DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
This is in response to applicant’s amendment/response filed on 06/09/2026 which have been entered and made of record.
Applicant’s arguments regarding claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Cao, further in Sec. 2.1, clearly states that "the complexity of such user-hints methods will become more labor-intensive as the number of line drawings increase" and complains that "many interactions are usually needed to refine the colored results". Cao further argues these methods are "not user-friendly for amateur users". Because of these flaws, Cao abandons color hints entirely and proposes a "reference based colorization" method instead. Accordingly, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not look to Cao to implement a brush-tool color hint, because Cao explicitly discourages their use in favor of whole-image reference colorization.
Further, Sec. 2.1 cited by the Office Action, teaches use of these color scribbles (e.g., Ci et al.) for GANs. However, GANs do not generate images by iteratively denoising a noise input, as taught in independent claim 1. Furthermore, when Cao introduces its own diffusion model (which teaches denoising), it concatenates the line drawing with a geometrically distorted reference image, not a brush-tool hint. Therefore, Cao does not teach encoding a brush tool input into the control guidance of a diffusion model.
Moreover, the Office Action relies on Cao's prior art discussion to assert that concatenating color hints with line drawings and encoding them as input is known. Applicant respectfully submits that while Cao acknowledges that prior GANs concatenate line drawings and color hints as inputs, Cao does not teach or suggest utilizing a joint outline encoder to obtain control guidance in the input space of a diffusion model to guide an iterative denoising process.
Further, the Office Action, page 7, cites FIG. 2 of Cao to teach the outline encoder. The present Application explicitly requires an outline encoder that encodes the outline image and the color hint to obtain control guidance where the guidance is in an input space of the image generator, and subsequently generating an image by denoising a noise input based on the control guidance. Adapting an input concatenation technique from a GAN to function as control guidance for a diffusion model is not a simple substitution of known elements.
Based on MPEP § 2143, to establish a prima facie case of obviousness, there must be a reasonable expectation of success in combining the references. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that GANs and diffusion models operate on fundamentally incompatible mathematical and structural principles. GANs utilize a generator-discriminator architecture to map inputs directly to pixels in a single forward pass. In contrast, diffusion models generate images by iteratively removing noise from a target tensor over multiple timesteps.
Since the generation mechanisms are entirely distinct, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have a reasonable expectation of success in taking a raw concatenation of a brush hint and outline from a GAN and transforming it into a joint encoding that maps accurately into the input space required to guide the iterative denoising steps of a diffusion model. Cao provides no teaching or motivation on how to mathematically project a brush hint and an outline image into the latent input space of a denoising process.
Lastly, Menges does not teach encoding a brush tool input as control guidance. Menges fails to teach how to encode a regional brush tool input together with an outline image to create spatial control guidance. Instead, Menges relies on a "color palette selection interface" where selected colors globally "dominate or are prominently featured" in the resulting image or are injected as text descriptions into a prompt. Menges does not suggest or teach a joint outline encoder that processes a spatially specific brush tool input into control guidance for a denoising model.
Examiner respectably disagrees. Cao teaches two different color hints that can be used with line drawing colorization. The traditional method of allowing users to use brushes to inject colors into desired regions (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization Page 2-3) and their new developed method of using a colored reference image (Fig. 4 and Fig. 5). Cao teaches the traditional method can be used for neural networks in many deep learning-based methods and described several references that utilize neural networks like GAN models (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization Page 2-3). Nowhere in Cao do they disclose this traditional method only applies to GAN. In fact, the initial statement that “the traditional method can be used for neural networks in many deep learning-based method” implies the method can be used in general for neural networks in many deep learning-based methods. A diffusion model utilizes neural networks and implements deep learning-based methods. Cao utilizes a diffusion model (Section: 4 AnimeDiffusion Lines 4-7, Fig. 2) where the color hint is a colored image. A user using a brush to inject color into regions of an outline image, would result in a partially colored line drawing image. Thus, the partially colored line drawing image can be as the color hint in Cao’s diffusion model.
Cao further teaches the traditional method’s color hint is usually used with the line drawing to be encoded (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization Page 2-3). Cao’s other color hint (Color Reference Image, Fig. 2) is encoded with the line drawing into an encoder. Both color hints are encoded with the line drawing. Thus, Cao teaches encoding, using an outline encoder, the outline image and color hint.
Menges also teaches inputting both a color hint (Colors/Shades from Color Palette, Text Prompt, or User Selection, Para. 0094 and 0100) and outline image (Image Uploader or Sketch Drawn on Infinite Canvas from Pen Tool, Para. 0033, Fig. 6) into a stable diffusion model (Para. 0032). Stable diffusion models utilize encoders and perform forward/reverse diffusion processes. However, Menges does not go into depth about the stable diffusion model. Menges further teaches a tool menu where any suitable tool for creating or modifying media content can be added (Para. 0033). A brush tool is a standard tool in modifying content digitally/physically. Thus, a brush tool would be an obvious addition to the tool menu.
Therefore, the combination of Menges and Cao teaches a color hint which comprises a brush tool input that applies a color to a region of the outline image and encoding the outline image and color hint to obtain control guidance for an image generator comprising a diffusion model.
