DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11-14, 21-24 and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM; Kyungjoong et al. US PGPUB 20230198702 A1, in view of LI; Yingyang et al. US PGPUB 20150098409 A1.
Regarding claim 1. Takeda teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, ([0022] FIG. 3 illustrates a configuration of the UE in a wireless communication system according to an embodiment of the disclosure) individually or in any combination, is configured to:
receive, from a network node, downlink (DL) signaling that indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) update, ([0089] Via an MCS in the control information included in the DCI, the BS informs the UE of the modulation scheme and the target coding rate applied to the PDSCH to be transmitted and the size (transport block size (TBS)) of data to be transmitted.) for a future time period, of a MCS associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission ([0089] Downlink data may be transmitted through a PDSCH which is a physical channel for downlink data transmission. The PDSCH may be transmitted after the control channel transmission interval, and scheduling information such as the detailed mapping location in the frequency domain and the modulation scheme is indicated by the DCI transmitted through the PDCCH.) that is multiplexed with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission that includes information to schedule the PDSCH transmission; and
demodulate data from the PDSCH transmission, after a beginning of the future time period, based on the MCS update. ([0316] The UE may receive downlink data (for example, PDSCH) or transmit uplink data (for example, PUSCH) on the basis of parameters indicated by the MCS index.)
Kim does not teach PDSCH that is multiplexed with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission that includes information to schedule the PDSCH transmission;
However, Li teaches PDSCH that is multiplexed with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission that includes information to schedule the PDSCH transmission; ([0167] In order to support multiplexing of an E-PDCCH and a PDSCH, another problem to be solved is how to configure reference signals of the E-PDCCH and the PDSCH. One situation is that the E-PDCCH and the PDSCH are multiplexed in one PRB pair, where because the reference signal of the E-PDCCH and the PDSCH are sent on a same PRB pair, the reference signal of the E-PDCCH may possibly be used to demodulate the PDSCH.)
In order to increase system capacity by fully utilize all Res ([0136])
Kim and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of PDSC/PDCCH multiplexing in Li in order to increase system capacity.
Regarding claim 2. Kim and Li teaches The apparatus of claim 1, and Kim teaches wherein to demodulate the data from the PDSCH transmission, after the beginning of the future time period, based on the MCS update, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: receive the data from the PDSCH transmission, wherein the data is modulated based on the MCS update. ([0316] The UE may receive downlink data (for example, PDSCH) or transmit uplink data (for example, PUSCH) on the basis of parameters indicated by the MCS index.)
Regarding claim 3. Kim and Li teaches The apparatus of claim 1, and Kim teaches wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive, from the network node, a configuration that indicates the MCS associated with the PDSCH transmission. ([0089] Via an MCS in the control information included in the DCI, the BS informs the UE of the modulation scheme and the target coding rate applied to the PDSCH to be transmitted and the size (transport block size (TBS)) of data to be transmitted.)
Regarding claim 4. Kim and Li teach The apparatus of claim 3, wherein to receive the configuration, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to
receive the configuration via radio resource control (RRC) signaling; ([0316] the corresponding MCS tables may be indicated using parameters corresponding to the corresponding MCS tables through higher-layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling))
wherein to receive the DL signaling that indicates the MCS update, (([0089] Via an MCS in the control information included in the DCI, the BS informs the UE of the modulation scheme and the target coding rate applied to the PDSCH to be transmitted and the size (transport block size (TBS)) of data to be transmitted.))
the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to receive the DL signaling via at least one of a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) or downlink control information (DCI). (([0089] Via an MCS in the control information included in the DCI, the BS informs the UE of the modulation scheme and the target coding rate applied to the PDSCH to be transmitted and the size (transport block size (TBS)) of data to be transmitted.))
