DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot amendment requires new rejection found below. Arguments presented pertain to the amended features. Although a reference is being used that has been previously used in a rejection, the arguments are not persuasive as they are not addressing the newly applied rejection below.
All previous rejections are overcome by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmieder et al (PGPUB 2021/040573) and further in view of Park et al (PGPUB 2026/0135263).
Claim 1: Schmider teaches a battery for a drivable motor [abstract]. Mapping the prior art features to the instant claim language, Schmider teaches a battery cell (14) having at least a first electrode stack and second electrode stack (16) wherein each have an anode and cathode elements [Fig 2; 0040-0051]. The battery cell container (18) comprises an internal chamber (20) arranged along a longitudinal axis and capable of housing the first and second electrode stacks whereby the first and second battery terminals are mounted thereon [Fig 2; 0022-0023]. A tensioning device and spring element (36, 38a, 38b, 44), applicant’s elastic element, is arranged along the longitudinal axis, sandwiched between and configured to maintain contact with the first and second electrode stacks whereby the function of such is capable of interacting with alternating expansion and contraction of the first and second electrode stacks inside the battery cell container (functional language) [Fig 2; 0043-0045].
Schmider is silent to teach the specifics of the terminal electrical connection unit – well known to be a busbar.
Park teaches a battery module with a plurality of electrical cells within a common casing [Abstract; Fig 2]. The battery cells are connected by a busbar (100) [Fig 2; 0062-0072]. The busbars are arranged between the cathode terminals and anode terminals of adjacent cells within a common module casing [Fig 2]. The busbars are equivalent to the claimed electrically conductive tabs. Each busbar has a groove (110) which is capable of acting as an expandable portion [Fig 3; 0074-0107]. The location and electrical connection and physical connections as claimed are taught by the busbar of Park. One having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, would have been motivated to utilize the electrical connection busbar with expansion portion as taught by Park in the assembly of Schmider in order to produce a battery module that is capable of managing pressure changes and distance requirements between cells within a casing [0039-0042].
Claim 11: Schmider teaches a battery for a drivable motor [abstract]. Mapping the prior art features to the instant claim language, Schmider teaches a battery cell (14) having at least a first electrode stack and second electrode stack (16) wherein each have an anode and cathode elements [Fig 2; 0040-0051]. The battery cell container (18) comprises an internal chamber (20) arranged along a longitudinal axis and capable of housing the first and second electrode stacks whereby the first and second battery terminals are mounted thereon [Fig 2; 0022-0023]. A tensioning device and spring element (36, 38a, 38b, 44), applicant’s elastic element, is arranged along the longitudinal axis, sandwiched between and configured to maintain contact with the first and second electrode stacks whereby the function of such is capable of interacting with alternating expansion and contraction of the first and second electrode stacks inside the battery cell container (functional language) [Fig 2; 0043-0045].
Schmider is silent to teach the specifics of the terminal electrical connection unit – well known to be a busbar.
Park teaches a battery module with a plurality of electrical cells within a common casing [Abstract; Fig 2]. The battery cells are connected by a busbar (100) [Fig 2; 0062-0072]. The busbars are arranged between the cathode terminals and anode terminals of adjacent cells within a common module casing [Fig 2]. The busbars are equivalent to the claimed electrically conductive tabs. Each busbar has a groove (110) which is capable of acting as an expandable portion [Fig 3; 0074-0107]. The location and electrical connection and physical connections as claimed are taught by the busbar of Park. One having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, would have been motivated to utilize the electrical connection busbar with expansion portion as taught by Park in the assembly of Schmider in order to produce a battery module that is capable of managing pressure changes and distance requirements between cells within a casing [0039-0042].
Schmider is silent to teach the battery of the assembly to be lithium-ion. This is well known in the art that the recitation of battery cells are capable of being lithium-ion [0002-0006]. Further, Park teaches the batteries are selectable of lithium-ion [0003-0005]. It is well established the recitation of batteries is known to be lithium-ion for the embodiment of Schmider.
Claim 2, 12: Instant claim lays weight to a rigid or pliant material, this is a very large scope of materials. Schmider teaches a casing that is capable of holding a plurality of battery cells in a location and allow transport of the object and utilization within a motor vehicle [Fig 2; Abstract], such utilization would require a material for the casing within the scope of the instant claim.