Regarding the remaining arguments applicant argues with respect to the amended claim language, which is fully addressed in the prior art rejections set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Menges et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20250086865 A1 (hereinafter Menges) in view of NPL “AnimeDiffusion: Anime Face Line Drawing Colorization via Diffusion Models” by Yu Cao, Xiangqiao Meng, P.Y. Mok, Xueting Liu, Tong-Yee Lee, and Ping Li. (hereinafter Cao) in further view of Aggarwal et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20240404144 A1 (hereinafter Aggarwal).
Regarding claim 1, Menges teaches a method comprising:
obtaining an outline image (Image Uploader or Sketch Drawn on Infinite Canvas from Pen Tool, Para. 0033, Fig. 6) and a color hint (Colors/Shades from Color Palette, Text Prompt, or User Selection, Para. 0094 and 0100), wherein the outline image depicts an outline of a target shape (Outline images are made up of various shapes, Fig. 5 and Fig. 16), and wherein the color hint comprises (Color Palette or Colored Outline Image, 0073, 0094, and 0100) input that applies a color (A user could specify to color a specific portion of an outline image and to prioritize certain parts of the outline image shape, Fig. 5 and Fig.16.) to a region of the outline image; (A user can choose to upload or draw an outline image. The color of the image can then be determined using the color palette selection interface, describing the color in a text prompt, the color present in the sketch/uploaded image, or inpainting. -Para. 0030, 0033, 0073, 0094, and 0100; Menges teaches obtaining an outline image through multiple methods, such as uploading an outline image or drawing an outline using the pen tool, para. 0033, Fig.5, and Fig.6. Menges also teaches a color hint, the color hint can be selecting colors from a color palette to color the outline image, describing the color and portion of the outline to be colored in the text prompt, or utilizing an outline image that is already partially colored in, para. 0073, 0094, and 0100. Users can create or modify images using Menges interactive infinite canvas, para. 0030. An outline image is an image that contains various shapes that make up the outline, any of the shapes or the whole outline image can be the target shape. Thus, Menges teaches obtaining an outline image and a color hint, wherein the outline image depicts an outline of a target shape, and wherein the color hint indicates a color and a region of the outline image for the color).
and generating (Image-to-Image Generation, Para. 0046), using the image generator (Generative Design System 300, Para. 0041), a synthesized image (Set of images, Para. 0046) by denoising (Stable Diffusion Model, Para. 0032) a noise input based on the control guidance (Outline Image and Color, Para. 0030) using a (Fig. 5 and Fig. 16) based on the outline image and the color (A user could specify to color a specific portion of an outline image and to prioritize certain parts of the outline image shape, Fig. 5 and Fig.16.) in the region indicated by the color hint(Colors/Shades from Color Palette, Text Prompt, or User Selection, Para. 0094 and 0100). Stable diffusion models utilize denoisers to denoise the input image and often perform a forward and reverse diffusion process.
Menges invention teaches designing to promote creation and creativity through flexibility and user interaction (Menges, Para. 0029-0030).
However, Menges fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the color hint comprises a brush tool input that applies a color to a region of the outline image;
encoding, using an outline encoder, the outline image and the color hint to obtain control guidance for an image generator comprising a diffusion model, wherein the control guidance represents the target shape having the color within the region, and wherein the control guidance is in an input space of the image generator;
a reverse diffusion process.
Menges and Cao are analogous to the claimed invention because both of them are in the same field of image generation, specifically utilizing Diffusion models to perform image-to-image generation based on outline images.
Cao teaches:
wherein the color hint (User-hint Colorization Method) comprises a brush tool input that applies a color to a region of the outline image (Line Drawing, Fig. 4 or Fig. 5); Cao teaches utilizing outline images( Fig.4 or Fig. 5) in the form of line drawings, a colored reference image (Fig.4 or Fig.5), and a user-hint colorization method where users use brushes to color specific regions of the line drawing (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization, Page 2, Para. 1).
encoding, using an outline encoder (Fig.2), the outline image (Line Drawing, Fig.4 or Fig. 5) and the color hint (Colored Reference Image, Fig.4 or Fig.5) to obtain control guidance (Line Drawing and Colored Reference Image, Fig.4 and Fig.5) for an image generator comprising a diffusion model (Section: 4 Anime Diffusion Page 4) wherein the control guidance represents the target shape (Line Drawing Shapes, Fig.2 , Fig.4, and Fig.5 ) having the color within the region (Colored Line Drawing or Colored Reference Image), and wherein the control guidance is in an input space of the image generator; (Section: 4 AnimeDiffusion) The user-hint colorization method uses deep learning technology specifically to control the color and can be encoded as input into a neural network with the line drawing. (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization, Page 2, Para. 1) As stated above, Cao teaches two different color hints that can be used with line drawing colorization. The traditional method of allowing users to use brushes to inject colors into desired regions (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization Page 2-3) and their new developed method of using a colored reference image (Fig. 4 and Fig. 5). Cao teaches the traditional method can be used for neural networks in many deep learning-based methods and described several references that utilize neural networks like GAN models (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization Page 2-3). Nowhere in Cao do they disclose this traditional method only applies to GAN. In fact, the initial statement that “the traditional method can be used for neural networks in many deep learning-based method” implies the method can be used in general for neural networks in many deep learning-based methods. A diffusion model utilizes neural networks and implements deep learning-based methods. Cao utilizes a diffusion model (Section: 4 AnimeDiffusion Lines 4-7, Fig. 2) where the color hint is a colored image. A user using a brush to inject color into regions of an outline image, would result in a partially colored line drawing image. Thus, the partially colored line drawing image can be as the color hint in Cao’s diffusion model.
