This office action is in response to remarks filed on 01/02/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 5, 8, 12, 15, and 19 are amended.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 have been considered based on amendments.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/11/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the originally filed specification fails to disclose "transmitting, based on the fourth information, a channel with the one or more reporting quantities and a prediction accuracy indicator associated with the one or more reporting quantities." Applicant asserts that the amended subject matter is supported by paragraph [0202] among other portions. However, the examiner has not found support for this limitation in the specifications. The examiner notes the paragraph [0145] is the highest numbered paragraph within the specifications. Dependent claims 2-7 are rejected as depending from base independent claim.
Regarding claim 8, the originally filed specification fails to disclose "wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, based on the fourth information, a channel with the one or more reporting quantities and a prediction accuracy indicator associated with the one or more reporting quantities." Applicant asserts that the amended subject matter is supported by paragraph [0202] among other portions. However, the examiner has not found support for this limitation in the specifications. The examiner notes the paragraph [0145] is the highest numbered paragraph within the specifications. Dependent claims 9-14 are rejected as depending from base independent claim.
Regarding claim 15, the originally filed specification fails to disclose "receive, based on the fourth information, a channel with (i) the one or more reporting quantities that are based on the third information and the RSs and (ii) a prediction accuracy indicator associated with the one or more reporting quantities." Applicant asserts that the amended subject matter is supported by paragraph [0202] among other portions. However, the examiner has not found support for this limitation in the specifications. The examiner notes the paragraph [0145] is the highest numbered paragraph within the specifications. Dependent claims 16-20 are rejected as depending from base independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7-8, 12, 14-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al (US20200259575A1) (hereinafter "Bai") in view of Zhou et al (US11728873B2) (hereinafter "Zhou") and Li et al (CN119968796A) (hereinafter "Li").
Regarding claim 1, Bai discloses a method for a user equipment (UE) to report information related to a beam prediction, the method comprising: receiving ([0058] The UE 104 may send back information regarding a prediction at specific times or based on detection of specific conditions. For example, a prediction report may be periodically sent as configured by the base station 102, based on base station 102 request, or based on event-triggering (such as when UE 104 predicts a beam failure will happen within the next X number of slots)):
first information ([0081] channel metric) related to reception of reference signals (RSs) for beam measurements ([0081] the first device 702 measures channel conditions for the one or more channels based on the signals transmitted on the channel at 706. The first device 702 may measure one or more previous channel conditions by measuring and/or determining at least one channel metric of the wireless communication channel at different points in time. The channel metric may include a received power, a signal-to-noise ratio, a channel rank, or a channel quality determined based on a received reference signal from the second device 704.),
second information ([0079] configuration for prediction) indicating one or more reporting quantities related to the beam prediction ([0079] The second device 704 may also transmit, at 706, details regarding a configuration for prediction by the first device 702 on the same or different channel … The configuration may also indicate a method or algorithm to be used for the predicting the future channel condition and/or a required accuracy associated with the prediction.),
third information ([0079] configuration for reporting) related to determining the one or more reporting quantities ([0079] The second device 704 may transmit, and the first device 702 may receive, a configuration for reporting predicted channel conditions. In one embodiment, the configuration indicates a threshold channel condition for reporting a prediction.),
determining the one or more reporting quantities indicated by the second information based on the third information and the measurement of RSs; and ([0058] for UE 104 side prediction, the UE 104 may use CSI measurements from downlink reference signals, its own side information (moving speed, delay spread) and/or feedback and other side information (e.g., information from a base station 102 or from sensors of the UE 104) to predict channel quality. [0079] Based on the configuration, the first device 702 may determine a configuration for predictions of channel conditions. The second device 704 may monitor and/or process prediction reports from the first device 702 based on the configuration.).
Bai fails to disclose a method, comprising: receiving: fourth information related to transmitting the one or more reporting quantities, and the RSs for the beam measurements based on the first information; measuring the RSs.
However, Zhou discloses a method, comprising: receiving: fourth information related to transmitting the one or more reporting quantities, and the RSs for the beam measurements based on the first information (Col. 7, Ln. 49-55: the UE 104 may include an early beam failure reporting component 198 configured to receive, from a base station, at least one BFD-RS, and transmit, to the base station, an aperiodic BFI report prior to a beam failure detection, the aperiodic BFI report being based on at least one measurement of the at least one BFD-RS received from the base station.);
measuring the RSs (Col. 15, Ln. 13-14: the UE 502 may measure the BFD-RS received from the base station 504 to detect the radio link quality.).
Bai and Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of beam management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai with Zhou to create a method, comprising: receiving: fourth information related to transmitting the one or more reporting quantities, and the RSs for the beam measurements based on the first information; measuring the RSs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide beam quality feedback to the transmitter.
Bai fails to disclose a method, comprising: transmitting, based on the fourth information, a channel with the one or more reporting quantities and a prediction accuracy indicator associated with the one or more reporting quantities based on the fourth information.
