DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 7-16, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0226729).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches:
An image synthesis method (See the Abstract.), comprising:
acquiring a first image and a second image, an image quality of the first image being higher than an image quality of the second image (See [0312]: “For the first portrait region image and the first target background image, in a case that the [resolution] of the first target background image is higher…”.);
obtaining a compressed image by compressing the first image (See Fig. 10, step 226 and [0312]: “…the compression operation may be performed on the first target background image to reduce the resolution of the first target background image.”); and
synthesizing at least a part of the compressed image with at least a part of the second image (See Fig. 10 and [0125]: “At block 227, the second portrait region image and the second target background image are merged to obtain the merged image.”).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising: performing statistical analysis on the second image to determine a quality characteristic value of the second image, wherein the compressing the first image comprises: reducing the image quality of the first image based on the quality characteristic value (See [0325]: “In a case that there are several background images having resolution differences from the resolution of the first portrait region image less than the threshold, an image having the smallest resolution difference from the resolution of the first portrait region image may be selected from the several background images as the first target background image.”).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches:
The method according to claim 2, wherein reducing the image quality of the first image based on the quality characteristic value comprises: determining a compression parameter according to the first image and the quality characteristic value; and compressing the first image by using a preset compression algorithm and the compression parameter (See [0317]: “For example, for the first target background image having the resolution of 800×600 PPI, in a case that the number of pixels in the x direction of the first target background image may be reduced by half after the compression operation, in order to avoid that distortion occurs to the obtained second target background image, the number of pixels in the y direction of the first target background image may also be reduced by half after the compression.” The reduction factor (i.e., half) meets the claimed “compression parameter” and the recognition to perform compression on either a single background image or in the case of multiple background images meets the claimed “preset compression algorithm”.), wherein the compression parameter indicates a degree of an image quality decline, the degree being: negatively correlated with the image quality of the first image, and positively correlated with the quality characteristic value (See [0312]: “For the first portrait region image and the first target background image, in a case that the solution of the first target background image is higher, the compression operation may be performed on the first target background image to reduce the resolution of the first target background image.” In the specific case that the background image resolution is higher, the claimed relationship (high quality of the background image means lower degree of quality decline and lower quality of the portrait image means higher degree of quality decline) is present.).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first and second images are: a preset background image, and a foreground video frame sent by a client participating in a video conference, respectively; or video frames sent by two clients participating in a video conference, respectively; or video frames sent by two host clients participating in a microphone-connected live broadcast (See [0136]: “In some application scenarios, for example, it is desired to hide a current background while the current user is in a video chat with another, with the image processing method according to implementations of the present disclosure, the portrait region image corresponding to the current user and the target background image having the resolution that matches the resolution of the portrait region image may be merged, and the merged image is displayed to the another.”).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches:
An image synthesis method (See the Abstract.), comprising:
acquiring a first image and a second image, an image quality of the first image being higher than an image quality of the second image (See [0312]: “For the first portrait region image and the first target background image, in a case that the [resolution] of the first target background image is higher…”.);
determining a processing parameter for reducing the image quality of the first image (See [0317]: “For example, for the first target background image having the resolution of 800×600 PPI, in a case that the number of pixels in the x direction of the first target background image may be reduced by half after the compression operation, in order to avoid that distortion occurs to the obtained second target background image, the number of pixels in the y direction of the first target background image may also be reduced by half after the compression.” The reduction factor (i.e., half) meets the claimed “processing parameter”.), and processing the first image by using the processing parameter (See Fig. 10, step 226 and [0312]: “…the compression operation may be performed on the first target background image to reduce the resolution of the first target background image.”); and
synthesizing the processed first image with the second image (See Fig. 10 and [0125]: “At block 227, the second portrait region image and the second target background image are merged to obtain the merged image.”).
