Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
… Buckley fails to teach or suggest dissecting, utilizing a context engine integrated with a large language model, the query ... into a set of individual sub-prompts … Moreover, Buckley fails to teach or suggest generating "a set of large language model sub-prompts processable by the large language model integrated with the context engine to generate computer code responsive to the set of individual sub-prompts."
Dasher, discussed in more detail below, is cited for the sub-prompt generation (see e.g. pars. [0078]-[0090]). Buckley teaches generating computer code responsive to the sub-prompts (par. [0062] “communicate with the language model 152 to obtain source code 118 to perform a computer task 112”).
In contrast to Dasher, the claimed invention uses "the context engine" to dissect the query into "a set of individual sub-prompts," generates (e.g., using the context engine to process the set of individual sub-prompts) "a set of large language model sub-prompts processable by the large language model integrated with the context engine ... " generates "individual code segments corresponding to the set of individual sub-prompts," and executes "individual code segments of the computer code utilizing an interpreter. .. " …
Dasher discloses generating a number of individual sub-prompts describing individual tasks to be processed by a large language model (see e.g. pars. [0078]-[0090]). It would have been obvious to generate individual code segments to perform these tasks as taught by Buckley (see e.g. par. [0062] “a the language model 152 to obtain source code 118 to perform a computer task 112”) as a known means of providing the disclosed functionality.
… Dasher is silent as to the other elements in the independent claim such as the interpreter comprising swappable logic that is interchangeable across multiple executors, wherein the multiple executors correspond with different endpoints …
Guo, discussed in more detail below, is cited for the swappable logic interchangeable across multiple executors (see e.g. par. [0081] “using modules of generic compiler”)
… Guo fails to teach or suggest "an interpreter comprising swappable logic that is interchangeable across multiple executors," as presently claimed. Instead, Guo is directed to compiling source code using different compiler modules to generate machine executable code for different processing environments.
In Guo, the compiler modules (e.g. par. [0081] “modules of generic compiler … modules of the domain-specific compiler”) constitute logic used to compile, e.g. first and second parts of a source code. These compiler modules can be swapped out depending on the target executor (e.g. par. [0081] “code for GPP … code for network processor”). Accordingly, Guo teaches swappable logic interchangeable across multiple executors as claimed. Further it would have been obvious to incorporate this swappable logic in Dasher to provide additional flexibility and programmability (see e.g. Guo par. [0019]).
Guo' s approach relies on generating different compiled executable code targeted to different processors or execution environments. Guo therefore teaches processor-specific compilation and machine executable code generation. Thus, unlike Guo's compiler-based architecture that generates different machine code for different processors, Applicant's claimed interpreter is itself interchangeable "across multiple executors" that correspond with "different endpoints." …
First, Applicant discloses “In some cases, an interpreter can … translate the computer code into machine code” (par. [0038]). Accordingly, Guo’s “compiler” appears to fall within a reasonably broad understanding of the claimed “interpreter”. Further, Buckley explicitly teaches an “interpreter executing the instructions” (par. [0038]). Accordingly, should the claim be amended to exclude compilation it, at least without more, would still appear to be obvious over Guo and Buckley. Second, Guo’s compiler can be used, e.g., “to execute the same (or different) computer code at different end points or executors” (see e.g. applicant’s par. [0068]) and thus is “interchangeable” across different executors (e.g. par. [0081] “GPP … network processor”) without any retooling.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 9, 11, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0085131 to Dasher et al. (Dasher) in view of US 2025/0021769 to Buckley et al. (Buckley) in view of US 2021/0357194 to Guo et al. (Guo).
Claims 1, 11 and 16: Dasher discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
in response to a query received from a client device (par. [0075] “in response to receipt of the prompt or query 101A”), dissecting, utilizing a context engine integrated with a large language model, the query from the client device into a set of individual sub-prompts (par. [0076] “detailed sub-prompts”);
generating, using the context engine to process the set of individual sub-prompts, a set of large language model sub-prompts processable by the large language model integrated with the context engine to perform functions responsive to the set of individual sub-prompts (e.g. pars. [0078]-[0090]);
performing the functions corresponding to the set of individual sub-prompts, the functions correspond with different endpoints comprising a plurality of target software platforms (e.g. par. [0079] “real-time weather APIs”);
generating, a first context engine output that corresponds with an individual sub-prompt of the set of individual sub-prompts (e.g. par. [0083] “retrieve the images associated with this address”);
generating, a second context engine output that corresponds w an additional sub-prompt of the set of individual sub-prompts (e.g. par. [0086] “create a composite and realistic view of 123 Main Street”); and
generating a target output responsive to the query received from the client device by combining the first context engine output and the second context engine output (par. [0097] “produces initial output”).
