DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chu et al. (US 2024/0114553 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chu discloses a first wireless access point (AP), comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code, the processing system configured to cause the first wireless AP to (Fig. 1, APs; Fig. 10, [0047]):
receive, via one or more frames (Fig. 2, 204; [0025] disclosing “If AP3 (AP2) transmits a frame AP1 may receive the frame”; [0026] disclosing “the AP3 may announce in a frame 204 the restricted target wake up time service period (r-TWT SP) information of AP3”), timing information associated with communication periods of a second wireless AP (Fig. 8, 812 [0044]-[0045] disclosing the TWT Element 800 is used to announce the r-TWT SP) and a value ([0026] disclosing “the r-TWT SP information may explicitly identify whether the r-TWT SP information is 1-hop neighbor's r-TWT SP information or not) associated with a multi-hop propagation of the timing information ([0025] disclosing “In order for AP2 to acquire AP3's r-TWT SP information, AP1 needs to forward AP3's r-TWT SP information to AP2…AP3's r-TWT SP information is tagged as AP1's 1-hop AP's r-TWT SP information…AP2 is a two hop neighbor of AP3 because AP2 is not able to detect AP3's beacon (and the frame exchanges between AP3 and AP3's associated STAs)); and
selectively transmit, via a frame of the first wireless AP, the timing information associated with the communication periods of the second wireless AP in accordance with the value ([0026] disclosing “each AP may announce its r-TWT SP information…the r-TWT SP information may explicitly identify whether the r-TWT SP information is 1-hop neighbor's r-TWT SP information or not; [0025] disclosing “In order for AP2 to acquire AP3's r-TWT SP information, AP1 needs to forward AP3's r-TWT SP information to AP2…AP3's r-TWT SP information is tagged as AP1's 1-hop AP's r-TWT SP information).
Regarding claim 2, Chu discloses the first wireless AP of claim 1, wherein, to receive the value associated with the multi-hop propagation of the timing information, the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless AP to:
receive the value via a broadcast target wake time (TWT) identifier (ID) field (Fig. 8, [0044]-[0045] disclosing TWT element 800 used to announce or report TWT information may be a broadcast TWT with an ID ).
Regarding claim 4, Chu discloses the first wireless AP of claim 2, wherein the value is indicative of a presence, within a TWT element associated with the broadcast TWT ID field, of one or more additional fields associated with the multi-hop propagation of the timing information (Fig. 8, [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 5, Chu discloses the first wireless AP of claim 4, wherein the one or more additional fields include a group ID field, a basic service set (BSS) color field, an acceptable interference field (Fig. 6, [0036]-[0039]), a field indicative of a list of other AP IDs, or any combination thereof, the one or more additional fields to be propagated with the timing information.
Regarding claim 6, Chu discloses the first wireless AP of claim 1, wherein, to receive the value associated with the multi-hop propagation of the timing information, the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless AP to:
receive the value via a hop count field of a frame or element dedicated to conveying information associated with the multi-hop propagation of the timing information ([0026] disclosing “each AP may announce its r-TWT SP information…the r-TWT SP information may explicitly identify whether the r-TWT SP information is 1-hop neighbor's r-TWT SP information or not).
Regarding claim 7, Chu discloses the first wireless AP of claim 6, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless AP to:
receive, via the frame or element, one or more additional fields associated with the multi-hop propagation of the timing information (Fig. 6, 608, [0036]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 8, Chu discloses the first wireless AP of claim 7, wherein the one or more additional fields include a schedule start time field, a periodicity field, a service period duration field, a persistence field, a group ID field, a basic service set (BSS) color field, a transmission parameter field, or any combination thereof, the one or more additional fields to be propagated with the timing information (Fig. 8, [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 9, Chu discloses the first wireless AP of claim 1, wherein, to selectively transmit the timing information, the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless AP to:
transmit the timing information in association with the value indicating that the first wireless AP is to propagate the timing information ([0026] disclosing “each AP may announce its r-TWT SP information…the r-TWT SP information may explicitly identify whether the r-TWT SP information is 1-hop neighbor's r-TWT SP information or not; [0025] disclosing “In order for AP2 to acquire AP3's r-TWT SP information, AP1 needs to forward AP3's r-TWT SP information to AP2…AP3's r-TWT SP information is tagged as AP1's 1-hop AP's r-TWT SP information).