Regarding claim 11. An apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on stored information that is stored in the at least one memory, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to:
provide, for a user equipment (UE), downlink (DL) signaling that indicates a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) update, ([0089] Via an MCS in the control information included in the DCI, the BS informs the UE of the modulation scheme and the target coding rate applied to the PDSCH to be transmitted and the size (transport block size (TBS)) of data to be transmitted.) for a future time period, of a MCS associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission ([0089] Downlink data may be transmitted through a PDSCH which is a physical channel for downlink data transmission. The PDSCH may be transmitted after the control channel transmission interval, and scheduling information such as the detailed mapping location in the frequency domain and the modulation scheme is indicated by the DCI transmitted through the PDCCH.)
and provide, for the UE, modulated data associated with the PDSCH transmission, after a beginning of the future time period, based on the MCS update. . ([0316] The UE may receive downlink data (for example, PDSCH) or transmit uplink data (for example, PUSCH) on the basis of parameters indicated by the MCS index.)
Kim does not teach PDSCH that is multiplexed with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission that includes information to schedule the PDSCH transmission;
However, Li teaches PDSCH that is multiplexed with a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmission that includes information to schedule the PDSCH transmission; ([0167] In order to support multiplexing of an E-PDCCH and a PDSCH, another problem to be solved is how to configure reference signals of the E-PDCCH and the PDSCH. One situation is that the E-PDCCH and the PDSCH are multiplexed in one PRB pair, where because the reference signal of the E-PDCCH and the PDSCH are sent on a same PRB pair, the reference signal of the E-PDCCH may possibly be used to demodulate the PDSCH.)
In order to increase system capacity by fully utilize all Res ([0136])
Kim and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of PDSC/PDCCH multiplexing in Li in order to increase system capacity.
Regarding claim 12. Kim and Li teach The apparatus of claim 11, Kim teaches wherein to provide the modulated data associated with the PDSCH transmission, after the beginning of the future time period, based on the MCS update, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: generating the modulated data associated with the PDSCH transmission based on the MCS update. ([0316] The UE may receive downlink data (for example, PDSCH) or transmit uplink data (for example, PUSCH) on the basis of parameters indicated by the MCS index.)
Regarding claim 13. Kim and Li teach The apparatus of claim 11, Kim teaches wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: configure the UE with the MCS associated with the PDSCH transmission. ([0089] Via an MCS in the control information included in the DCI, the BS informs the UE of the modulation scheme and the target coding rate applied to the PDSCH to be transmitted and the size (transport block size (TBS)) of data to be transmitted.)
Regarding claim 14. Kim and Li teach The apparatus of claim 13, Kim teaches wherein to configure the UE with the MCS associated with the PDSCH transmission, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to configure the UE with the MCS associated with the PDSCH transmission via radio resource control (RRC) signaling; ([0316] the corresponding MCS tables may be indicated using parameters corresponding to the corresponding MCS tables through higher-layer signaling (for example, RRC signaling))
wherein to provide the DL signaling that indicates the MCS update, (([0089] Via an MCS in the control information included in the DCI, the BS informs the UE of the modulation scheme and the target coding rate applied to the PDSCH to be transmitted and the size (transport block size (TBS)) of data to be transmitted.))
the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to provide the DL signaling via at least one of a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) or downlink control information (DCI). (([0089] Via an MCS in the control information included in the DCI, the BS informs the UE of the modulation scheme and the target coding rate applied to the PDSCH to be transmitted and the size (transport block size (TBS)) of data to be transmitted.))
Regarding claim 21-24. Kim and Li teach A method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising steps recited in claim 1-4. It is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 26-29. Kim and Li teach A method of wireless communication at a network node, comprising: steps recited in claims 11-14. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 5-8, 15-18, 25 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Li as applied to claim 1, 11, 21 and 26 above, and further in view of MolavianJazi; Ebrahim et al. US PGPUB 20220408464 A1.
Regarding claim 5. Kim and Li teaches The apparatus of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein to receive the DL signaling that indicates the MCS update, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to
receive, at a time length prior to the data from the PDSCH transmission that is multiplexed with the PDCCH transmission, the DL signaling that indicates the MCS update via downlink control information (DCI).