However, Zhou discloses a method, comprising: transmitting, based on the fourth information, a channel with the one or more reporting quantities and a prediction accuracy indicator associated with the one or more reporting quantities based on the fourth information (Pg. 17-18: In some aspects, the UE may send a capability report to the network node, wherein the capability report may be based at least in part on a compromise between beam prediction accuracy and AI/ML model complexity. The capability report may indicate various parameters associated with UE-sidebeam prediction. For example, a capability report may indicate a target beam prediction accuracy (e.g., supported beam prediction accuracy). The capability report may indicate the number of reference signal resources indicated as measurement resources for beam prediction and/or the type of reference signal resources indicated as measurement resources for beam prediction (e.g., supported set B beam number and type). The capability report may indicate the number of beams as the predicted target beam and/or the type of beams as the predicted target beam (e.g., supported set A beam number and type). The set B may be associated with reference signal resources for downlink beam measurements, and the set A may be associated with reference signal resources for downlink beam prediction.).
Bai and Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for capability reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai with Zhou to create a method comprising: transmitting, based on the fourth information, a channel with the one or more reporting quantities and a prediction accuracy indicator associated with the one or more reporting quantities based on the fourth information.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure that the predicted beams are accurate and reliable for data transmission.
Regarding claim 5, Bai discloses the method, wherein:
the one or more reporting quantities indicated by the second information are related to performance monitoring of the beam prediction([0084] The first device 702 may report the prediction based on an accuracy or confidence level associated with the prediction. The first device 702 may determine to report the predicted channel condition based on one or more of a periodic reporting configuration, a request from the wireless communication device (e.g., the second device 704), and/or based on a triggering event detected by the first device 702. An example triggering event may include a prediction that a beam failure or link failure will occur within a threshold time (e.g., within the next X slots, symbols, or transmission/reception occasions).).
Bai fails to disclose the method, wherein: the prediction accuracy indicator indicates a quantity of accurate predictions, and the one or more reporting quantities includes at least one of:
quantities related to beam failure,
predicted physical layer measurement quantities of one or more predicted beams,
actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams, and
quantities based on the predicted and actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams.
However, Zhou discloses the method, wherein: the prediction accuracy indicator indicates a quantity of accurate predictions, and the one or more reporting quantities includes at least one of:
quantities related to beam failure (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement),
predicted physical layer measurement quantities of one or more predicted beams (Pg. 17: The capability report may indicate target beam prediction accuracy (e.g., desired beam prediction accuracy or beam prediction accuracy threshold). The target beam prediction accuracy may correspond to an average absolute RSRP beam prediction error (in dB).),
actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams, and (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement)
quantities based on the predicted and actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement).
Bai and Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for capability reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai with Zhou to create the method wherein: the prediction accuracy indicator indicates a quantity of accurate predictions, and the one or more reporting quantities includes at least one of: quantities related to beam failure, predicted physical layer measurement quantities of one or more predicted beams, actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams, and quantities based on the predicted and actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure that the predicted beams are accurate and reliable for data transmission.
Regarding claim 7, Bai discloses the method, wherein transmitting the channel further comprises transmitting the channel with information related to a UE location or channel environment ([0071] the mobility information may include a delay spread measured on the channel. The sensor data may include accelerometer data, position data such as from a satellite positioning receiver, a screen use indicator, or the like. [0076] the UE 104 may determine whether to report the prediction to a second device, such as a base station 102. If it is determined to report the prediction, the UE 104 may transmit an indication of the prediction to the second device).
Regarding claim 8, Bai discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising:
a transceiver configured to receive ([0090] FIG. 8 shows a block diagram 800 of a device 805 for proactive beam management in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 805 may be an example of aspects of a UE 104/350, a base station 102/310, or any other wireless communication device (e.g., first device 702 of FIG. 7) described or discussed herein. The device 805 may include a receiver 810, a prediction manager 815, and a transmitter 820. [0094] the prediction manager 815, or its sub-components, may be combined with one or more other hardware components, including but not limited to an input/output (I/O) component, a transceiver):
first information ([0081] channel metric) related to reception of reference signals (RSs) for beam measurements ([0081] the first device 702 measures channel conditions for the one or more channels based on the signals transmitted on the channel at 706. The first device 702 may measure one or more previous channel conditions by measuring and/or determining at least one channel metric of the wireless communication channel at different points in time. The channel metric may include a received power, a signal-to-noise ratio, a channel rank, or a channel quality determined based on a received reference signal from the second device 704.),
second information ([0079] configuration for prediction) indicating one or more reporting quantities related to a beam prediction ([0079] The second device 704 may also transmit, at 706, details regarding a configuration for prediction by the first device 702 on the same or different channel … The configuration may also indicate a method or algorithm to be used for the predicting the future channel condition and/or a required accuracy associated with the prediction.),
third information ([0079] configuration for reporting) related to determining the one or more reporting quantities ([0079] The second device 704 may transmit, and the first device 702 may receive, a configuration for reporting predicted channel conditions. In one embodiment, the configuration indicates a threshold channel condition for reporting a prediction.),
a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to ([0090] The device 805 may also include a processor. Each of these components may be in communication with one another (e.g., via one or more buses)):
determine the one or more reporting quantities indicated by the second information based on the third information and the measurement of RSs ([0058] for UE 104 side prediction, the UE 104 may use CSI measurements from downlink reference signals, its own side information (moving speed, delay spread) and/or feedback and other side information (e.g., information from a base station 102 or from sensors of the UE 104) to predict channel quality. [0079] Based on the configuration, the first device 702 may determine a configuration for predictions of channel conditions. The second device 704 may monitor and/or process prediction reports from the first device 702 based on the configuration.).