Regarding claim 10, Chu discloses the first wireless AP of claim 9, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless AP to:
transmit an updated value in association with transmitting the timing information via the frame of the first wireless AP, wherein the updated value is associated with an increment or a decrement of the value ([0026] disclosing “each AP may announce its r-TWT SP information…the r-TWT SP information may explicitly identify whether the r-TWT SP information is 1-hop neighbor's r-TWT SP information or not; [0025] disclosing “In order for AP2 to acquire AP3's r-TWT SP information, AP1 needs to forward AP3's r-TWT SP information to AP2…AP3's r-TWT SP information is tagged as AP1's 1-hop AP's r-TWT SP information).
Regarding claim 11, Chu discloses the first wireless AP of claim 10, wherein the updated value is transmitted via the frame or a second frame of the first wireless AP ([0025]-[0026] Fig. 8, [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 12, Chu discloses the first wireless AP of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless AP to:
transmit scheduling information to one or more wireless stations (STAs) associated with the first wireless AP in accordance with the value, wherein the value is further associated with a coordination status between the first wireless AP and the second wireless AP (Fig. 1, coordination logic 120, [0023], [0026]), [0031]-[0035.
Regarding claim 13, Chu discloses the first wireless AP of claim 12, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless AP to:
communicate with the one or more wireless STAs outside of the communication periods of the second wireless AP in accordance with the value indicating a first coordination status, the first coordination status being associated with an expectation to honor the communication periods of the second wireless AP ([0031]-[0035]); or
communicate with the one or more wireless STAs during at least a portion of the communication periods of the second wireless AP in accordance with the value indicating a second coordination status, the second coordination status being associated with no expectation to honor the communication periods of the second wireless AP ([0031]-[0035]).
Regarding claim 17, Chu discloses a method for wireless communication by a first wireless access point (AP), comprising:
receiving, via one or more frames (Fig. 2, 204; [0025] disclosing “If AP3 (AP2) transmits a frame AP1 may receive the frame”; [0026] disclosing “the AP3 may announce in a frame 204 the restricted target wake up time service period (r-TWT SP) information of AP3”), timing information associated with communication periods of a second wireless AP (Fig. 8, 812 [0044]-[0045] disclosing the TWT Element 800 is used to announce the r-TWT SP) and a value ([0026] disclosing “the r-TWT SP information may explicitly identify whether the r-TWT SP information is 1-hop neighbor's r-TWT SP information or not) associated with a multi-hop propagation of the timing information ([0025] disclosing “In order for AP2 to acquire AP3's r-TWT SP information, AP1 needs to forward AP3's r-TWT SP information to AP2…AP3's r-TWT SP information is tagged as AP1's 1-hop AP's r-TWT SP information…AP2 is a two hop neighbor of AP3 because AP2 is not able to detect AP3's beacon (and the frame exchanges between AP3 and AP3's associated STAs)); and
selectively transmitting, via a frame of the first wireless AP, the timing information associated with the communication periods of the second wireless AP in accordance with the value ([0026] disclosing “each AP may announce its r-TWT SP information…the r-TWT SP information may explicitly identify whether the r-TWT SP information is 1-hop neighbor's r-TWT SP information or not; [0025] disclosing “In order for AP2 to acquire AP3's r-TWT SP information, AP1 needs to forward AP3's r-TWT SP information to AP2…AP3's r-TWT SP information is tagged as AP1's 1-hop AP's r-TWT SP information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2024/0114553 A1) in view of Haider et al. “R-TWT Multi-AP Coordination”, IEEE 802.11-23/0291r0.
Regarding claim 3, Chu does not expressly disclose the following; however, Haider discloses the first wireless AP of claim 2, wherein the broadcast TWT ID field is associated with the value in accordance with a TWT schedule information subfield being set to a second value (Slide 10, Restricted TWT Schedule Info).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the Schedule info field of Haider in the invention of Chu because the teaching lies in Chu that this field is already existent in the field of endeavor and can be utilize when sharing R-TWT schedules which can lead to further enhancement of R-TWT operation and medium protection (Slides 2 and 10).
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2024/0114553 A1) over Kyo et al. (JP-2007-184937-A) citations correspond to the pages of the attached translation.
