CTNF 18/482,659 CTNF 85868 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al (PGPUB 2026/0135263) . Claim 1, 11: Park teaches a lithium ion [0003-0007] battery rack comprising a plurality of battery modules stacked in a first direction and including a coupling bar protruding outward and a busbar movably coupled to the coupling bar of each of two adjacent battery modules along a plurality of battery modules [Abstract]. Applicant’s battery cell equates to Park’s battery rack (1000), a first electrode stack is the first module (200) comprising a first set of anode and cathode elements and a second electrode stack is a second adjacent module (200) comprising a second set of anode and cathode elements [0004, Fig 1]. Applicant’s battery cell container is taught by the battery container (2000) [0065] and comprises an internal chamber to house all battery elements and connection elements [Fig 1]. A first electrically conductive tab is taught by Park’s busbar (100) which is electrically connected inside the internal chamber, mechanically connected to a first battery terminal, and fixed whereby a connection to each anode element in the first and second electrode stack exists – the busbar comprises a first expandable portion which is located between the first and second electrode stacks signified by the connection hole (101) and movable to expand with a plurality of grooves (110) [Fig 3A, 3B, 3C, 5; 0073-0086]. A second electrically conductive tab exists within the container and is mechanically connected to the second battery in a fixed manner and connected to each cathode element of the first and second electrode stack – features for the first electrically conductive tab is mirrored and taught by the second bus bar of Park connecting a second terminal of cells. Park teaches the busbar (100) to compress, stretch, or bend in directions [0069] and therefore meets the hypothetical capability of adopting to a flex change in the cell from charging and discharging; note the charging and discharging change of volume does not positively recite structural scope limiting features as the method of charging and discharging to a degree that causes changing in shape is not a positive limitation of the instant claims – please review functional limitation MPEP 2114 for further guidance. Claim 2, 12: Park teaches a battery rack (1000) that reads on applicant’s battery cell container – this material is rigid as it contains a plurality of battery cells within modules and computational elements [Fig 1]. Claim 3, 13: Park teaches a battery module to comprise lithium battery chemistry cells [0003-0009] – the specific of a can type is taught [0005]. It is well known to use any type of known battery cells and constructions to form the modules. Claim 4, 14: Park teaches a battery rack to comprise a portion that is a pliant material (300) and used to flex to restore force on the busbar [0108]. Park teaches a battery module to comprise lithium battery chemistry cells [0003-0009] – the specific of a pouch type is taught [0005]. It is well known to use any type of known battery cells and constructions to form the modules. Claim 5, 15: The instant claim lays weight to a longitudinal axis of the battery, but is silent to tie this axis to a physical feature of the cell or define the other axis, therefore it is capable of reading on any direction. As such, Park teaches a first and second electrically conductive tab and each of the first and second expandable portions to be arranged in a direction whereby the direction is identified as “parallel to the longitudinal battery axis.” Claim 6, 16: The instant claim lays weight to a longitudinal axis of the battery, but is silent to tie this axis to a physical feature of the cell or define the other axis, therefore it is capable of reading on any direction. As such, Park teaches a first and second electrically conductive tab and each of the first and second expandable portions to be arranged in a direction whereby the direction is identified as “perpendicular to the longitudinal battery axis.” Claim 7, 17: Park teaches at least one spring (300) [Fig 16] within the container between the first and second electrode stacks and capable of accommodating movement and potentially expansion of a first and second electrode cell within the container. Claim 8, 18: Park teaches a support plate (500) to engage with the spring element [Fig 16]. The instant claim recites “adjacent” and this is met by the relative nature of the spring and engagement to the movement member (100) – applicant is capable of utilizing “directly adjacent” if the inclusion of additional features or specific location is pertinent to the scope of the instant claim. Claim 9, 19: Park teaches the two adjacent batteries being connected by a busbar (100) with internal container features shown in Fig 2 and Fig 16 whereby the electrically conductive tabs are disposed in a region of the internal chamber between the first and second electrode stacks and the interior surface, the battery cell further comprising a separation bracket disposed in the region between the first and second electrode stacks and the interior surface and configured to maintain separation between the first electrically conductive tab and the second electrically conductive tab [Fig 2, 16]. Claim 10: Park teaches the battery to be lithium ion [0004-0009]. Claim 20: Park teaches a battery rack comprising a plurality of battery modules stacked in a first direction and including a coupling bar protruding outward and a busbar movably coupled to the coupling bar of each of two adjacent battery modules along a plurality of battery modules [Abstract]. Applicant’s battery cell equates to Park’s battery rack (1000), a first electrode stack is the first module (200) comprising a first set of anode and cathode elements and a second electrode stack is a second adjacent module (200) comprising a second set of anode and cathode elements [0004, Fig 1]. Applicant’s battery cell container is taught by the battery container (2000) [0065] and comprises an internal chamber to house all battery elements and connection elements [Fig 1]. A first electrically conductive tab is taught by Park’s busbar (100) which is electrically connected inside the internal chamber, mechanically connected to a first battery terminal, and fixed whereby a connection to each anode element in the first and second electrode stack exists – the busbar comprises a first expandable portion which is located between the first and second electrode stacks signified by the connection hole (101) and movable to expand with a plurality of grooves (110) [Fig 3A, 3B, 3C, 5; 0073-0086]. A second electrically conductive tab exists within the container and is mechanically connected to the second battery in a fixed manner and connected to each cathode element of the first and second electrode stack – features for the first electrically conductive tab is mirrored and taught by the second bus bar of Park connecting a second terminal of cells. Park teaches the busbar (100) to compress, stretch, or bend in directions [0069] and therefore meets the hypothetical capability of adopting to a flex change in the cell from charging and discharging; note the charging and discharging change of volume does not positively recite structural scope limiting features as the method of charging and discharging to a degree that causes changing in shape is not a positive limitation of the instant claims – please review functional limitation MPEP 2114 for further guidance. Park teaches at least one spring (300) [Fig 16] within the container between the first and second electrode stacks and capable of accommodating movement and potentially expansion of a first and second electrode cell within the container. Park teaches a support plate (500) to engage with the spring element [Fig 16]. The instant claim recites “adjacent” and this is met by the relative nature of the spring and engagement to the movement member (100) – applicant is capable of utilizing “directly adjacent” if the inclusion of additional features or specific location is pertinent to the scope of the instant claim . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. PGPUB 2026/0024852 – A spring member configured to apply pressure downward onto a cell. PGPUB 2025/0300323 – Elastically deformable busbar elements PGPUB 2025/0279463 – Cylindrical spring force application on battery PGPUB 2024/0396144 – Leaf springs in casing to allow for accommodation of swelling of batteries PGPUB 2024/0387854 – Spring to apply compressive force on battery within casing PGPUB 2024/0258593 - Spring (36) connected to isolator plates (32, 34) for holding pouch batteries PGPUB 2021/0262883 – Sporing pressure sensor accommodated within a cell Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STEPHEN J YANCHUK whose telephone number is (571)270-7343. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 10a-8p. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nick Smith can be reached at 571-272-8760. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /STEPHEN J YANCHUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/482,659 Page 2 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/482,659 Page 3 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/482,659 Page 4 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/482,659 Page 5 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/482,659 Page 6 Art Unit: 1752 Application/Control Number: 18/482,659 Page 7 Art Unit: 1752