Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “circuitry”, “conduit”, “data processor”, “advanced driving assistance system” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cosgrove et al (US 2020/0156442).
Regarding claim 1, Cosgrove discloses, A vehicular climate control system, the vehicular climate control system comprising:
an airflow source disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular climate control system, wherein the airflow source is operable to provide airflow within an interior cabin of the vehicle; (fan 218 directs airflow to the passenger compartment. See Paragraph [0037])
wherein an electronic control unit module (ECU module) is disposed at the vehicle and comprises electronic circuitry, and wherein the electronic circuitry comprises a heat-generating electronic component, and wherein the heat-generating electronic component, when the ECU module is electrically operated, generates heat at the ECU module; (ECU 102 is disposed in the vehicle with the HVAC unit 112 containing a heating element 204 for generating heat at the ECU module as shown in Fig 1. (See Paragraph [0038] and [0048])
and wherein, when the ECU module is electrically operated and the heat-generating electronic component generates heat at the ECU module, and when the vehicular climate control system operates the airflow source to provide the airflow within the interior cabin of the vehicle, heat generated at the ECU module is dissipated from the ECU module and heats the airflow provided within the interior cabin of the vehicle. (Heat is generated and the ECU causes the airflow to be provided within the interior of the vehicle cabin. (See Paragraph [0048]) Regarding claim 2, the ECU provides airflow to the cabin based on a user selected desired temperature and would provide airflow until the target temperature is reached. (See Paragraph [0054], [0057]) Regarding claim 3, the airflow may either be a heated or cooled air based on the desired temperature. (See Paragraphs [0054], [0057]) Regarding claim 12-13, the heater core 204 at least partially heats the airflow within the cabin and would adjust operation based on heat generated at the ECU. (See Paragraphs [0035], [0036])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 14-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosgrove et al (US 2020/0156442) in view of Nagao et al (US 2021/0185862).
The teachings of Cosgrove have been discussed above. Cosgrove discloses wherein the airflow source provides the airflow within the interior cabin of the vehicle via an air conduit. (See Paragraphs [0054], [0057])
Cosgrove fails to disclose, wherein the ECU module is in thermally conductive connection with the air conduit; the ECU module comprises an exhaust fan that is operable to draw heated air away from the heat-generating electronic component and to direct the heated air from the ECU module toward the air conduit to heat the airflow provided within the interior cabin of the vehicle.
Nagao discloses a vehicle climate control system having an ECU 31, 32 with an exhaust fan 10, where the fan is operable to draw air through an air conduit to direct the cabin. (See Figs 1-2). It would have been obvious to adapt Cosgrove in view of Nagao to provide the ECU module is in thermally conductive connection with the air conduit; the ECU module comprises an exhaust fan that is operable to draw heated air away from the heat-generating electronic component and to direct the heated air from the ECU module toward the air conduit to heat the airflow provided within the interior cabin of the vehicle for cooling the ECU and other electrical components.
Regarding claim 14-16, Cosgrove discloses, A vehicular climate control system, the vehicular climate control system comprising:
an airflow source disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular climate control system, wherein the airflow source is operable to provide airflow within an interior cabin of the vehicle; (fan 218 directs airflow to the passenger compartment. See Paragraph [0037]) wherein an electronic control unit module (ECU module) is disposed at the vehicle and comprises electronic circuitry, and wherein the electronic circuitry comprises a heat-generating electronic component, and wherein the heat-generating electronic component, when the ECU module is electrically operated, generates heat at the ECU module; (ECU 102 is disposed in the vehicle with the HVAC unit 112 containing a heating element 204 for generating heat at the ECU module as shown in Fig 1. (See Paragraph [0038] and [0048]) and wherein, when the ECU module is electrically operated and the heat-generating electronic component generates heat at the ECU module, and when the vehicular climate control system operates the airflow source to provide the airflow within the interior cabin of the vehicle, heat generated at the ECU module is dissipated from the ECU module and heats the airflow provided within the interior cabin of the vehicle. (Heat is generated and the ECU causes the airflow to be provided within the interior of the vehicle cabin. (See Paragraph [0048]) The ECU provides airflow to the cabin based on a user selected desired temperature and would provide airflow until the target temperature is reached. (See Paragraph [0054], [0057]) The airflow may either be a heated or cooled air based on the desired temperature. (See Paragraphs [0054], [0057]).
Nagao discloses a vehicle climate control system having an ECU 31, 32 with an exhaust fan 10, where the fan is operable to draw air through an air conduit to direct the cabin. (See Figs 1-2). It would have been obvious to adapt Cosgrove in view of Nagao to provide the ECU module is in thermally conductive connection with the air conduit; the ECU module comprises an exhaust fan that is operable to draw heated air away from the heat-generating electronic component and to direct the heated air from the ECU module toward the air conduit to heat the airflow provided within the interior cabin of the vehicle for cooling the ECU and other electrical components.