Dasher does not explicitly disclose:
generating, utilizing the large language model to process the set of large language model sub-prompts, individual code segments corresponding to the set of individual sub-prompts; and
executing the individual code segments utilizing an interpreter integrated with the context engine.
Buckley teaches:
generating, utilizing a large language model to process a set of large language model sub-prompts, individual code segments corresponding to the set of individual sub-prompts (par. [0062] “a task generator 126 configured to communicate with the language model 152 to obtain source code 118 to perform a computer task 112”, par. [0069] “transmit a prompt 114-1 requesting that the language model 152 generate JavaScript expressions(s)”); and
executing the individual code segments utilizing an interpreter integrated with the context engine (par. [0069] “transmit a prompt 114-1 requesting that the language model 152 generate JavaScript expressions(s)”, par. [0043] “executes the first code portion … to execute the first function … executes the second code portion … to execute the second function”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate and execute individual code segments corresponding to the set of individual sub-prompts. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as a known means of implementing the disclosed functionality which would have produced only the expected results (e.g. Dasher [0079] “Use reliable weather sources like … real-time weather APIs”)
Dasher and Buckley do not teach:
executing the individual code segments utilizing a first and second executor of the interpreter, a first and second context engine output that corresponds with an individual sub-prompt of the set of individual sub-prompts by implementing the interpreter to interpret the individual code segment of the computer code from the context engine to a first or second executor (e.g. par. [0081] “using modules of generic compiler … generate machine executable code for GPP … using modules of the domain-specific compiler … generate machine executable code for network processor”).
an interpreter integrated with the context engine and comprising swappable logic that is interchangeable across multiple executors (par. [0081] “using modules of generic compiler … generate machine executable code for GPP … using modules of the domain-specific compiler … generate machine executable code for network processor”, par. [0048] “compiled to generate unified code 110 to be executed by one or more GPPs and … target hardware specific code 112 to be executed by one or more network processors”).
Guo teaches:
executing the individual code segments utilizing a first and second executor of the interpreter, a first and second context engine output that corresponds with an individual sub-prompt of the set of individual sub-prompts by implementing the interpreter to interpret the individual code segment of the computer code from the context engine to a first or second executor (e.g. par. [0081] “using modules of generic compiler … generate machine executable code for GPP … using modules of the domain-specific compiler … generate machine executable code for network processor”).
an interpreter integrated with the context engine and comprising swappable logic that is interchangeable across multiple executors (par. [0081] “using modules of generic compiler … generate machine executable code for GPP … using modules of the domain-specific compiler … generate machine executable code for network processor”, par. [0048] “compiled to generate unified code 110 to be executed by one or more GPPs and … target hardware specific code 112 to be executed by one or more network processors”).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to use swappable logic to generated first and second outputs. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to provides flexibility and programmability (see e.g. Guo par. [0019]).
Claim 2: Dasher, Buckley and Guo teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the interpreter comprises explicitly defined types that define attributes and functions of code expressions (e.g. Buckley par. [0128] attributes that describe the element (e.g., label like “button”, “text”, “link” … “, par. [0137] “the device data includes … a custom data type”).
Claim 6: Dasher, Buckley and Guo teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
in response to a first interaction from the client device, generating, utilizing the interpreter, an intermediate context engine output (Buckley par. [0060] “e.g., “identifying my gaming tab””);
receiving a second interaction from the client device (Buckley par. [0060] “display a textual response … visually identify the gaming tab”); and
based on the second interaction, generating, utilizing the large language model, a modified context engine output from the intermediate context engine output (Buckley par. [0060] “delete the browser tab 162 and display a textual response”).
Claim 9: Dasher, Buckley and Guo teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
in response to a first interaction from the client device, generating, utilizing the interpreter, a first output (Buckley par. [0060] “display a textual response … visually identify the gaming tab”);
persisting a state of the interpreter corresponding to the first output (Buckley par. [0060] “a history of textual data submitted by the user and textual responses provide by the task assistant 110”); and
in response to a second interaction from the client device, generating a second output based on persisting the state of interpreter corresponding to the first output (Buckley par. [0060] “delete the browser tab 162 and display a textual response”).
