DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 03/01/2024, 03/01/2024, 03/01/2024, and 03/01/2024 were filed after the mailing date of the instant application on 10/09/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With respect to claim 6, the repetition of benzo[d]benzo[4,5]imidazo[1,2-a]imidazole is unnecessary.
With respect to claim 16, L6 is divalent and phenyl should be phenylene.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 9, the claim references variables RA-RO, which are not present in the instant claim nor any parent claim.
In continuing examination, claim 9 is being interpreted as dependent from claim 8 which comprises variables RA-RO.
With respect to claims 10-16, the claims all contain references to formulae that are not present in the parent independent claim or any intervening claim(s).
In continuing examination, formulae I-VI are being interpreted as referring to the formulae in claim 8.
Claims 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
With respect to claim 9, the claim references variables RA-RO, which are not present in the instant claim nor any parent claim.
With respect to claims 10-16, the claims all contain references to formulae that are not present in the parent independent claim or any intervening claim(s).
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2017/0069857 A1).
With respect to claims 1-2 and 5, Lin discloses 1,2-bis(dibenzo[b,d]thiophen-4-yl)-1,1,2,2-tetraphenyldisilane (page 66), which has been annotated with relevant definitions below.
This compound meets the requirements of the instant claim when M is Si, L is SiRR’ wherein R is an aryl (phenyl) group and R’ is a heteroaryl (dibenzothiophenyl) group, M’ is a carbocyclic hydrocarbon group (phenyl), R1 is an aryl (phenyl) group, and R2 is a heteroaryl (dibenzothiophenyl) group. Any remaining group is either a hydrogen atom or not present.
With respect to claims 8-10, Lin teaches the compound of claim 1, and R2 comprises a structure of Formula I wherein RA and RB are hydrogen atoms, L1 is a direct bond, X1-X8 are C, and Y1 is a sulfur atom, as pictured above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2017/0069857 A1) as applied above, and further in view of Su et al. (Su, T.A.; Li, H.; Klausen, R.S.; Kim, N.T.; Neupane, M.; Leighton, J. L.; Steigerwald, M.L.; Venkataraman, L.; Nuckolls, C., Silane and Germane Molecular Electronics. Acc. Chem. Res. 2017, 50 (4), 1088-1095).
With respect to claims 3 and 4, Lin teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
However, Lin does not teach nor fairly suggest incorporation of an ether group between two silicon atoms to form a siloxane moiety.
In analogous art, Su teaches fundamental charge transport properties of Si-Si and Ge-Ge single bonds and the introduction of useful functions into group 14 molecular wires (abstract).
Su teaches the results from an experiment designed to determine the rupture probability of Si-Si, Ge-Ge, C-C, Si-C, and Si-O bonds under high voltage in Figure 4 (page 1091). These results are pictured below.
Figure 4 demonstrates that compounds with an Si-O-Si bond demonstrate greater bond strength, a lower likelihood for bond rupture, and greater suitability for use in high performance, high voltage electronics than analogous compounds without an oxygen linking group (see also page 1091, Col. 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an oxygen bridged siloxane group into the compound of Lin in order to form a compound with greater bond strength, a lower likelihood for bond rupture, and greater suitability for use in high performance, high voltage electronics than analogous compounds without an oxygen linking group, as demonstrated by Su.
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claims wherein L is an oxygen atom and M’ is SiR4R5R6, wherein R4 and R5 are an aryl (phenyl) group and R6 is a heteroaryl (dibenzothiophenyl) group.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2017/0069857 A1) as applied above, and further in view of Thompson et al. (US 2018/0287087 A1).
With respect to claim 6, Lin teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
The compound 1,2-bis(dibenzo[b,d]thiophen-4-yl)-1,1,2,2-tetraphenyldisilane (page 66), pictured and discussed above, is derived from Lin Formula I (paragraph 0052), which is pictured below.
In this formula, Lin teaches that any of R1-R8 may be aryl (paragraph 0055, line 5), and examples of aryl groups include substituted tetraphenylene (paragraph 0045, line 13).
However, Lin does not teach nor fairly suggest that at least one of R1-R3 comprises benzo[d]benzo[4,5]imidazo[1,2-a]imidazole.
In analogous art, Thompson teaches heterocycles comprising a tetraphenylene or azatetraphenylene moiety which are used as host materials in a phosphorescent electroluminescent device (abstract).
The tetraphenylene compounds of Thompson are derived from the following formula.