Bai fails to disclose a user equipment (UE) comprising: fourth information related to transmitting the one or more reporting quantities, and the RSs for the beam measurements based on the first information; measure the RSs.
However, Zhou discloses a user equipment (UE) comprising: fourth information related to transmitting the one or more reporting quantities, and the RSs for the beam measurements based on the first information; and (Col. 7, Ln. 49-55: the UE 104 may include an early beam failure reporting component 198 configured to receive, from a base station, at least one BFD-RS, and transmit, to the base station, an aperiodic BFI report prior to a beam failure detection, the aperiodic BFI report being based on at least one measurement of the at least one BFD-RS received from the base station.);
measure the RSs; and (Col. 15, Ln. 13-14: the UE 502 may measure the BFD-RS received from the base station 504 to detect the radio link quality.).
Bai and Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of beam management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai with Zhou to create a user equipment (UE) comprising: fourth information related to transmitting the one or more reporting quantities, and the RSs for the beam measurements based on the first information; measure the RSs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide beam quality feedback to the transmitter.
Bai fails to disclose a user equipment (UE) comprising: wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, based on the fourth information, a channel with the one or more reporting quantities and a prediction accuracy indicator associated with the one or more reporting quantities.
However, Zhou discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, based on the fourth information, a channel with the one or more reporting quantities and a prediction accuracy indicator associated with the one or more reporting quantities (Pg. 17-18: In some aspects, the UE may send a capability report to the network node, wherein the capability report may be based at least in part on a compromise between beam prediction accuracy and AI/ML model complexity. The capability report may indicate various parameters associated with UE-sidebeam prediction. For example, a capability report may indicate a target beam prediction accuracy (e.g., supported beam prediction accuracy). The capability report may indicate the number of reference signal resources indicated as measurement resources for beam prediction and/or the type of reference signal resources indicated as measurement resources for beam prediction (e.g., supported set B beam number and type). The capability report may indicate the number of beams as the predicted target beam and/or the type of beams as the predicted target beam (e.g., supported set A beam number and type). The set B may be associated with reference signal resources for downlink beam measurements, and the set A may be associated with reference signal resources for downlink beam prediction.).
Bai and Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for capability reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai with Zhou to create a user equipment (UE) comprising: wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, based on the fourth information, a channel with the one or more reporting quantities and a prediction accuracy indicator associated with the one or more reporting quantities.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure that the predicted beams are accurate and reliable for data transmission.
Regarding claim 12, Bai discloses the UE, wherein:
the one or more reporting quantities indicated by the second information are related to performance monitoring of the beam prediction ([0084] The first device 702 may report the prediction based on an accuracy or confidence level associated with the prediction. The first device 702 may determine to report the predicted channel condition based on one or more of a periodic reporting configuration, a request from the wireless communication device (e.g., the second device 704), and/or based on a triggering event detected by the first device 702. An example triggering event may include a prediction that a beam failure or link failure will occur within a threshold time (e.g., within the next X slots, symbols, or transmission/reception occasions).).
Bai fails to disclose the UE, wherein: the prediction accuracy indicator indicates a quantity of accurate predictions, and the one or more reporting quantities includes at least one of:
quantities related to beam failure,
predicted physical layer measurement quantities of one or more predicted beams,
actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams, and
quantities based on the predicted and actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams.
However, Zhou discloses the UE, wherein: the prediction accuracy indicator indicates a quantity of accurate predictions, and the one or more reporting quantities includes at least one of:
quantities related to beam failure (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement),
predicted physical layer measurement quantities of one or more predicted beams (Pg. 17: The capability report may indicate target beam prediction accuracy (e.g., desired beam prediction accuracy or beam prediction accuracy threshold). The target beam prediction accuracy may correspond to an average absolute RSRP beam prediction error (in dB).),
actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams, and (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement)
quantities based on the predicted and actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement).
Bai and Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for capability reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai with Zhou to create the UE wherein: the prediction accuracy indicator indicates a quantity of accurate predictions, and the one or more reporting quantities includes at least one of: quantities related to beam failure, predicted physical layer measurement quantities of one or more predicted beams, actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams, and quantities based on the predicted and actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure that the predicted beams are accurate and reliable for data transmission.
Regarding claim 14, Bai discloses the UE, wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit the channel with information related to a UE location or channel environment ([0071] the mobility information may include a delay spread measured on the channel. The sensor data may include accelerometer data, position data such as from a satellite positioning receiver, a screen use indicator, or the like. [0076] the UE 104 may determine whether to report the prediction to a second device, such as a base station 102. If it is determined to report the prediction, the UE 104 may transmit an indication of the prediction to the second device).
