery request in the corresponding channel”; ¶0146). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jiang to include first channel information indicating a channel used in scanning the external electronic device by the electronic device, as taught by AHN because it would optimize the discovery process by scanning only channels supported by the enrollee (i.e., external electronic device) (AHN; ¶0100).
As to claim 2, Jiang discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit, to the external electronic device, a peer discovery request frame comprising network role information indicating that the electronic device is an enrollee terminal (STA), based on the connection information, receive a peer discovery response frame corresponding to the peer discovery request frame from the external electronic device, and connect to the external electronic device, based on the peer discovery response frame (Fig. 1; Fig. 3C; ¶0013; ¶0019; ¶0020, “Mobile device 100 can validate the DPP response message and transmit a DPP authentication confirmation message to each of IoT device 102 and WLAN AP104”; ¶0021, “Mobile device 100 responds with a DPP configuration response message, which can be used to provision IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 with the requisite configuration information needed for IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 to establish secure access/communications with the network”; ¶0034, “This configuring may include configurator keys used by centralized configurator server 220 for generating a configuration object that carries the configuration of AP 230A and authorizes connectivity between AP 230A and another device, e.g., an IoT device…Once the configuration object is configured to AP 230A, the network discovery phase of DPP provisioning may commence, and AP 230A may begin beaconing its SSID to the network, i.e., network 200”; ¶0046).
As to claim 3, Jiang discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the configuration request frame comprises second channel information indicating a channel in which the external electronic device operates as the enrollee AP, and wherein the second channel information is used to generate the first channel information (Fig. 3C; ¶0013; ¶0021, “APs are also enrollees. IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 may each enter into DPP configuration mode by sending a DPP configuration request message to mobile device 100”; ¶0029, “a typical AP has a number of configurable settings that affect the way the AP functions and/or how a client or other network device interfaces with the AP…one setting of an access point may specify the channel on which the AP will communicate with client devices. Other settings may specify the type of encryption to be used in communicating with client devices, an encryption key to be used, and a SSID that identifies the network to which the AP provides access”; ¶0030, “the bootstrapping information reported by at least AP 230A may include a public bootstrap key. It should be noted that other information, such as information indicative of operating class and channel number lists may also be included in the bootstrapping information reported by AP 230A”; ¶0031, “the DPP authentication and DPP configuration/provisioning processes involve the exchange of various messages/information between an enrollee and configurator, in this case, between AP 230A and centralized configurator server 220”; ¶0033, “AP 230A enters into DPP configuration mode by sending a DPP configuration request message to centralized configurator server 220”).
As to claim 4, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 above. In addition, Jiang discloses wherein the scanning comprises searching for the enrollee AP having the identification information on a channel indicated by the first channel information (¶0013, “the centralized configurator service may provision APs in a WLAN as enrollees by engaging in DPP authentication and configuration, after which the APs become discoverable”; ¶0017, “The configurator typically configures each Enrollee with credential information, as well as information that allows each Enrollee to discover a network in which it is to operate”; ¶0029, “one setting of an access point may specify the channel on which the AP will communicate with client devices. Other settings may specify the type of encryption to be used in communicating with client devices, an encryption key to be used, and a SSID that identifies the network to which the AP provides access”; ¶0034, “Once the configuration object is configured to AP 230A, the network discovery phase of DPP provisioning may commence, and AP 230A may begin beaconing its SSID to the network”).
As to claim 5, Jiang discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the configuration request frame comprises request information requesting secure information used while the electronic device operates as an enrollee STA, and wherein the configuration response frame comprises the secure information in response to the request information (¶0021, “mobile device 100 may configure each of IoT device 102 and WLAN AP104 for communications between it and other network devices, as well as for communications between it and infrastructure devices, e.g., one or more APs. It should be noted that APs are also enrollees. IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 may each enter into DPP configuration mode by sending a DPP configuration request message to mobile device 100”; ¶0031; ¶0037, “After the bootstrapping information of the relevant IoT devices and WiFi clients has been obtained by centralized configurator server 220, centralized configurator server 220 may engage in DPP authentication and DPP configuration processes with the IoT devices/WiFi clients as enrollees”).
