Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-11, and 13-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsutsumi (US20200211169) in view of Carter et al (US20190222776).
Regarding claim 1, Tsutsumi teaches a fault image generation method performed by a computing device (fig. 1), comprising:
obtaining a non-fault image (P2 in fig. 3; para. [0021]) and a first fault image (fig. 2; para. [0020]), the non-fault image recording a first object that is not faulty (para. [0021], the second image P2 not depicting a defect), the first fault image recording a second object that is faulty (C2 in fig. 2; para. [0020], In addition, the first defect is a defect such as a crack, a chip, a hole, a dent, or adhesion of foreign matter), and a type of the first object is different from a type of the second object (para. [0021], In addition, the first product and the second product are different types of product. For example, the first product is a resin product and the second product is a ceramic product);
determining a target region in the non-fault image (R21 in fig. 3; para. [0023]-[0024]) to which the fault pattern of the second object is migrated (para. [0028]-[0030]); and
migrating a fault pattern of the second object in the first fault image to the first object in the non-fault image to obtain a second fault image (C1 in figs. 4-6), the second fault image presenting the first object in a faulty state (para. [0028]-[0030]).
Tsutsumi fails to teach inputting the non-fault image into a region generation model, the region generation model comprising an AI model obtained through training. However Carter teaches inputting an non-fault image into a region generation model (para. [0043], identifying one or more target augmentation areas of a video frame or image. The method 230 begins at block 232, where the computing system may use a convolutional neural network (CNN) or other machine learning model to identify one or more candidate regions, areas or objects within the image or the current frame; para. [0071]), the region generation model comprising an AI model obtained through training (para. [0046]).
Therefore taking the combined teachings of Tsutsumi and Carter as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to incorporate the steps of Carter into the method of Tsutsumi. The motivation to combine Carter and Tsutsumi would be to enable augmentation without reliance on any particular in-venue setup or any non-traditional camera equipment (para. [0027] of Carter).
Regarding claim 3, modified Tsutsumi teaches a method wherein before the step of inputting the non-fault image into the region generation model, the method comprises:
obtaining a plurality of training images, wherein the training image records an object that is not faulty and is of a same type as the first object (para. [0004] of Tsutsumi; para. [0046] of Carter);
obtaining region indication information indicating a region in which a fault may be generated in the training image (R21 in figs. 4-6 and claim 2 of Tsutsumi); and
training the region generation model based on the plurality of training images and the region indication information (para. [0046] of Carter).
Regarding claim 4, modified Tsutsumi teaches a method wherein the step of migrating the fault pattern of the second object in the first fault image to the target region of the non-fault image comprises:
migrating a transformed fault pattern to the target region in the non-fault image to obtain the second fault image (figs. 4-6 of Tsutsumi).
Modified Tsutsumi fails to teach wherein the transformed fault pattern is a shape transformation on the fault pattern. However one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to transform the size of the fault pattern (i.e. changing the length of the fault by rotation as described in para. [0030] of Tsutsumi). The motivation to do so would be to increase the types of training images and contribute to improving the accuracy in identification by the identifier (para. [0044] of Tsutsumi).
Regarding claim 5, modified Tsutsumi teaches a method wherein the shape transformation comprises size stretching, compression, or brightness change (para. [0030] of Tsutsumi, rotating of the crack would change the length and therefore stretch or compress the size).
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites similar subject matter as claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites similar subject matter as claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites similar subject matter as claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites similar subject matter as claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites similar subject matter as claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites similar subject matter as claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites similar subject matter as claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites similar subject matter as claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites similar subject matter as claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites similar subject matter as claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites similar subject matter as claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites similar subject matter as claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites similar subject matter as claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites similar subject matter as claim 10 and is rejected for the same reasons as stated above.
Conclusion
/LEON VIET Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663