DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8 and 22-31 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, file July 14, 2026, with respect to the objection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments to rebut the obviousness rejection, filed July 14, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, and 22-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Singh et al. “A Safe Lithium Mimetic [Ebselen] for Bipolar Disorder,” Nature Communications 2013, pp. 1-14 Vol. 4 No 1332 and Davies, M.A. et al., “Aripiprazole: a novel atypical antipsychotic drug with a uniquely robust pharmacology,” CNS Drug Reviews,Vol.10,No.4,2004,pp.317-336. Singh and Davies have been cited by Applicant’s IDS and previously by the Examiner in the parent application, U.S. 17/146,360.
Applicant’s specification’s Summary notes the “the present disclosure provides combinations of compounds useful as, for example glutathione peroxidase (GPx) modulators . . . . and method of treatment, prevention, inhibition or amelioration of one or more diseases associated with GPx mediated disorders,” see paragraph 7. The Summary notes that GPx modulators (ebselen) and an antipsychotic drug (aripiprazole) are combined to treat disorder such a bipolar disorder, see paragraphs 8-10, 11-12 and 18-19.
Accordingly, prior art disclosing the treatment of bipolar disorders (and/or schizophrenia) with aripiprazole and ebselen (as per Singh and Davies) will render the claimed invention obvious as follows.
Examined claim 1 is a method of reducing a dose of an administered anti-psychotic agent for treating a psychotic disorder that is bi-polar disorder or schizophrenia, comprising coadministering:
a therapeutically effective amount of ebselen; and
a therapeutically effective amount of an anti-psychotic agent to a subject having bi-polar disorder or schizophrenia,
wherein the therapeutically effective amount of the anti-psychotic agent in the presence of ebselen is lower than a therapeutically effective amount of the anti-psychotic agent in the absence of ebselen.
Claim 6 is directed to the treatment of a bipolar disorder or schizophrenia with therapeutically effective amounts of the claimed combination of ebselen and antipsychotic agent.
Regarding claims 1 and 6 and the limitation(s) of treatment of bipolar disorders in a subject in need with ebselen, Singh discloses that inositol is target for treatment of bipolar disorders, where the antioxidant ebselen inhibits inositol monophosphatase and induces lithium-like effects on mouse behavior, see abstract. Singh discloses that there is a need for lithium alternatives for the treatment of bipolar disorder due to lithium’s potential toxicity and many undesirable side effects, see abstract. See also page 4, column 2 first paragraph of Singh noting ebselen’s lithium-like effects on both the manic and the depressive pole of bipolar disorder.
Singh discloses ebselen is a lithium mimetic with the potential both to validate inositol monophosphatase inhibition as a treatment for bipolar disorder and to serve as a treatment itself, see abstract.
Singh Figure 1 demonstrates inhibition of inositol monophosphatase at various concentrations, see page 2. Singh Figure 2 demonstrates permeation of the blood brain barrier of a mouse subject to inhibit endogenous inositol monophosphatase, see page 3. Singh notes that ebselen demonstrates lithium-like effects on a lithium-sensitive mouse model of mania, see page 4, first paragraph column 2.
Singh suggests that polypharmacology (i.e., use of pharmacological agents to target multiple receptors) is a desirable property, for example, antipsychotics hitting multiple targets were more efficacious than drugs that were selective, see page 5, column 1 first few lines. Thus Singh notes provides a teaching to combine ebselen with other antipsychotics to treat a subject in need.
Although Singh teaches the use of ebselen for treatment of a bipolar disorder in a mouse subject and teaches/suggests a combination of ebselen with an antipsychotic agent (where it suggests polypharmacology, targeting multiple targets, which can be achieved by combination therapy), he does not explicitly teach antipsychotic agent in combination (such as aripiprazole) so as to administer lower therapeutic doses as opposed to monotherapy to treat bipolar disorders.
However, Singh lays the groundwork to combine ebselen with other drugs to provide a combination (polypharmacology) therapy of bipolar (and other) disorders, as noted above.
For example, Davies discloses aripiprazole works by a mechanism different from Singh’s inositol approach, as aripiprazole is a GCPR agonist (such as dopamine D2 and/or 5-HT1A) and Davies notes preliminary data indicates it may be also effective for the treatment of manic symptoms of bipolar disorder, see abstract.
Davies discloses significant improvement in PANNS negative scores and depressive symptoms (MADRS scores) with aripiprazole in comparison to older medications such as haloperidol, see bottom of page 328 bridging to top of page 329.
While there is not a teaching expressly reciting the lowered therapeutic doses for aripiprazole as claimed, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) to reduce such doses as both the combination of Singh and Davies both teach treating the same disorder to be (bipolar) with two classes of medications, ebselen and aripiprazole. Accordingly, it would be routine for a PHOSITA to adjust a dose of aripiprazole in combination with ebselen as they are both directed to the treatment of not only bipolar disorders in general, but both address the treatment of both the manic and depressive poles of such disorder, see Singh page 4 noted above and Davies abstract and pages 328-329.
Prior to the filing of the present patent application, it would have been prima facie obvious to a PHOSITA following the teachings of Singh (ebselen to treat bipolar and other psychosis disorders) based on the theory of polypharmacology, combined with those teachings of Davies (aripiprazole to treat bipolar disorders, where aripiprazole works via different mechanism of action from ebselen) (the KSR rationale of MPEP 2143(a) combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
The PHOSITA would have had a reasonable expectation of success as it would be prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Singh and Davies per the KSR rationale of MPEP 2143(a) and MPEP2144.06 I. COMBINING EQUIVALENTS KNOWN FOR THE SAME PURPOSE, (citing to In re Kerkhoven).2
Claims 3 and 8 further limits claims 1 and 6 (respectively), and require that wherein the antipsychotic agent is selected from a group consisting of aripiprazole (among others). As discussed above, Davies disclose the use of aripiprazole for the treatment of bipolar disorder, see abstract, etc.