As to claim 6, Jiang discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the configuration response frame comprises secure information used while the electronic device operates as an enrollee STA, and wherein the secure information comprises at least one of a preshared key (PSK), a passphrase, or a credential (¶0011, “thus is configured to connect to the WiFi network through network discovery (e.g., by a WiFi network's service set identifier (SSID), authentication credentials (e.g., WiFi network-specific passwords, such as a pre-shared key or WPA authentication)”; ¶0021, “a DPP configuration response message, which can be used to provision IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 with the requisite configuration information needed for IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 to establish secure access/communications with the network”; ¶0033).
As to claims 8-10, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 2-4 above, respectively.
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US 2020/0221296 A1), AHN et al. (US 2021/0385778 A1), further in view of Chen et al. (US 2010/0115271 A1).
As to claims 11 and 16, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 above. In addition, Jiang discloses an electronic device (Fig. 2A; Fig. 4, 400) comprising:
a communication module (Fig. 4, 418); and
at least one processor (Fig. 4, 404) functionally connected to the communication module (Fig. 4, 418), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, from an external electronic device (i.e., IoT device, client) through the communication module, a configuration request frame configured to configure the external electronic device as an enrollee terminal (STA) (¶0021, “mobile device 100 may configure each of IoT device 102 and WLAN AP104 for communications between it and other network devices, as well as for communications between it and infrastructure devices, e.g., one or more APs. It should be noted that APs are also enrollees. IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 may each enter into DPP configuration mode by sending a DPP configuration request message to mobile device 100”; ¶0031; ¶0037, “After the bootstrapping information of the relevant IoT devices and WiFi clients has been obtained by centralized configurator server 220, centralized configurator server 220 may engage in DPP authentication and DPP configuration processes with the IoT devices/WiFi clients as enrollees”),
transmit, to the external electronic device through the communication module, a configuration response frame comprising first channel information, based on the configuration request frame (¶0013, “the centralized configurator service may provision APs in a WLAN as enrollees by engaging in DPP authentication and configuration, after which the APs become discoverable. IoT device and/or other WiFi client bootstrapping information is received or obtained by the centralized configurator service”; ¶0020, “each of IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 may wrap an authenticating tag in the second symmetric key, place a hash of its public bootstrap key, among other information including the wrapped authentication tag in DPP response message that is returned to mobile device 100. Mobile device 100 can validate the DPP response message and transmit a DPP authentication confirmation message to each of IoT device 102 and WLAN AP104”),
connect to the external electronic device through the communication module while operating as the enrollee AP (Fig. 3C; ¶0013; ¶0021, “APs are also enrollees. IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 may each enter into DPP configuration mode by sending a DPP configuration request message to mobile device 100”; ¶0029, “a typical AP has a number of configurable settings that affect the way the AP functions and/or how a client or other network device interfaces with the AP…one setting of an access point may specify the channel on which the AP will communicate with client devices. Other settings may specify the type of encryption to be used in communicating with client devices, an encryption key to be used, and a SSID that identifies the network to which the AP provides access”; ¶0030, “the bootstrapping information reported by at least AP 230A may include a public bootstrap key. It should be noted that other information, such as information indicative of operating class and channel number lists may also be included in the bootstrapping information reported by AP 230A”; ¶0031, “the DPP authentication and DPP configuration/provisioning processes involve the exchange of various messages/information between an enrollee and configurator, in this case, between AP 230A and centralized configurator server 220”; ¶0033, “Centralized configurator server 220 responds with a DPP configuration response message, which can be used to provision AP 230A with the requisite configuration information needed for AP 230A to establish secure access/communications with network 200”; ¶0034, “centralized configurator server 220 may configure AP 230A for communication within network 200. This configuring may include configurator keys used by centralized configurator server 220 for generating a configuration object that carries the configuration of AP 230A and authorizes connectivity between AP 230A and another device, e.g., an IoT device or WiFi client”).
Jiang does not specifically disclose broadcast, through the communication module, a beacon signal scannable by the external electronic device, based on the first channel information and the identification information.