Cao further teaches the traditional method’s color hint is usually used with the line drawing to be encoded (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization Page 2-3). Cao’s other color hint (Color Reference Image, Fig. 2) is encoded with the line drawing into an encoder. Both color hints are encoded with the line drawing. Thus, Cao teaches encoding, using an outline encoder, the outline image and color hint.
Menges also teaches inputting both a color hint (Colors/Shades from Color Palette, Text Prompt, or User Selection, Para. 0094 and 0100) and outline image (Image Uploader or Sketch Drawn on Infinite Canvas from Pen Tool, Para. 0033, Fig. 6) into a stable diffusion model (Para. 0032). Stable diffusion models utilize encoders and perform forward/reverse diffusion processes. However, Menges does not go into depth about the stable diffusion model. Menges further teaches a tool menu where any suitable tool for creating or modifying media content can be added (Para. 0033). A brush tool is a standard tool in modifying content digitally/physically. Thus, a brush tool would be an obvious addition to the tool menu.
Therefore, the combination of Menges and Cao teaches a color hint which comprises a brush tool input that applies a color to a region of the outline image and encoding the outline image and color hint to obtain control guidance for an image generator comprising a diffusion model.
denoising a noise input; (Cao Fig.2 Section 1 Introduction, Page 2, Col. 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Generative Design System to include Cao’s Outline Encoder and User-hint Colorization Method. Since, doing so would provide the benefit of enhancing the efficiency of the diffusion model performing the image-to-image generation and increasing the flexibility of the model by allowing users to control the color. Menges utilizes a generic stable diffusion model (Menges, Para. 0030) for a wide range of tasks, while Cao’s Diffusion model focuses on generating images from outline images and color references specifically (Cao, Section: Abstract).
However, Menges and Cao fail to explicitly teach:
a reverse diffusion process.
Menges, Cao, and Aggarwal are analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field of image generation, specifically utilizing Diffusion models to perform image generation based on outline images.
Aggarwal teaches a reverse diffusion process. (Reverse Diffusion Process 340, Para. 0065) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Diffusion Model altered by Cao’s Outline Encoder and User-hint Colorization Method to incorporate Aggarwal Reverse Diffusion Process. Since doing so would provide the benefit of reducing noise during the diffusion process. (Aggarwal, Para. 0027)
Regarding claim 2, Menges teaches the method of claim 1, wherein generating the synthesized image (Image-to-Image Generation, Para. 0046), comprises: providing the control guidance (Outline Image and Color, Para. 0046 and 0094) as an input to a decoder layer of the image generator. (A diffusion model can be used to generate images in Menges Invention Para. 0046. The attributes a user wants can be expressed through text, color, shape and other aspects. These attributes would be passed to the encoder and then respectively decoded.)
Regarding claim 3, Menges teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: obtaining a text prompt; (Text Prompt Input 102, Para. 0032) and encoding the text prompt to obtain a text encoding, wherein the synthesized image is generated based on the text encoding. (Fig. 1)
Regarding claim 5, Menges and Cao fail to teach the method of claim 4, wherein processing the outline image comprises: obtaining a noisy input image for the image generator, wherein the control guidance is based on the noisy input image.
However, Aggarwal teaches the method of claim 4, wherein processing the outline image comprises (Original Image 305, Para. 0065): obtaining a noisy input image (Noisy Features 335) for the image generator, wherein the control guidance (Guidance Features 370) is based on the noisy input image. (Noisy Features, Para. 0069) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Image Generation altered by Cao to incorporate Aggarwal’s nosy input image. Since, Menges uses a diffusion model in one embodiment, one would expect noise to be present in image generation. Hence, one would want to reduce noise and that is accomplished by incorporating Aggarwal’s reverse diffusion process and noisy images. (Aggarwal, Para. 0027)
Regarding claim 6, Menges and Cao fail to teach the method of claim 1, wherein generating the synthesized image comprises:
identifying a diffusion timestep;
and encoding the diffusion timestep to obtain a timestep encoding, wherein the synthesized image is generated based on the timestep encoding.
However, Aggarwal teaches the method of claim 1, wherein generating the synthesized image comprises:
identifying a diffusion timestep; (Para. 0027)
and encoding the diffusion timestep to obtain a timestep encoding, wherein the synthesized image is generated based on the timestep encoding. (CLIP Image Embedding, Para. 0027) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Image Generation alter by Cao to incorporate Aggarwal’s Diffusion Timestep. Since, Menges invention can incorporate a diffusion model, one of ordinary skill would know that a diffusion timestep is a core component of the model. A timestep is used to determine/track how many times the process has been repeated to reduce noise. (Aggarwal, Para. 0027)
Regarding claim 7, Menges teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: a single image includes the outline image (User’s Sketch, Para. 0043) and the color hint (Color Palette Selection, Text, or Color in Image, Para 0094)
Regarding claim 8, Menges teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the color hint is included in a color hint image (First Image Set 708) that is separate from the outline image (Sketch 704, Para. 0070 Fig. 7). (The user can create the first set images as outline images with the sketch being a colored version of the outline images. The user could also create the first set of images as outline images and then use the color palette tool as the color hint to generate the colored image, Para. 0096)
Regarding claim 9, Menges teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a plurality of synthesized images (Set of Seed Images) based on the outline image and a plurality of different random seeds, respectively. (Para. 0104 and 0116, The user can select the set of seeds they want as well as the generated images in the collage can be randomly selected. Para. 0111)
Regarding claim 10, Menges teaches an outline image (Image Uploader or Sketch Drawn on Infinite Canvas from Pen Tool, Para. 0033, Fig. 6), a color hint (Colors/Shades from Color Palette, Text Prompt, or User Selection, Para. 0094 and 0100), and an image generator. (Image-to-Image Generation, Para. 0046).