Regarding claim 18, Chu discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising:
selecting the value in accordance with one or more criteria ([0025] disclosing “In order for AP2 to acquire AP3's r-TWT SP information, AP1 needs to forward AP3's r-TWT SP information to AP2…AP3's r-TWT SP information is tagged as AP1's 1-hop AP's r-TWT SP information…AP2 is a two hop neighbor of AP3 because AP2 is not able to detect AP3's beacon (and the frame exchanges between AP3 and AP3's associated STAs)).
Chu does not disclose the following; however, Kyo suggests receiving, via one or more second frames, the timing information associated with the communication periods of the second wireless AP and a second value associated with the multi-hop propagation of the timing information; and selecting the value instead of the second value in accordance with one or more criteria (pg. 3 paragraph below TECH-SOLUTION disclosing upon receiving a duplicate broadcast packet with a higher hop count of the first received broadcast packet, not forwarding the duplicate packet).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Chuy as suggested by Kyo because the teaching lies in Kyo that in techniques such as those taught by Chu in which a node which receives a broadcast packet forwards such packets, unnecessary redundant transmission or a broadcast storm problem can occur (Fig.1, Fig. 2, pg. 1 last paragraph to pg. 2 line 10) and that the proposed technical solution can reduce the numb er of forwarding nodes while guaranteeing a high broadcast coverage ratio, save energy of wireless nodes, greatly reduce the redundant flow in the network, and shorten the transmission delay of broadcast packets (pg. 3, paragraph below TECH-PROBLEM)
Regarding claim 19, Chu discloses the method of claim 18, wherein selecting the value instead of the second value further comprises:
selecting the value in accordance with the one or more frames being of the second wireless AP ([0025] disclosing “In order for AP2 to acquire AP3's r-TWT SP information, AP1 needs to forward AP3's r-TWT SP information to AP2)).
It is noted that the alternative features selecting the value in accordance with the value being relatively lower than the second value; or selecting the value in accordance with the value being relatively higher than the second value appear to be disclosed by Kyo (pg. 3, paragraph below TECH-SOLUTION).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2024/0114553 A1) in view of Gupta et al. (WO 2023/183240 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Chu discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising:
receiving from a third wireless AP a set of medium access schedules including one or more first medium access schedules of the third wireless AP and one or more second medium access schedules of one or more other wireless APs propagated by the third wireless AP (Fig. 1, [0017] “Each AP announces its r-TWT SP information and r-TWT SP information of neighbor APs”, [0021], [0025]-[0026]).
Chu does not disclose the following; however, Gupta suggests transmitting, to a third wireless AP, a first frame including a request for information indicative of a set of most recent medium access schedules; and receiving, from the third wireless AP, a second frame including the information indicative of the set of most recent medium access schedules (pg. 22, lines 13-25 disclosing an AP can request and receive from another AP the latest TWT schedule).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the techniques of Chu as taught by Gupta because this can reduce judder in virtual reality systems thus avoiding motion sick ness that degrades the user experience (pg. 1, lines 8-29).
Response to Arguments
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's arguments filed 31 October 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts the restriction is between species (pg. 8). Applicant is mistaken because the restriction is between subcombinations useable together. Further, the requirement for restriction provides the required reasoning for said restriction. It is noted the inventions have separate classifications. Such separate classifications are evidence of a different field of search for each invention.
Further, applicant draws attention to the timing information and value features; however, the invention of group 1 relays/forwards (i.e., selectively transmits) information based on the content of the information which does not have any overlapping scope with a device which generates said information and initially transmits said information. The dependent claims further provide evidence that each invention is distinct. More still, as indicated in the restriction requirement, the inventions are separately useable. As such, the restriction is proper.
Applicant has not provided any evidence other than an assertion that “throughout the Specification” that undisclosed combinations of features exist. Such assertions fail to point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Accordingly, examiner is not persuaded by applicant’s arguments and claims 14-16 stand as withdrawn from consideration.
Conclusion
Applicant is reminded of the duty to disclose information material to patentability as set forth in 37 CFR 1.56.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ajami et al., “Considerations for AP coordination in UHR: Coordinated Medium Access”, IEEE 802.11-23/226r1.
Chu et al. “AP Coordination”, IEEE 802.11-23/0250r0.
/JOSEPH A BEDNASH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461