However, Molavian teaches
wherein to receive the DL signaling that indicates the MCS update, ([0354] In step 1310, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured a number of sets of co-scheduled cells. In step 1320, the UE receives an indication for co-scheduling a first cell and a second cell from the number of configured sets of co-scheduled cells. [0366] In a sixth example, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) parameter can be cell-common for a set of co-scheduled cells or can be provided by differential indication. In one example, the DCI format can provide a single MCS value that is applied to the set of co-scheduled cells,)
receive, at a time length prior to the data from the PDSCH transmission that is multiplexed with the PDCCH transmission, ([0307] In one example, the UE can be configured a parameter a that controls a maximum number of coded modulation symbols for M-DCIs in a PDSCH, in order to control a maximum number of time/frequency resources allocated to M-DCIs that are multiplexed on the PDSCH.) the DL signaling that indicates the MCS update via downlink control information (DCI). (Fig. 13, 1360 [0354] In step 1360, the UE receives the first and second PDSCHs or transmits the first and second PUSCHs respectively on the first and second co-scheduled cells based on the first value and the second value.)
in order to reduce control overhead by controlling a maximum number of resources allocated to DCI multiplexed on the PDSCH.
Kim and Molavian are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of M-DCI in order to reduce control overhead by controlling a maximum number of resources allocated to DCI multiplexed on the PDSCH.
Regarding claim 6. Kim, Li and Molavian teaches The apparatus of claim 5, Kim and Li do not teach
wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
provide, for the network node and prior to the data from the PDSCH transmission multiplexed with the PDCCH transmission, an acknowledgement (ACK) indication for the DCI; and
apply the MCS update for the PDSCH transmission multiplexed with the PDCCH transmission based on a time delay triggered by providing the ACK indication.
However, Molavian teaches
wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
provide, for the network node and prior to the data from the PDSCH transmission multiplexed with the PDCCH transmission, an acknowledgement (ACK) indication for the DCI; ([0386] For example, when a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling of PDSCHs includes zero bits for PUCCH resource indication, the UE can determine a PUCCH resource for transmission of HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding to the co-scheduled PDSCHs in a PUCCH resource provided by higher layers) and
apply the MCS update for the PDSCH transmission multiplexed with the PDCCH transmission based on a time delay triggered by providing the ACK indication. ([0255] To account for a MAC CE processing delay, the UE can apply the multi-cell scheduling MAC CE in a first slot that is after slot k+3N.sub.slot.sup.subframe,μ where k is a slot where the UE would transmit a PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH providing the MAC CE and μ is the SCS configuration for the PUCCH.)
in order to reduce control overhead by controlling a maximum number of resources allocated to DCI multiplexed on the PDSCH.
Kim and Molavian are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of M-DCI in order to reduce control overhead by controlling a maximum number of resources allocated to DCI multiplexed on the PDSCH.
Regarding claim 7. Kim, Li and Molavian teach The apparatus of claim 5, and Kim teaches wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
receive, from the network node, a default MCS configuration that indicates a default monitoring occasion periodicity for a default PDCCH having a default MCS; ([0464] According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the at least one processor may be further configured to identify a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table and transmit configuration information for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) indicating the MCS table to the UE, and the MCS table may be configured on the basis of the first MCS table configured by default and a second MCS table configured for low spectral efficiency (SE) in the BS,) and
Kim and Li does not teach receive, from the network node, a default PDSCH transmission that is multiplexed with a default PDCCH transmission based on the default MCS configuration and the default monitoring occasion periodicity.
However, Molavian teaches
receive, from the network node, a default PDSCH transmission that is multiplexed with a default PDCCH transmission based on the default MCS configuration and the default monitoring occasion periodicity. ([0408] In yet another example, a UE (such as the UE 116) determines information of operation level(s) corresponding to DCI fields with multi-cell mapping for scheduling a PDSCH/PUSCH on a cell from a set of co-scheduled cells based on predetermined or configured UE measurements.)
in order to reduce control overhead by controlling a maximum number of resources allocated to DCI multiplexed on the PDSCH.
Kim and Molavian are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of M-DCI in order to reduce control overhead by controlling a maximum number of resources allocated to DCI multiplexed on the PDSCH.
Regarding claim 8. Kim, Li and Molavian teaches The apparatus of claim 7, and Kim teaches wherein the default MCS is associated with a default code rate applied to additional data from the default PDSCH transmission. (Page 29, Table 32 to 34)
Regarding claim 15. Kim and Li teach The apparatus of claim 11, but they don’t teach wherein to provide the DL signaling that indicates the MCS update, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to provide, at a time length prior to the modulated data associated with the PDSCH transmission that is multiplexed with the PDCCH transmission, the DL signaling that indicates the MCS update via downlink control information (DCI).
