DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-11, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jacobs et al. (US 2019/0186007, of record and hereinafter “Jacobs”).
Claim 1: Jacobs discloses a method (Figs.1-4) comprising:
filling a hollow structure (201; see [0025]) with a gas or a vapor (see steps 112 and 116 of Fig.1);
sealing a portion of the hollow structure to form a container enclosing the gas or the vapor (see step 114 of Fig.1); and
forming an electromagnetic reflective coating inside (steps 104 and 106; see [0027]-[0029]) or outside (210,. 220 in step 110) the container to form an electromagnetic waveguide (201, which is an electromagnetic waveguide; see [0024]).
Claim 7: Jacobs discloses wherein forming an electromagnetic reflective coating inside or outside the container includes forming the electromagnetic reflective coating inside the container (see Fig.13 and [0027]).
Claim 8: Jacobs discloses wherein the electromagnetic reflective coating includes a non-reactive metal (gold; see [0027]).
Claim 9: Jacobs discloses forming an electromagnetic reflective coating inside or outside the container includes forming the electromagnetic reflective coating outside the container (210 and 220 in step 110).
Claim 10: Jacobs discloses wherein forming the electromagnetic reflective coating outside the container includes forming the electromagnetic reflective coating on an exterior surface of the container (see Fig.13, where 220 and 210 are formed on the exterior surface of the container).
Claim 11: Jacobs discloses wherein the electromagnetic reflective coating includes a reactive metal (copper; see [0045]).
Claim 15: Jacobs discloses wherein the electromagnetic reflective coating includes an opening (208a, 208b), and the method further comprises: mounting a circuit board (“printed circuit boards” described in [0031]) including an antenna (210a, 210b) on a support structure (on a printed circuit board; see [0031]); and mounting the container on the support structure, in which the opening faces the antenna (208a/b faces 210a/b; see [0031], which discusses mounting the gas cell to a printed circuit board via flip chip bonding).
Claim 18: Jacobs discloses wherein the gas includes at least one of: water vapor ([0020], [0043]), acetonitrile ([0043]), cyanoacetylene (HC3N), ammonia (NH3), carbonyl sulfide (OCS), hydrogen cyanide ([0043]), or hydrogen sulfide (H2S).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobs.
Jacobs discloses the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Jacobs further discloses that the cell may be made of “glass” (see [0025]), but does not explicitly disclose the glass as “borosilicate” as required by claim 17. However, Jacobs implies that borosilicate may be used as a glass for the gas cell in [0029], and the use of borosilicate specifically as the “glass” as broadly discussed would have been seen as both suitable and predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have provided the gas cell as borosilicate, as discussed with regard to the second substrate of Jacobs, as a suitable glass material as broadly disclosed with regard to the cell material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19, 20, and 22 are allowed.
Claims 2-6, 12-14, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not explicitly disclose the following limitations within the context of the amended claims:
repeatedly filling the hollow structure with the gas or the vapor and removing at least some of the gas or the vapor from the hollow structure until a purity of the gas or the vapor in the hollow structure reaches a target level (claim 2)
cutting the hollow structure to form the portion of the hollow structure, and heating opposite ends of the portion of the hollow structure to seal the portion of the hollow structure (claim 3)
wherein the portion of the hollow structure includes a first straight segment, a second straight segment, and a bent segment coupled between first and second straight segments; and wherein sealing the portion of the hollow structure includes sealing a first end of the first straight segment and sealing a second end of the second straight segment (claim 5)
crimping the portion of the hollow structure to form multiple connected cavities, wherein sealing the portion of the hollow structure includes sealing the connected cavities (claim 6)
positioning the container in an enclosure, and wherein forming the electromagnetic reflective coating outside the container includes forming the electromagnetic reflective coating on an interior surface of the enclosure interfacing the container (claim 12)
wherein the opening is at a tip of the container, and the antenna includes a Vivaldi antenna (claim 16)
the cavity storing a vapor or a gas; and an electromagnetic reflective coating inside or outside the container, the electromagnetic reflective coating and including an opening (claim 19).
Response to Arguments
In the response filed 2/24/2026, Applicant has amended claim 1 so as to require the coating inside or outside the container “to form an electromagnetic waveguide”. While the examiner agrees that such a limitation is not disclosed by Inukai (cited in the previous office action), Applicant has also removed the “homogenous” language of the claim. Therefore, claim 1 is now broad enough to be anticipated by Jacobs, as discussed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849