Regarding claim 15, Bai discloses a base station (BS) comprising:
a transceiver configured to: transmit ([0090] FIG. 8 shows a block diagram 800 of a device 805 for proactive beam management in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 805 may be an example of aspects of a UE 104/350, a base station 102/310, or any other wireless communication device (e.g., first device 702 of FIG. 7) described or discussed herein. The device 805 may include a receiver 810, a prediction manager 815, and a transmitter 820. [0094] the prediction manager 815, or its sub-components, may be combined with one or more other hardware components, including but not limited to an input/output (I/O) component, a transceiver):
first information ([0081] channel metric) related to reception of reference signals (RSs) for beam measurements ([0081] the first device 702 measures channel conditions for the one or more channels based on the signals transmitted on the channel at 706. The first device 702 may measure one or more previous channel conditions by measuring and/or determining at least one channel metric of the wireless communication channel at different points in time. The channel metric may include a received power, a signal-to-noise ratio, a channel rank, or a channel quality determined based on a received reference signal from the second device 704.),
second information ([0079] configuration for prediction) indicating one or more reporting quantities related to a beam prediction ([0079] The second device 704 may also transmit, at 706, details regarding a configuration for prediction by the first device 702 on the same or different channel … The configuration may also indicate a method or algorithm to be used for the predicting the future channel condition and/or a required accuracy associated with the prediction..),
third information ([0079] configuration for reporting) related to determining the one or more reporting quantities ([0079] The second device 704 may transmit, and the first device 702 may receive, a configuration for reporting predicted channel conditions. In one embodiment, the configuration indicates a threshold channel condition for reporting a prediction).
Bai fails to disclose a base station (BS) comprising: fourth information related to transmitting the one or more reporting quantities, and the RSs for the beam measurements based on the first information.
However, Zhou discloses a base station (BS) comprising: fourth information related to transmitting the one or more reporting quantities, and the RSs for the beam measurements based on the first information; and (Col. 7, Ln. 49-55: the UE 104 may include an early beam failure reporting component 198 configured to receive, from a base station, at least one BFD-RS, and transmit, to the base station, an aperiodic BFI report prior to a beam failure detection, the aperiodic BFI report being based on at least one measurement of the at least one BFD-RS received from the base station.).
Bai and Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of beam management.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai with Zhou to create a base station (BS) comprising: fourth information related to transmitting the one or more reporting quantities, and the RSs for the beam measurements based on the first information.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to provide beam quality feedback to the transmitter.
Bai fails to disclose a base station (BS) comprising: receive, based on the fourth information, a channel with (i) the one or more reporting quantities that are based on the third information and the RSs and (ii) a prediction accuracy indicator associated with the one or more reporting quantities.
However, Zhou discloses a base station (BS) comprising: receive, based on the fourth information, a channel with (i) the one or more reporting quantities that are based on the third information and the RSs and (ii) a prediction accuracy indicator associated with the one or more reporting quantities (Pg. 17-18: In some aspects, the UE may send a capability report to the network node, wherein the capability report may be based at least in part on a compromise between beam prediction accuracy and AI/ML model complexity. The capability report may indicate various parameters associated with UE-sidebeam prediction. For example, a capability report may indicate a target beam prediction accuracy (e.g., supported beam prediction accuracy). The capability report may indicate the number of reference signal resources indicated as measurement resources for beam prediction and/or the type of reference signal resources indicated as measurement resources for beam prediction (e.g., supported set B beam number and type). The capability report may indicate the number of beams as the predicted target beam and/or the type of beams as the predicted target beam (e.g., supported set A beam number and type). The set B may be associated with reference signal resources for downlink beam measurements, and the set A may be associated with reference signal resources for downlink beam prediction.).
Bai and Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for capability reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai with Zhou to create a base station (BS) comprising: receive, based on the fourth information, a channel with (i) the one or more reporting quantities that are based on the third information and the RSs and (ii) a prediction accuracy indicator associated with the one or more reporting quantities.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure that the predicted beams are accurate and reliable for data transmission.
Regarding claim 19, Bai discloses the BS, wherein:
the one or more reporting quantities indicated by the second information are related to performance monitoring of the beam prediction ([0084] The first device 702 may report the prediction based on an accuracy or confidence level associated with the prediction. The first device 702 may determine to report the predicted channel condition based on one or more of a periodic reporting configuration, a request from the wireless communication device (e.g., the second device 704), and/or based on a triggering event detected by the first device 702. An example triggering event may include a prediction that a beam failure or link failure will occur within a threshold time (e.g., within the next X slots, symbols, or transmission/reception occasions).).
Bai fails to disclose the BS, wherein: the prediction accuracy indicator indicates a quantity of accurate predictions, and the one or more reporting quantities includes at least one of:
quantities related to beam failure,
predicted physical layer measurement quantities of one or more predicted beams,
actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams, and
quantities based on the predicted and actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams.