However, Molavian teaches wherein to provide the DL signaling that indicates the MCS update, ([0354] In step 1310, a UE (such as the UE 116) is configured a number of sets of co-scheduled cells. In step 1320, the UE receives an indication for co-scheduling a first cell and a second cell from the number of configured sets of co-scheduled cells. [0366] In a sixth example, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) parameter can be cell-common for a set of co-scheduled cells or can be provided by differential indication. In one example, the DCI format can provide a single MCS value that is applied to the set of co-scheduled cells,)
the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to provide, at a time length prior to the modulated data associated with the PDSCH transmission that is multiplexed with the PDCCH transmission, ([0307] In one example, the UE can be configured a parameter a that controls a maximum number of coded modulation symbols for M-DCIs in a PDSCH, in order to control a maximum number of time/frequency resources allocated to M-DCIs that are multiplexed on the PDSCH.)
the DL signaling that indicates the MCS update via downlink control information (DCI). (Fig. 13, 1360 [0354] In step 1360, the UE receives the first and second PDSCHs or transmits the first and second PUSCHs respectively on the first and second co-scheduled cells based on the first value and the second value.)
in order to reduce control overhead by controlling a maximum number of resources allocated to DCI multiplexed on the PDSCH.
Kim and Molavian are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of M-DCI in order to reduce control overhead by controlling a maximum number of resources allocated to DCI multiplexed on the PDSCH.
Regarding claim 16. Kim and Li teach The apparatus of claim 15, Kim teaches
wherein to provide, for the UE, the modulated data associated with the PDSCH transmission, after the beginning of the future time period, based on the MCS update, ([0316] The UE may receive downlink data (for example, PDSCH) or transmit uplink data (for example, PUSCH) on the basis of parameters indicated by the MCS index.)
But they do not teach wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to: receive, from the UE and prior to the modulated data associated with the PDSCH transmission multiplexed with the PDCCH transmission, an acknowledgement (ACK) indication for the DCI; the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: provide the modulated data associated with the PDSCH transmission, after the beginning of the future time period, based on the MCS update and also based on a time delay triggered by reception of the ACK indication.
However, Molavian teaches
receive, from the UE and prior to the modulated data associated with the PDSCH transmission multiplexed with the PDCCH transmission, an acknowledgement (ACK) indication for the DCI; ([0386] For example, when a DCI format for multi-cell scheduling of PDSCHs includes zero bits for PUCCH resource indication, the UE can determine a PUCCH resource for transmission of HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding to the co-scheduled PDSCHs in a PUCCH resource provided by higher layers)
the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is configured to: provide the modulated data associated with the PDSCH transmission, after the beginning of the future time period, based on the MCS update and also based on a time delay triggered by reception of the ACK indication. ([0255] To account for a MAC CE processing delay, the UE can apply the multi-cell scheduling MAC CE in a first slot that is after slot k+3N.sub.slot.sup.subframe,μ where k is a slot where the UE would transmit a PUCCH with HARQ-ACK information for the PDSCH providing the MAC CE and μ is the SCS configuration for the PUCCH.)
in order to reduce control overhead by controlling a maximum number of resources allocated to DCI multiplexed on the PDSCH.
Kim and Molavian are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of M-DCI in order to reduce control overhead by controlling a maximum number of resources allocated to DCI multiplexed on the PDSCH.
Regarding claim 17. Kim, Li and Molavian teach The apparatus of claim 15, Kim teaches wherein the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, is further configured to:
provide, for the UE, a default MCS configuration that indicates a default monitoring occasion periodicity for a default PDCCH having a default MCS; ([0464] According to an embodiment of the disclosure, the at least one processor may be further configured to identify a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) table and transmit configuration information for a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) indicating the MCS table to the UE, and the MCS table may be configured on the basis of the first MCS table configured by default and a second MCS table configured for low spectral efficiency (SE) in the BS,)
Kim and Li do not teach
provide, for the UE, a default PDSCH transmission that is multiplexed with a default PDCCH transmission based on the default MCS configuration and the default monitoring occasion periodicity.