Claim 20: Dasher, Buckley and Guo teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, further storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
in response to a first interaction from the client device, generate, utilizing the interpreter, a first output (Buckley par. [0060] “e.g., “identifying my gaming tab””);
persist a state of the interpreter corresponding to the first output (Buckley par. [0060] “a history of textual data submitted by the user and textual responses provide by the task assistant 110”); and
generate, utilizing the large language model, a second output based on the first output indicated by persisting the state of the interpreter (Buckley par. [0060] “delete the browser tab 162 and display a textual response”).
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0021769 to Buckley et al. (Buckley) in view of US 2025/0085131 to Dasher et al. (Dasher) in view of US 2021/0357194 to Guo et al. (Guo) in view of US 2007/0282951 to Selimis et al. (Selimis).
Claim 3: Dasher, Buckley and Guo teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but do not explicitly teach preventing the computer code from causing the interpreter to perform file system operations to read, write, or delete data stored for a user account.
Selimis teaches:
preventing computer code from performing file system operations to read, write, or delete data stored for a user account (par. [0126]-[0129] “prevent the following events: Reading form unspecified host-based files … Writing to any host-based file … Deleting any unauthorized host-based files”).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to prevent the computer code from performing read, write or delete operations. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as a known means of enforcing a security policy which would have produced only the expected results (see e.g. Selimis par. [0125]).
Claim 13: Dasher, Buckley and Guo teach the system of claim 11, but do not teach storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to utilize the interpreter to prevent a downstream model from one or more of performing network operations, determining contextual environment data of the first executor and the second executor, or creating new subprocesses.
Selimis teaches:
preventing a downstream model from one or more of performing network operations, determining contextual environment data of the first executor and the second executor, or creating new subprocesses (par. [0130] Accessing or modifying system properties … Opening connections to a specified set of Guard addresses and port numbers … Creating new processes”)
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to prevent a downstream model from performing network operations, determining contextual environment data, or creating new subprocesses Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as a known means of enforcing a security policy which would have produced only the expected results (see e.g. Selimis par. [0125]).
Claim(s) 4, 12, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0021769 to Buckley et al. (Buckley) in view of US 2025/0085131 to Dasher et al. (Dasher) in view of US 2021/0357194 to Guo et al. (Guo) in view of US 2008/0282238 to Meijer et al. (Meijer).
Claim 4: Dasher, Buckley and Guo teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but do not disclose executing the computer code utilizing the interpreter further comprises dynamically exposing types defined within the interpreter that correspond with the computer code for responding to the set of individual sub-prompts.
Meijer teaches:
utilizing an interpreter comprises dynamically exposing types defined within the interpreter that correspond with the computer code (par. [0040] “bind types to programmatic elements”).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to expose types as claimed. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to, e.g., provide a “level of programmatic flexibility” (see e.g. Meijer par. [0005]-[0006]).
Claim 12: Dasher, Buckley and Guo teach the system of claim 11, but do not explicitly teach the interpreter cannot process code expressions outside of explicitly defined types that define attributes and functions of code expressions.
Meijer teaches:
an interpreter cannot process code expressions outside of explicitly defined types that define attributes and functions of code expressions (see e.g. par. [0025] “type check the code … to thwart compilation”).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to prevent execution of code expressions outside of defined types. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to provide a level of security (see e.g. Meijer par. [0005]-[0006]).
Claim 14: Dasher, Buckley and Guo teach the system of claim 11, but do not teach instructions, which when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to dynamically expose a type defined within the interpreter by:
exposing called data corresponding to the type as part of executing a function of the computer code that refers to the called data; and
not exposing uncalled data corresponding to the type as part of executing the function of the computer code.
Meijer teaches dynamically exposing types by:
exposing called data corresponding to the type as part of executing a function of the computer code that refers to the called data (par. [0040] “the late binder component 410 can be invoked … bind the type to a method”); and
not exposing uncalled data corresponding to the type as part of executing the function of the computer code (par. [0040] If no such member exists … a runtime exception can be thrown”).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to expose called data corresponding to a type and not expose uncalled data. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to provide a level of security (see e.g. Meijer par. [0005]-[0006]).
Claim 17: Dasher, Buckley and Guo teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, but do not teach storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:
perform a first type checking process before runtime for executing the computer code to prevent the interpreter from accessing data outside of the explicitly defined types; and
perform a second type checking process at runtime for executing the computer code to prevent the interpreter from accessing data outside of the explicitly defined types.
