Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. 2023/0191244 by Hu.
Regarding claim 21, Hu discloses a video game system controller comprising: a controller body (see at least para. 7 and gamepad); and a controller control stick movably coupled to the controller body and having a handle (fig. 2, 8 – see stick and handle), wherein the controller control stick or the handle is rotatable relative to the controller body and rotating the controller control stick or the handle causes height of the handle to change with respect to the controller body (para. 34-37 – see adjustment of the height through the threaded portion), wherein rotation of the controller control stick or the handle when the handle is at a first height causes the handle to change to a second height different from the first height (para. 34-37 – see adjustment of the height through the threaded portion).
Regarding claim 22, Hu discloses the video game system controller of claim 21, wherein the controller control stick or the handle is rotatable 360-degrees with respect to the controller body (para. 34-37 – see adjustment of the height through the threaded portion).
Regarding claim 23, Hu discloses the video game system controller of claim 21, wherein the controller control stick or the handle is rotatable in a first direction to change the height of the handle from a most retracted position to an intermediate position to a most extended position (para. 34-37 – see adjustment of the height through the threaded portion).
Regarding claim 24, Hu discloses the video game system controller of claim 21, wherein the controller control stick or the handle is rotatable in a first direction to change the height of the handle from a most retracted position to an intermediate position to a most extended position to the most retracted position (para. 34-37 – see adjustment of the height through the threaded portion).
Regarding claim 25, Hu discloses the video game system controller of claim 21, wherein the controller control stick or the handle is rotatable in a first direction to change the height of the handle from a most extended position to a most retracted position (para. 34-37 – see adjustment of the height through the threaded portion).
Regarding claim 26, Hu discloses the video game system controller of claim 21, wherein the controller control stick or the handle is rotatable in a first direction and a second direction opposite the first direction to change the height of the handle with respect to the controller body (para. 34-37 – see adjustment of the height through the threaded portion).
Regarding claim 27, Hu discloses the video game system controller of claim 21, wherein the controller control stick or the handle is rotatable in a first direction to increase the height of the handle with respect to the controller body and in a second direction opposite the first direction to decrease the height of the handle with respect to the controller body (para. 34-37 – see adjustment of the height through the threaded portion).
Regarding claim 28, Hu discloses the video game system controller of claim 21, wherein the controller control stick or the handle is rotatable in a first direction to increase the height of the handle with respect to the controller body and further rotation in the first direction causes the height of the handle to decrease with respect to the controller body (para. 34-37 – see adjustment of the height through the threaded portion).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The new amendments to claims 1, 13 and 19 overcome prior art by clarifying the engagement of the of the indent during rotation, the prior art of record requires disengagement of the indentation during rotation and adjustment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER J IANNUZZI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715