However, Menges fails to teach a method comprising:
obtaining training data including a training outline image, a training color hint, and a ground-truth colored image corresponding to the training outline image and the training color hint, wherein the training outline image depicts an outline of a target shape, and wherein the training color hint comprises a brush tool input that applies a color to a region of the training outline image;
initializing an outline encoder using parameters of an image generator comprising a diffusion model;
and training the outline encoder, using the training outline image and the training color hint, to generate control guidance using a reverse diffusion process for the image generator for generating colored images, wherein the control guidance represents the target shape having the color within the region, and wherein the control guidance is in an input space of the image generator, and wherein the colored images depict an object having the target shape based on the training outline image and the color indicated in the region indicated by the training color hint.
Cao teaches:
(User-hint Colorization Method) comprises a brush tool input that applies a color to a region of the (Line Drawing, Fig. 4 or Fig. 5); Cao teaches outline images( Fig.4 or Fig. 5) in the form of line drawings, a colored reference image (Fig.4 or Fig.5), and a user-hint colorization method where users use brushes to color specific regions of the line drawing (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization, Page 2, Para. 1). As stated above, Cao teaches two different color hints that can be used with line drawing colorization. The traditional method of allowing users to use brushes to inject colors into desired regions (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization Page 2-3) and their new developed method of using a colored reference image (Fig. 4 and Fig. 5). Cao teaches the traditional method can be used for neural networks in many deep learning-based methods and described several references that utilize neural networks like GAN models (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization Page 2-3). Nowhere in Cao do they disclose this traditional method only applies to GAN. In fact, the initial statement that “the traditional method can be used for neural networks in many deep learning-based method” implies the method can be used in general for neural networks in many deep learning-based methods. A diffusion model utilizes neural networks and implements deep learning-based methods. Cao utilizes a diffusion model (Section: 4 AnimeDiffusion Lines 4-7, Fig. 2) where the color hint is a colored image. A user using a brush to inject color into regions of an outline image, would result in a partially colored line drawing image. Thus, the partially colored line drawing image can be as the color hint in Cao’s diffusion model.
Cao further teaches the traditional method’s color hint is usually used with the line drawing to be encoded (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization Page 2-3). Cao’s other color hint (Color Reference Image, Fig. 2) is encoded with the line drawing into an encoder. Both color hints are encoded with the line drawing. Thus, Cao teaches encoding, using an outline encoder, the outline image and color hint.
Menges also teaches inputting both a color hint (Colors/Shades from Color Palette, Text Prompt, or User Selection, Para. 0094 and 0100) and outline image (Image Uploader or Sketch Drawn on Infinite Canvas from Pen Tool, Para. 0033, Fig. 6) into a stable diffusion model (Para. 0032). Stable diffusion models utilize encoders and perform forward/reverse diffusion processes. However, Menges does not go into depth about the stable diffusion model. Menges further teaches a tool menu where any suitable tool for creating or modifying media content can be added (Para. 0033). A brush tool is a standard tool in modifying content digitally/physically. Thus, a brush tool would be an obvious addition to the tool menu.
Therefore, the combination of Menges and Cao teaches a color hint which comprises a brush tool input that applies a color to a region of the outline image and encoding the outline image and color hint to obtain control guidance for an image generator comprising a diffusion model.
initializing an outline encoder (Fig.2) using parameters (Section 1 Introduction, Page 2, Col. 1) of an image generator comprising a diffusion model (Section: 4 AnimeDiffusion);
and (Line Drawing, Fig. 4 or Fig. 5) and the (User-hint Colorization Method), to generate control guidance using (Line Drawing Shapes, Fig.2 , Fig.4, and Fig.5 ) having the color within the region (Colored Line Drawing or Colored Reference Image), and wherein the control guidance (Line Drawing and Colored Reference Image, Fig.4 and Fig.5) is in an input space of the image generator (Section: 4 AnimeDiffusion) The user-hint colorization method uses deep learning technology specifically to control the color and can be encoded as input into a neural network with the line drawing. (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization, Page 2, Para. 1) and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Generative Design System to include Cao’s Outline Encoder and User-hint Colorization Method. Since, doing so would provide the benefit of enhancing the efficiency of the diffusion model performing the image-to-image generation and increasing the flexibility of the model by allowing users to control the color. Menges utilizes a generic stable diffusion model (Menges, Para. 0030) for a wide range of tasks, while Cao’s Diffusion model focuses on generating images from outline images and color references specifically (Cao, Section: Abstract).