Claim 3-4, 13-14: Schmider teaches a battery to be known to be selectable of a prismatic, pouch, cylindrical cells [0002].
Claim 5, 15: Schmider teaches a construction of batteries as shown in Fig 2.
Park is relied upon for the teaching of the electrically conductive tabs with expandable functionality. The arrangement of the busbars of Park are to electrically connect closely adjacent terminals on the same side of the top plate of the battery cell [Park: Fig 2]. The direction of the longitudinal axis is interpreted such that the electrically conductive tabs are arranged parallel.
Claim 6, 16: Schmider teaches a construction of batteries as shown in Fig 2.
Park is relied upon for the teaching of the electrically conductive tabs with expandable functionality. The arrangement of the busbars of Park are to electrically connect closely adjacent terminals on the same side of the top plate of the battery cell [Park: Fig 2]. The direction of the longitudinal axis is interpreted such that the electrically conductive tabs are arranged perpendicular.
Claim 7, 17: Schmider teaches at least one spring element [Fig 2; 0043-0045].
Claim 8, 18: Schmider teaches a pretention device (36) to comprise a plate element (42a) between the spring and the battery [Fig 2; 0045].
Claim 9, 19: Schmider teaches a container with an interior surface wherein the electrical tabs, as taught by Park are disposed therein, and a separation bracket (48) which is a feature that is between the first and second electrode stacks [Fig 2; 0046] whereby the dimensions of the conductive tab accommodate the bracket feature and hold dimensionality thereto.
Claim 10: Schmider is silent to teach the battery of the assembly to be lithium-ion. This is well known in the art that the recitation of battery cells are capable of being lithium-ion [0002-0006]. Further, Park teaches the batteries are selectable of lithium-ion [0003-0005]. It is well established the recitation of batteries is known to be lithium-ion for the embodiment of Schmider.
Claim 20: Schmider teaches a battery for a drivable motor [abstract]. Mapping the prior art features to the instant claim language, Schmider teaches a battery cell (14) having at least a first electrode stack and second electrode stack (16) wherein each have an anode and cathode elements [Fig 2; 0040-0051]. The battery cell container (18) comprises an internal chamber (20) arranged along a longitudinal axis and capable of housing the first and second electrode stacks whereby the first and second battery terminals are mounted thereon [Fig 2; 0022-0023]. A tensioning device and spring element (36, 38a, 38b, 44), applicant’s elastic element, is arranged along the longitudinal axis, sandwiched between and configured to maintain contact with the first and second electrode stacks whereby the function of such is capable of interacting with alternating expansion and contraction of the first and second electrode stacks inside the battery cell container (functional language) [Fig 2; 0043-0045]. A first support plate (42a) is disposed adjacent a first electrode stack and a second support plate (42b) is disposed adjacent a second electrode stack whereby a spring element (44) is disposed therebetween [Fig 2[ 0045].
Schmider is silent to teach the specifics of the terminal electrical connection unit – well known to be a busbar.
Park teaches a battery module with a plurality of electrical cells within a common casing [Abstract; Fig 2]. The battery cells are connected by a busbar (100) [Fig 2; 0062-0072]. The busbars are arranged between the cathode terminals and anode terminals of adjacent cells within a common module casing [Fig 2]. The busbars are equivalent to the claimed electrically conductive tabs. Each busbar has a groove (110) which is capable of acting as an expandable portion [Fig 3; 0074-0107]. The location and electrical connection and physical connections as claimed are taught by the busbar of Park. One having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, would have been motivated to utilize the electrical connection busbar with expansion portion as taught by Park in the assembly of Schmider in order to produce a battery module that is capable of managing pressure changes and distance requirements between cells within a casing [0039-0042].
Schmider is silent to teach the battery of the assembly to be lithium-ion. This is well known in the art that the recitation of battery cells are capable of being lithium-ion [0002-0006]. Further, Park teaches the batteries are selectable of lithium-ion [0003-0005]. It is well established the recitation of batteries is known to be lithium-ion for the embodiment of Schmider.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHEN J YANCHUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752