Zhang teaches claim 9 for the reasons given in the treatment of claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches:
The method according to claim 8, wherein the processing parameter comprises a blur parameter, and the processing of the first image by using the processing parameter comprises: performing blur processing on the first image by using the blur parameter (See [0320]: “It should be noted that, in embodiments of the present disclosure, the second portrait region image may be merged with the second target background image after edges of the second portrait region image are feathered, such that the edges of the portrait region image may be smoothly and naturally transited to the second target background image, presenting a better visual effect of the merged image.” Use of a processing parameter/value to perform blurring is understood.).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches:
The method according to claim 8, wherein the processing parameter comprises a compression parameter, and the processing of the first image by using the processing parameter comprises: compressing the first image by using the compression parameter (See [0317]: “For example, for the first target background image having the resolution of 800×600 PPI, in a case that the number of pixels in the x direction of the first target background image may be reduced by half after the compression operation, in order to avoid that distortion occurs to the obtained second target background image, the number of pixels in the y direction of the first target background image may also be reduced by half after the compression.” The reduction factor (i.e., half) meets the claimed “compression parameter”.).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches:
A video conference method (See the Abstract.), comprising:
receiving a foreground video frame sent by a client participating in a video conference, and acquiring a background image synthesized with the foreground video frame (See Fig. 10, steps 202, 224, and 225 and [0136]: “In some application scenarios, for example, it is desired to hide a current background while the current user is in a video chat with another, with the image processing method according to implementations of the present disclosure, the portrait region image corresponding to the current user and the target background image having the resolution that matches the resolution of the portrait region image may be merged, and the merged image is displayed to the another.”), an image quality of the foreground video frame being lower than an image quality of the background image (See [0312]: “For the first portrait region image and the first target background image, in a case that the [resolution] of the first target background image is higher…”.);
compressing the background image to obtain a compressed background image (See Fig. 10, step 226 and [0312]: “…the compression operation may be performed on the first target background image to reduce the resolution of the first target background image.”);
synthesizing the compressed background image with the foreground video frame to obtain a synthesized video frame (See Fig. 10 and [0125]: “At block 227, the second portrait region image and the second target background image are merged to obtain the merged image.”); and
transmitting the synthesized video frame to the client, the synthesized video frame being used for display by the client (See [0136]: “In some application scenarios, for example, it is desired to hide a current background while the current user is in a video chat with another, with the image processing method according to implementations of the present disclosure, the portrait region image corresponding to the current user and the target background image having the resolution that matches the resolution of the portrait region image may be merged, and the merged image is displayed to the another.”).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang teaches:
A video conference method (See the Abstract.), comprising:
receiving video frames sent by at least two clients participating in a video conference (See Fig. 10, steps 202, 224, and 225 and [0136]: “In some application scenarios, for example, it is desired to hide a current background while the current user is in a video chat with another, with the image processing method according to implementations of the present disclosure, the portrait region image corresponding to the current user and the target background image having the resolution that matches the resolution of the portrait region image may be merged, and the merged image is displayed to the another.”); the video frames comprising a first video frame and a second video frame (See the background image and portrait image in Fig. 10.), an video frame quality of the first video frame being higher than a video frame quality of the second video frame (See [0312]: “For the first portrait region image and the first target background image, in a case that the [resolution] of the first target background image is higher…”.);
compressing the first video frame to obtain a compressed first video frame (See Fig. 10, step 226 and [0312]: “…the compression operation may be performed on the first target background image to reduce the resolution of the first target background image.”);
synthesizing the compressed first video frame with the second video frame, to generate a synthesized video frame (See Fig. 10 and [0125]: “At block 227, the second portrait region image and the second target background image are merged to obtain the merged image.”); and
transmitting the synthesized video frame to the at least two clients, the synthesized video frames being used for display by the at least two clients (See [0136]: “In some application scenarios, for example, it is desired to hide a current background while the current user is in a video chat with another, with the image processing method according to implementations of the present disclosure, the portrait region image corresponding to the current user and the target background image having the resolution that matches the resolution of the portrait region image may be merged, and the merged image is displayed to the another.”).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches:
An electronic device (See the Abstract.), comprising:
a memory storing a set of instructions (See [0360].); and
one or more processors configured to execute the set of instructions to cause the device to perform (See [0360].):
acquiring a first image and a second image (See the background image and portrait image in Fig. 10.), an image quality of the first image being higher than an image quality of the second image (See [0312]: “For the first portrait region image and the first target background image, in a case that the [resolution] of the first target background image is higher…”.);
obtaining a compressed image by compressing the first image (See Fig. 10, step 226 and [0312]: “…the compression operation may be performed on the first target background image to reduce the resolution of the first target background image.”); and
synthesizing at least a part of the compressed image with at least a part of the second image (See Fig. 10 and [0125]: “At block 227, the second portrait region image and the second target background image are merged to obtain the merged image.”).
Regarding claim 15, Zhang teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing a set of instructions that is executable by one or more processors of an apparatus to cause the apparatus to execute an image synthesis method (See the Abstract and [0360].), the method comprising:
acquiring a first image and a second image (See the background image and portrait image in Fig. 10.), an image quality of the first image being higher than an image quality of the second image (See [0312]: “For the first portrait region image and the first target background image, in a case that the [resolution] of the first target background image is higher…”.);
obtaining a compressed image by compressing the first image (See Fig. 10, step 226 and [0312]: “…the compression operation may be performed on the first target background image to reduce the resolution of the first target background image.”); and
synthesizing at least a part of the compressed image with at least a part of the second image (See Fig. 10 and [0125]: “At block 227, the second portrait region image and the second target background image are merged to obtain the merged image.”).
Zhang teaches claim 16 for the reasons given in the treatment of claim 2.
Zhang teaches claim 18 for the reasons given in the treatment of claim 4.
Zhang teaches claim 19 for the reasons given in the treatment of claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0226729) in view of Son et al. (Toward Real-World Super-Resolution via Adaptive Downsampling Models, 8 September 2021, arXiv, Pages 1-19), hereinafter “Son”.