However, Menges and Cao fail to teach a method comprising:
obtaining training data including a training outline image, a training color hint, and a ground-truth colored image corresponding to the training outline image and the training color hint, wherein the training outline image depicts an outline of a target shape, and wherein the training color hint comprises a brush tool input that applies a color to a region of the training outline image;
and training the outline encoder, using the training outline image and the training color hint, to generate control guidance using a reverse diffusion process for the image generator for generating colored images, wherein the control guidance represents the target shape having the color within the region, and wherein the control guidance is in an input space of the image generator, and wherein the colored images depict an object having the target shape based on the training outline image and the color indicated in the region indicated by the training color hint.
Aggarwal teaches a method comprising:
obtaining training data (Training Component 215) including a training outline image (Image Embedding), a training color hint, (Image Embedding or Color Embedding) and a ground-truth colored image (Ground-Truth Image Embedding) corresponding to the training outline image and the training color hint (Predicted Image Embedding, Para. 0052 and 0127), wherein the training outline image depicts an outline of a target shape (Image Embedding), and wherein the training color hint (Image Embedding, Color Embedding, or Text Embedding) comprises a brush tool input that applies a color to a region of the training outline image; (Predicted Image Embedding, Para. 0052 and 0127)
and training the outline encoder (Training Component 215), using the training outline image (Image Embedding) and the training color hint (Image Embedding or Color Embedding), to generate control guidance using a reverse diffusion process (Reverse Diffusion Process 340, Para. 0065) for the image generator for generating colored images (Predicted Image Embedding, Para. 0052 and 0127), wherein the control guidance represents the target shape having the color within the region, and wherein the control guidance is in an input space of the image generator, and wherein the colored images depict an object having the target shape (Image Embedding) based on the training outline image and the color indicated in the region indicated by the training color hint (Image Embedding, Color Embedding, or Text Embedding).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Generative Design System Image Generation and Cao’s Outline Encoder with User-hint Colorization Method to incorporate Aggarwal’s Training of the Image Generation Model Components and Outline Encoder. In one embodiment Menges uses a diffusion model to generate images. Machine learning models are trained to ensure the outcome of the models are correct. Hence, if you have a machine learning model using an outline image, color hint, and an outline encoder then these components would be trained to ensure the resulting image created from the components is correct using a ground-truth image.
Regarding claim 11, Menges fails to teach the method of claim 10, wherein: the outline encoder is trained using a fixed copy of the image generator.
However, Cao teaches an outline encoder. (Fig.2) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Generative Design System to include Cao’s Outline Encoder. Since, doing so would provide the benefit of enhancing the efficiency of the diffusion model performing the image-to-image generation. Menges utilizes a generic stable diffusion model (Menges, Para. 0030) for a wide range of tasks, while Cao’s Diffusion model focuses on generating images from outline images and color references specifically (Cao, Section: Abstract).
Menges and Cao fail to teach the method of claim 10, wherein: the outline encoder is trained using a fixed copy of the image generator.
However, Aggarwal teaches the method of claim 10, wherein: the outline encoder (Image Embedding) is trained using a fixed copy of the image generator. (Same Image Embedding Context, Para. 0027 and 0149) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Generative Design System altered by Cao’s Outline Encoder to incorporate Aggarwal’s training the outline encoder using a fixed copy of the image generator. Since training the outline encoder using the same copy of the image generator ensures the outline encoder is trained consistently and efficiently.
Regarding claim 12, Menges teaches an outline image (Image Uploader or Sketch Drawn on Infinite Canvas from Pen Tool, Para. 0033, Fig. 6), a color hint (Colors/Shades from Color Palette, Text Prompt, or User Selection, Para. 0094 and 0100).
However, Menges and Cao fail to explicitly teach the method of claim 10, wherein: the training outline image and the training color hint are generated based on the ground-truth image.
Aggarwal teaches the method of claim 10, wherein: the training outline (Image Embedding) and the training color hint (Imaged Embedding) are generated based on the ground-truth image. (Ground-Truth Image Embedding, Para. 0052 and 0127) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Generative Design System and altered by Cao to incorporate Aggarwal’s Training of the Outline and Color Hint. In one embodiment Menges uses a diffusion model to generate images. Machine learning models are trained to ensure the outcome of the models are correct. Hence, if you have a machine learning model using an outline and a color hint. These components would be trained with a ground-truth image to ensure the resulting image created is correct using a ground-truth image.
Regarding claim 13, Menges fails to teach the method of claim 10, wherein the training comprises:
providing the training outline image and the training color hint to the outline encoder;
providing an output of the outline encoder to the image generator;
and comparing an output of the image generator to the ground-truth colored image.
Cao teaches an outline encoder. (Fig.2) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Generative Design System to include Cao’s Outline Encoder. Since, doing so would provide the benefit of enhancing the efficiency of the diffusion model performing the image-to-image generation. Menges utilizes a generic stable diffusion model (Menges, Para. 0030) for a wide range of tasks, while Cao’s Diffusion model focuses on generating images from outline images and color references specifically (Cao, Section: Abstract).
However, Menges and Cao fail to teach the method of claim 10, wherein the training comprises:
providing the training outline image and the training color hint to the outline encoder;
providing an output of the outline encoder to the image generator;
and comparing an output of the image generator to the ground-truth colored image.
