Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A in the reply filed on 6/23/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 10, 12-16 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b).
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 4, the limitation “the contact regions open up the contact level” is unclear. In claim 5 and 6, the DIN standards are indefinite because they are undefined; there are multiple different standards for different applications which are subject to change. It is suggested that applicant structurally define what facilitates the standard. And claim 8 also appears a double inclusion relative to the features introduced in claim 1. The claims were examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US 2006/0216129). Lin discloses a securing device comprising: a washer (3) with two opposite surfaces one configured as a contact side for contacting a counter layer (6); a through opening (31); the contact side includes a planer surface broken up by a plurality of separate and individual sharp-edged depressions (33) defining a contact level where there are no protrusion beyond the contact level; the ratio of planar contact surface to sharp-edged depressions is shown of be greater than 60%. The angle between the planer contact region and faces (332) of the sharp-edged depression is 90° and the hardness of the washer is greater than the counter layer (Fig. 5).
Claims 1-4, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Madansky (US 3,212,387). In the embodiment shown in Fig. 5, Madansky discloses a securing device comprising: a washer (12) with two opposite surfaces one surface (40a) configured as a contact side for contacting a counter layer (62); a through opening (14); the contact side includes a planer surface (54) broken up by a plurality of separate and individual sharp-edged depressions (50) defining a contact level where there are no protrusion beyond the contact level; the ratio of planar contact surface to sharp-edged depressions is shown of be greater than 60%. The angle between the planer contact region and faces of the sharp-edged depression is shown to be between 75-105° (Fig. 5). The sharp edged-depressions are shown as intersecting grooves forming a netlike structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin or Madansky. Neither Lin nor Madansky discuss any standards. However, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the claimed standards to the washers of Lin and Madansky so they would conform with the requirements of a particular application.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Chalandon (US 9,983,595). Lin does not disclose the contact body with a ceramic material. Chalandon discloses a securing device in the form of a washer similar to Lin and teaches the washer can consist of ceramic (column 4, paragraph beginning line 11). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have the washer of Lin consist of ceramic as disclosed in Chalandon it order to provide it with sufficient hardness to ensure it is harder than the counter layer. The specific material of the ceramic would have been obvious as a matter of design choice.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen (US 2014/0348609) and Shiu (US 2007/0128003) are cited teach other examples of washers with sharp-edged depressions occupying a smaller area. Rieschick (US 844,750) is cited to teach additional shapes for sharp-edged depressions. The additional references as cited as general interest.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675