In this formula, Z1-Z16 are each a carbon or nitrogen atom, and preferably at least one of RA-RD has the structure below (benzo[d]benzo[4,5]imidazo[1,2-a]imidazole, see also the compounds on pages 8-11).
The work of Thompson overlaps in scope with Lin by way of example because Thompson teaches that the described substituted azatetraphenylene compounds are compatible with a compound wherein at least one of RA-RD is a disilyl group (see the compounds on pages 72-76).
Thompson teaches that the described azatetraphenylene moiety can be used to tune the energy level of the LUMO of the compound, which modifies the electron transport properties of the compound (paragraphs 0129 and 0131).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the benzo[d]benzo[4,5]imidazo[1,2-a]imidazole-substituted azatetraphenylene moiety of Thompson as one of R1-R6 in the compound of Lin in order to tune the energy level of the LUMO of the compound and obtain desired electron transport properties, as taught by Thompson.
Incorporating the benzo[d]benzo[4,5]imidazo[1,2-a]imidazole-substituted azatetraphenylene moiety of Thompson as one of R1-R6 in the compound of Lin produces a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim wherein at least one of R1, R2, and R3 comprises a benzo[d]benzo[4,5]imidazo[1,2-a]imidazole moiety.
With respect to claim 16, Lin teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
The compound 1,2-bis(dibenzo[b,d]thiophen-4-yl)-1,1,2,2-tetraphenyldisilane (page 66), pictured and discussed above, is derived from Lin Formula I (paragraph 0052), which is pictured below.
In this formula, Lin teaches that any of R1-R8 may be aryl or combinations of aryl groups (paragraph 0055, lines 5-7), and examples of aryl groups include phenyl and substituted tetraphenylene (paragraph 0045, line 13).
However, Lin does not teach nor fairly suggest that at least one of R1-R3 comprises a structure of instant Formula VI.
In analogous art, Thompson teaches heterocycles comprising a tetraphenylene or azatetraphenylene moiety which are used as host materials in a phosphorescent electroluminescent device (abstract).
The tetraphenylene compounds of Thompson are derived from the following formula.
In this formula, Z1-Z16 are each a carbon or nitrogen atom, and preferably at least one of RA-RD has a substituent, such as the structure below (benzo[d]benzo[4,5]imidazo[1,2-a]imidazole, see also the compounds on pages 8-11).
The work of Thompson overlaps in scope with Lin by way of example because Thompson teaches that the described substituted azatetraphenylene compounds are compatible with a compound wherein at least one of RA-RD is a disilyl group (see the compounds on pages 72-76).
Thompson teaches that the described azatetraphenylene moiety can be used to tune the energy level of the LUMO of the compound, which modifies the electron transport properties of the compound (paragraphs 0129 and 0131).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the benzo[d]benzo[4,5]imidazo[1,2-a]imidazole-substituted azatetraphenylene moiety of Thompson as one of R1-R6 in the compound of Lin in order to tune the energy level of the LUMO of the compound and obtain desired electron transport properties, as taught by Thompson.
Further, given the example compounds of Lin set forth in paragraph [0062], absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to incorporate a phenylene linking group at a location analogous to instant L6 in order to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a silicon compound which is useful for the electron transport layer of an OLED (paragraph 0096) as a result of the tetrahedral shape which reduces packing in the solid state while also breaking conjugation to maintain a high triplet energy level which is necessary for blue PHOLEDS (paragraph 0051), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Incorporating the azatetraphenylene moiety of Thompson as a moiety on one of the phenyl groups of R1-R6 in the compound of Lin produces a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim wherein at least one of R1, R2, and R3 comprises structure of Formula VI, and L6 is a phenylene group.
Claims 7, 11-13, 15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2017/0069857 A1) as applied above.
With respect to claim 7, Lin teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Lin also teaches a compound of the formula below (page 10).
In this formula, m is 0 (paragraph 0064).
Such a selection produces a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim wherein R1, R2, and R3 collectively comprise 2 carbazoles.
Lin includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Lin being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known value for ‘m’ from the finite number of possible integers to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a silicon compound which is useful for the electron transport layer of an OLED (paragraph 0096) as a result of the tetrahedral shape which reduces packing in the solid state while also breaking conjugation to maintain a high triplet energy level which is necessary for blue PHOLEDS (paragraph 0051), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 11, Lin teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
The compound 1,2-bis(dibenzo[b,d]thiophen-4-yl)-1,1,2,2-tetraphenyldisilane (page 66), pictured and discussed above, is derived from Lin Formula I (paragraph 0052), which is pictured below.