Regarding claim 18-20, Cosgrove discloses, A vehicular climate control system, the vehicular climate control system comprising:
an airflow source disposed at a vehicle equipped with the vehicular climate control system, wherein the airflow source is operable to provide airflow within an interior cabin of the vehicle; (fan 218 directs airflow to the passenger compartment. See Paragraph [0037]) wherein an electronic control unit module (ECU module) is disposed at the vehicle and comprises electronic circuitry, and wherein the electronic circuitry comprises a heat-generating electronic component, and wherein the heat-generating electronic component, when the ECU module is electrically operated, generates heat at the ECU module; (ECU 102 is disposed in the vehicle with the HVAC unit 112 containing a heating element 204 for generating heat at the ECU module as shown in Fig 1. (See Paragraph [0038] and [0048]) and wherein, when the ECU module is electrically operated and the heat-generating electronic component generates heat at the ECU module, and when the vehicular climate control system operates the airflow source to provide the airflow within the interior cabin of the vehicle, heat generated at the ECU module is dissipated from the ECU module and heats the airflow provided within the interior cabin of the vehicle. (Heat is generated and the ECU causes the airflow to be provided within the interior of the vehicle cabin. (See Paragraph [0048]) The ECU provides airflow to the cabin based on a user selected desired temperature and would provide airflow until the target temperature is reached. (See Paragraph [0054], [0057]) The airflow may either be a heated or cooled air based on the desired temperature. (See Paragraphs [0054], [0057]). The heater core 204 at least partially heats the airflow within the cabin and would adjust operation based on heat generated at the ECU. (See Paragraphs [0035], [0036])
Nagao discloses a vehicle climate control system having an ECU 31, 32 with an exhaust fan 10, where the fan is operable to draw air through an air conduit to direct the cabin. (See Figs 1-2). It would have been obvious to adapt Cosgrove in view of Nagao to provide the ECU module is in thermally conductive connection with the air conduit; the ECU module comprises an exhaust fan that is operable to draw heated air away from the heat-generating electronic component and to direct the heated air from the ECU module toward the air conduit to heat the airflow provided within the interior cabin of the vehicle for cooling the ECU and other electrical components.
Claim(s) 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosgrove et al (US 2020/0156442) in view of Carlson (US 2017/0184945).
The teachings of Cosgrove have been discussed above. Cosgrove fails to disclose, regarding claim 5-6, the ECU module comprises an exhaust fan that is operable to draw heated air away from the heat-generating electronic component and to direct the heated air from the ECU module toward the air conduit to heat the airflow provided within the interior cabin of the vehicle.
Carlson disclose an ECU module 100 having an ECU (Paragraph [0011]) and an exhaust fan 124 for drawing heated air away from the heat generating component toward an air conduit and into the cabin of the vehicle. (See Paragraph [0013] and Fig 1). It would have been obvious to adapt Cosgrove in view of Carlson to provide the ECU module comprises an exhaust fan that is operable to draw heated air away from the heat-generating electronic component and to direct the heated air from the ECU module toward the air conduit to heat the airflow provided within the interior cabin of the vehicle for moderating the temperature of the housing.
Regarding claim 7, Cosgrove fails to disclose, wherein the ECU module is mounted at a windshield of the vehicle, and wherein an exhaust fan is disposed at the ECU module and operable to direct heating airflow to the interior cabin of the vehicle, and wherein the vehicular climate control system, when the exhaust fan is operated to direct the heating airflow to the interior cabin of the vehicle, adjusts operation of the airflow source to reduce a portion of the airflow within the interior cabin of the vehicle provided by the airflow source.
Carlson disclose the ECU module is mounted on the windshield with the exhaust fan 124 being located at the module 112 or 106. Airflow 116 is provided from a source. (See Paragraph [0013]) The exhaust fan is controlled to adjust the airflow based on the desired temperature and needed airflow. It would have been obvious to adapt Cosgrove in view of Carlson to provide an exhaust fan is disposed at the ECU module and operable to direct heating airflow to the interior cabin of the vehicle, and wherein the vehicular climate control system, when the exhaust fan is operated to direct the heating airflow to the interior cabin of the vehicle, adjusts operation of the airflow source to reduce a portion of the airflow within the interior cabin of the vehicle provided by the airflow source for maintaining a desired temperature or for defogging/defrosting a camera lens.
Regarding claims 8-10, Cosgrove fails to disclose the heat generating electronic component comprises a data processor that, when the ECU module is electrically operated, processes sensor data captured by a sensor at the vehicle for a system of the vehicle; wherein the system comprises an advanced driving assistance system (ADAS) of the vehicle; wherein the sensor comprises an image sensor.
Carlson discloses, A DAS device with a camera (comprising an image sensor) See Paragraph [0010], a digital control processor (See Paragraph 11). It would have been obvious to adapt Cosgrove in view of Carlson to provide a data processor that, when the ECU module is electrically operated, processes sensor data captured by a sensor at the vehicle for a system of the vehicle; wherein the system comprises an advanced driving assistance system (ADAS) of the vehicle; wherein the sensor comprises an image sensor for assisting the driver while driving the vehicle.
Regarding claim 11, While Cosgrove fails to disclose the ECU comprising a heat sink, Carlson disclose why a person having ordinary skill in the art would add a heat sink to a device which generates heat or is heated up. (see Paragraph [0010]) It would have been obvious to adapt Cosgrove in view of Carlson to provide the heat sink for drawing heat away from the electronic component.
Claim(s) 17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cosgrove et al (US 2020/0156442) in view of Nagao et al (US 2021/0185862) and Carlson (US 2017/0184945).
The teachings of Cosgrove have been discussed above. Cosgrove fails to disclose the ECU comprising a heat sink, Carlson disclose why a person having ordinary skill in the art would add a heat sink to a device which generates heat or is heated up. (see Paragraph [0010]) It would have been obvious to adapt Cosgrove in view of Carlson to provide the heat sink for drawing heat away from the electronic component.
Conclusion
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 7/10/2026