However, Chen discloses broadcast, through the communication module, a beacon signal scannable by the external electronic device, based on the first channel information and the identification information (¶0007-¶0008; ¶0026, “searches and receives the beacon broadcasted by the peer access point device by the radio frequency scan, and obtains the network identity information corresponding to the peer access point device from the beacon, such as a device name (Service Set Identifier, SSID) and a Medium Access Control (MAC) address. The access point device can find existence of the peer access point device through the beacon”; ¶0052). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jiang to include broadcast, through the communication module, a beacon signal scannable by the external electronic device, based on the first channel information and the identification information, as taught by Chen because it would reduce signal collisions and ensure reliable transmission of data (Chen; ¶0026).
As to claim 12, Jiang discloses the electronic device of claim 11, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the external electronic device, a peer discovery request frame, in response to the peer discovery request frame, transmit, to the external electronic device, a peer discovery response frame comprising network role information indicating that the electronic device is the enrollee AP, and connect to the external electronic device, based on the peer discovery response frame (Fig. 1; Fig. 3C; ¶0013; ¶0019; ¶0020, “Mobile device 100 can validate the DPP response message and transmit a DPP authentication confirmation message to each of IoT device 102 and WLAN AP104”; ¶0021, “Mobile device 100 responds with a DPP configuration response message, which can be used to provision IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 with the requisite configuration information needed for IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 to establish secure access/communications with the network”; ¶0034, “This configuring may include configurator keys used by centralized configurator server 220 for generating a configuration object that carries the configuration of AP 230A and authorizes connectivity between AP 230A and another device, e.g., an IoT device…Once the configuration object is configured to AP 230A, the network discovery phase of DPP provisioning may commence, and AP 230A may begin beaconing its SSID to the network, i.e., network 200”; ¶0046).
As to claim 13, Jiang discloses the electronic device of claim 11, wherein the configuration request frame comprises second channel information indicating a channel in which the external electronic device operates as the enrollee STA, and wherein the second channel information is used to generate the first channel information (¶0021, “mobile device 100 may configure each of IoT device 102 and WLAN AP104 for communications between it and other network devices, as well as for communications between it and infrastructure devices, e.g., one or more APs. It should be noted that APs are also enrollees. IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 may each enter into DPP configuration mode by sending a DPP configuration request message to mobile device 100”; ¶0031; ¶0037, “After the bootstrapping information of the relevant IoT devices and WiFi clients has been obtained by centralized configurator server 220, centralized configurator server 220 may engage in DPP authentication and DPP configuration processes with the IoT devices/WiFi clients as enrollees”).
As to claim 14, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 1 above. In addition, Jiang discloses wherein the beacon signal comprises the identification information and is transmitted on a channel indicated by the first channel information (¶0034, “the network discovery phase of DPP provisioning may commence, and AP 230A may begin beaconing its SSID to the network, i.e., network 200”; Claim 16, “wherein the at least one AP comprises an enrollee of the WLAN; provision one or more DPP configuration objects to the at least one AP allowing the at least one AP to beacon information identifying the WLAN to other enrollees of the WLAN”).
As to claim 15, Jiang discloses the electronic device of claim 11, wherein the configuration request frame comprises request information requesting secure information used while the electronic device operates as the enrollee AP, and wherein the configuration response frame comprises the secure information in response to the request information (¶0011, “thus is configured to connect to the WiFi network through network discovery (e.g., by a WiFi network's service set identifier (SSID), authentication credentials (e.g., WiFi network-specific passwords, such as a pre-shared key or WPA authentication)”; ¶0021, “a DPP configuration response message, which can be used to provision IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 with the requisite configuration information needed for IoT device 102 and WLAN AP 104 to establish secure access/communications with the network”; ¶0033).
As to claims 17-20, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 11-15 above, respectively.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zhang et al. (US 2021/0400502 A1), LEE et al. (US 2016/0277370 A1), MONTEMURRO et al. (US 2021/0219353 A1), Goto (US 2021/0195423 A1) disclose method and system for the provisioning of enrollee Wi-Fi devices to a Wi-Fi network.
/JUNGWON CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454 January 22, 2026