However, Molavian teaches
provide, for the UE, a default PDSCH transmission that is multiplexed with a default PDCCH transmission based on the default MCS configuration and the default monitoring occasion periodicity. ([0408] In yet another example, a UE (such as the UE 116) determines information of operation level(s) corresponding to DCI fields with multi-cell mapping for scheduling a PDSCH/PUSCH on a cell from a set of co-scheduled cells based on predetermined or configured UE measurements.)
in order to reduce control overhead by controlling a maximum number of resources allocated to DCI multiplexed on the PDSCH.
Kim and Molavian are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of M-DCI in order to reduce control overhead by controlling a maximum number of resources allocated to DCI multiplexed on the PDSCH.
Regarding claim 18. Kim and Li and Molavian teach The apparatus of claim 17, and Kim teaches wherein the default MCS is associated with a default code rate applied to additional data from the default PDSCH transmission. (Page 29, Table 32 to 34)
Regarding claim 25. Kim and Li and Molavian teach The method of claim 21, reciting the steps in claim 5. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 30. Kim and Li and Molavian teach The method of claim 26, further including the steps in claim 15. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Li as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of TIAN; Qingjiang et al. US PGPUB 20220256543 A1.
Regarding claim 10. Kim and Li teaches the apparatus of claim 1, they don’t teach further comprising at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, being configured to:
receive, from the network node via the at least one transceiver and after demodulating the data from the PDSCH transmission, a downlink (DL) grant using the PDCCH, wherein the DL grant (i) indicates a change to the MCS at a future time and (ii) does not include scheduling information for the PDSCH transmission.
However, Tian teaches
receive, from the network node via the at least one transceiver and after demodulating the data from the PDSCH transmission, a downlink (DL) grant using the PDCCH, ([0090]. For instance, assume in the illustrated example that, after the base station transmits PDCCH, PDSCH 1, PDSCH 2, and PDSCH 3, and before transmitting PDSCH 4, the base station determines scheduling information (e.g., TDRA, FDRA, MCS, etc.) for PDSCH 5 and transmits such information in the second DCI part 910 of PDSCH 4.) wherein the DL grant (i) indicates a change to the MCS at a future time ([0094] s a result, the multi-stage downlink grant may schedule subsequent PDSCH transmissions with more flexibility (e.g., different TDRA, FDRA, MCS, etc.) ) and (ii) does not include scheduling information for the PDSCH transmission. (Id. “schedule subsequent PDSCH transmissions”)
in order to provide scheduling flexibility ([0027])
Kim and Tian are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of multi-stage DCI in Tian in order to provide scheduling flexibility.
Regarding claim 20. Kim and Li teach The apparatus of claim 11, they don’t teach further comprising at least one transceiver coupled to the at least one processor, the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, being configured to: provide, for the UE via the at least one transceiver and after provision the modulated data associated with the PDSCH transmission, a downlink (DL) grant using the PDCCH, wherein the DL grant (i) indicates a change to the MCS at a future time and (ii) does not include scheduling information for the PDSCH transmission.
However, Tian teaches
provide, for the UE via the at least one transceiver and after provision the modulated data associated with the PDSCH transmission, a downlink (DL) grant using the PDCCH, ([0090]. For instance, assume in the illustrated example that, after the base station transmits PDCCH, PDSCH 1, PDSCH 2, and PDSCH 3, and before transmitting PDSCH 4, the base station determines scheduling information (e.g., TDRA, FDRA, MCS, etc.) for PDSCH 5 and transmits such information in the second DCI part 910 of PDSCH 4.)
wherein the DL grant (i) indicates a change to the MCS at a future time ([0094] s a result, the multi-stage downlink grant may schedule subsequent PDSCH transmissions with more flexibility (e.g., different TDRA, FDRA, MCS, etc.) ) and (ii) does not include scheduling information for the PDSCH transmission. (Id. “schedule subsequent PDSCH transmissions”)
in order to provide scheduling flexibility ([0027])
Kim and Tian are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Kim with the technique of multi-stage DCI in Tian in order to provide scheduling flexibility.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZHAOHUI YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468