However, Zhou discloses the BS, wherein: the prediction accuracy indicator indicates a quantity of accurate predictions, and the one or more reporting quantities includes at least one of:
quantities related to beam failure (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement),
predicted physical layer measurement quantities of one or more predicted beams (Pg. 17: The capability report may indicate target beam prediction accuracy (e.g., desired beam prediction accuracy or beam prediction accuracy threshold). The target beam prediction accuracy may correspond to an average absolute RSRP beam prediction error (in dB).),
actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams, and (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement)
quantities based on the predicted and actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement).
Bai and Zhou are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for capability reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai with Zhou to create the BS wherein: the prediction accuracy indicator indicates a quantity of accurate predictions, and the one or more reporting quantities includes at least one of: quantities related to beam failure, predicted physical layer measurement quantities of one or more predicted beams, actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams, and quantities based on the predicted and actual physical layer measurement quantities of the one or more predicted beams.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure that the predicted beams are accurate and reliable for data transmission.
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai in view of Zhou and Li, in further view of Zhu et al (US 20240056844 A1) (hereinafter "Zhu").
Regarding claim 2, Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, discloses the method, wherein:
the one or more reporting quantities indicated by the second information are related to predicting (i) one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs, and ([0058] for UE 104 side prediction, the UE 104 may use CSI measurements from downlink reference signals, its own side information (moving speed, delay spread) and/or feedback and other side information (e.g., information from a base station 102 or from sensors of the UE 104) to predict channel quality.).
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, fails to disclose the method, wherein: the one or more reporting quantities includes one or more: indexes of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs, predicted physical layer measurement quantities, actual physical layer measurement quantities, or parameters related to a confidence of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs.
However, Zhu discloses the method, wherein: the one or more reporting quantities includes one or more:
indexes of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs ([0048] Various assistance information for downlink transmission beam prediction at the user equipment can be provided to the user equipment. A downlink transmission beam angle index map can be provided to the user equipment.),
predicted physical layer measurement quantities (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement),
actual physical layer measurement quantities, or (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement)
parameters related to a confidence of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement).
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, and Zhu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of beam prediction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, with Zhu to create the method, wherein: the one or more reporting quantities includes one or more: indexes of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs, predicted physical layer measurement quantities, actual physical layer measurement quantities, or parameters related to a confidence of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to associate beam measurements or properties with a prediction.
Regarding claim 9, Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, discloses the UE, wherein: the one or more reporting quantities indicated by the second information are related to predicting (i) one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs, and ([0058] for UE 104 side prediction, the UE 104 may use CSI measurements from downlink reference signals, its own side information (moving speed, delay spread) and/or feedback and other side information (e.g., information from a base station 102 or from sensors of the UE 104) to predict channel quality.).
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, fails to disclose the UE, wherein: the one or more reporting quantities includes one or more: indexes of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the
predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs, predicted physical layer measurement quantities, actual physical layer measurement quantities, or parameters related to a confidence of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs.
However, Zhu discloses the UE, wherein: the one or more reporting quantities includes one or more:
indexes of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs ([0048] Various assistance information for downlink transmission beam prediction at the user equipment can be provided to the user equipment. A downlink transmission beam angle index map can be provided to the user equipment.),
predicted physical layer measurement quantities (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement),
actual physical layer measurement quantities, or (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement)
parameters related to a confidence of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement).
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, and Zhu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of beam prediction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, with Zhu to create the UE, wherein: the one or more reporting quantities includes one or more: indexes of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the
predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs, predicted physical layer measurement quantities, actual physical layer measurement quantities, or parameters related to a confidence of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to associate beam measurements or properties with a prediction.
Regarding claim 16, Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, discloses the BS, wherein: the one or more reporting quantities indicated by the second information are related to predicting (i) one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs, and ([0058] for UE 104 side prediction, the UE 104 may use CSI measurements from downlink reference signals, its own side information (moving speed, delay spread) and/or feedback and other side information (e.g., information from a base station 102 or from sensors of the UE 104) to predict channel quality.).
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, fails to disclose the BS, wherein: the one or more reporting quantities includes one or more: indexes of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the
predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs, predicted physical layer measurement quantities, actual physical layer measurement quantities, or parameters related to a confidence of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs.
However, Zhu discloses the BS, wherein: the one or more reporting quantities includes one or more:
indexes of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs ([0048] Various assistance information for downlink transmission beam prediction at the user equipment can be provided to the user equipment. A downlink transmission beam angle index map can be provided to the user equipment.),
predicted physical layer measurement quantities (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement),
actual physical layer measurement quantities, or (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement)
parameters related to a confidence of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement).
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, and Zhu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of beam prediction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, with Zhu to create the BS, wherein: the one or more reporting quantities includes one or more: indexes of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the
predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs, predicted physical layer measurement quantities, actual physical layer measurement quantities, or parameters related to a confidence of (i) the predicted one or more downlink transmission beams or (ii) the predicted one or more downlink transmission and reception beam pairs.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to associate beam measurements or properties with a prediction.
Claims 3-4, 10-11, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai in view of Zhou and Li, in further view of Chang et al (WO2017099830A1) (hereinafter "Chang").
Regarding claim 3, Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, fails to disclose the method, wherein the third information includes: first parameters indicating a first set of beams, second parameters indicating a second set of beams, and third parameters indicating a relationship between the first and second sets of beams.