Lin also teaches that any of R1 to R8 may be represented by the moiety below (paragraph 0059).
In this formula, X is an oxygen atom (paragraph 0060).
Such a selection produces a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim when at least one of R1, R2, and R3 comprises a structure of Formula I, and Y1 is an oxygen atom.
Lin includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Lin being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from the finite list of preferred substituents as set forth in paragraph [0059] to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a silicon compound which is useful for the electron transport layer of an OLED (paragraph 0096) as a result of the tetrahedral shape which reduces packing in the solid state while also breaking conjugation to maintain a high triplet energy level which is necessary for blue PHOLEDS (paragraph 0051), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 12, Lin teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Lin also teaches a compound of the formula below (page 12).
In this formula, m is 0 (paragraph 0064).
Such a selection produces a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim wherein at least one of R1, R2, and R3 comprises a structure of Formula II and at least one of X1-X8 is a carbon atom.
Lin includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Lin being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known value for ‘m’ from the finite number of possible integers to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a silicon compound which is useful for the electron transport layer of an OLED (paragraph 0096) as a result of the tetrahedral shape which reduces packing in the solid state while also breaking conjugation to maintain a high triplet energy level which is necessary for blue PHOLEDS (paragraph 0051), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 13, Lin teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Lin also teaches a compound of the formula below (page 12).
In this formula, m is 0 (paragraph 0064).
Such a selection produces a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim wherein at least one of R1, R2, and R3 comprises a structure of Formula III and L3 is a direct bond.
Lin includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Lin being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known value for ‘m’ from the finite number of possible integers to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a silicon compound which is useful for the electron transport layer of an OLED (paragraph 0096) as a result of the tetrahedral shape which reduces packing in the solid state while also breaking conjugation to maintain a high triplet energy level which is necessary for blue PHOLEDS (paragraph 0051), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 15, Lin teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Lin also teaches a compound of the formula below (page 12).
In this formula, m is 0 (paragraph 0064).
Such a selection produces a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim wherein at least one of R1, R2, and R3 comprises a structure of Formula V and at least one of X34-X45 is a nitrogen atom.
Lin includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Lin being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known value for ‘m’ from the finite number of possible integers to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a silicon compound which is useful for the electron transport layer of an OLED (paragraph 0096) as a result of the tetrahedral shape which reduces packing in the solid state while also breaking conjugation to maintain a high triplet energy level which is necessary for blue PHOLEDS (paragraph 0051), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 17, Lin teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Lin also teaches a compound of the formula below (page 11).
In this formula, Lin teaches that m is 0 (paragraph 0064), and the triazine may be substituted by carbazolyl groups (paragraph 0046).
Such a selection produces the second compound on the first row of the instant claim.
Lin includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Lin being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known value for ‘m’ and any substituent from the finite number of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a silicon compound which is useful for the electron transport layer of an OLED (paragraph 0096) as a result of the tetrahedral shape which reduces packing in the solid state while also breaking conjugation to maintain a high triplet energy level which is necessary for blue PHOLEDS (paragraph 0051), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 18, Lin discloses an organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer between the electrodes comprising an organic layer (paragraph 0069) including a compound of Formula I (paragraph 0051-0052), such as 1,2-bis(dibenzo[b,d]thiophen-4-yl)-1,1,2,2-tetraphenyldisilane (page 66), which has been annotated with relevant definitions below.
This compound meets the requirements of the instant claim when M is Si, L is SiRR’ wherein R is an aryl (phenyl) group and R’ is a heteroaryl (dibenzothiophenyl) group, M’ is a carbocyclic hydrocarbon group (phenyl), R1 is an aryl (phenyl) group, and R2 is a heteroaryl (dibenzothiophenyl) group. Any remaining group is either a hydrogen atom or not present.
Lin teaches that compounds of Formula I are useful for the electron transport layer of an OLED (paragraph 0096) as a result of the tetrahedral shape which reduces packing in the solid state while also breaking conjugation to maintain a high triplet energy level which is necessary for blue PHOLEDS (paragraph 0051).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the compound of Lin as a material in an organic light emitting device, as taught by Lin.
With respect to claim 20, Lin discloses a consumer product (paragraph 0071), comprising an organic light emitting device comprising an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer between the electrodes comprising an organic layer (paragraph 0069) including a compound of Formula I (paragraph 0051-0052), such as 1,2-bis(dibenzo[b,d]thiophen-4-yl)-1,1,2,2-tetraphenyldisilane (page 66), which has been annotated with relevant definitions below.