Meijer teaches:
performing a first type checking process before runtime for executing the computer code to prevent the interpreter from accessing data outside of the explicitly defined types (par. [0025] “the static type check component 120”); and
performing a second type checking process at runtime for executing the computer code to prevent the interpreter from accessing data outside of the explicitly defined types (par. [0041] “The dynamic type check component 420”).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to expose called data corresponding to a type and not expose uncalled data. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to provide a level of security (see e.g. Meijer par. [0005]-[0006]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0021769 to Buckley et al. (Buckley) in view of US 2025/0085131 to Dasher et al. (Dasher) in view of US 2021/0357194 to Guo et al. (Guo) in view of US 12,360,748 to Zhang et al. (Zhang)
Claim 5: Dasher, Buckley and Guo teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the swappable logic of the interpreter facilitates:
utilizing the interpreter to execute the computer code that corresponds with the sub-prompt at the first executor (e.g. par. [0081] “generate machine executable code for GPP”); and
utilizing the interpreter to execute the computer code that corresponds with the additional sub-prompt at the second executor without retooling the interpreter (e.g. par. [0081] “using modules of the domain-specific compiler … generate machine executable code for network processor”).
Dasher, Buckley and Guo do not explicitly teach:
a first executor for testing; and
a second executor for validation.
Zhang teaches:
a first executor for testing (col. 7, lines 39-65 “validation engine 210”); and
a second executor for validation (col. 7, lines 39-65 “test environment 216”).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to execute the code at validation and test executors. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as a known development/testing environment which would have produced only the expected results.
Claim(s) 7-8, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0021769 to Buckley et al. (Buckley) in view of US 2025/0085131 to Dasher et al. (Dasher) in view of US 2021/0357194 to Guo et al. (Guo) in view of US 2013/0151791 to Diestelhorst et al. (Diestelhorst).
Claims 7, and 15 and 18: Dasher, Buckley and Guo teach claims 1, 11 and 16, but do not teach persisting a state of the interpreter by:
storing, in a database during execution of the computer code, memory registry data associated with performing a function via the interpreter;
storing, in the database, a call stack comprising data defining a computer environment of an executor from among the multiple executors; and
in response to a state persisting event, storing, in the database, an instruction pointer indicating a segment of the computer code being executed by the interpreter.
Diestelhorst teaches:
storing, in a database during execution of the computer code, memory registry data associated with performing a function via the interpreter (par. [0036] “a rIP register value … a rAX register value … a rFLAGS register value … a rDX register value”);
storing, in the database, a call stack comprising data defining a computer environment of an executor from among the multiple executors (par. [0036] “call stack 500”); and
in response to a state persisting event, storing, in the database, an instruction pointer indicating a segment of the computer code being executed by the interpreter (par. [0036] “rIP … an instruction pointer”).
It would have been obvious to store state information as claimed. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as a known means of dealing with conflicting transactions which would have produced only the expected results.
Claim 8: Berkley, Guo and Diestelhorst teach the computer-implemented method of claim 7, further comprising resuming execution of the computer code after persisting the state by:
obtaining, from the database, the memory registry data, the call stack, and the instruction pointer (Diestelhorst par. [0040] “based on the continuation state stored in the call stack”); and
resuming execution of the computer code at the segment indicated by the instruction pointer (Diestelhorst par. [0040] “restore the transaction”).
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0021769 to Buckley et al. (Buckley) in view of US 2025/0085131 to Dasher et al. (Dasher) in view of US 2021/0357194 to Guo et al. (Guo) in view of US 7,370,318 to Howe et al. (Howe).
Claims 10: Dasher, Buckley and Guo teach the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but do not explicitly teach performing an in-function garbage collection process as part of executing the computer code.
Howe teaches:
an in-function garbage collection process as part of executing the computer code (col. 10, lines 19-20 “a runtime environment that includes … garbage collection”).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to perform in-function garbage collection. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as a known means of freeing up memory which would have produced only the expected results.
Claim 19: Dasher, Buckley and Guo teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, but do not explicitly disclose instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform an in-function garbage collection process as part of executing the computer code.
Howe teaches in-function garbage collection process as part of executing the computer code ((col. 10, lines 19-20 “a runtime environment that includes … garbage collection”).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing to perform in-function garbage collection. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as a known means of freeing up memory which would have produced only the expected results.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2012/0143589 to Beale et al. discloses an interpreter that is interchangeable across multiple executors (see e.g. par. [0007]).
/JASON D MITCHELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2199