However, Chang discloses the method, wherein the third information includes:
first parameters indicating a first set of beams ([00118] first set of BRS signals associated with a dominant beam of the plurality of transmit beams),
second parameters indicating a second set of beams, and ([00118] second set of BRS signals associated with a candidate beam of the plurality of transmit beams)
third parameters indicating a relationship between the first and second sets of beams ([00118] Example 21 is a machine readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause a User Equipment (UE) to: receive a set of beam reference signal (BRS) configuration parameters that indicate an extent of spatial correlation between transmit beams of a plurality of transmit beams; receive a first set of BRS signals associated with a dominant beam of the plurality of transmit beams and a second set of BRS signals associated with a candidate beam of the plurality of transmit beams; calculate a first BRS received power (BRS-RP) for the dominant beam based on the first set of BRS signals, and a second BRS-RP for the candidate beam based on the second set of BRS signals; make a determination whether to generate a BRS-RP report, wherein the determination is made based at least in part on either a lack of spatial correlation or less than a threshold spatial correlation between the dominant beam and the candidate beam).
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, and Chang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of generating and sending reports regarding beam performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, with Chang to create the method, wherein the third information includes: first parameters indicating a first set of beams, second parameters indicating a second set of beams, and third parameters indicating a relationship between the first and second sets of beams.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to indicate the spatial correlation between transmit beams of a plurality of transmit beams.
Regarding claim 4, Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, fails to disclose the method, wherein: the third information includes parameters indicating one or more time instances for which the one or more reporting quantities are determined, and transmitting the channel with the one or more reporting quantities further comprises transmitting the channel with the one or more reporting quantities determined for the one or more time instances.
However, Chang discloses the method, wherein: the third information includes parameters indicating one or more time instances for which the one or more reporting quantities are determined, and ([0052] a BRS-RP report can be triggered based on a candidate Tx beam having a BRS-RP greater than a BRS-RP of a dominant Tx beam (e.g., a dominant Tx beam as reported in a last BRS-RP report, etc.) by at least a threshold amount for at least a specified number of times during an evaluation period. In various aspects, the set of BRS configuration parameters can indicate one or more of a duration of the evaluation period, the threshold amount, or a triggering value for a beam specific counter (and potentially type of counter) that can track the number of times the BRS-RP of the candidate Tx beam exceeds the BRS-RP of the dominant Tx beam during the evaluation period.)
transmitting the channel with the one or more reporting quantities further comprises transmitting the channel with the one or more reporting quantities determined for the one or more time instances ([0050] Based on the BRS configuration parameters and one or more of the calculated BRS-RP(s), processor 220 can determine whether to generate a BRS-RP report comprising one or more calculated BRS-RPs (e.g., instantaneous BRS-RP values, or BRS-RP values that are a function of two or more measurements of BRS signals of the associated transmit beam, etc.). In response to generating a BRS-RP report, processor 220 can output the BRS-RP report to transmitter circuitry 230 for subsequent transmission.).
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, and Chang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of generating and sending reports regarding beam performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, with Chang to create the method, wherein: the third information includes parameters indicating one or more time instances for which the one or more reporting quantities are determined, and transmitting the channel with the one or more reporting quantities further comprises transmitting the channel with the one or more reporting quantities determined for the one or more time instances.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to track the number of times the received power of a candidate beam exceeds that of a dominant beam so that the ideal beam can be identified.
Regarding claim 10, Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the third information includes: first parameters indicating a first set of beams, second parameters indicating a second set of beams, and third parameters indicating a relationship between the first and second sets of beams.
However, Chang discloses the UE, wherein the third information includes:
first parameters indicating a first set of beams ([00118] first set of BRS signals associated with a dominant beam of the plurality of transmit beams),
second parameters indicating a second set of beams, and ([00118] second set of BRS signals associated with a candidate beam of the plurality of transmit beams)
third parameters indicating a relationship between the first and second sets of beams ([00118] Example 21 is a machine readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause a User Equipment (UE) to: receive a set of beam reference signal (BRS) configuration parameters that indicate an extent of spatial correlation between transmit beams of a plurality of transmit beams; receive a first set of BRS signals associated with a dominant beam of the plurality of transmit beams and a second set of BRS signals associated with a candidate beam of the plurality of transmit beams; calculate a first BRS received power (BRS-RP) for the dominant beam based on the first set of BRS signals, and a second BRS-RP for the candidate beam based on the second set of BRS signals; make a determination whether to generate a BRS-RP report, wherein the determination is made based at least in part on either a lack of spatial correlation or less than a threshold spatial correlation between the dominant beam and the candidate beam).
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, and Chang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of generating and sending reports regarding beam performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, with Chang to create the UE, wherein the third information includes: first parameters indicating a first set of beams, second parameters indicating a second set of beams, and third parameters indicating a relationship between the first and second sets of beams.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to indicate the spatial correlation between transmit beams of a plurality of transmit beams.
Regarding claim 11, Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, fails to disclose the UE, wherein: the third information includes parameters indicating one or more time instances for which the one or more reporting quantities are determined, and the transceiver is further configured to transmit the channel with the one or more reporting quantities determined for the one or more time instances.
