DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission dated 12/29/2025 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 7,8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pat. 5,083,598 – Schon.
Regarding claim 1.
Schon discloses a quickly-assembled electric sunshade curtain (fig 1), comprising a curtain frame (including 1, 4, and 5, fig 1), and the curtain frame is enclosed by an upper rail (1, fig 1), a lower rail (5, fig 1), and two side rails (4, fig 1);
a curtain body (3, fig 1) is disposed inside the curtain frame (see fig 1);
an upper end of the curtain body (3, fig 1) is fixedly connected with the upper rail (1, fig 1), and a lower end of the curtain body (3, fig 1) is connected with a movable cross beam (2, fig 1);
the movable cross beam (2, fig 1) slidably cooperates with the curtain frame (including 1, 4, and 5, fig 1) along an opening and closing direction of the curtain body (3, fig 1); wherein
a single output motor (15, fig 1) and a transmission rod (16, fig 1) are disposed inside the upper rail (see fig 1);
the single output motor (15, fig 1) is in transmission cooperation with the transmission rod (16, fig 1) through a gear assembly (IV, fig 3);
the single output motor (15, fig 1) and the transmission rod (16, fig 1) are disposed up and down in parallel (See fig 1);
a belt assembly (at 10, fig 1) is disposed in each of the two side rails (4, fig 1) respectively, and the belt assemblies (at 10, fig 1) are in transmission connection with the transmission rod (16, fig 1) and the movable cross beam (2, fig 1);
the transmission rod (16, fig 1) has opposed first end (at II in fig 1) and second end (at V in fig 1); the first end of the transmission rod (16, fig 1) is connected to the belt assembly (at 10, fig 1) at one side through a quick connector (27, fig 2) and the second end (at V in fig 1) of the transmission rod (16, fig 1) is connected to the belt assembly (at 10, fig 1) at the other side.
Regarding claim 2.
Schon discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Schon further discloses the belt assembly (at 10, fig 1) comprises a drive wheel (11, fig 5), a belt (10, fig 1) and a driven wheel (12, fig 7);
two ends of the belt (10, fig 1) are sleeved on the drive wheel (11, fig 1) and the driven wheel (12, fig 1) respectively (See fig 1);
the drive wheel (11, fig 1) is disposed at an upper end of the side rails (See fig 1) and the driven wheel (12, fig 1) is disposed at a lower end of the side rails (See fig 1);
the first end (at II in fig 1) of the transmission rod (16, fig 1) is connected through the quick connector (27, fig 2) to the drive wheel (at 28, fig 5) of the belt assembly at one side (See fig 5), and the drive wheel is a first drive wheel (fig 2, as at 11, fig 5);
the second end (at V in fig 1) of the transmission rod (16, fig 1) is connected to the drive wheel of the belt assembly (See fig 5) at the other side, and the drive wheel is a second drive wheel (11, fig 5);
external splines (28, fig 5) are integrally formed on the first drive wheel (fig 2, as at 11, fig 5); internal splines (at 27, fig 3) cooperating with the external splines (at 28, fig 5) are disposed on one end of the quick connector (at 28, fig 5), and a connection groove (on either side of 28, fig 5) connected with the transmission rod (16, fig 1) is disposed on the other end of the quick connector (27, fig 3);
a connection hole (at 28, fig 5) connected with the transmission rod (16, fig 1) is disposed on the second drive wheel (11, fig 5);
the first drive wheel (fig 2, as at 11, fig 5) and the second drive wheel (11, fig 1) can rotate in synchronization with the transmission rod (16, fig 1).
Regarding claim 3.
Schon discloses all limitations of claim 2.
Schon further discloses the single output motor (15, fig 1) is disposed at an end of the upper rail (at II, fig 1) adjacent to the first end (at II, fig 1) of the transmission rod (16, fig 1);
the gear assembly (IV, fig 3) comprises an input gear (21, fig 4) and an output gear (24, fig 4); the input gear (21, fig 4) is in engagement transmission with the output gear (See fig 4);
the output end of the single output motor (at IV in fig 3) is in transmission connection with the input gear (21, fig 4);
the first end (at II, fig 1) of the transmission rod (16, fig 1) is in transmission cooperation with the output gear (24, fig 4), and the output gear is in transmission cooperation (via 16, fig 1) with the first drive wheel (See fig 2).
Regarding claim 7.
Schon discloses all limitations of claim 2.
Schon further discloses both ends of the movable cross beam (2, fig 1) are fixedly connected (at 13, fig 1) to the belts (10, fig 1) at both sides through fixing pieces (46, fig 6);
the movable cross beam (2, fig 1) can translate synchronously with rotation of the belts (10, fig 1) at both sides.
Regarding claim 8.
