DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The Examiner has withdrawn the previous restriction requirement. All claims will be examined and no claims are currently withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “compression spring between the base and the carriage” of claims 3 and 13 and the track “cross ribs” of claims 10 and 20 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The term “generally” in claims 8 and 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “generally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Restated, claim 11 encompasses a human organism because it positively claims with the steps: 1) a user, 2) a thumb, and 3) a figures. The Examiner suggests that applicant amend claim 11 using “configured to” language consistent with claim 1. For example, -- wherein is configured to be grasped by a user by a thumb of one hand under the base and fingers over the carriage and manipulating the apparatus by repetitive pinching motions between the thumb and fingers--. This will remove the positive recitation of a user, thumb, and fingers from claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Levin et al. (herein “Levin”; US Pat. No. 6,605,048 B1).
Regarding claim 1 and 11, Levin discloses a tactile calming apparatus (Fig. 19; noting this is merely intended use), comprising: a base (Fig. 19, below); a vertical column extending orthogonally from the base (Fig. 19, below), the vertical column having indented tracks on opposite sides along the height of the column (Fig. 19, below), a carriage riding on bearings in the indented tracks (Fig. 19, below; the Examiner construing “bearing” broadly to be any structure providing a bearing surface; noting the “bearings” are within the indented track; noting dictionary.com defines “bearing” as “a support or guide for sliding”); and a spring adapted to provide a force against the carriage in a direction away from the base (Fig. 19, below); wherein a user is enabled to grasp the apparatus by a thumb of one hand under the base and fingers over the carriage, and manipulates the apparatus by repetitive pinching motions between the thumb and fingers reducing a distance between the base and the carriage (Fig. 12 to 11; clearly showing this). Regarding claim 11, Levin, as identified above, anticipates both the structure and the method of use as clearly shown in Figs. 19 below, 11 and 12.
Regarding claim 2 and 12, Levin discloses that the spring is a tension spring tethered at one end at an upper region of the column above the carriage, and at an opposite end to the carriage (see Fig. 19 above; the Examiner construing this broadly based on the relative position of the spring within the apparatus).
Regarding claim 3 and 13, Levin discloses that the spring is a compression spring positioned between the base and the carriage providing a spring force against the carriage directed away from the base (see Fig. 19 above; the Examiner construing this broadly based on the relative position of the spring within the apparatus).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin et al. (herein “Levin”; US Pat. No. 6,605,048 B1).
Regarding claim 5 and 15, Levin discloses that the base is circular platform rounded at the top and bottom edges for comfort (Fig. 1 and 19 above). It is noted that Levin does not specifically disclose that the base is ergonomic cushioned. However, regarding making the base ergonomic, it has been held that changes in shape are a matter of choice absent persuasive evidence that a person of skill in the art would find the shape significant. In re Daily, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). In addition, regarding making the base cushioned, it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is obvious. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that making the base ergonomic would not be significant: that is, the base would still allow for pushing by the thumb regardless of its exact shape. In addition, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that making the base cushioned would be obvious based on its suitability for its intended purpose: that is, the base would be repeated pressed on by the thumb, so making it cushioned would alleviate thumb soreness.
Regarding claim 6 and 16, Levin discloses that the underside of the base is
shaped to a user's thumb (Figs. 9 and 10; noting the Examiner construes this broadly as Figs. 9 and 10 clearly show that it is made to fit a user’s thumb, and without actually claiming a shape, the limitation carries little weight).
Regarding claim 7 and 17, Levin discloses that the carriage has wings on opposite sides shaped for a user's fingers (Figs. 9 and 10). It is noted that Levin does not specifically disclose that the wings are slope downward away from the column. However, regarding the exact shape of the wings, it has been held that changes in shape are a matter of choice absent persuasive evidence that a person of skill in the art would find the shape significant. In re Daily, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that making the wings slope downward away from the column would not be significant: that is, the wings would allow the fingers to push the base toward it regardless of the exact shape of the wings.
Regarding claim 8 and 18, it is noted Levin does not specifically disclose the wings are radiused generally for a user's finger tips to prevent the fingers from slipping off the carriage. However, regarding the exact shape of the wings, it has been held that changes in shape are a matter of choice absent persuasive evidence that a person of skill in the art would find the shape significant. In re Daily, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that making the wings slope downward away from the column would not be significant: that is, the wings would allow the fingers to push the base toward it regardless of the exact shape of the wings.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levin et al. (herein “Levin”; US Pat. No. 6,605,048 B1) in view of Mackelfresh et al. (herein “Mackelfresh”; US Pub. No. 2020/0238001 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, it is noted that Levin does not disclose a tether
interface at an upper region of the column adapted to connect the apparatus to a lanyard,
a key ring, a necklace, or other personal item of a user to ensure the apparatus is always
at hand when needed. However, Levin generally discloses a syringe (Fig. 19 above). In addition, Mackelfresh discloses a syringe that has a tether interface (Fig. 1, item 16; noting “adapted to connect” is functionally language that is possible given the structure). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Levin to use a tether interface as taught by Mackelfresh because doing so would be use of a known technique (using a tether interface on a syringe) to improve a similar product (a syringe) in the same way (using a tether interface on a syringe, the tether interface allowing the syringe to be attached or hung on other objects).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 14 and 10 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. This indication of allowance of claim 14 and 20 assumes that applicant fixes the 101 issues with independent claim 11.
The prior art of record does not make obvious the limitations of claims 4, 14, 10, and 20. In addition, it would not have been obvious a POSA to modify a syringe to use roller bearings or cross ribs in conjunction with the roller bearings to produce a soft sound and feel.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW B STANCZAK/
Examiner, Art Unit 3711
1/15/26
/NICHOLAS J. WEISS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3711