Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 6/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the product of claim can perform the method as claimed. The examiner disagrees. The method is expressly stated as a, “method of controlling operation of an aerosol delivery device.” The device of claim 1 has a control component coupled to a communication interface. It is not connected to any functional elements and therefore does not control an aerosol delivery device. In addition, the product does not include an external device, and therefore the method cannot be performed by the product.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement as noted above.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the (a) housing, (b) plurality of functional elements, (c) communication interface, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“functional elements” in claim1,
“communication interface” in claim 1,
“control component” in claim 1
The specification discloses the following corresponding structure for each limitation below. The claim limitations will be interpreted as requiring the disclosed structure in the respective parts of the specification or equivalents thereof. (see Pre Grant Publication US 20240108078 A1 as the equivalent to the instant specification with paragraph numbers):
“functional elements”, power source [0009], , heating element [0010], display [0094], Bluetooth communication interface [0096], power source [0098],
“communication interface,” wireless communication systems with an antenna and hardware and software for connecting to cellular networks, Wifi, WLAN Bluetooth, etc. [0080-0081]
“control component,” defined as, “at least one control component (e.g., means for actuating, controlling, regulating and ceasing power for heat generation, such as by controlling electrical current flow the power source to other components of the article—e.g., a microprocessor, individually or as part of a microcontroller component) [0044], processor core, integrated circuit, a memory, integrated input/output peripherals [0052].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(g)(1) during the course of an interference conducted under section 135 or section 291, another inventor involved therein establishes, to the extent permitted in section 104, that before such person’s invention thereof the invention was made by such other inventor and not abandoned, suppressed, or concealed, or (2) before such person’s invention thereof, the invention was made in this country by another inventor who had not abandoned, suppressed, or concealed it. In determining priority of invention under this subsection, there shall be considered not only the respective dates of conception and reduction to practice of the invention, but also the reasonable diligence of one who was first to conceive and last to reduce to practice, from a time prior to conception by the other.
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alarcon et al. (US 20110265806 A1)
Regarding claims 1, 10, Alarcon et al. disclose a aerosol delivery device that has a housing (see figure 1A and 2A) that contains a plurality of functional elements (figure 1A), a wireless communication unit (i.e. interface) such as a Bluetooth radio [0054], and a microprocessor controller [0057]. The communication unit sends usage data, system diagnostics data, system error data, and the like to an external device [0054].
Please note, the instant claims are directed to an aerosol delivery device and limitations to other devices, such as an external device and the display on an external device do not further limit the claimed aerosol delivery device. Therefore, the external device and any structural features or intended use of the external device do not limit the instant claims.
Regarding claim 2 and 3, the controller of the aerosol device in the invention of Alarcon et al. can receive data (such as user information) from the communication processor wirelessly and the processor store the information in memory (i.e. a functional element) and therefore control the functional element [0074].
Regarding claim 4-6, Alarcon et al. disclose the following:
Further, the controller 210 may operate the user interface devices to indicate a status of the ESD 100 and the pack 200. For example, the controller 210 may operate the LED indicator 206 to blink with longer intervals when the ESD 100 is connected to the cigarette connector 216 and being charged by the battery 220 or an external power source. When there is a problem with the ESD 100 or the pack 200, the controller 210 may show an alert message or an error message on the display (not shown), generate an alert sound and/or the like. For example, when the container 140 is empty or the battery charge level is low in the ESD 100, the controller 210 may show a message on the display, activate the vibration motor 234 and/or the like. Further, when the heater 146 is overheating or malfunctioning, the controller 210 may control the LED indicator 206 to blink with shorter intervals, display a heater error message on the display, generate an alert sound and/or the like. In other words, any error detected in the ESD 100 may be transmitted to the pack 200. Further, when the pack 200 is connected to an external device, such as, e.g., computer or the like, an error message may be displayed on the external device. [0073]
Alarcon indicates that error messages, including low battery, and the status they describe are communicated with an external device and the error message may be displayed.
Regarding claim 8, Alarcon et al. disclose that, “…the controller 210 may operate the user interface devices to indicate a status of the ESD 100 and the pack 200.” The pack is an external device and its status is displayed on the aerosol device’s user interface.
Regarding claim 9, the controller of Alarcon is capable of receiving signals from external devices, and also provides an indication of a status of one of the plurality of functional elements to an external device. The navigation of plurality of items and the displaying of a status that occurs on an external device is not part of the instant invention which is directed to an aerosol generating device and not an external device. Therefore, these features and intended uses of the external device do not limit the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alarcon et al. (US 20110265806 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Gorelick et al. (US 20130319439 A1)
Regarding claim 7, Alarcon et al. disclose that the device is in communication with a pack and other devices, however, the control component is not disclosed as being configured to alter a locked state of the aerosol delivery device in response to a signal from an external device. However, Gorelick et al. disclose a similar electronic cigarette to that of Alarcon et al. and disclose that cigarette is in two way communication with a smartphone and that it is “locked” to a specific users smartphone. When the e-cig is not near the smartphone, then the e-cig is disabled or limited to a certain number of puffs [0061]. Therefore, the controller of the cigarette is configured to receive a signal from the connected smart phone that alters the locked condition of the cigarette and allows it to be used.
Conclusion
/Michael J Felton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747