This compound meets the requirements of the instant claim when M is Si, L is SiRR’ wherein R is an aryl (phenyl) group and R’ is a heteroaryl (dibenzothiophenyl) group, M’ is a carbocyclic hydrocarbon group (phenyl), R1 is an aryl (phenyl) group, and R2 is a heteroaryl (dibenzothiophenyl) group. Any remaining group is either a hydrogen atom or not present.
Lin teaches that compounds of Formula I are useful for the electron transport layer of an OLED (paragraph 0096) as a result of the tetrahedral shape which reduces packing in the solid state while also breaking conjugation to maintain a high triplet energy level which is necessary for blue PHOLEDS (paragraph 0051).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the compound of Lin as a material in a consumer product including an organic light emitting device, as taught by Lin.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2017/0069857 A1) as applied above, and further in view of Kwon et al. (KR 2022/0098515 A, using the provided translation for references).
With respect to claim 14, Lin teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
However, while Lin teaches that the compound has a donor-linker-acceptor configuration (paragraph 0068), Lin does not teach nor fairly suggest that at least one of R1, R2, and R3 comprises a structure of Formula IV wherein Z is a boron atom.
In analogous art, Kwon teaches a thermally activated delayed fluorescent compound with improved color characteristics and lifetime (paragraph 0007) and an organic light-emitting device including the compound (paragraph 0001), wherein the compound comprises an acceptor moiety with a BO structure, and a donor substituent (paragraph 0070).
Kwon teaches that when a substituent with electron-donating properties is attached to the boron acceptor structure, the electron-withdrawing ability of the boron center is weakened and the band gap is increased (paragraph 0071), consequently, the intramolecular charge transport characteristics, which are the emission mechanism of delayed fluorescence, are weakened, narrowing the full width at half maximum and improving color characteristics (paragraph 0072). Therefore, the compound with a BO structure of chemical formula 1 can achieve deep blue luminescence while simultaneously preventing the degradation of lifespan properties by bonding a substituent with electron donating properties, such as a silyl group (paragraph 0074).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the boron-containing electron acceptor moiety of Kwon with the electron-donating silyl moiety of Lin in order to produce a compound with a donor-acceptor configuration, wherein the electron-withdrawing ability of the boron center is weakened and the band gap is increased (paragraph 0071), consequently, the intramolecular charge transport characteristics, which are the emission mechanism of delayed fluorescence, are weakened, narrowing the full width at half maximum and improving color characteristics of the compound (paragraph 0072), allowing the compound to achieve deep blue luminescence while simultaneously preventing the degradation of lifespan properties, as taught by Kwon.
Such a modification produces a compound that meets the requirements of the instant claim wherein at least one of R1, R2, and R3 comprises a structure of Formula IV, and Z is a boron atom.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2017/0069857 A1) as applied above, and further in view of Kwak et al. (US 2020/0006676 A1).
With respect to claim 19, Lin teaches that OLED of claim 18, as discussed above.
However, Lin does not teach nor fairly suggest that the emitting layer further comprises a sensitizer.
With respect to the difference, Kwak discloses an organic light-emitting device comprising an emission layer which has a host, dopant, and sensitizer (abstract).
Kwak teaches that when a sensitizer is used in combination with a host and dopant, the efficiency and lifespan of the organic light-emitting device may be improved because it has excellent characteristics in terms of exciton transfer to the dopant (paragraph 0339).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the sensitizer of Kwak in the emission layer of Lin in order to facilitate transfer of excitons to the dopant and obtain an organic light-emitting device with improved lifespan and efficiency, as taught by Kwak.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 11, 18, and 20 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-6 and 19-20 of copending Application No. 18/669,825 (reference application).
The structures, formulae, limitations, and wording of claims 1-20 of ‘825 are either identical to each corresponding claim in the instant application, or the claims differ in their wording, but still contain the same limitations listed in the alternative. The substance of the claims is identical.
Specifically,
Instant claim 1 is met by claim 1 of ‘825
Instant claim 2 is met by claim 2 of ‘825
Instant claim 4 is met by claim 3 of ‘825
Instant claim 8 is met by claim 4 of ‘825
Instant claim 9 is met by claim 5 of ‘825
Instant claim 11 is met by claim 6 of ‘825
Instant claim 18 is met by claim 19 of ‘825
Instant claim 20 is met by claim 20 of ‘825
This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786