Claims 22 and 27 further limit claims 1 and 6 and are limited to bipolar disorder. As noted above, the teachings of Singh and Davies provide a prima face case of obvious to co-administer/combine ebselen and aripiprazole for the treatment of bipolar disorder.
Claims 23, 25, 26, 28, 30 and 31 further limit claims 1 and 6 (directly or indirectly), and requires the antipsychotic drug be aripiprazole. As noted above, the teachings of Singh and Davies provide a prima face case of obvious to co-administer/combine ebselen and aripiprazole for the treatment of bipolar disorder.
Regarding claims 24 and 29 and the treatment of schizophrenia in a subject in need, Davies teaches these claims, as it teaches the recent introduction for clinical use of aripiprazole in the treatment of schizophrenia, see abstract.
RESPONSE TO ATTORNEY ARGUMENTS:
The Attorney response states Singh does not suggest that ebselen should be used in combination with other agents for any indication.
The Attorney response argues that the Examiner’s reliance upon the term “polypharmacology” is out of context. It refers to a drug’s intrinsic property to bind multiple targets (IMPase and protein kinase C).
In response, regardless of whether there is a teaching of polypharmacy (i.e. co-administration of therapeutic agents) rather than the definition of polypharmacology to bind to multiple targets, it would be obvious to combine therapeutic agents known for the same purpose to establish the prima facie case of obviousness, i.e. ebselen with another antipsychotic agent.
It is noted that both polypharmacology and polypharmacy can both achieve the same goal, targeting multiple therapeutic binding targets to better achieve a therapeutic goal, i.e., treatment of psychiatric disease/disorder. Whether this occurs due to polypharmacology (single agent targeting multiple binding targets) or polypharmacy (multiple agents to target multiple binding targets), the end goal of treatment remains the same.
The Attorney response notes the toxicities of lithium, where a PHOSITA would at most view only view ebselen as an alternative to lithium; and that Singh does not suggest established bipolar patients already on a standard of care of anti-psychotic medications would benefit with addition of ebselen.
The Attorney response states Davies does not mention ebselen, let alone combinations thereof to treat schizophrenia or bipolar disorder.
The Attorney states the Examiner relies upon Applicant’s own disclosure to cite to MPEP 2144.06 as an obviousness rationale. The response states Singh does not recognize ebselen is equivalent to antipsychotic drugs. The response states, at best Singh’s teaching of “lithium-like” is not equivalent to “lithium equivalent.’” The response states Singh’s discussion of drug repurposing is to use a drug different from its original use, nonetheless, still requires clinical trials for approval for a new use (referring to ebselen in clinical trials for hearing loss and stroke, not bipolar disease). The Attorney response cites to In re Ruff (citation omitted) to rebut a finding of equivalence.
The Attorney response states, the fact that ebselen may repurposed to treat bipolar disorder, only allows a PHOSITA to view ebselen as a lithium alternative at most but its equivalent.
In response, Applicant’s arguments do not overcome the prima facie case of obviousness as detailed above. While the Attorney response characterizes Singh’s teachings to state ebselen is merely lithium-like, or a lithium alternative and not an equivalent, the preponderance of evidence remains that based on the teachings of Singh and Davies, that a lithium-like drug or lithium alternative is known to have the same function of anti-psychotic drug in treating bipolar disease, and therefore establishes the prima facie case of obviousness per MPEP 2144.06.
The Attorney response references Sharpley et al, Psychopharmacology (2020) 237:3773-3782, to report on a Phase 2a ebselen clinical trial of ebselen to treat bipolar disorder.
Initially, the characterization of unexpected superior results from Sharpley is insufficient to overcome the prima facie case.
Typically unexpected results must be present in the form of Declaration/Affidavit evidence (i.e. Rule 132). See MPEP 716.
As noted above, Singh teaches as a minimum, the “lithium-like” ability of ebselen. Therefore, it is not unexpected that ebselen is superior to treating mania in comparison to a placebo when added to ongoing pharmacological therapy. While the Sharpley article provides objective evidence with alleged probative value per MPEP 716.01(c), after a weighing of the objective evidence against the prima facie case, per MPEP 716.01(d), the prima facie case of evidence has not been overcome.
MPEP 716.02(a)-(d) notes the burden is on applicant to establish evidence is unexpected, where such proffered evidence is commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
Initially, it is noted the Attorney arguments of unexpected results were not made with a Rule 132 Declaration. Further, the Attorney response statements noting the phase 2a trial of ebselen to treat bipolar disorder patients, where ebselen or placebo was added to ongoing pharmacological therapy, are insufficient to overcome the prima facie case of obviousness. As noted above, Singh discusses ebselen’s lithium-like activity, if not equivalence to lithium to treat psychotic disorders and therefore, the evidence proffered is not unexpected.
Conclusion and Correspondence
In summary, no claims are allowed. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/WILLIAM Y LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/ADAM C MILLIGAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1623
1 This application is a CON of 17/146,360 filed 01/11/2021 now abandoned.
17/146,360 is a CON of 15/510,218 03/09/2017, now abandoned. Application No. 15/510,218 is a 371 National Stage Application of PCT/US2015/050255 filed 09/15/2015. PCT application PCT/US2015/050255 has claims priority to 62/050,635 filed 09/15/2014.
2 ““It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted). . . .”