DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 7 - 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grossman (Pub. No.: US 2019/0367105 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Grossman disclose a system for controlling a trailer, the system comprising:
a transceiver (Similarly, wireless links, RF band, Bluetooth®, near field communication, which is considered to inherently use transceivers as part of the module, per Google AI ¶ 73);
an electronic controller (trailer ECU 614, ¶ 73) coupled to the trailer and the transceiver (ECU may be alternatively connected wirelessly ¶ 73), and configured to:
determine that a tractor has entered an area proximate to the trailer (Based on sensor coverage and assisting with couple of fifth wheel to kingpin ¶ 82 and see 906, FIG. 9B);
determine that the tractor has mechanically coupled to the trailer (tractor unit properly connect the fifth-wheel and kingpin ¶ 83 and once the trailer is connected to the tractor unit, control system may signal to the trailer ECU to retract landing gear ¶ 86);
receive, via the transceiver, a command related to a component of the trailer (¶ 86); and
operate the component based on the command (once the trailer is connected to the tractor unit, control system may signal to the trailer ECU to retract landing gear ¶ 86).
Regarding claim 3, Grossman discloses the control system, wherein the electronic controller is configured to: determine that a tractor has entered the area proximate to the trailer by receiving a command signal via the transceiver (once the trailer is connected to the tractor unit, control system may signal to the trailer ECU to retract landing gear ¶ 86).
Regarding claim 4, Grossman discloses the control system, further comprising:
a sensor positioned on the trailer for sensing conditions associated with a kingpin of the trailer (Sensors mounted on trailer ¶ 74); wherein the sensor is coupled to the electronic controller and the electronic controller is configured to: determine that the tractor has mechanically coupled to the trailer by receiving a signal from the sensor and determining that the signal indicates a coupling of the kingpin of the trailer to a fifth wheel of the tractor (once the trailer is connected to the tractor unit, control system may signal to the trailer ECU to retract landing gear ¶ 86).
Regarding claim 7, Grossman discloses the control system, wherein the component is one selected from the group consisting of a parking brake, a service brake, a light, an air compressor, a camera, a tire pressure monitoring system, a lift gate motor, a trailer door switch, and a landing gear motor (landing gear ¶ 86).
Regarding claim 8, Grossman discloses the control system, wherein the electronic controller is configured to: prior to receiving the command related to the component of the trailer, transmit, via the transceiver, a unique identifier for the trailer (indicate trailer with unique reference number ¶ 87).
Regarding claim 9, Grossman discloses the control system, wherein the only mechanical connection between the tractor and the trailer is by a hitching system (Coupling System 266, FIG. 2B).
Regarding claim 10, Grossman discloses the control system, wherein the electronic controller is coupled to a controllable air supply for actuating one or both of an emergency brake system of the trailer and a service brake system of the trailer (provide air pressure to a braking system of the trailer ¶¶ 4, 11, 35, 44, 46).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossman (Pub. No.: US 2019/0367105 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Knoll et al. (Pub. No.: US 2007/0152802 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Grossman teaches the control system, further comprising:
a sensor positioned on the trailer (Sensors mounted on trailer ¶ 74);
wherein the sensor is coupled to the electronic controller and the electronic controller (¶ 74). Grossman is silent to the electronic controller is further configured to: determine that a tractor has entered the area proximate to the trailer by receiving a signal from the sensor. However, in the same field of endeavor, Knoll teaches a sensor for detecting whether a tractor and a trailer of a truck are connected. More specifically, a sensor is provided in proximity to a kingpin 18 of a trailer 14 to sense when the tractor 12 is connected to the trailer (¶ 16). Said sensor determines a first state if said hitch is within a first distance from said sensor and having a second state if said tractor hitch is not within said first distance (See claim 17).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the trailer sensor taught by Grossman to determine that a tractor has entered the area proximate to the trailer by receiving a signal from the sensor as taught by Knoll to enhance asset tracking to a monitoring location (¶ 3).
Regarding claim 6, Grossman teaches the control system, further comprising:
a trailer lighting system coupled to the electronic controller (Signaling System 254, FIG. 2B); and activate the trailer lighting system (lights of trailer ¶ 35).
Grossmann is silent to a geolocation system for the trailer coupled to the electronic controller wherein the electronic controller is further configured to: responsive to determining that the tractor has mechanically coupled to the trailer, control the geolocation system to active geolocation services for the trailer. However, in the same field of endeavor, Knoll teaches a connection status of the tractor trailer at a location being communicated to a remote monitoring location (¶¶ 3, 24).
It would have been obvious to modify Grossman to have geolocation system for the trailer coupled to the electronic controller wherein the electronic controller is further configured to: responsive to determining that the tractor has mechanically coupled to the trailer, control the geolocation system to active geolocation services for the trailer as taught by Knoll to enhance asset tracking to a monitoring location (¶ 3).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grossman (Pub. No.: US 2019/0367105 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vikstrom et al. (Pat. No.: US 12,409,900 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Vikstrom teaches the control system, wherein the electronic controller is communicatively coupled to a remote server and configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, to the remote server telematics for the trailer; and receive, via the transceiver, from the remote server, control commands for the trailer (“The remote server 250 may be configured to receive and store a coupling verification result from the pre-trip inspection vehicle 510, wherein the coupling verification result indicates a couple function associated with a stationary trailer 520 in a fleet of trailers.” col. 8, lines 54-60).
It would have been obvious to modify Grossman to wherein the electronic controller is communicatively coupled to a remote server and configured to: transmit, via the transceiver, to the remote server telematics for the trailer; and receive, via the transceiver, from the remote server, control commands for the trailer as taught by Vikstrom to enhance service quality by determining any faults in real-time alleviating or avoiding any unnecessary service interruptions (col. 3, lines 21-26).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TYLER J LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663