DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made to Applicant’s response filed 04/20/2026.
Claims 1 and 3-20 are pending.
Claims 15-20 remain withdrawn.
Claim 1 is newly cancelled.
Claim 1 is currently amended.
Claims 1 and 3-14 are currently under consideration to the extent that they read upon Applicant’s elected species.
NOTE Applicant elected:
Solvent - 2-butoxy ethanol,
Active – a combination of auxin, gibberellin, and cytokinin,
Excluded – propylene glycol,
95-99% plant growth composition.
It is noted that the in process of searching the elected species, the Examiner previously came across art that read upon ethyl acetate as the solvent and gibberellin as the active. For the sake of compact prosecution, the species was expanded to read upon ethyl acetate and gibberellin.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejections directed to claim 2 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s cancellation of said claim.
Rejections Maintained and Made Again in view of Applicant’s Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 and 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims, as written, do not sufficiently distinguish over compositions comprising gibberellin and ethyl acetate as they exist naturally because the claims do not particularly point out any non-naturally occurring differences between the claimed composition and the naturally occurring compositions. The claimed composition reads upon naturally occurring safflowers, which comprises endogenous gibberellins (see as evidence Potter et al, Plant Growth Regulation 12:133-140, 1993, Abstract) and ethyl acetate (see as evidence Ethyl Acetate – Ataman Kimya which states that all eukaryotes have ethyl acetate).
In the absence of the hand of man, naturally occurring compositions (e.g. red clover) are considered non-statutory subject matter (Diamond v. Chakrabarty, 206 U.S.P.Q. 193 (1980)). It should be noted that the mere purity of a naturally occurring product does not necessarily impart patentability (Ex parte Siddiqui, 156 U.S.P.Q. 426 (1996)). However, when purification results in a new utility, patentability is considered (Merck Co. v. Chase Chemical Co., 273 F. Supp 68 (1967), 155 U.S.P.Q. 139, (District Court, New Jersey, 1967)). The examiner suggests narrowing the scope of claim 1 to include components that are not naturally occurring so as to indicate the hand of the inventor. See MPEP 2105.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the remarks filed 01/09/2026 that the preamble indicates that the composition is a plant growth composition, and therefore, distinguishes over the naturally occurring safflower. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. The instant claims are directed to a product, not a method, wherein the preamble does not have a structural aspect to it that distinguishes over naturally occurring safflower. It is further noted that the components naturally occur in safflowers, wherein safflowers are plants that grow, demonstrating that the components are not in such an orientation as to negate their properties. Further, it is noted that if the components that naturally occur together in nature do not have the properties as instantly asserted, this would raise questions regarding the enablement of the instant claims since claim 1 indicates that any of the solvents (in any amount and in any form) combined with any active agent (in any amount and in any form) result in increased plant growth and provide improved stability. Should Applicant’s argument regarding the 101 be found persuasive, it would be at the expense of the enablement of the invention. As such, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-14 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gallazzo et al (US 6,287,800).
Gallazzo teaches that the gibberellin product of the ion-exchange columns can
be further purified by extraction by ethyl acetate and crystallization (see entire document, for instance, column 5, line 66 through column 6, line 1). It is noted that gibberellin is recovered by adsorption which would eliminate all but residual solvent (see entire document, for instance, column 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the remarks filed 04/20/2026 that Gallazzo does not teach a plant growth composition or that the composition provides stability. Applicant is reminded that in US practice, the intended use of a product claim carries no patentable weight unless it imparts a structural limitation. See MPEP 2111.02. Therefore, since the intended use of the composition as a plant growth composition and a provider of stability is merely identifying that the composition can be utilized in said manner, and does not impart a structural limitation, it is the Examiner's position that the composition is capable of performing the intended use. Applicant further asserts that the body of the claim has limitations directed to the composition being able to increase plant growth, and therefore, the rejection is improper. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. It is noted that the claims assert that the components, in any orientation and any amounts result in the claimed increase in plant growth, unless Applicant has excluded essential subject matter from the claims. As such, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant further asserts that the composition is a solvent composition, wherein Applicant does not believe that the prior art teaches said limitation. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Specifically, when the gibberellin product is purified by extraction with ethyl acetate, the composition is taught. Applicant is once again reminded that the instant claims are directed to a product.