However, Chang discloses the UE, wherein: the third information includes parameters indicating one or more time instances for which the one or more reporting quantities are determined, and ([0052] a BRS-RP report can be triggered based on a candidate Tx beam having a BRS-RP greater than a BRS-RP of a dominant Tx beam (e.g., a dominant Tx beam as reported in a last BRS-RP report, etc.) by at least a threshold amount for at least a specified number of times during an evaluation period. In various aspects, the set of BRS configuration parameters can indicate one or more of a duration of the evaluation period, the threshold amount, or a triggering value for a beam specific counter (and potentially type of counter) that can track the number of times the BRS-RP of the candidate Tx beam exceeds the BRS-RP of the dominant Tx beam during the evaluation period.)
the transceiver is further configured to transmit the channel with the one or more reporting quantities determined for the one or more time instances ([0052] a BRS-RP report can be triggered based on a candidate Tx beam having a BRS-RP greater than a BRS-RP of a dominant Tx beam (e.g., a dominant Tx beam as reported in a last BRS-RP report, etc.) by at least a threshold amount for at least a specified number of times during an evaluation period. In various aspects, the set of BRS configuration parameters can indicate one or more of a duration of the evaluation period, the threshold amount, or a triggering value for a beam specific counter (and potentially type of counter) that can track the number of times the BRS-RP of the candidate Tx beam exceeds the BRS-RP of the dominant Tx beam during the evaluation period.).
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, and Chang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of generating and sending reports regarding beam performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, with Chang to create the UE, wherein: the third information includes parameters indicating one or more time instances for which the one or more reporting quantities are determined, and transmitting the channel with the one or more reporting quantities further comprises transmitting the channel with the one or more reporting quantities determined for the one or more time instances.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to track the number of times the received power of a candidate beam exceeds that of a dominant beam so that the ideal beam can be identified.
Regarding claim 17, Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, fails to disclose the BS, wherein the third information includes: first parameters indicating a first set of beams, second parameters indicating a second set of beams, and third parameters indicating a relationship between the first and second sets of beams.
However, Chang discloses the BS, wherein the third information includes:
first parameters indicating a first set of beams ([00118] first set of BRS signals associated with a dominant beam of the plurality of transmit beams),
second parameters indicating a second set of beams, and ([00118] second set of BRS signals associated with a candidate beam of the plurality of transmit beams)
third parameters indicating a relationship between the first and second sets of beams ([00118] Example 21 is a machine readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause a User Equipment (UE) to: receive a set of beam reference signal (BRS) configuration parameters that indicate an extent of spatial correlation between transmit beams of a plurality of transmit beams; receive a first set of BRS signals associated with a dominant beam of the plurality of transmit beams and a second set of BRS signals associated with a candidate beam of the plurality of transmit beams; calculate a first BRS received power (BRS-RP) for the dominant beam based on the first set of BRS signals, and a second BRS-RP for the candidate beam based on the second set of BRS signals; make a determination whether to generate a BRS-RP report, wherein the determination is made based at least in part on either a lack of spatial correlation or less than a threshold spatial correlation between the dominant beam and the candidate beam).
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, and Chang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of generating and sending reports regarding beam performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, with Chang to create the BS, wherein the third information includes: first parameters indicating a first set of beams, second parameters indicating a second set of beams, and third parameters indicating a relationship between the first and second sets of beams.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to indicate the spatial correlation between transmit beams of a plurality of transmit beams.
Regarding claim 18, Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, fails to disclose the BS, wherein: the third information includes parameters indicating one or more time instances for which the one or more reporting quantities are determined, and the transceiver is further configured to receive the channel with the one or more reporting quantities determined for the one or more time instances.
However, Chang discloses the BS, wherein: the third information includes parameters indicating one or more time instances for which the one or more reporting quantities are determined, and ([0052] a BRS-RP report can be triggered based on a candidate Tx beam having a BRS-RP greater than a BRS-RP of a dominant Tx beam (e.g., a dominant Tx beam as reported in a last BRS-RP report, etc.) by at least a threshold amount for at least a specified number of times during an evaluation period. In various aspects, the set of BRS configuration parameters can indicate one or more of a duration of the evaluation period, the threshold amount, or a triggering value for a beam specific counter (and potentially type of counter) that can track the number of times the BRS-RP of the candidate Tx beam exceeds the BRS-RP of the dominant Tx beam during the evaluation period.)
the transceiver is further configured to receive the channel with the one or more reporting quantities determined for the one or more time instances ([0050] Based on the BRS configuration parameters and one or more of the calculated BRS-RP(s), processor 220 can determine whether to generate a BRS-RP report comprising one or more calculated BRS-RPs (e.g., instantaneous BRS-RP values, or BRS-RP values that are a function of two or more measurements of BRS signals of the associated transmit beam, etc.). In response to generating a BRS-RP report, processor 220 can output the BRS-RP report to transmitter circuitry 230 for subsequent transmission.).