Aggarwal teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the training (Training Component 215) comprises:
providing the training outline image (Image Embedding) and the training color hint (Image Embedding) to the outline encoder; (Para. 0052 and 0127)
providing an output (Imaged Embedding) of the outline encoder to the image generator; (Para. 0021 and 0052)
and comparing an output (Predicted Image Embedding) of the image generator to the ground-truth colored image. (Ground-Truth Image Embedding, Para. 0052 and 0127)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Generative Design System and Cao’s Outline Encoder to incorporate Aggarwal’s Training of the Image Generation Model Components and Outline Encoder. In one embodiment Menges uses a diffusion model to generate images. Machine learning models are trained to ensure the outcome of the models are correct. Hence, if you have a machine learning model using an outline image, color hint, and an outline encoder these components would be trained to ensure the resulting image created from the components is correct using a ground-truth image.
Regarding claim 14, Menges teaches an embodiment using a diffusion model. (Para. 0032)
However, Menges fails to teach the method of claim 10, wherein: training the outline encoder comprises a diffusion-based training process.
Cao teaches an outline encoder. (Fig.2) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Generative Design System to include Cao’s Outline Encoder. Since, doing so would provide the benefit of enhancing the efficiency of the diffusion model performing the image-to-image generation. Menges utilizes a generic stable diffusion model (Menges, Para. 0030) for a wide range of tasks, while Cao’s Diffusion model focuses on generating images from outline images and color references specifically (Cao, Section: Abstract).
However, Cao fails to teach the method of claim 10, wherein: training the outline encoder comprises a diffusion-based training process.
Aggarwal teaches the method of claim 10, wherein: training (Training Component 215) the outline encoder (Image Embedding) comprises a diffusion-based training process. (Para. 0051) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Diffusion Model altered by Cao’s Outline Encoder to incorporate Aggarwal’s Training of the outline encoder using a diffusion-based training. In one embodiment Menges uses a diffusion model to generate images. Machine learning models are trained to ensure the outcome of the models are correct. Hence, if you have a diffusion model using an outline encoder. The outline encoder would be trained using a diffusion-based training to ensure the resulting image created from the outline encoder is correct.
Regarding claim 15, Menges teaches an apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; (Para. 0040)
at least one memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor; (Para. 40)
the apparatus further comprising (Storage, Para. 0040) and trained to encode input data to obtain control guidance (Outline Image and Color, Para. 0030), wherein the input data includes an outline image (Image Uploader or Sketch Drawn on Infinite Canvas from Pen Tool, Para. 0033, Fig. 6) and a color hint (Colors/Shades from Color Palette, Text Prompt, or User Selection, Para. 0094 and 0100) wherein the outline image depicts an outline of a target shape (Outline images are made up of various shapes, Fig. 5 and Fig. 16), and wherein the color hint comprises (Color Palette or Colored Outline Image, 0073, 0094, and 0100) input that applies a color to a region of the outline image; A user can choose to upload or draw an outline image. The color of the image can then be determined using the color palette selection interface, describing the color in a text prompt, the color present in the sketch/uploaded image, or inpainting. -Para. 0030, 0033, 0073, 0094, and 0100; Menges teaches obtaining an outline image through multiple methods, such as uploading an outline image or drawing an outline using the pen tool, para. 0033, Fig.5, and Fig.6. Menges also teaches a color hint, the color hint can be selecting colors from a color palette to color the outline image, describing the color and portion of the outline to be colored in the text prompt, or utilizing an outline image that is already partially colored in, para. 0073, 0094, and 0100. Users can create or modify images using Menges interactive infinite canvas, para. 0030. An outline image is an image that contains various shapes that make up the outline, any of the shapes or the whole outline image can be the target shape. Thus, Menges teaches obtaining an outline image and a color hint, wherein the outline image depicts an outline of a target shape, and wherein the color hint indicates a color and a region of the outline image for the color;)
and an image generator (Generative Design System 300, Para. 0041) comprising a diffusion model (Stable Diffusion Model, Para. 0032), including parameters stored in the at least one memory (Storage, Para. 0040) and trained to generate a synthesized image (Set of images, Para. 0046) by denoising (Stable Diffusion Model, Para. 0032) a noise input based on the control guidance (Outline Image and Color, Para. 0030) using wherein the control guidance represents the target shape (Shape of Outline) having the color within the region (A user could specify to color a specific portion of an outline image and to prioritize certain parts of the outline image shape, Fig. 5 and Fig.16.), and wherein the control guidance (Outline Image and Color, Para. 0030) is in an input space of the image generator (Generative Design System 300, Para. 0041), and wherein the synthesized image (Set of images, Para. 0046) depicts an object having the target shape (Fig. 5 and Fig. 16) based on the outline image and the color (A user could specify to color a specific portion of an outline image and to prioritize certain parts of the outline image shape. Fig. 5 and Fig.16) in the region indicated by the color hint. (Colors/Shades from Color Palette, Text Prompt, or User Selection, Para. 0094 and 0100). (Fig.6). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the stable diffusion model used in Menges would utilize a denoiser to denoise the input image.