Applicant further argues that the prior art does not use ethyl acetate with the gibberellin, and rather, utilize activated carbon. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. The bottom of column 5 directly states, “The gibberellin product of the ion-exchange columns can be further purified by extraction by ethyl acetate and crystallization.“
Applicant additionally argues that the Office has failed to consider all of the limitations of claim 1. Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive. Specifically, the Examiner did not indicate that the limitations are improper, but rather, it appears that Applicant believes the claims to require structural elements that are not clear from the claims or the Specification. A patent Applicant is required to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to make and use the invention. Applicant appears to assert that the composition having the intended use of a plant growth composition and being able to achieve stability are not merely properties of the components, but have some undisclosed structural aspects. The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive, and rather, maintains the rejection based on the plain and normal reading of the specification and the claims.
Applicant further asserts that the prior art does not teach Applicant’s elected species. Applicant is again reminded that the in process of searching the elected species, the Examiner previously came across art that read upon ethyl acetate as the solvent and gibberellin as the active. For the sake of compact prosecution, the species was expanded to read upon ethyl acetate and gibberellin. As such, the rejection is proper.
Further, regarding the amount of the solvent composition, Applicant has previously asserted that the prior art does not teach the instantly claimed amount. It is again reiterated that the instantly claimed range is modified by the term “about”, wherein the instant specification indicates that, “Where modified by the term "about" the claims appended hereto include equivalents to these quantities.” It is noted that since the solvent is functioning as a solvent and the gibberellin is functioning as the active, that any particular amount would be considered equivalent since Applicant has not articulated a particular criticality of said amount.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-14 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gallazzo et al (US 6,287,800).
Gallazzo recites gibberellin being isolated utilizing ethyl acetate (see entire document, for instance, column 5, lines 39-44, 66, and 67). It is noted that gibberellin is recovered by adsorption which would eliminate all but residual solvent (see entire document, for instance, column 5).
Gallazzo, while teaching that the gibberellin is recovered by adsorption, does not expressly state that the solvent composition comprises between about 95 to about 99% of the plant growth composition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the amount of gibberellin in the composition, particularly since Gallazzo teaches the purpose is the isolation of the gibberellin. It is noted that even when isolation is intended, there will be residual solvent. It is further noted that the range is modified by the term “about”, wherein the instant specification indicates that, “Where modified by the term "about" the claims appended hereto include equivalents to these quantities.” It is noted that since the solvent is functioning as a solvent and the gibberellin is functioning as the active, that any particular amount would be considered equivalent since Applicant has not articulated a particular criticality of said amount.
It is noted regarding the limitations directed to the compatibility of the composition, since the composition comprises the same components as the instantly claimed composition, it would have the same properties, including compatibilities, solubility profiles, and stability profile, and temperature properties. It is noted that MPEP 2112.01 states: “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. /n re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).”
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the remarks filed 04/20/2026 that Gallazzo does not teach a plant growth composition or that the composition provides stability. Applicant is reminded that in US practice, the intended use of a product claim carries no patentable weight unless it imparts a structural limitation. See MPEP 2111.02. Therefore, since the intended use of the composition as a plant growth composition and a provider of stability is merely identifying that the composition can be utilized in said manner, and does not impart a structural limitation, it is the Examiner's position that the composition is capable of performing the intended use.
Applicant asserts that the prior art does not teach that the composition is for the same purpose, and therefore, the prior art does not read on the instantly claimed invention. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. It is noted that the art is not required to teach the same reasoning for adding components as Applicant, MPEP 2144 (IV) states “the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by Applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 411 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006).”
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-14 (all claims currently under consideration) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,812,753. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued Patent recites a plant growth composition comprising 2-butoxy ethanol, gibberellin, auxin, and cytokinin (see claim 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant requests in the remarks filed 04/20/2026 that the double patenting rejection be maintained and that it will be addressed, if necessary, once the claims are found to be otherwise patentable. This argument is not found persuasive against the ground of rejection and therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611