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, and Chang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of generating and sending reports regarding beam performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, with Chang to create the BS, wherein: the third information includes parameters indicating one or more time instances for which the one or more reporting quantities are determined, and transmitting the channel with the one or more reporting quantities further comprises transmitting the channel with the one or more reporting quantities determined for the one or more time instances.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to track the number of times the received power of a candidate beam exceeds that of a dominant beam so that the ideal beam can be identified.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai in view of Zhou and Li, in further view of Kim et al (US20230116886A1) (hereinafter "Kim").
Regarding claim 6, Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, discloses the method, wherein: transmitting the channel further comprises transmitting the channel with information related to updating the RSs for the beam measurements, and ([0022] channel quality may be tracked based on reference signals or other communications. In some cases, a UE may transmit an indication to a base station when a channel or beam has failed. [0161] the UE may perform channel measurement by applying the first channel measurement configuration information or the second channel measurement configuration information according to the following conditions, and may report a measurement result to the base station.)
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, fails to disclose the method, wherein: the information indicates at least one of: a preferred direction or directivity of RS transmissions, a preferred number of repetitions of the RS transmissions, and a preferred temporal frequency of the RS transmissions.
However, Kim discloses the method, wherein: the information indicates at least one of:
a preferred direction or directivity of RS transmissions ([0360] the first field may indicate, in the first channel measurement configuration information configured in an RRC message, a cycle of a frequent channel measurement signal (e.g., radio resources, a temporary reference signal (TRS), a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a reference signal (RS)), … or beam-related configuration information (transmission configuration indication (TCI) state or quasi co-location (QCL)) such as a beam direction, a beam number, or a beam location),
a preferred number of repetitions of the RS transmissions, and (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement)
a preferred temporal frequency of the RS transmissions (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement).
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of channel measurement and reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, with Kim to create the method, wherein: the information indicates at least one of: a preferred direction or directivity of RS transmissions, a preferred number of repetitions of the RS transmissions, and a preferred temporal frequency of the RS transmissions.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to indicate the ideal beam configuration.
Regarding claim 13, Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, discloses the UE, wherein: the transceiver is further configured to transmit the channel with information related to updating the RSs for the beam measurements, and ([0022] channel quality may be tracked based on reference signals or other communications. In some cases, a UE may transmit an indication to a base station when a channel or beam has failed. [0161] the UE may perform channel measurement by applying the first channel measurement configuration information or the second channel measurement configuration information according to the following conditions, and may report a measurement result to the base station.)
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, fails to disclose the UE, wherein: the information indicates at least one of: a preferred direction or directivity of RS transmissions, a preferred number of repetitions of the RS transmissions, and a preferred temporal frequency of the RS transmissions.
However, Kim discloses the UE, wherein: the information indicates at least one of:
a preferred direction or directivity of RS transmissions ([0360] the first field may indicate, in the first channel measurement configuration information configured in an RRC message, a cycle of a frequent channel measurement signal (e.g., radio resources, a temporary reference signal (TRS), a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a reference signal (RS)), … or beam-related configuration information (transmission configuration indication (TCI) state or quasi co-location (QCL)) such as a beam direction, a beam number, or a beam location),
a preferred number of repetitions of the RS transmissions, and (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement)
a preferred temporal frequency of the RS transmissions (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement).
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of channel measurement and reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, with Kim to create the UE, wherein: the information indicates at least one of: a preferred direction or directivity of RS transmissions, a preferred number of repetitions of the RS transmissions, and a preferred temporal frequency of the RS transmissions.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to indicate the ideal beam configuration.
Regarding claim 20, Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, discloses the BS, wherein: the transceiver is further configured to receive the channel with information related to updating the RSs for the beam measurements, and ([0022] channel quality may be tracked based on reference signals or other communications. In some cases, a UE may transmit an indication to a base station when a channel or beam has failed. [0161] the UE may perform channel measurement by applying the first channel measurement configuration information or the second channel measurement configuration information according to the following conditions, and may report a measurement result to the base station.)
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, fails to disclose the BS, wherein: the information indicates at least one of: a preferred direction or directivity of RS transmissions, a preferred number of repetitions of the RS transmissions, and a preferred temporal frequency of the RS transmissions.
However, Kim discloses the BS, wherein: the information indicates at least one of:
a preferred direction or directivity of RS transmissions ([0360] the first field may indicate, in the first channel measurement configuration information configured in an RRC message, a cycle of a frequent channel measurement signal (e.g., radio resources, a temporary reference signal (TRS), a synchronization signal block (SSB), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or a reference signal (RS)), … or beam-related configuration information (transmission configuration indication (TCI) state or quasi co-location (QCL)) such as a beam direction, a beam number, or a beam location),
a preferred number of repetitions of the RS transmissions, and (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement)
a preferred temporal frequency of the RS transmissions (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement).
Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of channel measurement and reporting.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Bai, as modified by Zhou and Li, with Kim to create the BS, wherein: the information indicates at least one of: a preferred direction or directivity of RS transmissions, a preferred number of repetitions of the RS transmissions, and a preferred temporal frequency of the RS transmissions.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to indicate the ideal beam configuration.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15, and associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419