Schon discloses all limitations of claim 3.
Schon further discloses a first mounting chamber (19, fig 2), a second mounting chamber (18, fig 2) and a third mounting chamber (37, fig 3) are disposed in sequence inside the upper rail (1, fig 1) from top down;
the first mounting chamber (19, fig 2) is used to mount the single output motor (15, fig 2);
the second mounting chamber (18, fig 2) is used to mount the transmission rod (16, fig 2), and the third mounting chamber (37, fig 3) is used to mount an upper end of the curtain body (column 4, lines 4-5; lower profile 37, which serves for the attachment of the screen 3.);
a positioning piece (20, fig 2) for limiting the single output motor (15, fig 2) is disposed at the opposed end of the output end of the single output motor inside the first mounting chamber (See fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schon in view of PG Pub. US 2021/0164290 A1 – Nien et al., hereinafter Nien.
Regarding claim 4.
Schon discloses all limitations of claim 3.
Schon further discloses the output gear (24, fig 4) and the first drive wheel (fig 2, as at 11, fig 5) are integrally formed (integrated via shaft 16).
Schon does not disclose the gear assembly further comprises at least one transitional gear;
the transitional gear is engaged between the input gear and the output gear.
However, Nien teaches a gear assembly (Fig 6) further comprises at least one transitional gear (at 28, fig 6);
the transitional gear (at 28, fig 6) is engaged between the input gear (at 26, fig 6) and the output gear (at 30, fig 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curtain of Schon with the transitional gear of Nien. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of optimizing the mechanical advantage of the motor.
Regarding claim 11.
The combination of Schon and Nien teaches all limitations of claim 4.
Schon further discloses an upper connection corner cover is connected respectively between the upper rail (1, fig 1) and each of the two side rails (4, fig 1), and the upper connection corner covers are a first upper connection corner cover (As at 40, fig 5, see fig 2) and a second upper connection corner cover (40, fig 5);
a lower connection corner cover (51, fig 7) is connected respectively between the lower rail (5, fig 1) and each of the two side rails (4, fig 1);
the lower connection corner covers (51, fig 7) both are internally provided with a driven wheel mounting position (at 12, fig 7);
the first upper connection corner cover (As at 40, fig 5, see fig 2) is internally and sequentially provided with an input gear mounting position (See figs 1 and 3; the input gear mounting position is internal to the cover, and is in lateral sequence with the first drive wheel, see fig 1), and a first drive wheel mounting position (See fig 2), and the second upper connection corner cover (40, fig 5) is internally provided with a second drive wheel mounting position (at 11, fig 5).
The combination, in Nien, further teaches a transitional gear (at 28, fig 6) mounting position (See fig 6)
Regarding claim 12.
The combination of Schon and Nien teaches all limitations of claim 11.
Schon further discloses a through hole (in 17’, fig 1) in communication with the second drive wheel mounting position (at 11, fig 1) is disposed on (Examiner notes that the term “on” is broad, and is broadly interpreted to mean “adjacent to”) the second upper connection corner cover (40, fig 5);
the through hole (in 17’, fig 1) corresponds to the connection hole (at 28, fig 5) so that the transmission rod (16, fig 1) can run through them.
Regarding claim 14.
The combination of Schon and Nien teaches all limitations of claim 11.
Schon further discloses the electric sunshade curtain further comprises two symmetrically-disposed pull ropes (6, fig 1), which are a first pull rope and a second pull rope respectively;
an upper end of the first pull rope is fixedly connected with the upper rail (1, fig 1), and a lower end of the first pull rope runs through the curtain body (3, fig 1) and then out of the left side of the movable cross beam (2, fig 1) and then is fixedly connected to one lower connection corner cover or the lower rail (5, fig 1) below;
an upper end of the second pull rope is fixedly connected with the upper rail (1, fig 1), and a lower end of the second pull rope runs through the curtain body (3, fig 1) and then out of the right side of the movable cross beam (2, fig 1) and then is fixedly connected to the other lower connection corner cover or the lower rail (5, fig 1) below.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schon in view of US Pat. 3,724,239 – Calistrat.
Regarding claim 5.
Schon discloses all limitations of claim 3.
Schon does not disclose a vibration damping assembly (9) is connected between the output end of the single output motor (4) and the input gear (6.1);
the vibration damping assembly (9) comprises an input head (9.1), an output head (9.2) and a vibration damping sleeve (9.3);
the input head (9.1) is connected with the output end of the single output motor (4);
the output head (9.2) is connected with the input gear (6.1);
the vibration damping sleeve (9.3) is connected between the input head (9.1) and the output head (9.2) to prevent the input head (9.1) from being in direct contact with the output head (9.2);
the vibration damping sleeve (9.3) is a flexible vibration damping sleeve.