Claim 5 is met by the combination of Zhang and Son, wherein
Zhang teaches:
The method according to claim 4, wherein determining the compression parameter according to the first image and the quality characteristic value comprises:
Zhang does not disclose the following; however, Son teaches:
processing the first image and the quality characteristic value based on a pre-trained compression parameter estimation model, to obtain the compression parameter (See the two-stage model (including a downsampling model D) in Fig. 2 and page 3, left column: “Thus, we develop an unsupervised learning framework to accurately simulate the LR samples ILR ∈ ILR from the unpaired HR images IHR ∈ IHR. The following SR model can then be trained to reconstruct the HR results from the given LR dataset ILR. For simplicity, we assume that the LR and HR images have spatial resolutions of H × W and sH × sW, respectively, for a downsampling factor s.” As seen on page 4, right column and page 7, left column, the filter weights and scale factors are determined to optimize the model. A downsampling factor s, meet the claimed “compression parameter”, is therefore obtained based on a pre-trained compression parameter estimation model.), wherein the compression parameter estimation model is obtained through supervised learning using a training set comprising one or more training samples (See the trainings performed in Fig. 2 using low and high resolution samples.), each training sample comprising: a training image, a compression parameter label (See page 3, right column: “Thus, we introduce the adversarial loss Ladv to enforce the downsampled images IDown to follow a target distribution ILR without using ground-truth LR images.”), and a quality characteristic value determined according to the training image and the compression parameter label (See Eq. 3 on page 3.).
Zhang and Son together teach the limitations of claim 5. Son is directed to a similar field of art (adaptive downsampling models for superr-resolution). Therefore, Zhang and Son are combinable. Modifying the system and method of Zhang by adding the capability of “processing the first image and the quality characteristic value based on a pre-trained compression parameter estimation model, to obtain the compression parameter, wherein the compression parameter estimation model is obtained through supervised learning using a training set comprising one or more training samples, each training sample comprising: a training image, a compression parameter label, and a quality characteristic value determined according to the training image and the compression”, as taught by Son, would yield the expected and predictable result of improved estimation of lower resolution image using the downsampling model. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang and Son in this way.
Claim 6 is met by the combination of Zhang and Son, wherein
Zhang teaches:
The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
Zhang does not disclose the following; however, Son teaches:
determining the image qualities of the first and second images, based on a pre-trained image quality evaluation model, wherein the image quality evaluation model is pre-trained through supervised learning using a training set comprising one or more training samples, each training sample comprising: a distorted image, obtained by reducing an image quality of a training image (See the two-stage model (including a downsampling model D) in Fig. 2 and page 3, left column: “Thus, we develop an unsupervised learning framework to accurately simulate the LR samples ILR ∈ ILR from the unpaired HR images IHR ∈ IHR. The following SR model can then be trained to reconstruct the HR results from the given LR dataset ILR. For simplicity, we assume that the LR and HR images have spatial resolutions of H × W and sH × sW, respectively, for a downsampling factor s.”); and a quality matrix label, determined based on a difference between the training image and the distorted image (See Eq. 3 on page 3.).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 5.
Claim 19 is met by the combination of Zhang and Son for the reasons given in the treatment of claim 5.
Claim 20 is met by the combination of Zhang and Son for the reasons given in the treatment of claim 6.
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0226729) in a single reference rejection.
Claim 3 is met by the Zhang, wherein
Zhang teaches:
The method according to claim 2, wherein: the image quality of the second image is represented by a quality matrix that comprises a plurality of entries respectively corresponding to a plurality of pixels of the second image, each of the plurality of entries indicating a degree of loss of a corresponding pixel value (See the correction matrix in [0187]-[0188].); and
Zhang suggests the following under certain conditions:
the quality characteristic value of the second image comprises: a statistical value of the plurality of entries, the statistical value comprising at least one of an average value, a median, or a maximum value (First see [0321]: “In some implementations, in a case that the first target background image is selected by the processor 20, in order to prevent the processing amount of the processor 20 from being too high, an image having a small resolution difference from the resolution of the first portrait region image may be selected from multiple background images to reduce a processing pressure of the processor 20.” Then see [0325]: “ an image having the smallest resolution difference from the resolution of the first portrait region image may be selected from the several background images as the first target background image.” A minimum value is disclosed. However, to find that minimum value, Zhang computes the resolution differences between the several available background images and the portrait image. A maximum value is therefore computed but not selected to reduce “processing pressure of the processor”. In the case that reducing that processing pressure is not an issue, one of ordinary skill in the art would select a background image having the maximum value for other reasons, e.g., that background image having otherwise high quality in terms of even illumination.).
Zhang meets the limitations of claim 3. Since Zhang discloses computing resolution differences between the portrait image and each of multiple background images, the Zhang provides enough information to enable one of at least ordinary skill in the art to determine the claimed “maximum value”. One of at least ordinary skill in the art would then select the “maximum value” in a scenario in which he/she is not limited by processing power and arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim 17 is met by Zhang for the reasons given in the treatment of claim 3.
Contact
/Jonathan S Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677