However, Menges fails to teach:
outline encoder including parameters stored in the at least one memory and trained to encode input data to obtain control guidance, wherein the input data includes an outline image and a color hint,
wherein the color hint comprises a brush tool input that applies a color to a region of the outline image;
a reverse diffusion process;
Cao teaches:
an outline encoder (Fig. 2) including parameters (Section 1 Introduction, Page 2, Col. 1) stored in the at least one memory (Fig.2, Section: 5 Experiments) and trained to encode input data to obtain control guidance (Line Drawing and Colored Reference Image, Fig.4 and Fig.5), wherein the input data includes an outline image (Line Drawing, Fig.4 or Fig. 5) and a color hint (Colored Reference Image, Fig.4 or Fig.5).
wherein the color hint (User-hint Colorization Method) comprises a brush tool input that applies a color to a region of the outline image (Line Drawing, Fig. 4 or Fig. 5); Cao teaches outline images( Fig.4 or Fig. 5) in the form of line drawings, a colored reference image (Fig.4 or Fig.5), and a user-hint colorization method where users use brushes to color specific regions of the line drawing (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization, Page 2, Para. 1). As stated above, Cao teaches two different color hints that can be used with line drawing colorization. The traditional method of allowing users to use brushes to inject colors into desired regions (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization Page 2-3) and their new developed method of using a colored reference image (Fig. 4 and Fig. 5). Cao teaches the traditional method can be used for neural networks in many deep learning-based methods and described several references that utilize neural networks like GAN models (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization Page 2-3). Nowhere in Cao do they disclose this traditional method only applies to GAN. In fact, the initial statement that “the traditional method can be used for neural networks in many deep learning-based method” implies the method can be used in general for neural networks in many deep learning-based methods. A diffusion model utilizes neural networks and implements deep learning-based methods. Cao utilizes a diffusion model (Section: 4 AnimeDiffusion Lines 4-7, Fig. 2) where the color hint is a colored image. A user using a brush to inject color into regions of an outline image, would result in a partially colored line drawing image. Thus, the partially colored line drawing image can be as the color hint in Cao’s diffusion model.
Cao further teaches the traditional method’s color hint is usually used with the line drawing to be encoded (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization Page 2-3). Cao’s other color hint (Color Reference Image, Fig. 2) is encoded with the line drawing into an encoder. Both color hints are encoded with the line drawing. Thus, Cao teaches encoding, using an outline encoder, the outline image and color hint.
Menges also teaches inputting both a color hint (Colors/Shades from Color Palette, Text Prompt, or User Selection, Para. 0094 and 0100) and outline image (Image Uploader or Sketch Drawn on Infinite Canvas from Pen Tool, Para. 0033, Fig. 6) into a stable diffusion model (Para. 0032). Stable diffusion models utilize encoders and perform forward/reverse diffusion processes. However, Menges does not go into depth about the stable diffusion model. Menges further teaches a tool menu where any suitable tool for creating or modifying media content can be added (Para. 0033). A brush tool is a standard tool in modifying content digitally/physically. Thus, a brush tool would be an obvious addition to the tool menu.
Therefore, the combination of Menges and Cao teaches a color hint which comprises a brush tool input that applies a color to a region of the outline image and encoding the outline image and color hint to obtain control guidance for an image generator comprising a diffusion model.
wherein the control guidance represents the target shape (Line Drawing Shapes, Fig.2 , Fig.4, and Fig.5 ) having the color within the region (Colored Line Drawing or Colored Reference Image), and wherein the control guidance (Line Drawing and Colored Reference Image, Fig.4 and Fig.5) is in an input space of the image generator; (Section: 4 AnimeDiffusion) The user-hint colorization method uses deep learning technology specifically to control the color and can be encoded as input into a neural network with the line drawing. (Section: 2.1 Line Drawing Colorization, Page 2, Para. 1)
denoising a noise input; (Fig. 2 and Section 1 Introduction, Page 2, Col. 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Generative Design System to include Cao’s Outline Encoder and User-hint Colorization Method. Since, doing so would provide the benefit of enhancing the efficiency of the diffusion model performing the image-to-image generation and increasing the flexibility of the model by allowing users to control the color. Menges utilizes a generic stable diffusion model (Menges, Para. 0030) for a wide range of tasks, while Cao’s Diffusion model focuses on generating images from outline images and color references specifically (Cao, Section: Abstract).
However, Menges and Cao fail to explicitly teach:
a reverse diffusion process.
Menges, Cao, and Aggarwal are analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field of image generation, specifically utilizing Diffusion models to perform image generation based on outline images.
Aggarwal teaches a reverse diffusion process. (Reverse Diffusion Process 340, Para. 0065) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Diffusion Model altered by Cao’s Outline Encoder and User-hint Colorization Method to incorporate Aggarwal Reverse Diffusion Process. Since doing so would provide the benefit of reducing noise during the diffusion process. (Aggarwal, Para. 0027)
Regarding claim 16, Menges fails to teach the apparatus of claim 15, wherein: the image generator comprises a U-Net architecture.
However, Cao teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein: the image generator (Section 1 Introduction, Page 2, Col. 1) comprises a U-Net architecture. (Section: 4 AnimeDiffusion) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Generative Design System incorporate Cao’s U-Net Architecture. In one embodiment Menges uses a diffusion model to generate images. A U-Net Architecture is a common architecture for a diffusion model. Since, U-Net architectures are designed to maximized available data, choosing to use one for a diffusion model that requires large amounts of training data increases efficiency.
Regarding claim 18, Menges teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein: the (Generative Design System 300, Para. 0041, The image generator in Menges can be used to generate a first set of images, such as outline images. Then a second set of images can be generated based on the first set. Para. 0043, One could treat the first set of images as an outline encoder and the second set at the image generator.)