However, Calistrat teaches a vibration damping assembly (fig 1) for connecting between an output end of a single output motor (12, fig 1) and an input gear (14, fig 1);
the vibration damping assembly (fig 1) comprises an input head (28, fig 1), an output head (30, fig 1) and a vibration damping sleeve (16, fig 1);
the input head (28, fig 1) is connectable with the output end of a single output motor;
the output head (30, fig 1) is connectable with an input gear (see fig 1);
the vibration damping sleeve (16, fig 1) is connected between the input head (28, fig 1) and the output head (30, fig 1) to prevent the input head (28, fig 1) from being in direct contact with the output head (See fig 1);
the vibration damping sleeve (16, fig 1) is a flexible vibration damping sleeve (Column 4, lines 36-38; Annulus 16 is made of a resilient material, preferably from material such as rubber which is deformable under a compressive force.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curtain of Schon with the vibration damping assembly of Calistrat. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of dampening the vibrations of the motor and reducing shock loading during on/off cycles.
Regarding claim 6.
The combination of Schon and Calistrat teaches all limitations of claim 5.
The combination, in Calistrat further teaches symmetrically-disposed first protrusion block (adjacent slot 44, fig 1) extends from an end of the input head (28, fig 1) facing toward the vibration damping sleeve (See fig 1), and symmetrically-disposed second protrusion block (adjacent slot 44, fig 1) extends from an end of the output head (30, fig 1) facing toward the vibration damping sleeve (See fig 1);
the vibration damping sleeve (16, fig 1) is provided with a groove (34, fig 1) for alternately inserting the first protrusion block (adjacent slot 44 in 28, fig 1) and the second protrusion block (adjacent slot 44 in 30, fig 1);
a length of the groove (34, fig 1) is greater than a length of the first protrusion block (adjacent slot 44 in 28, fig 1) and the second protrusion block (adjacent slot 44 in 30, fig 1).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schon in view of PG Pub. US 2020/0332594 A1 – On et al., hereinafter On.
Regarding claim 9.
Schon discloses all limitations of claim 8.
Schon further discloses a motor mounting position (at 19, fig 2) for mounting the single output motor (15, fig 2) is disposed in the first mounting chamber (See fig 2);
Schon does not disclose a power source mounting position for mounting a power source is disposed in the first mounting chamber;
the positioning piece is located between the motor mounting position and the power source mounting position; or
the power source is disposed at the power source mounting position, and the single output motor is electrically connected with the power source.
However, On teaches a power source mounting position (79, fig 10) for mounting a power source (Paragraph [0033]; 79: first battery compartment) is disposed in the first mounting chamber (See fig 10);
the positioning piece (See at bracket between 76 and 72 in fig 10) is located between the motor mounting position (See at bracket between 76 and 72 in fig 10) and the power source mounting position (79, fig 10);
the power source (3, fig 12) is disposed at the power source mounting position (79, fig 10), and the single output motor (2, fig 10) is electrically connected with the power source.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curtain of Schon with the power source and position of On. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing electrical power to the motor.
Regarding claim 10.
The combination of Schon and On teaches all limitations of claim 9.
Schon does not disclose a front end surface (1.1.4) of the upper rail (1.1) is a rotatable flip cover structure.
However, On teaches a front end surface (at 79, fig 10) of the upper rail (See fig 9) is a rotatable flip cover structure (791, fig 12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Schon and On with the flip cover structure of On. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing access for changing the battery (See fig 12).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Schon and Nien as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of PG Pub. US 2017/0260806 A1 – Adams et al., hereinafter Adams.
Regarding claim 13.
The combination of Schon and Nien teaches all limitations of claim 11.
The combination does not teach an antenna (13) for receiving signals is disposed in an exposed way on the single output motor (4);
an antenna mounting position (1.4.4) for mounting the antenna (13) is disposed inside the first upper connection corner cover (1.4);
the antenna mounting position (1.4.4) is located above the input gear mounting position (1.4.1).
However, Adams teaches an antenna (768, fig 21a) for receiving signals is disposed in an exposed way on the single output motor (See fig 21a);
an antenna mounting position (770, fig 21a) for mounting the antenna (768, fig 21a) is disposed inside the first upper connection corner cover (in a lateral direction);
the antenna mounting position (770, fig 21a) is located above the input gear mounting position (See fig 21a).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Schon and Nien with the antenna of Adams. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of facilitating remote control of the curtain.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant is reminded that the claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.
The applicant argues that Schon does not disclose the quick connector of this application. This is not persuasive, as the term “quick connector” is broad, and the connector of Schon meets the limitation as currently claimed.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a plurality of equally spaced internal splines provided on an inner surface of an end of the quick connector) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634