However, Menges does not specifically teach an outline encoder.
Cao teaches an outline encoder. (Fig.2, Section: 4 AnimeDiffusion) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Generative Design System to include Cao’s Outline Encoder. Since, doing so would provide the benefit of enhancing the efficiency of the diffusion model performing the image-to-image generation. Menges utilizes a generic stable diffusion model (Menges, Para. 0030) for a wide range of tasks, while Cao’s Diffusion model focuses on generating images from outline images and color references specifically (Cao, Section: Abstract).
Regarding claim 20, Menges teaches the apparatus of claim 15, further comprising: a text encoder (Generative Design System 300) configured to encode a text prompt (Text Prompt Input 102) to obtain a text encoding. (Para. 0032, Fig. 1 and Fig. 5)
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Menges et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20250086865 A1 (hereinafter Menges) in view of NPL “AnimeDiffusion: Anime Face Line Drawing Colorization via Diffusion Models” by Yu Cao, Xiangqiao Meng, P.Y. Mok, Xueting Liu, Tong-Yee Lee, and Ping Li. (hereinafter Cao) and Aggarwal et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20240404144 A1 (hereinafter Aggarwal) in further view of Babanin et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20250054210 A1(hereinafter Babanin).
Regarding claim 17, Menges teaches an embodiment using a diffusion model. (Para. 0032)
However, Menges fails to teach the apparatus of claim 15, wherein: the outline encoder comprises a ControlNet architecture.
Cao teaches an outline encoder. (Fig.2) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Generative Design System to include Cao’s Outline Encoder. Since, doing so would provide the benefit of enhancing the efficiency of the diffusion model performing the image-to-image generation. Menges utilizes a generic stable diffusion model (Menges, Para. 0030) for a wide range of tasks, while Cao’s Diffusion model focuses on generating images from outline images and color references specifically (Cao, Section: Abstract).
However, Cao and Aggarwal fail to teach the apparatus of claim 15, wherein: the outline encoder comprises a ControlNet architecture.
Menges, Cao, Aggarwal and Babanin are analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field of image generation utilizing diffusion models.
Babanin teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein: the outline encoder (Generate Synthesized Images) comprises a ControlNet Architecture. (Para. 0023, Babanin’s image generator can be used to create outline images and uses a stable diffusion model.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Generative Design System altered by Cao’s outline encoder and Aggarwal’s Reverse Diffusion Process to incorporate a ControlNet Architecture. ControlNet architectures are often used with diffusion models and provide more flexibility over the model. Since, an important aspect of Menges invention, is designed to promote creation and creativity through flexibility and user interaction. (Menges, Para. 0029-0030) It would be obvious to incorporate a ControlNet architecture.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Menges et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20250086865 A1 (hereinafter Menges) in view of NPL “AnimeDiffusion: Anime Face Line Drawing Colorization via Diffusion Models” by Yu Cao, Xiangqiao Meng, P.Y. Mok, Xueting Liu, Tong-Yee Lee, and Ping Li. (hereinafter Cao) and Aggarwal et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20240404144 A1 (hereinafter Aggarwal) in further view of “Accuracy and fidelity comparison of Luna and DALL-E 2 diffusion-based image generation systems.” By Michael Cahyadi, Muhammad Rafi, William Shan, Henry Lucky, and Jurike V. Moniaga (hereinafter Cahyadi).
Regarding claim 19, Menges fails to teach the apparatus of claim 15, wherein: the outline encoder comprises an image adapter network.
Cao teaches an outline encoder. (Fig.2) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Generative Design System to include Cao’s Outline Encoder. Since, doing so would provide the benefit of enhancing the efficiency of the diffusion model performing the image-to-image generation. Menges utilizes a generic stable diffusion model (Menges, Para. 0030) for a wide range of tasks, while Cao’s Diffusion model focuses on generating images from outline images and color references specifically (Cao, Section: Abstract).
However, Cao and Aggarwal fail to teach the apparatus of claim 15, wherein: the outline encoder comprises an image adapter network.
Menges, Cao, Aggarwal and Cahyadi are analogous to the claimed invention because all of them are in the same field of image generation using diffusion models.
Cahyadi teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein: the outline encoder (DALL-E 2) comprises an image adapter network. (ViT or Vision Transformer, Col. 2 Para. 4) Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Menges Generative Design System altered by Cao’s outline encoder and Aggarwal’s Reverse Diffusion Process to incorporate an Image Adapter Network. DALL-E 2 is a well-known machine learning image generator that uses ViT (Cahyadi, Col. 2 Para. 4) and can be used to generate outline images. ViTs are an alternative to CNNs when it comes to training models. Choosing which depends on the requirements of the task one wishes to accomplish. In the case of Menges invention one could use either. However, ViTs are often used for larger datasets, such as when using a diffusion model. Hence, one would benefit from using an image adapter network (ViT) for the outline encoder to increase performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NPL “Diffusart: Enhancing Line Art Colorization with Conditional Diffusion Models” by Hernan Carrillo, Michael Clement, Aurelie Bugeau, and Edgar Simo-Serra (hereinafter Carrillo) teaches utilizing a diffusion model, outline encoder, and human scribbles to generate colored outline images.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIANNA RENAE COCHRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615